Find companies:
Sunrise Senior Living
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
344 reviews

Sunrise Senior Living Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Two miles from home, great supervisor and loved my co-workers
Administrator (Former Employee), McLean, VANovember 8, 2013
Daily monitoring and maintenance of the NBU, execute Netbackup product updates, patches and software upgrades.
Monitored backup jobs daily and troubleshoot the failure cause and then resubmitted or restarted failed jobs.
Created backup policies and managed backup schedules for over 2000 users’ data and 300 servers’ data.
Supported escalated users’ issues – more... managed by Heat and Magic ticketing systems.

There was nothing hard about that job and it was a pleasure to go to work everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Administrative Associate (Former Employee), Atlanta, GANovember 6, 2013
nice place to work. They treat you right but no place for career advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dependable Staff for Back-up When Needed
Caregiver/CNA (Former Employee), Sacramento, CANovember 6, 2013
Great introduction to working with Alzheimers - Dementia patients. Staff was pleasant and cooperative to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-orkers are kind and friendly.
Health Care Coordinator (Current Employee), Overland Park, KSNovember 5, 2013
Pros: work day starts at 9:00am.
Cons: heavy workload due to understaffing.
Difficult to maintain work-life balance when in managerial position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sunrise cares about it's residents
Human Resources Representative (Current Employee), The QuadrangleNovember 1, 2013
Sunrise as an overall company, is good. The company really cares about it's residents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management with high turnover rate
Lead Concierge (Current Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 21, 2013
The company itself is not horrible. It's the people who run it. A bunch of money minded hogs with no sense of gratitude for the people at the bottom of the food chain who do all the dirty work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, Fabulous staff
Concierge (Current Employee), Columbus, OHOctober 18, 2013
Everyone is so welcoming and gracious. I'm so glad to be a part of such a terrific team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what was expected in a good and bad way.
Cook (Current Employee), CAOctober 18, 2013
Pros: good staff, family atmosphere among team members
Cons: management, communication, pay, benefits
I worked for sunrise for two years and thought this would be the place i would grow my career. Needless to say it was not. i started as a dishwasher, a cook, a coordinator, a care manager, then laid off for lack of better terms. I was extremely disappointed in the management at multiple locations where i worked. The coordinators gossiped and talked – more... about the residents and staff in an unprofessional manner. The majority of the work falls on the underpaid and overworked staff. The management is always saying they hired new people but the staffing does not reflect it. The biggest problem is communication.
The good would be the family atmosphere that the front line employees create. The overall care to the residents would be the best I have seen in a long time but the staff can not do their best with sub par materials or staff. I wish the coordinators could work the front line jobs for a month to really get an idea of what they are asking of the staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great residents, poor workplace
Care Manager (Former Employee), MichiganOctober 17, 2013
Pros: free snacks, friendly residents
Cons: many lazy employees, including directors and other care managers
Coming into the job, I was promised near full time hours and was happy hearing that I would be scheduled so often. However, as time went on, I was only scheduled Saturday and Sunday every other weekend and management wouldn't schedule me any more hours, maybe one more during a pay period. Majority of my shifts were spent being short staffed which meant – more... that many residents were left waiting to use the restroom or to be changed for quite a bit of time until one of us could finish our current resident. Some staff wouldn't want to deal with some residents so they would leave them for someone else or until a later time. 3rd shift wouldn't regularly check residents at night, so when 1st shift would come in in the morning the more dependent residents would be soiled down to the bed mattress. Some of the people I worked with would take their half hour break but clock back in and spend another half hour in the break room chatting which left 1 person on the floor in charge of 30 people. Management would NEVER help out if we needed it, even if they were fully capable to simply help a resident out of their room to make it to lunch. In many ways they didn't seem there for the residents which was really sad and emotionally draining to those who see them the most. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not what they make it out to be
concierge (Former Employee), parma, ohOctober 14, 2013
Pros: residents
Cons: everything else
I had recently worked as the concierge. The residents were nice and it was a learning experience but the management is awful! Told me I had oppertunities to advance in the company- when I approached them about it they told me to look elsewhere for advancement. They would say one thing then switch it around, would 'talk with me' that I wasn't doing it – more... 'right' after I had done it how they asked. Unless you are on salary- dont expect to be treated with respect. Very BORING position with bad pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and productive working with the elderly
Line Cook (Former Employee), Friendship Heights, MDOctober 11, 2013
• Assisted the cook
• Set tables, bussed tables, washed dishes
• Provided a positive physical and social environment for our residents.
• Communicated effectively with residents, families, staff, vendors and the general public.
• Carried or lifted items weighing up to 50 pounds
• Stood up and moved about in the kitchen
• Handled food objects, products – more... and utensils
• Bend, stoop and kneeled
• Prepared and cook orders for daily operations
• Advised supervisor of low inventory items; assisted in receiving items and taking inventory as required.
• Maintained a clean, neat and well-organized work area, including but not limited to reach-ins, walk-ins and counters.
• Assisted by performing ware washer or other kitchen duties as needed. Assisted with other duties as assigned. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful residents, terrible upper management
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Ann Arbor, MIOctober 8, 2013
Pros: in sales you have good pay and benefits
Cons: overworked, no recognition, false values, see review...
I loved my job for 3 years until they were bought out and recently had a change over of management. Although the coordinators and employees are very hard workers and do their best to give the residents the highest quality care, management does not give them the tools or hands on training to provide this. They are also always short staffed. All employees – more... are considered replaceable and it is very hard to move up in a decent amount of time. Regional management will take as much out of you as possible, without compensation or recognition. Care managers are often forced to work doubles. They will not hire enough staff due to "budget" and fire people at the drop of a dime. A year ago I wanted everyone I knew and loved to either work or move into Sunrise but after this last year, I wouldn't suggest it to my worst enemy. All Sunrise stands for internally is making money..period. Although they preach a lot about their mission statement and how sacred human life is, their actions DO NOT uphold. I thought I had found my career for life. Sadly, I am extremely disappointed and let down by this company. Mostly I am sad for the residents and their families, as well as the Sunrise "pets," which are not taken care of properly and have no consistency in their lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It a job in general
Care Manager/Medication Tech (Former Employee), Towson, MDOctober 8, 2013
Longevity, Culture and good pay. Like the people liked the pay just left for something different
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sad
Activities & Volunteer Coordinator (Former Employee), Pikesville, MDOctober 7, 2013
Pros: caring for residents
Cons: co-workers and management does not care
It is no room for advancement. Staff does not treat residents in a professional manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learn a lot form the wonderful elderly that live their
Activities and Volunteer Coordinator (Former Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 7, 2013
Pros: outing with residents
Cons: healthcare, some management
Sunrise is a great place to work. You get such a rush from hearing so many different stories from the residents that live their. All the employees work well together as well. It's all about the elderly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Care Manager (Former Employee), Denver, COOctober 5, 2013
It was great when I was there, but I was only part time. I cant say much more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sunrise is a place to work. it makes you learn how to apreciate life.
LPN Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Washington, DCOctober 4, 2013
Pros: yes free lunch during staff meetings
Cons: lunch breaks in other to do an effective job
meeting with co-workers and working together to achieve optimum care.
i learn that being a sinior dose not make one less of a person.
management is very understanding, will work with staff.
continuation of care is the priority.
the hardest job is a patient in pain.
enjoyable part of the job is meeting with the patients needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
food is great quality, many activities, music & books.
Care Manager (Former Employee), Park Ridge, ILOctober 3, 2013
Pros: pays for a portion of school
Cons: hard to give personal attention to so many patients at 1 time
I respect Sunrise for the way they uphold their patients with such dignity in their facilities. They are very conscientious about the quality of their food & cleanliness. I would recommend this particular assisted living facility to anyone who would need this kind of service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting
Care Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 1, 2013
Pros: being able to care for others
Cons: seeing one expire
I have learned a lot on how to care of the Senior Community, enjoyed my co-workers that were on my shift we worked together as a team at all times. I feel that the hardest part of this job was seeing seniors expire. Most enjoyable part of this job was being able to bring a smile to a resident and care for them esp when they feel they have no one else – more... to turn to. A typical day at work was as soon as I arrived I cared for my residents took care of their laundry and other household duties. Prepared them for meals, activities, well as some one on one time. Also prepared them for sun downing and bed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place
Volunteer (Current Employee), Severna Park, MDSeptember 30, 2013
A lot of really nice people
allowed for schedule changes
Enjoyed the work

About Sunrise Senior Living

Sunrise Senior Living’s unique resident-centered services are delivered by a team trained to encourage independence, preserve – Read more

Sunrise Senior Living Photos