Find companies:
Sureway Construction Group of Companies
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

Sureway Construction Group of Companies Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, respectful staff, monotony, understanding
Lube technician (Lube helper) and laborer (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 29, 2014
Pros: understanding staff and management
Cons: monotony, long hours
I worked part-time as a lube technician for a short while. I believe my experience there would not reflect a typical lube technitian's day or experience. However, what I can say is work on the lube crew was busy, always changing and more challenging. The hours were long, but the staff was mostly great. As a full-time laborer, I start working at the – more... shop at 6:00 am and spend the better part of my day sweeping, taking out garbage, and doing other various cleaning and maintenance tasks. I normally work 11 hours a day, five days a week. I learned the work ethic of a construction company. My experience with the management staff was mostly positive. For the most part they were very understanding and respectful, while staying professional and efficient. The hardest part of the job for me was the feeling of being insignificant and overlooked, the lack of a routine or process, the monotony, the long hours, and the lack of a challenge. What I did enjoy was the understanding and pro-active approach of Sureway and it's staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized
Safety Coordinator (Former Employee), Enbridge SET Project EdmontonMay 10, 2014
Very understaffed for the Enbridge project. Safety culture was not defined or communicated, program was not developed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor quality
heave eqipment operator (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 31, 2014
Pros: good enviroment amongst staff and very friendly crew to new commers
Cons: long hours& pooly maintained equipment& lack of communication between management and employees
this company has one major issue the foreman dont talk to the staff and other foreman enough so the big issue i found is the left hand didnt know what the right hand was doing. the equipment was not mantained to a standard of being pleseant for employees to use and they had major issues with expecting employees to work 12 hours a day 7 days a week wit – more... out a day off at all during the season – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Bruderheim, ABMarch 31, 2014
Good company to work for, usually work 11 hour days at 6-7 days a week. Work day would go by fast because theres always something to do. Learned a lot about the industry and equipment from the foreman there. Very physically demanding work, hard on the body but very cool work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic, allows me to grow and learn different skills, lots of opportunity
Heavy equipment operator (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 29, 2014
Work 11 hr days, management is always reliable, big on safety in the industrial section, great bunch of people to work beside, especially when devoting long hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place where you can learn
Heavy Machinery Operator (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 13, 2014
I ha the chance to work with people who had 20 years of experiences . REAL PRO.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Heavy Equipment Operator (Full-time) (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABDecember 11, 2013
Good company to work for, usually work 11 hour days at 6-7 days a week. Work day would go by fast because theres always something to do. Learned a lot about the industry and equipment from the foreman there. Very physically demanding work, hard on the body but very cool work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local, fun
Grades Person / Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee), EdmontonSeptember 16, 2013
Has their own challenges. Long hours but fun people to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not fun
Field Service Mechanic (Former Employee), EdmontonAugust 21, 2013
It was a sink or swim kind of place. Very stressful environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good atmosphere
Rubber Tire Backhoe Operatop (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 14, 2013
Cons: no hours
some of the crews were hard to get along with. The HR department is well put together. The hours were all over the place. I felt that the communication wasn't the greatest. The hardest part of the job is getting put on machines I've never ran and sort of expected to know what is going on and then other co-workers getting upset that you don't know the – more... proceders. The most enjoyable part of my time was while I was running the machine I was hired for which was the backhoe. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and Intelligent Crew
Safety Advisor / Coordinator (Current Employee), Edmonton AlbertaJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: great atmosphere
Cons: low pay / lay off
-Perform safety meeting and morning safety jha talk
-Help with equipment walk arounds and other start up tasks
-perform inspection on various areas located on site
-attend meetings
-daily troubleshooting for any problems that occur
-file paperwork and create forms and posters for safety
-implement the health and safety program is followed and reviewed
-perform – more... investigations when need be
-mentor employees and workers
-provide training in safety related programs
- conduct new hire orientations – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor place to work
Apprentice Welder (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 26, 2012
Pros: ppe surplied
Cons: long days
work with foreman and superintendents to build and repair tools and work with 25 mechanics on equipment repair.see resume.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working With Rail Cars
General Labourer (Current Employee), BruderheimOctober 25, 2012
Pros: n/a
Cons: extreme long hours, no breaks, working in heat with no water
We would unload truck loads of sand into rail cars at CP and CN rail sidings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked working on equipment
Labourer (Former Employee), EdmontonJuly 23, 2012
Pros: good pay, overtime, and ability to operate equipment
Cons: locations where i worked were always on far side of the city.
see what you have accomplished in a day, was a highlight. The bosses were good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrid
operator (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 7, 2013
Horrible management foremans are clueless no advancement unless your liked, no one cares Poor atmosphère,Poor company Bad leadership no hours no job secruity

Sureway Construction Group of Companies Photos