Find companies:
Swift Transportation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
641 reviews

Swift Transportation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treated like part of a family
Flatbed Truck Driver (Current Employee), Lathrop, CASeptember 28, 2014
If you want to work for a company that will treat you like a family member and not just a number than Swift is the place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting clerical position
Student Review Manager (Former Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 26, 2014
Must be computer literate
Must have a basic knowledge of the criminal justice system
Must be able to learn how to operate computer data bases
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
student driver (Former Employee), casacorna txSeptember 20, 2014
Pros: great company
Cons: hotel slow trucks 55mph
Had some personal issues had to leave the program but great experience & the only trouble I seen was within some fellow classmates who didn't fully read the HANDBOOK they ask you to PRINT OUT after completing the online course its basically lets you know what your getting into
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch out for other employees
Wal-Mart Dedicated Driver Leader (Current Employee), Pottsville, PASeptember 17, 2014
Everything is okay if you have an family if not look to change shifts atleast 4 times to make other workers happy and to keep them from quitting
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Semo-trainle driver for a transportation company serving the United States
Semi-Trailer driver (Former Employee), Syracuse, NY (Local terminal)September 15, 2014
Pros: much work available, moderately large company, terminals throughout us, several major training facilities, good equipment including cold weather operation
Cons: salary and benefits on low side of much of industry, hinderance of national guard obligations
(Very similar to Celedon description)
See Celedon for typical work day
Lessons learned helped understand industrial technology and economy.
Management largely not in my view as the driver schedulers were my prime contact for work responsibilities.
Co-workers very similar to at Celedon
Hardest part of work and enjoyable very similar to Celedon experiences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On the road for weeks at a time.
Over the Road Driver (Former Employee), Lancaster, TXSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: see country.
Cons: big company attitudes within upper management.
Unsafe and hostile environment. Paring of drivers needs better compatibility studies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good flat bed experience
over the road truck driver (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: enjoyed driving flat bed
Cons: not enough home time
had a great co-driver. visited the US, all 48 states. good flat bed driving experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
OTR Driver (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: good treatment of employees
Cons: need to be home every night for my daughter. im a single father.
Great people, family atmosphere. Swift has one of the best Trucking schools in the industry. They are truly best in class.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going from state to state.
Semi Truck Driver (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZSeptember 7, 2014
Seeing the US is great.
A lot of quiet time.
Always on the go.
You get to go home twice a month.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated run with a Fun group of people to be around, love the up and back getting home every night.
Truck Driver (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: local type run and home 99% of the time every night
Cons: increased traffic, longer days with less pay compensation
My typical day starts off by getting to the DC where my truck and that days load is at. I start my day by checking into the DC dispatch office to get a copy of that days BOL for the load and then head over to my truck. Once at my truck I do A pre trip inspection on the Tractor/Truck and then bobtail over to the out bound row where I hook to and pre – more... trip the trailer I will be transporting up to western washington for delivery with the stores needed merchandise. On the way out I usually pass other co-workers on their way out and throw out a waving hand has for there is about 15-20 of us that leave around the same time in the morning.
My trip up to western washington starts and I then head out to I-5. Every other day has a stop on the start of the day on the way up to fuel up the truck, put on DEF (if needed) and scanning paperwork to insure that it is received in a timely manor. The hardest part of my day is probably dealing with heavy traffic in the high volume areas of the cities that I travel through both up and back through. The best part of the days is getting back at the end of the day safely and completing both the task of delivering the morning and returning with the goods necessary to the DC's in bound inventory. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Fontana, CASeptember 5, 2014
I enjoyed working there and have only good things to say about this company and the management personnel
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Qualcom, long days 6 days a week
Dedicated Driver for Walmart (Former Employee), Los Lunas, NMSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: qualcom insures downtime
Cons: long hours each day
6 days a week, with long days and no weekends off. Sleep in the truck often, home time very limited.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work
Truck Driver (Current Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: great oppritunity to see the country
Cons: a lot of time away from home
A typical day of work consist of performing preventive maintenance to equipment. Communicate with driver leaders and vendor to set up pickup and delivery schedules. Plan your route and safely transport freight.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OTR truck driver
OTR truck driver (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZAugust 29, 2014
Pros: travel seeing the country
Cons: low pay long hours
Over the Road truck Driver truck driver and all that it entails.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment not concerned with drivers needs
OTR Truck Driver (Current Employee), Troutdale, ORAugust 28, 2014
Pros: health insurance
Cons: not enough home time
Typically in a days work I receive my assignment between 6-8 AM each day, never know ahead of that time what my destination will be. Sometimes have to wait for longer period 12-24 hrs for a load. Some days short runs 34 miles, 200 miles which end up taking up all my driving hrs because of delivery times and traffic.
Management seems unconcerned with – more... drivers needs for time for Dr. appointments and home time.
Co-workers seem to have the same problems.
Hardest part of the job taking care of health and finding healthy food on the road.
Most enjoyable part of the job, I love to drive, enjoy doing my job well at all times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
ECOT (Former Employee), Laredo, TXAugust 27, 2014
I loved working there.

It was fun and a place where you could meet a lot of different people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was work nothing more
Over the Road Truck Driver (Former Employee), New Boston, MIAugust 25, 2014
Pros: no
Cons: standard dot breaks
It was a learning experience, I Don't Have anything else to say about this company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
need something new
Driver (Current Employee), Monroe GaAugust 25, 2014
long driving, and don't know what time you coming to work. You only get one day off work. The hardest part is being away from your family and don't have time to get anything done
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enough work and pay system terrible
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Lathrop, CAAugust 23, 2014
Pros: saw a lot of states
Cons: pay unfair and working conditions terrible
drove truck with helper, not friendly
long hrs of interstate driving
had to pay for gas never new how much I would get at the end of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work with
Driver/Heavy Haul Division Representative (Former Employee), Lancaster, TXAugust 20, 2014
Pros: they take care of there drivers
Cons: working in all types of weather
was able to pick hours work
communication was key to work here
great driver management
co works were good
working all types of weather
very easy to work with when needed time off

1 2 3 4 5

About Swift Transportation

Swift Corporation is a truckload carrier that operates a fleet of truckload carrier equipment.

Swift Transportation Photos