Swissport International Ltd.

Swissport International Ltd. Employee Reviews

Found 119 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace if you like working with the public
Passenger Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC28 November 2016
However, salary is low, no benefits. Swissport DOES NOT value their employees whatsoever. Outstanding expectations with little to no recognition. Not so organized. The job itself I loved, the company, however, not so much.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for if you are looking for a psychical demanding career
Ramp Agent (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC10 November 2016
work around airplanes

most of the co-workers are friendly and helpful

working environment is both harsh and enjoyable

workload depending on the time and date

management are not great but ok
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peers can make it or break it
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto Pearson International Airport, ON9 November 2016
The work day begins with assessing the day's events (such as weather conditions, staffing, flight delays and airport operations) as well as the day's total inbound and outbound flight volume and planned ramp crews; then ensuring inventory of necessary equipment is available. Meeting with airline representatives, assigned ramp leads, and their crews throughout the day with close supervision of particular windows of time is mandatory for success.

To be improved: Consistency within daily and/ or weekly meetings to follow up on successes and improve on failures. More data needs to be available for analyzing to improve departmental performance, therefore improving overall performance.

The job culture is very good among many of the employees and is the most enjoyable aspect next to the provided service itself; however more emphasis on recognizing them and developing that attitude and culture will be a welcomed breath of fresh air.
Pros
Peers
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very respectful and productive workplace
Co-op Placement (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 November 2016
Very productive and fun workplace. All employees were very friendly and helpful. I would love to work at Swissport in the future!
Pros
Got to experience flight boarding
Cons
wanted to stay longer!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love this job
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Edmonton International Airport1 November 2016
I think this kind of job is for me because i love it. I love seeing and serving travelers. Working at the airport is really nice because of you can see people are all moving fast and i love it. My co-workers are fun to be with. We set a good teamwork in every shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic workplace
Aircraft fueling agent (Current Employee) –  Montreal Airport26 October 2016
i like the atmosphere in the company . workers are so nice a well as most of the supervisors , there is no team building in the company.
Pros
Frendly dynamic enviroment
Cons
Outdoor Job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conflict Working Schedule and Disorganize the working schedule
Passenger Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC20 October 2016
The working schedule is not flexible and sometime i have to work over time because of missing some agents in the team. On the other hand i really love to work with the aviation industry because i can learn different things everyday.
Pros
Good Challenges
Cons
Long working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An easy place to get lost in
Passenger Service Agent (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC15 October 2016
If you enjoy providing good customer service, and interaction with other people, you'd enjoy this job.

You can easily make friends with your coworkers as you are working in a team oriented environment. The job does require you to be quick on your feet, and manage information quickly. However, everyday feels like a job well done when you watch that plane take off knowing you've personally met some of its passengers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Ramp Agent lead (Current Employee) –  Vancouver Island, BC4 October 2016
swissport is very busy place specially summer time i worked as a lead mostly everyday working 10 hours . environment is good people are friendly only bad thing is you have to work even in rain,snow or any sort of bad weather outside.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Hours, Low Wages, Poor Management
Passenger Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto Pearson International Airport, ON26 September 2016
Company works on a seniority basis, meaning that if you're lower on the totem pole, don't expect to get great hours. Management was very unsupportive more often than not, especially when passenger issues could not be resolved by passenger service agents.
Pros
Can be flexible as most shifts are only 4 hours long.
Cons
Lack of support from Management, cheap uniforms that fall apart, no flight benefits, no health or dental benefits, poor wages
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to get in the airport with
Ramp Agent (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 September 2016
Worst company to work with.
No respect for employees, management or agents.
Harassment and bullying is a whole new level in this company.

But to get into the airport, this is your ladder.

They take anyone and everyone.

Have worked here 5+ years.

New drama everyday.

Join. Keep your head down. Move to different company. Best plan.
Pros
Vouchers
Cons
No respect for employees
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid! Unless you really need money
Ramp Agent (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC9 September 2016
Worked there for one month, and got super fed up with them so I quit.

1) Overtime hours are rarely given on the pay check. So you will have to be extremely proactive and hunt down your ot hours!

2) Really bad work place environment. Management micromanage and are a pain to deal with. Most leads are also awful because of the amount of profanity that they use towards you.

$11.35 an hour is not worth the amount of pain you will suffer working here.

On the good side: If you are physically able to work, they will hire you. They are also working on a new collective bargaining agreement, so you might see a boost in hourly wage.
Was this review helpful?Yes20No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not apply!!!!!
Ramp Agent (Former Employee) –  yvr6 September 2016
this by far the worst company ive been with i work with swissport canada by YVR and was the worst time of my life. first of all you get paid so little for the work and sucrifices you make for this company. second management is a gong show dont care about their employee just care about the money you basically work every penny with this company. 3rd really difficult to do the job due to rainy weather as they give you really cheap piece of gears. i like how it days free ticet thats funny that aint true. all and all very bad company
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ramp lead
Ramp Lead (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC5 September 2016
You don't get paid enough for what you do at Swissport canada handling.You mght have to work over night shifts depends what you get on the bid.Higher seniority guys always takes the good lines.Management is not that great.
Pros
nothing
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understood the gates and procedures
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto Pearson International Airport, ON24 August 2016
• Greeted passengers in a friendly and professional manner
• Assisted passengers requiring special assistance 100% with smile and confidence
• Informing passengers about the rush hour and helping them with security clearing
• Made sure to handle a situation in the best way possible and also notify the shift manger in duty
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
CABIN AGENT (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 August 2016
This job was good learn lots of things that how people work at the airport .Co-workers here was supportive they always help each other and also the supervisors were too good and co-operative with us.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work
Ramp Agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto Pearson International Airport, ON22 July 2016
Alot of the time you're in a small storage compartment on your knees, sometimes with great strain stacking luggage on-top of each other as fast as possible in very humid conditions

at the end of one load you really start to feel back pain.. for $11/hr
it's certainly not worth it

Also some workers feel you've been doing the work for years expecting you to know everything right off the bat.
for that kind of labor the pay certainly isn't worth it.
Pros
none
Cons
terrible salary
Was this review helpful?Yes19No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't recommend it!
Passenger Service Agent (Current Employee) –  Toronto Pearson International Airport, ON8 July 2016
This is the worst company I have ever worked, sadly I still am, but will leave them soon. They pay $11.50 an hour with no medical or travel benefits. This is below minimum wage, especially in this day an age! Managers and supervisors treat us as slaves especially the new employees, they give you an impression that they can dissmiss or fire you easily, they are so disrespectful and rude and they have two faces. The office is always dirty and messy, whether HR, Payroll or the Airport office. No vacation until you pass 1 year of employment!!! Training was not thorough especially our job at the gate while departure or arrival. Very hard to switch shifts or ask for a day off. I do not recommend Swissport at all, it's a joke!! it's a horrible company to work for, Seriously!
Pros
Airport environment and coworkers
Cons
Very low pay and no vacation nor benefits!!
Was this review helpful?Yes32No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Junk
Fuel Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  yvr1 July 2016
My son works at YVR Swiss port as a fueling agent. Yes its a good starter job,but doesn't pay enough to even sustain a living wage to even get to work and eat let alone rent or mortgage. So dad ,that's me pays for his car insurance and cell bill every month.
Shame on you Swissport for exploiting so many young people.
$10.50 start Are you Freakin kidding!
The Tim hortins employee makes to same to serve coffee.
Wow I feel warm and fuzzy the next time I fly that the planes are well maintained with fuel with very low paid fuel personal.
PS the Union PSAC is very poor.
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good First Job but...
Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Dorval, QC30 June 2016
But they treat you like slaves. The Salary is a job for this job. Exploitation is still occurring and people aren't even aware of it.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No3Report

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,179 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3

Swissport International Ltd. Reviews by Location