Find companies:
Sykes Enterprises
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
581 reviews

Sykes Enterprises Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good paying job with lots of overtime available
Bell Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Saint John, NBMay 3, 2013
Cons: long hours, mandatory holidays or over time, not much help from management, customers yell at you
A typical day at work is answering phone calls about billing all day long. I learned a lot about researching information and handling confidential information. Management unfortunately was usually to busy to help with anything and sometimes had to refuse customers opportunities to speak with them. Didn't get to know co-workers that well because you – more... are on calls all day long and didn't have much time inbetween. The hardest part of the job was dealing with several irrate customers every day. The enjoyable part was helping kind customers who understood and did everything possible to make my job easier and to help them faster! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's a centre
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Peterborough, OntarioApril 25, 2013
Cons: tedious work
Tedious work under stressful conditions.

Much of it came from the requirements of the teleco we were doing the work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
catching up with friends at breaks
Tech Support (Former Employee), Corner Brook, NLApril 5, 2013
Pros: long lunches
Cons: long hours
Answering calls from customers some may be mad some happy
always had people to talk to and people to help you.
managers were understanding and helpful.
hardest part of the job was dealing with hi rate & mad customers.
most enjoyable part of a job was resolving customers issue.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lively place to work with wonderful people to work with.
Solutions Specialist (Current Employee), Sydney,NSApril 5, 2013
Co-workers are amazing, everyone has the same goals and lovely work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management was easy to talk to
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Saint John, NBMarch 19, 2013
Repetitive Duties, management was always available and easy to talk to
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Direct Marketing Agent (Former Employee), Lindsay, ONMarch 19, 2013
the way they treat people is disgusting.no sense of humanity or compassion, and frequently violated HR protocol. Save yourself the grief and avoid this place
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rude unprofessional supervisors
customer service (Former Employee), Sydney nova ScotiaMarch 1, 2013
Cons: supervisors are rude. long hours short breaks ans horrible shift bids.
While working at Sykes. Training was not bad was fun and made the job seem like its gonna be easy until a week in their training was down and we were basically thrown on the floor without much training. God forbid if we had to have our signs up for help. Waited forever for so called floor support. Even one day had a fight break one with a floor support – more... throwing a garbage can at a supervisor. Its a very unprofessional company and the supervisors are horrible well not all their were two good ones. The hours were horrible and having to call off cause your actually sick is a hassle. Another there is the supervisors talk about you and yell at you as if you are a child. Out of all the jobs I've worked this one is far the worst one yet. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call center
Inbound Client Care Representative (Former Employee), saint johnFebruary 15, 2013
this is a call center out sourced, i would not recommend unless your stress tolerance is high.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No support once you get on the floor
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Saint John, NBDecember 26, 2012
Pros: benefits
Cons: long hours
The training was not what it should be we did not get any hands on training and when we got on the floor it felt like we were thrown to the wolveswork with a very friendly staff, but not very supportive
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace, with good people, but no flexible shifts
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Saint John, NBNovember 20, 2012
Pros: good pay, training, friendly staff
Cons: 12 hour shifts, shift bid had very few options, not enough breaks for the length of shift
A typical day was logging into the computer, and taking a steady flow of calls for 10-12 hours straight, I learned how to manage time and multi task well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job I have ever had...
inbound customer care (Former Employee), Peterborough, ONNovember 19, 2012
Pros: great co-workers, more helpful than management and supervisory staff
Cons: everything else
Horrible. Management is constantly yelling to the whole room while we're on the phones dealing with irate customers, who then get upset that we can't hear them. No room for advancement, promotions were a popularity contest (someone with horrible stats got chosen for a promotion over someone with perfect stats because he was another supervisor's boyfriend). – more... hours were a joke, we were promised to get better hours with seniority, whereas new hires were given the best shifts over people who had been there for years. Next to no job security. Someone got fired after having one metric not meet target for one month (when they always had perfect metrics). "Team Leaders", Supervisors, Managers etc were very rude and condescending, seemed to be on a constant power trip.They really don't like to answer your questions in order for you to help a customer... Not lenient on days off at all, I personally witnessed people getting fired constantly for being sick for "too long a period of time", even if they were not over their allowed amount of sick days. Made up excuses for firing people that were not legitimate reasons, but still shady enough so people couldn't claim wrongful dismissal... Very sneaky... Only good part of the job was getting paid and commission, and even then, some employees didn't receive thousands of dollars of commissions that they had earned last christmas, and never received adequate compensation for it. I don't exaggerate AT ALL when i say thousands of dollars. A friend of mine earned over $4500.00 in commission and only received $500.00 of it.NOTE: THIS IS NOT TRUE FOR ALL SYKES LOCATIONS!!! This is just my personal experience at the location I worked at. Don't let this deter you from seeking a job there, as it is good pay, just make sure you ask HR a lot of questions during your interview, and know how to stand up for yourself in these situations... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very low work morale
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Saint John NBOctober 29, 2012
No job security never know when you will be the next to be walked out. Change things from one day to next
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, great people.
Telemarketing Sales Representative (Former Employee), Lindsay, ONOctober 5, 2012
Excellent co-workers, fast paced, intriguing and always something new
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wasnt a good expierence
Telemarketer (Former Employee), Lindsay, ONOctober 1, 2012
Pros: commission
Cons: very horrible management
the mangament were very ignorant and didn't care about the employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team
Line Cook (Current Employee), Peterborough, ONSeptember 13, 2012
Pros: nice people
Cons: no windows
Great team and management. Difficult customers but you get commission.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with plenty of room for growth.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Bulevar Los Heroes,San Salvador, El SalvadorAugust 21, 2012
Pros: excellent incentives
Cons: at times, the heavy call volumes.
Every day was filled with new challenges. Updates and changes from the client were frequent and it was necessary to stay up to date with these changes so our clients expectations were met. The hardest part of the job was dealing with irate customers, and the most enjoyable part of the job was meeting the weekly KPI's on target.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the people are great to work with
Client Care Representative (Current Employee), saint john, nbAugust 16, 2012
Pros: free freezies
Cons: not telling us about all policy changes
I enjoy the people that I work with and have made some amazing friends. The hardest part of the job is the fact that policys change from day to day, and no one tells us about the changes. The best part of the job was some of the people that we spoke to on the phone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn't recommend it to anyone
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), NB, CanadaMay 31, 2012
Pros: the pay isn't too bad
Cons: too many cons!!
1- Training was inadequate
2- Working out of province, company didn't know labour laws for other provinces
3- When benefits were supposed to kick in they didn't after 4 months
4- They constantly tell you you're doing fine etc then drop the bombshell that if you don't pick it up that you'll be let go...
5- It would take 3 weeks to get my pay stub
6- – more... Management seemed confused a lot of the time.
7- You're often told to pitch something (new) to customers that you haven't had training for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so fun
Customer Support (Former Employee), CairoMay 29, 2012
I didn't like it there.

They have religious conflicts.

The salary is not good either.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, long hours and great pay.
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Sydney, NSMay 28, 2012
Pros: great pay.
Cons: long hours.
Typical day is usually an 8-10 hour shift, answering inbound calls. I learned a lot about the company I was working for. Management was alright for the most part. Coworkers were okay, a lot of them were cranky because of the long hours and stressful work. Hardest part of the job was the stressful long hours, dealing with complaints on every call and – more... getting an average off 150 calls a day. Most enjoyable part was the money. If you worked all your shifts, you made 11.25 an hour. Excellent money. – less

About Sykes Enterprises

Sykes Enterprises, Incorporated (SYKES) is a provider of outsourced customer contact management solutions and services in the – Read more