Find companies:
Swiss Re
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

Swiss Re Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing to say much
Technical Accountant (Current Employee), Bangalore, KADecember 10, 2014
Overall experience good. But not a great place to work. Not much challenges & limited scope for growth. Highest level of politics is visible in this company . Management are slaves towards toward its head office. More like a call centre.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance
Assistant Vice President (Current Employee), Armonk, NYDecember 9, 2014
Great work life balance. They encourage employees to work from home at least 1 day a week, if not more. Company takes pride in the environment and what they can do to help. Leading reinsurance company.

Not much room for advancement internally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Centre
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), NorwichJune 17, 2014
• Providing fund information for Bonds, Endowments and Pensions to existing policy holders and Financial Advisers.
• Sending Policy specific information via post, E-mails and Fax
• Capturing and entering data into various systems in a busy call centre environment with continued pressure and customer demand.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, amazing clients, brilliant management
Vice President (Current Employee), Dubai, DUApril 14, 2014
Amazing place to work, coupled by great management team that truly promotes people. Great place for young and talented people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swiss Re culture
AVP - FP&A (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 6, 2014
Swiss Re provides a good work-life balance, flexible hours and development opportunities. Swiss Re promotes career growth within the firm and provides an in-house career mentoring program which was been quite successful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a highly recommended company
Employee (Current Employee), Armonk, NYMarch 26, 2014
Pros: outstanding benefits, excellent work life balance program, ability to own the way you work and work where and when is convenient to you.
Cons: your experience depends on your department and manager
In one part of the company extremely high performance was not rewarded with promotion or raises. Extreme turnover because of bad management left me to run a department and train new people myself with no reward.

Transferred to another department outside of IT and in the business and it was night and day. Experienced the best management, care for people – more... and development opportunities i have ever seen at any firm. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong reputation, great compensation/benefits and a talented workforce
Assistant Vice President (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 13, 2014
Pros: above market compensation, great benefits, good work/life balance, ability to make lateral job moves
Cons: limited job advancement depending on function, bureaucratic environment
Overall, Swiss Re is a great place to work. The compensation and benefits are far ahead of peers in the (re)insurance industry and the company has a best-in-class reputation. However, while there are ample opportunities to make lateral moves internally, upward advancement can be limited depending on functional area. There's also a fair amount of bureaucracy, – more... which is typical of a Swiss company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work and great company to work for
Records Coordinator (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 3, 2014
nice place to work and great company to work for. people were very nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Risk Management Actuarial Intern (Former Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 9, 2013
great company and benefits. supportive environment. Great career advancement path.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with positive vibes
Senior Java Developer (Current Employee), Adliswil, ZHOctober 3, 2013
Pros: work environment
1. Friendly Team atmosphere
2. Constructive building of best practices
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is fun
Senior Actuarial Analyst (Current Employee), Bangalore, KAJune 14, 2013
It is great to work at Swiss Re. Learning is loads here and great people make your work less tiring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy and productive
Cash Manager Treasury Analyst (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 22, 2013
 Analyzing and optimizing cash sources and usage by identifying the potential impact of cash and currency balances on short-term operational liquidity positions
 Managing the liquidity of Swiss Re by forecasting the funding requirements of numerous (thousands) Swiss Re accounts
 Reporting, monitoring and managing the Group's daily cash balances within – more... credit limits established by risk management using Quantum
 Improving Global cash management process efficiency by working on various projects
 Evaluating investment options and risk factors before investing surplus funds
 Following standard procedures to improve efficiency in cash collections, funds transfers, cash disbursements, month-end account closing activities, and inter-departmental reporting
 Liaising with banks to address account issues and queries and resolving any issues related to foreign currency exchange – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best client i have ever worked for
Systems Analyst/Consultant (Former Employee), KansasMarch 3, 2013
Amazing work environment. Lots of opportunities. Higher Management is very Transparent and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work and life balance culture and great people tp work for and with
Administrator/Relationship Management Expert (Former Employee), Hitchin - EnglandFebruary 21, 2013
I worked for me for two years on the highly pressured Channel Islands pension administration team.

I was responsible for a specific portfolio of work, and took on every aspect of this very diligently. This was achieved to an incredibly high standard, to the extent that, despite having limited system functionality and demanding customers, I was able – more... to keep complaints to a minimum. Where there were complaints, I managed this aspect too, and resolved them quickly and fairly.

I was very well respected by peers and wider management. I was at the top of the payscale due to their qualities.

I demonstrated the following skills when they worked for me:

Ownership
High level of quality of output
High level of producitivity of output
Ability to work in a team or individually, with minimal management
Customer care
Initiative – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees were pleasant & focused on the company goals.
Service Center Associate (Former Employee), mail, copy area & customer serviceJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: having gotten the respect to multi-task as necessary.
Cons: not getting acknowledgement for the all the multi-tasking.l
The work flow was unpredicable but I was given the lead to handle the duties as necessary.
I learned how to juggle responsibilities smoothly and efficiently.
Management rules and personalities must be adhered to.
Respect and compliments support good working situations.
The hardest part of the job was to recognize problems and work with management to – more... improve the situation.
Completing the daily online work was satisfying and enjoyable for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Nice Company, Management and Staff
Technical Specialist / Supervisor (Former Employee), Armonk, NYOctober 25, 2012
Pros: great company, great managers, great staff and good pay
Cons: too long of a commute, very expensive in carefare.
I was a contractor at Swiss Re and enjoyed the time I've worked there. My manager, within months recongnized my skilsl for detail and promoted me as his Lead Person. The coworkers wer're all nice to work with and the it was very busy as well. The commute was the only downsize for me. Swiss Re was in White Plains, NY, and the fare became very expensive – more... but I didn't mind. The people I worked for made up for all that it was worth coming to work everyday. I enojoyed my job there a great deal. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Deployment Manager (Former Employee), Armonk, New YorkSeptember 5, 2012
Pros: it was a great place to learn..
Cons: except for my 160 mile round trip commute - nothing to complain about
I started as a Supervisor of Computer Operations, advanced to Data Center Manager. When computer operations requirements was relocated to Zurich, I accepted the position as Deployment Manager. Through out my years at SwissRe - I was a Hands On Manager: I worked printers, tapes, console operations, batch scheduling, batch recovery, backup and recovery: – more... Mainframe and Client Servers(intel & unix), change control, change management, disaster recovery, Facility management, etc.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company
Change and Deployment Manager (Former Employee), Zurich SwitzerlandJuly 7, 2012
A good company with challeging opportunites and a good work/life balance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always balancing daily, reconciliation and collection.
Accounting Analysis III (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSJune 29, 2012
Pros: assessments are complete, we got small party in group.
Cash applied daily, receives cash everyday, post journal entry, meet claim team, take problem, collect cash, when cash posting not balance, new assessments are complete.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Calabasas, CAMay 8, 2012
Pros: 1 hour lunch break
This is a reinsurance company and I learned a lot about claims and how it is being processed and approved. Management is well organized. Overall, my employment with Swiss Re is one of the best experience I ever had.

About Swiss Re

Swiss Re writes reinsurance for both property/casualty and life and health insurers. It will also write property/casualty reinsurance – Read more