Find companies:
Symantec
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
261 reviews

Symantec Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talented Team but Management issues persist
Software Engineer Intern (Former Employee), Mountain View, CADecember 26, 2014
My entire team in Symantec was very talented and humble. Though the team was relatively new as compared to other teams in Symantec but still everybody was clear about the work they were supposed to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledgeable Experience
Intern - Security Technology and Response (STAR) (Former Employee), Dublin, CADecember 26, 2014
Overall Its full of technical and good place as a intern to learn new things and you get freedom of suggesting and developing and testing your new product. Freedom is given to do a task so that you do with your ideas and if that idea is wrong then suggestions are given to correct them.

Its a fantastic Experience with lots of new learning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the most unstable environments Ive ever worked in.
Territory Manager (Current Employee), West CoastDecember 17, 2014
The Pro's: Great peer to peer relationships
Good work/life balance

The Con's: 3 CEO's in my 2.5 years of employment
Upper Mgmt hires half outstanding Mgrs/Half "friends of friends" who know nothing about managing people, nor sales.
Keep your relationship with your Managers professional. Do NOT make friends with the Managers.
Zero stability. It matters more of who you know, than how well you've performed within the company.
For a fast moving , high pressure sales environment, the pay is terrible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with work life balance and with lot of opportunities,
SQA Engineer (Former Employee), Pune , IndiaDecember 14, 2014
Best company where you have freedom to innovate and to build your skillset .
I have worked with colleagues who are very supportive and very active team members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place
Customer Loyalty Specialist (Former Employee), Roseville, MNDecember 12, 2014
A very diverse place to work. Coworkers and management are always available to assist. Environment was very easy to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work
salesforce specialist (Current Employee), PuneDecember 10, 2014
Pros: good pay master, flexi timings, wfh
Cons: na
Good Management
Flexible timings
Get to learn a lot
Facilities are amazing
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global culture
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Dallas, TXDecember 1, 2014
No day is the same, always something new to learn, something new to do, great people to work with Being a global position and a global company, there is always the chance to meet someone on the other side of the planet, love it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good project and helpful mentor
Framework Development in Python (Former Employee), Mountain View, CANovember 26, 2014
It was a good working environment with good guidance from mentor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Symantec was an excellent employer as it supported its staff with a productive work environment,.
Corporate Receptionist (Former Employee), Austin, TexasNovember 25, 2014
A typical day includes contact with visitors, clients, and fellow staff members. I learned how to professionally assist others, contribute to a dynamic team, and learn on the job. Each day presented new challenges. The co-workers are beyond wonderful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work/Life Balance
Support Engineer (Current Employee), Lake Mary, FLNovember 25, 2014
This is a great company to work for. I have been rewarded fairly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
$50B Company where entire departments were outsourced overnight
Telephone & Online Support - Technical Writer (Former Employee), Springfield, ORNovember 19, 2014
Pros: there was alway something new happening.
Cons: symantec is a mergers and acquisitions company. along with getting programs, we acquired long distance upper management, which made day-to-day operations awkward.
I worked for several years answering telephone and online technical support questions.

I moved into using and programming online tools that were designed to interact with customers and to deflect these same support questions.

Later I moved into writing for Norton Antivirus and LiveUpdate and was responsible for about 45,000 documents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a fun place to work.
Tech Support Engineer (Former Employee), Roseville, MNNovember 16, 2014
The company was fun to work with. People are friendly. I enjoy working with the company because learning's never end.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Symentec
Technical Support (Former Employee), Eugene, ORNovember 14, 2014
My average day was spent taking phone calls from customers and helping them with technical service.

It was a fairly easy to get promoted as well as to move into a new capacity, i.e. I went from phone support to electronic support (email etc.).
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the people are nice
On site Fleet Specialist (Current Employee), Mountain View, CANovember 13, 2014
Pros: great gym, nice people
Cons: the food is not that great
Well Symantec is going through a company spit right now so it would not be far to give my standard review. But the company is getting better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to learn and balance work and life
Principal SQA Engineer (Current Employee), PuneNovember 9, 2014
Pros: good work life balance
Cons: job insecurity
Good company in terms of benefits , but lacks ability to provide job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once a Leader in Security and Storage Management...
Alliance, Channel and xSP Marketing Manager, ASEAN (Former Employee), Petaling, M10November 7, 2014
Symantec was a good place for career building, with strong leadership in both security and storage management. The field team has always been aggressive and result oriented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Inside Sales Renewal Account Manager (Former Employee), Blanchardstown, DOctober 29, 2014
Pros: good place to work
Cons: more emphasis should be placed on their induction process
I enjoyed my time working for the company and making new friends.

I also learned a lot about the use of new systems such as Oracle.

The management are very warm and friendly as well as other co-workers. Some of the perks that comes with the job was good such as the Award vouchers and team meals
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comment
o Handle Manager Escalation (Current Employee), Lake MaryOctober 15, 2014
no comment, normal day of work and work at home ability. good benifits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Accounting Assistant (Current Employee), APOctober 12, 2014
Good company for accounting proffessionals.Can learn about core accounting processess
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Account Manager (Former Employee), Boston, MAOctober 10, 2014
good place. it was fun, good people. anymore than that, we can discuss in person.

About Symantec

Symantec's future seems to be secure. The company provides security, storage, and systems management software for businesses and – Read more