Find companies:
Swift Transportation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
620 reviews

Swift Transportation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i didnt care for this work
Truck driver (Former Employee), Grandview, WAAugust 18, 2014
Cons: lousy pay, 14 hr days
lousy pay, 14 hour work days. i needed a job and chose truck driving. i did it for almost a year and i didnt like it. i am sure that if someone likes truck driving that swift is a good place to work. i got lousy pay and had to work 14 hr days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for beginners, but pay attention
CDL Class A Driver (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZAugust 18, 2014
Pros: thorough training
Cons: low pay, slow trucks
Their training program is very thorough. The dispatches in the dry box department can be chaotic and poorly planned. Make sure to use common sense and do hesitate to ask questions. The pay is low, and the trucks are slow. Office staff (dispatchers) seems to be disengaged from the drivers not knowing what a map looks like so dispatches do not make sense – more... at times. But it is experience and they do get you behind the wheel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work experience
Owner Operator Recruiter (Former Employee), Fontana, CAAugust 16, 2014
Pros: good co workers to help you succeed
Cons: no loyalty
A good company to work for but you will be run over if your not being productive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i LEARNED ON MY OWN
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Lancaster, TXAugust 14, 2014
Pros: i got to drive
Cons: the pay
I WAS NOT THOUGHT THEY BEST WAY POSSIBLE. THEY DID GIVE ME IN OPPORTUNITY BY I MOSTLY LEARNED ON MY OWN TO DRIVE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
graet place to work with possivle advansment
production (Former Employee), Marshalltown, IAAugust 12, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Work as a team to maximize productivity and efficiency.
Capable of working in stressful situations in times of need.
Willing to work in an environment where producing high volume output is the key.
Willing to work long hours as needed.
Follow OSHA’S safety guidelines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a job
Driver (Current Employee), CAAugust 11, 2014
Cons: away from family a lot
Truck driving will keep you in a job as long as you keep your record clean. As for family and friends dont expect to see them often if you're over the road, maybe once a month. If you can get lucky to get a dedicated position then you can get home weekly and some even most nights. It took several months for me to get a dedicated route and im home a – more... couple days a week but its still not enough if you have kids. As for pay Swift is one of the lowest, dedicated you can make a lot more but over the road expect to begin at 25cpm and at times sit for days without a load. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not please at all,
Truck Driver (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 11, 2014
this company is good just for getting your cdl,great cast of trainer and fellow students,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
McDonalds of trucking companies
Dedicated Delivery Driver (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZAugust 10, 2014
I would not recommend this kindergarten company.
no money. Nobody knows what the other person is doing.
Broken promises. Flat out lies. You'll starve at Swift unless you lease a truck and take on beginner students. which means you could die from somebody who don't know how to drive. And you cant go home. If you want to average $1000 a week. before taxes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Co-workers
Driver Leader (Current Employee), Albuquerque, NMAugust 10, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: lack of leadership and no value put on education.
This is a fast paced work environment, which will keep you on your toes at all times. Management lacks education, leadership skills, and are promoted based on relationship, not experience. Co-workers are hard working and will make sure you succeed, but have to deal with a micro-manager who only looks out for himself, and does not reward or recognize – more... his employees. Management is the most challenging part of this job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Finance (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZAugust 8, 2014
Swift culture is great. Open Door policy for all executives and really works on internal and external customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok i ges but not rael helpful
driver class a havey hal (Former Employee), Sumner, WAAugust 7, 2014
Pros: thay are able to keep you moveing
Cons: know trianing or help if you make a mistake just termnation
don t give new driver a chanes as they do make mistakes ran WA . OR. ID. and was home weekly other driver were unfriendly management don't care as long you were able drive deliver to terminal always hard to fined spot to put trailer driving to different palaces
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long time away from home
Driver (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCAugust 7, 2014
driver to different states to make your deliveries to dollar general store and your making your stops on time. the long drivers and been away from the house. their were no good parts about the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
otr driver
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Fontana, CAAugust 4, 2014
travail all 48 states worked independent. deliver on time read maps and keep log books
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nada
OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee), Ocala, FLAugust 3, 2014
not good if you want to spent time with your family. good for experience on the road!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Driver Manager (Former Employee), Jonestown PAAugust 1, 2014
Okay place to work 50 hour weeks rude co worker manager did do a thing about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swift is a joke of a trucking company
Shop Foreman (Former Employee), Inver Grove Heights, MNJuly 31, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: everything else. doesnt follow dot rules, expected to have no life.
Not sure who is giving them 5 stars unless they are new to the trucking industry, worked slave labor prior to coming to Swift, or actually work for Swift and trying to raise their review score, but the place is a joke!! Just search for Swift Accidents or Reviews and you'll get the idea!

I was hired as an hourly paid Shop Foreman from 7am to 5:30pm – more... 4 days a week. Within a week I was told my hours are actually 6:30am to 6pm, and possibly later, with is no overtime pay and no lunch break or coffee / rest room break.

Out of 10 mechanics in the shop, only 2 actually know what they are doing, a 3rd is learning good, and the rest are lazy who like to falsify work performed and create drama within the shop. 1 mechanic who had no formal mechanic training on anything mechanical actually went to the local tech school and asked to take a diploma test because he's been in the truck mechanic industry for a year and knows what he's doing. They laughed at him and said no, yet he became offended and said the tech school doesn't know what they are doing! Seriously??

Dispatch is also a joke who think they run the shop. They call them selves "Driver Managers" but If they were TRUE Driver Managers, they would know what driving is like, and also be familiar with the shop work load and all environments of trucking, not just dispatching "steering wheel holders" as they call the drivers. The dispatch team also expect you to take care of load transfers at the terminal and take care Overages/Shortages/Damaged product & store them. Since when is that a maintenance duty? With previous employer, that was the job of the actuall Driver Manager, not the shop! The trainers are mostly OK but forget a LOT of training just to get newbies on the road. As for DOT Inspection, THERE IS NONE!! They do a 90 Day vehicle inspection and call it good! No Inspection paperwork, and no DOT sticker for company or O/O trucks, other than there own. This creates a problem if a truck thats based-plated in a state (such as Minnesota) that requires a DOT inspection decal. They say their own inspection covers DOT inspections. Really? Which brings me to my next point - that not 1 mechanic is certified for DOT Vehicle Inspections! And out of all the mechanics I supervised, only 1 actually had been a certified DOT Vehicle inspector but let it go because Swift doesn't require it nor allow you time off to get re-certified.

This is a very short list of things wrong with Swift,most of it's drivers, it's management, dispatch, and mechanics. Run run run far away from this place, and if you see a Swift truck in the road, get away! You may be next to some driver who has less than a week experience. And if you're thinking of going there to get your Class A CDL, look at other places, or a real school, not a "trainer CDL employer"

I left just shy of 3 months because of truck safety concerns that I could not enforce or have the backing of with the shop manager or other foreman, lack of professionalism and experience all around, too much drama, and lack of respect. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with other employees
Data entry, e-faxing, and other clerical duties (Current Employee), Martinsburg, WVJuly 30, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: no room for growth, or pay
Enjoyed working with customers and drivers and other co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
got me home daily
Company Local Driver (Former Employee), Gary, INJuly 29, 2014
6-10hr work days mostly drop and hooks. The work was easy and simple pay was great . health benefits where great, got me home daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large typical trucking company.
Truck driver (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 29, 2014
Pros: alone time.
Cons: pay, health. no hobbies or personal life.
Good place to learn driving. A very hard job with a horrific turnover rate.
Not a place/job for anyone not willing to work very hard.
The pay stinks.
Your work week will be around seventy hours.
Most likely go out four weeks at a time and get a whopping four days off.
If you compare your work hours to your pay, you will join the people who make up the – more... huge turnover.
People will tell you Swift sucks. It is actually just like other companies.
Good job for someone who wants to get divorced.
If you do your job well, you get left alone and the job get's easier in some ways with the passage of time.
The big part of the job is customer service. Typical stupid coworker can't seem to get this and makes your job harder and loses the company accounts.
It's a very lonely job.
It will slowly destroy your health.
The company hasn't raised the pay in years. The whole industry is guilty of this. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work for
DRIVER (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 23, 2014
Pros: pride in the work we performed for the company
Cons: sorry they discontinued the business
The company was operated very smoothly during my tenure I haul freight for2 years and later became a trainer for the company was very successful. Upon the company's switch to include auto-rail was my calling the work was demanding and the" Auto Haulers" were a group of drivers all to them selves and there was pride in what we did delivering some very – more... expensive cars to Dealers throughout the states. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Swift Transportation

Swift Corporation is a truckload carrier that operates a fleet of truckload carrier equipment.

Swift Transportation Photos