Swiss Chalet Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy busy busy
take-out prep & service, line cook, dishwasher. (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON14 December 2017
spent much time running round the kitchen like a headless chicken, very fast paced environment but thats what i enjoy about being in a kitchen in the first place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and fun
Prep and line cook (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 December 2017
It was a bit messy, the kitchen staff were usually on edge and you always went home feeling greasy, but it was a good job with plenty of hours. I enjoyed it for the most part.
Pros
Good hours, close to home and sometimes i got free food.
Cons
You always felt greasy at the end of the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
take out
Cashier (Former Employee) –  young and steele11 December 2017
it was a a job where your aways on your feet and what i would do there is help costumers, cashier, packaging, and placing online and walk in orders. also i learn fast food place wasn't for me.
Pros
half price off your meal
Cons
always on my feet
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starter job
Manager (Current Employee) –  Pickering, ON5 December 2017
great people to work with, money is okay, hours are either the bare minimum or a couple hours longer.. lots of split shifts as well. not a bad place to work if you are starting out and need to gain valuable experience.
Pros
discounts on food, great people
Cons
mostly evening shifts as that is peak time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of fun
Line Cook/ Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON3 December 2017
I still am friends with a lot of the guys who worked in the kitchen then. The place was exactly what you would expect from a part-time kitchen job. Great people and good times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive workplace
Server/ Waiter (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 December 2017
It was very nice and friendly atmosphere. The people where always helping me improve. If I needed help there were always helpful. Good tips. Will look forward to working there again.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough, intensive work
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Tecumseh, ON30 November 2017
Swiss Chalet is a good establishment to work at. Good co-workers. Limited breaks and intensive work. Job stability is great due to a contract with the union.
Pros
Job Stability
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff,poor management
Server (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON22 November 2017
Prepare to be run off your feet while the owners tell you how easy the staff has it because they're so "helpful". Most coworkers are great, easy to get along with. Managers are not helpful no matter how busy you are likely because they've been instructed not to help.
Pros
20% off for brand restaurants
Cons
split shifts, short staffed often, near constant off hours training on line that they don't pay you for
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consistent, Friendly
Hostess/Busser/Server/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 November 2017
Friendly environment, we were like a little family. There was always something to do, or something to learn. Management was pretty cool. They did their jobs right without taking advantage. The work place was fine. The hardest part was picking up hours because it wasn't always busy and there was a lot of competition, and we were shutting down so everything started slowing down. I liked the team work and the consistence. I liked that there was always something to do, or something new to learn.
Pros
Learning new things, Consistence
Cons
Scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fun
Meal preparation for morning crew (Current Employee) –  Saint John, NB8 November 2017
not happy here there is a lot of not to like about it hours suck manegement is not concerned about their staffs feelings or belifes at all and there is no break if you work an 8 hour shift
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 November 2017
everyone is fun to work with and the managers are very friendly, flexible and approachable. the workers are from various cultures, and the atmosphere is very relaxing
Pros
food discount
Cons
pay less
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to learn new skills
Manager, Sever, Takeout (Former Employee) –  Paris, ON7 November 2017
I had a really good experience working with swiss chalet, i got to learn new skills and move up within the restaurant from doing takeout all the way up to management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unproductive and slow workplace with little to no team work
Cook (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC6 November 2017
Swiss Chalet should honestly be anybody's last resort for a job, especially for a cook or a dishwasher. This is the only place I've worked at where nearly nobody works together but just simply move slow, get in your way, ignore you or.. my favorite part.. when it's super busy with a line out the door and some of the cooks will just stand there doing a single task and blowing off the rest of their job for somebody else like me or a co-worker to get yelled at by the manager to pick up their slack. Plus they pish you to do up to 3 other peoples jobs with yours on top of that somehow at the same time aallllll for the heafty pay of $10.45/h(minimum wage at the time) with no meals or tips, because they don't like to give the cooks or dishwashers tips.. Just minimum wage, but at least you'd get meals half off(though they'd try to tell you that you only get kid meals half off) which you usually have to make yourself... then probably get dragged into helping more even if you're off your shift. But despite all that, there's 2 managers there that are respectable, good people.
Pros
Make a friend or two and the hour and a half breaks during split shifts
Cons
Works you like a slave buidling a pyramid with zero benefits too
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bar tender
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON3 November 2017
Swiss chalet is a home warming environment. it provides all customers with love and care.
being a bar tender was defiantly a fun experience. i learned how to make different types of drinks and considered every customer with much respect.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dysfunctional family
takeout (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON1 November 2017
working with the staff if wonderful but at times can be challenging but overall is like one big family. front and back of house do communicate fairly well but do ave some difficulty at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swiss
Dishwasher/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Cobourg, ON26 October 2017
Overall it is a great place to work, the fast paced enviroment and friendly people made work go fast, I enjoyed working here very much, it was a fun workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Kitchen (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON25 October 2017
Safe and fun place to work, great with food safety training and kitchen experience. This job is great if you love food, families and a restaurant life.
Pros
Great food!
Cons
Standing on your feet for long times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun work place
busgirl (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON25 October 2017
it was a great place to work and a friendly place to work I really liked working at swiss chalet. I Learned to prepare wraps,salad, and even help in Harvey's when needed with prepare the toping on burgers
Pros
exparence i got working there
Cons
dont have to cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and very fun, welcoming place to work
Hostess/Busser (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON23 October 2017
everyone at this swiss chalet location are friendly and always willing to help each other out and always provided 100% customer service i enjoyed working there for over a year the management are friendly as well as the servers we were like one big slightly dysfunctional family always having a good time with fellow employees as well as customers
Pros
60% off meals at swiss/harveys while you are on shift or worked that day
Cons
servers can get frustrated with you sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 October 2017
The rush hour can be really busy but the server still be nice and help the customer with their needs and wants. Customer Service is good and they welcome the customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Swiss Chalet. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 629 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5