Find companies:
Swift Transportation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
597 reviews

Swift Transportation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
at the park time
Factory Worker (Former Employee), London, ENGAugust 26, 2013
Pros: lunch or snacktime
Cons: short time
light defficult,i learned to sacrifice they are good manageng nice co worker the cold like snow breaktime and talking to the co worker
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job for the Single
Over the Road Driver (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 8, 2013
Good job for the single.
Need to be prepared to live on the road.
unstable hours and pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DIDNT GET HIRED BACK AFTER FATHER OF DAUGHTER WAS IN HOSPITAL
Truck Driver (Former Employee), PHOENIX,AZJuly 1, 2013
Pros: they paid hotel
Cons: they let you go for no reason.
BAD REVIEW-GOT LAID OFF WHEN I HAD TO COME HOME FROM CALIFORNIA TO GO SEE MY X IN THE HOSPITAL AND WOULDNT GET HIRED BACK BECAUSE I LEFT DURING TRAINING AND MY 12 YEAR OLD WAS HOME ALONE .MY DRIVER MANAGER WOULD NOT REPLY TO MY PHONE CALLS. NOT A SITUATION YOU WANNA GET CAUGHT IN WITHOUT COMPANY UNDERSTANDING YOU'R BASIC NEEDS.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent benefits, schedule, pay, equipment need improvement.
Driver (Former Employee), Twin citiesJuly 20, 2014
benefits aren't bad, but schedule, pay, equipment, and trucks need improvement. dispatch is pretty good in some parts of the country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
never home work a lot
CDL/Trainer Driver (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 17, 2014
Pros: money newer truck
Cons: never home
lot of work low pay your just a truck number at this company move loads across country. You will have no life 2 days off per month . If you break down you dont get paid.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
run, dont walk run away from this place
driver (Former Employee), spokane waJuly 14, 2014
Pros: my 2nd mentor
Cons: everything!
I joined this place with intension to get a refresher to get better knowledge of the new. I got on my truck with a mentor and learned all I needed in 1st couple days. Not sure why they kept me from home but I'm sure they get money from the government if the keep me for the whole 6 weeks of tortureThey he'd a mentor pick me up in another town and wanted – more... me to take my test in another part of the country to give me a load back home. Well my own vehicle will be sitting in a town I don't live in. Also the $200-$300 a week is so worth it. I completed the hrs they pretty much forced me to do and talked my mentor into driving me to the airport in his home town. Now no money for them from the gov. Lesson learned. Unless you are homeless and don't like having money, the you really should work for swift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job for new comers
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Edwardsville, KSJuly 14, 2014
Pros: good start company
Cons: away from home alot
get job to start career, just stay focus on your goals, sometimes hard
staying away from home weeks at a time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very energetic and challenging work environment.
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJuly 14, 2014
Nice company to work for and I would recommend to anyone seeking employment in this field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Truck Driver (Current Employee), Decatur, GAJuly 11, 2014
Pros: seeing different locations in united states
Cons: when trucks break down
A typical day at work is doing a pre trip on the tractor truck to make sure everything is working properly. Pick up and deliver loads to different locations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad experience
Company Driver (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 9, 2014
company dont focus on the drivers. dispatchers are rude and dont care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 Hour Days
Class A Driver (Former Employee), Punta Gorda, FlJuly 7, 2014
Pros: nice people at punta gorda shop.
Cons: too many hours.
From the Time I woke to the time I returned home it was a 20 hour day. 7days a week , no weekends, one penny a year raise. Very nice people to work for though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transportation Giant
Owner/Operator (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 6, 2014
Pros: decent equipment(trucks)
Cons: untrained instructors
Swift is a great company to start your introduction to transportation. I attended the school and entered into the workforce eager-ed to be trained to be a safe driver. Training was intense and challenging at time but in debt and necessary. For someone wanting to be introduced into the transportation industry and needing to go through training, Swift – more... would be a company I would recommend. I have traveled around the world to many countries on business and leisure and I have now had the opportunity to travel to 45 states and Canada by working for Swift. That's one thing less left on my bucket list. thanks Swift! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
trucking was fun
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Manteno, ILJuly 3, 2014
driving on the road.
co-workers was cool in helpful
management was always on point
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow ride
Over the Road driver (Former Employee), Lancaster, TXJune 27, 2014
slow ride.. lol learn to never do it again management okay co workers are okay the pay was the hardest part about this job the enjoyable part of this job was that I saw more of the states
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swift
OTR Driver Mentor (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 26, 2014
great place to work, dm was really helpful and kept drivers running lots of miles
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get your months and leave.
Driver (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 26, 2014
Pros: nice place to start out
Cons: difficulty driving between midnight and 6 in the morning. fired
Good company to start out with. Neat clean and well organized place. First mentor I worked with was very knowledgeable and taught me tip for driving the road no other mentor taught me. Second one was less so. I could not understand him over his extremely heavy accent. Make matter worse he fell asleep at the wheel more than once nearly driving off the – more... road. Hit hit the rumble strip and did not not wake up at all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much Drama
Driver (Current Employee), Gary, ind.June 26, 2014
Pros: a lot of driving
Cons: too much arguing
Working at Swift there was just too much Drama involved. The actual driving wasn't bad, there was plenty of loads to take,but Yous literally had to fight with the terminal managers to just drop your load off
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
On-Site Operations Manager II (Former Employee), TX, CA, AL, FLJune 25, 2014
Pros: support, benefits, people, management
Cons: pay could be better
Swift is a great company. They treated me great and offered me the ability to move up many times. The people are great, the systems are great. Tons of support on all fronts. I really learned about the industry at Swift and I am grateful to them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for job advancement but found it is not the company for me. There is not enough home time.
Professioanal Driver (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 24, 2014
Deliver freight, long, late days. Operate tractor-trailer vehicle
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On the road
Tractor trailer owner (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 24, 2014
Over the road driver,inspects truck before and after trips and submits report indicating truck condition, reads bill of lading to determine assignment, fastens chain or binders to secure load on trailer during transit,loads or unloads, or assists in loading and unloading truck,services truck with oil, fuel, and radiator fluid to maintain tractor-trailer,obtains – more... customer's signature or collects payment for services,inventories and inspects goods to be moved, wraps goods using pads, packing paper, and containers, and secures load to trailer wall using straps.gives directions to helper in packing and moving goods to trailer.drives tractor-trailer combination, applying knowledge of commercial driving regulations, to transport and deliver products, livestock, or materials, usually over long distance, maneuvers truck into loading or unloading position, following signals from loading crew as needed,drives truck to weigh station before and after loading, and along route to document weight and conform to state regulations,maintains driver log according to I.C.C. regulations. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Swift Transportation

Swift Corporation is a truckload carrier that operates a fleet of truckload carrier equipment.

Swift Transportation Photos