Swiss Chalet Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive atmosphere, great people , good food
Manager (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON6 October 2017
I enjoyed my tome working as part of this organizations dynamic team. Staff very team oriented and open to new ideas. clean and always adhered to health safety standards
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work, shifts felt very quick
Cook/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON3 October 2017
The kitchen was run by excellent management, as well as a cooperative team. Everything ran smooth and efficient. I was able to work my way up to a line cook from a dishwasher showing career advancement opportunities were always available.
Pros
Great team environment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to day
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON3 October 2017
- Management are extremely focussed
- Employees are respectable
- Pay is very good
- Work pace is fast but organized
- Learned opening and closing duties as management
- The most enjoyable part is seeing how close the staff gets and seeing our guests always leave happy
Pros
- 50% staff lunches
Cons
- Long days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working environment
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON29 September 2017
friendly staff, great working environment and respectful management.
always willing to work around school schedule, many great opportunities to go above and beyond.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work despite bad management
Dishwasher / Cook (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC26 September 2017
When I was hired at the location I worked at I was originally hired for three days of cooking and two days of dish washing the general manager, and the kitchen manager decided to keep me as a full time dish washer even though we all signed an agreement that they drafted up, saying that they would hire someone to take over dish washing after I trained them up to the standards I had for the pit area but they never did
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of experience
Food Preparation/Cashier/Clean-Up (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON20 September 2017
Although you gain valuable experience from this job, management is also very unorganized and unprofessional. Nothing was explained to me from start to finish. If you're lucky like I was, you will enjoy your co-workers, although the pressure is on everyone.
Pros
60% discount
Cons
Unprofessional
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace. Great co workers.
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth Crossing, NS20 September 2017
Wonderful place to work, will always have fond memories. I will never forget that place. It's a great place, relaxed, awesome management. Lots of opportunity to make your way up within the store I worked at. Very supportive team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is an okay workplace for new graduates or before retirement
Sales Associate / Bartender (Current Employee) –  Uxbridge, ON20 September 2017
In General, there's no good management mechanism and everything is repetitive. You are supposed to do the same thing for your shifts every day. There is no room for career advancement to be honest.
Pros
Friendly collegues, No pressure for upselling
Cons
Minimum Wage, Physical strengths required
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment
Take-out Cashier (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON18 September 2017
Swiss chalet was my first job ever and it's taught me so much. Taught me about time management, taking initiative, working with others. Everyone soon became a family to me, thats what i loved most about working there and thats why i stayed for such a long period of time.
Pros
work experience, management was great, respected and had seniority
Cons
no cons i can really think of
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was coop
Dishwasher and handling food (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ON15 September 2017
I don't know how the salary is or anything is because it was a co-op but here are some tips work hard work fast be respectful and clean always serve with a smile
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day at work
server (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ON5 September 2017
lots of the same thing, nothing really new or interesting...no advancement,no raises, i stayed for the ppl i worked with,not the company itself. its a very unsatisying place to work
Pros
free mealls, discounts to other restaurants
Cons
no advancement, no raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people are good management sucks
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON29 August 2017
place isn't bad. Staff are great. Management is horrible. The regular ones are alright, but the top management is very disorganized. I don't recommend anyone to work for them
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a back house cook
Line/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON28 August 2017
Was told that the hours were given to who wants them then look at schedule and get no hours. I always was worried about the closing shifts as they do not let you pounch out they do it for you as system shuts down. Well I heard a manager tell one of the staff to keep track of hours cause some management cuts some minutes off people pay to save money. Over all learning experience but not a career
Pros
Learning experience
Cons
No money no advancement no hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, streamlined workplace
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Lindsay, ON28 August 2017
A good environment with friendly staff. Duties were straightforward and there was never too much to handle. Management was fair and honest and the job was enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff
Server/Hostess (Current Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON21 August 2017
Good place to work while in school, wouldn't recommend it as a career choice, no room for advancement, or salary increases, no benefits either and not a lot of hours.
Pros
Discounted food, awesome coworkers
Cons
No benefits, short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was okay
Fry Cook (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON21 August 2017
I worked as a fry cook at the back. the kitchen had a horrible stench also there was moderate hygiene not enough to my liking. the staff was okay and management was very flexible with me.
Pros
Cheap food
Cons
too much labor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
more headaches than it's worth
Manager (Current Employee) –  toronto, on19 August 2017
long hours for little pay. not really appreciated, and taken advantage of for good work ethic. quite frankly the underachievers get mor praise than the hardworking employees
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours, no thanks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean place to work
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON17 August 2017
this job was very fun with plenty of very nice staff. I loved working in the kitchen and learning how to work in a fast paced environment. Overall, this job was great for a high school student.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive people
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 August 2017
The most enjoyable part of the workplace was being able to come in everyday and be accompanied by happy faces. There were days were the restaurant would be so chaotic and busy but it taught me skills such as problem solving, multi tasking, communication etc.The cons to working at the restaurant was the management tended to be a bit all over the place at times.Id be told to do one thing and then be corrected and taught a completely different way which caused me to get confused. Overall it was a good experience because although there were hardships it allowed me to overcome them and also experience the positive outcomes that came with this job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Takeout (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON16 August 2017
Good place to work fun employees flexible times
Good food nice customers and you always have something to do to keep you busy and to help out
Really enjoyed my boss she was great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Swiss Chalet. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 603 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5