Find companies:
Symantec
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
238 reviews

Symantec Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
software
Assist employees (Former Employee), ottawaMay 27, 2014
its a software not a company.we installed it to make a dayly backup
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non-Productive but secure place to work
EMEA Solutions Architect (Former Employee), EMEADecember 16, 2013
Pros: good wages, people are friendly
Cons: no processes
Symantec is a great company if you work in the right organization, the problem is that Saudi Branch Manager is supported by his manager in Dubai and making Lobby.

The technology is good, but onboarding process is very poor in the middle east
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good workplace.
Sr. Technical Account Manager (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 22, 2013
Pros: pros
Cons: cons
‘I know what I need to achieve and I am allowed to determine how best to achieve it. This draws on my skills as a manager which makes me feel valued as an employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no loyalty to employees
Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 15, 2012
If all you are looking for is a good salary, they pay well. Otherwise, this is not a company that inspires employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Game Room/ coffee/lunch room.
Senior Online Web Content Specialist (Former Employee), TorontoAugust 31, 2012
Pros: free coffee room, software at discount, flexable work hours, 6 weeks max vacation.
The technical support team was like a family. Learned to support end users with software issues with various Symantec software packages. The co-workers were some of the best people I have ever worked with, I even to this day keep in contact with them as they became life time friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work!
Email Security & Archiving Specialist (Current Employee), Markham, ONMay 4, 2012
Pros: share purchase plan, rrsp and lot more!
Cons: ? :)
* no comments at this time *

Tell us about:

a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job

DO NOT include any personally identifiable information, such as names.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good project and helpful mentor
Framework Development in Python (Former Employee), Mountain View, CANovember 26, 2014
It was a good working environment with good guidance from mentor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Symantec was an excellent employer as it supported its staff with a productive work environment,.
Corporate Receptionist (Former Employee), Austin, TexasNovember 25, 2014
A typical day includes contact with visitors, clients, and fellow staff members. I learned how to professionally assist others, contribute to a dynamic team, and learn on the job. Each day presented new challenges. The co-workers are beyond wonderful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
$50B Company where entire departments were outsourced overnight
Telephone & Online Support - Technical Writer (Former Employee), Springfield, ORNovember 19, 2014
Pros: there was alway something new happening.
Cons: symantec is a mergers and acquisitions company. along with getting programs, we acquired long distance upper management, which made day-to-day operations awkward.
I worked for several years answering telephone and online technical support questions.

I moved into using and programming online tools that were designed to interact with customers and to deflect these same support questions.

Later I moved into writing for Norton Antivirus and LiveUpdate and was responsible for about 45,000 documents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a fun place to work.
Tech Support Engineer (Former Employee), Roseville, MNNovember 16, 2014
The company was fun to work with. People are friendly. I enjoy working with the company because learning's never end.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Symentec
Technical Support (Former Employee), Eugene, ORNovember 14, 2014
My average day was spent taking phone calls from customers and helping them with technical service.

It was a fairly easy to get promoted as well as to move into a new capacity, i.e. I went from phone support to electronic support (email etc.).
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the people are nice
On site Fleet Specialist (Current Employee), Mountain View, CANovember 13, 2014
Pros: great gym, nice people
Cons: the food is not that great
Well Symantec is going through a company spit right now so it would not be far to give my standard review. But the company is getting better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to learn and balance work and life
Principal SQA Engineer (Current Employee), PuneNovember 9, 2014
Pros: good work life balance
Cons: job insecurity
Good company in terms of benefits , but lacks ability to provide job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once a Leader in Security and Storage Management...
Alliance, Channel and xSP Marketing Manager, ASEAN (Former Employee), Petaling, M10November 7, 2014
Symantec was a good place for career building, with strong leadership in both security and storage management. The field team has always been aggressive and result oriented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Inside Sales Renewal Account Manager (Former Employee), Blanchardstown, DOctober 29, 2014
Pros: good place to work
Cons: more emphasis should be placed on their induction process
I enjoyed my time working for the company and making new friends.

I also learned a lot about the use of new systems such as Oracle.

The management are very warm and friendly as well as other co-workers. Some of the perks that comes with the job was good such as the Award vouchers and team meals
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comment
o Handle Manager Escalation (Current Employee), Lake MaryOctober 15, 2014
no comment, normal day of work and work at home ability. good benifits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Accounting Assistant (Current Employee), APOctober 12, 2014
Good company for accounting proffessionals.Can learn about core accounting processess
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Account Manager (Former Employee), Boston, MAOctober 10, 2014
good place. it was fun, good people. anymore than that, we can discuss in person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Inside Territory Account Manager (Former Employee), Eugene, OROctober 8, 2014
Pros: benefits, work environment, management, low pressure
Cons: pay was not for the career minded. it was good for high school kids or college kids
* Assist customers
*Walking customers through through the buying process
* Taking in cash
*Working side by side
*Bringing team spirit everyday
*Handling contracts and sensitive information
*Understanding the Verizonwirelesses current policies
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, no job security
Video and Graphic Design Lead (Former Employee), Lake Mary, FLSeptember 28, 2014
The company is a great company to work for, however because of changes of the CEO the company is going through some rough patches resulting in the employees to have less faith in high up management as well as the board of directors. The people that I worked with were all wonderful people who were dedicated to their jobs, but because of the state of – more... the company they were left with little to no job security. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Symantec

Symantec's future seems to be secure. The company provides security, storage, and systems management software for businesses and – Read more