Find companies:
Sunrise Senior Living
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
380 reviews

Sunrise Senior Living Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Home Health Aide (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJanuary 9, 2014
Working for sunrise was very good for me i obtained a lot of information and i weas able to help my residents i got them cleaned and ready for there day the hardest part was if a resident passed away. but the most enjoyable part was talking to the residents
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very family oriented
Care Partner (Former Employee), Simi Valley, CAJanuary 6, 2014
It made me feel at home, loved all the residents as if they were my own grandparents. Was when they passed away on me though, made good friends at the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and loving place
Server (Current Employee), Lombard, ILJanuary 6, 2014
When I start to talk to my residents all my worries and problems go away. It is like I have 40 grandparents. I absolutely love working with the elderly. I try and make dinner an enjoyable social event and not just a plain dinner. I kitchen staff is great. Sometimes it is hard to communicate with management but they try to resolve any issues. If I cannot – more... talk to my direct supervisor there are plenty of supervisors I can talk to. I have learned that I truly love helping people, seniors in particular. One thing that was hard in the beginning was knowing everyone's likes and dislikes. It becomes easy if you just have conversation with the residents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteered as a pianist
Pianist (Current Employee), Exton, PAJanuary 5, 2014
Should have gotten paid for it, really. This is expensive work. But otherwise the people were nice. You get a really appreciative audience. Performance practice, it was, really.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Medication Technician/ Caregiver (Former Employee), Mission Viejo, CADecember 31, 2013
I enjoyed working at Sunrise Senior Living. I felt productive and all the residents were very nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A little about Sunrise
Care Manager (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LADecember 27, 2013
Pros: relaxed and laid back
Cons: when numerous pages come in at one time and youre only able to help one person at a time
Every day is different. Most days are relaxed and enjoyable. Its a pleasure to be able to give the gift of helping. Our company goes above and beyond the call of duty to promote a quality of life for the geriatric population. To me the hardest part of the job is death. We get so attached to the residents , that its sad to lose them. The most enjolyable – more... part of the job is the interaction and activities we do for them. A typical day at work is follwing your assignment sheets. Laundry and showers also setting the dining area and a little cleaning as well. We assist our residents with anything they need. Grooming , eating, showering, bathing, etc – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working there
Med Care Manager (Former Employee), Carmel, INDecember 26, 2013
I really enjoyed working there. Loved my residents, liked most of my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting workplace,company strives for the best,constantly updating their systems to new trends in lifestyle, technology,managment and compensation
Management (Current Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 25, 2013
Pros: monthly meetings food and beverages are served. many levels of management to go to for support
Cons: some days need to work late, if you are flexible this will not be a problem
Working with this company is great and many educational opportunities, They believe in promoting from within Have good benefits. Embrace diverse groups have a great mission statement "Championing the quality of life for all seniors". They have many locations throughout the USA,UK and Canada. You learn different management skills through different job – more... positions. Job varies daily and has many challenges which improves problem solving, building relationship,,better listening ear.constant follow ups, attention to detail,and communication skills., – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First position as Executive Director for the entire property. Created over budget progess for success in meeting budgeted finaceing financiial budget
Executive Director (Former Employee), Rock Hill, SCDecember 25, 2013
Pros: great position in completing my position
Great training process and completeted completely with perfect process in meeting and working with all deprtement heads and complet staff of property
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
different outlook on healthcare
Wellness Nurse (Current Employee), Chesterfield, MODecember 23, 2013
Pros: i had a job
Cons: team, distance
it a job everyone will have a different experience, totally different then a skilled facility
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with opprotunities to grow.
LCM, MCM, DRCM (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCDecember 21, 2013
Pros: free lunch, overtime
Cons: high turnover rate
I believe that sunrise is a nice assisted living home. I have been working in this facility for almost 2 years and for the most part I have enjoyed my experience. I have had the opportunity to grow with this company. I started out a DCM (Designated Care Manager) and after a few months was promoted to LCM (Lead Care Manager). Not long after I started – more... working as a MCM (Medication Care Manager). I have gain a lot of experience working in this company. By choice I decided that I wanted to try a different avenue in the company and I began to work in the dietary department as a DRCM (Dining Room Care Manager). Serving during meals, an I have enjoyed this job as well and continue to work in this field currently. I truly enjoy working in this field and have a passion for helping the elderly.
In the time I have been with the company I have seen a high turnover rate in the management, which I think has cause some issues in the facility. I believe that the management in place at this time will do a great job in getting the facility back to where it needs to be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor
Care Assistant (Current Employee), Esher, ENGDecember 17, 2013
Cons: no support
very stressful job, no support from management at all,
the pay for the work expected is awful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with, learned so much in a very short amount of time.
Care manager (Current Employee), Roseville, MNDecember 16, 2013
Pros: i love my job, just great people to work with.
Cons: i love my job
I love working in team. I love my present work the only down side is that, it does not count toward my nursing assistant certificate which has to stay active for my school purpose.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT JOB
Care Manager (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 16, 2013
Pros: free food, room
Cons: traveling
GREAT JOB, PLENTY PERKS, DEALING WITH OLDER CLIENTS. HAS PLENTY PERKS. BUT NICE TO WORK AROUND GOOD PEOPLE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sunrise is a decent place to work
Care Manager (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDDecember 16, 2013
Pros: good security, good food
Cons: short breaks or sometimes no break, low pay for back breaking work
Sunrise is a decent place to work but you have to have a genuine love for taking care of people every need. Work hours are kinda crazy and scheduled days could change last minute.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Director of Dining Services (Former Employee), Plainview, NYDecember 14, 2013
This establishment provided experiences to increase my skills as a director of dining services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with sunrise is fun
LPN (Current Employee), Carmel, INDecember 12, 2013
I am very pleased to be a part of sunrise company but there is no job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Care Manager (Former Employee), Henderson, NVDecember 11, 2013
Pros: you get to use walkie talkies.
Cons: they started a computer testing process
Helping elderly residents with daily activities
I learned not to have a personal relationship with your boss
Management always looked to point the finger
Co workers lied to get you into trouble
Hardest part about the job was being a part of the seniors lives daily
The most enjoyable part was leaving work feeling that you helped people everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sunrise Senior Living
Assisted Living Coordinator (Former Employee), Bellevue, WADecember 9, 2013
Pros: excellent working environment, chance to make a difference, great training opportunities, well paid.
Cons: long hours, 24/7 on-call
A typical day starts with payroll review and community walk through. There is a 9AM meeting to ensure all coordinators are on the same page and then as the Assisted Living Coordinator I managed staff schedules and resident care. The working environment was wonderful and well managed and compensation was the highest in the area/field. There was always – more... training available and encouraged and there was always someone available to help from the community support office. It was a wonderful working environment and I was sad to leave, but it was important to be near my husband. If possible I would certainly work for Sunrise Senior Living again in the future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very team member oriented
Human Resource Manager (Former Employee), Atco, NJDecember 9, 2013
I enjoyed working for Sunrise Senior Living and their culture and mission for caring for seniors. Unfortunately the company was sold effective 11/1/2013 and I was laidoff on Dec. 5, 2013.

Sunrise has awesome training programs and encouraged team member engagement and involvement. I love working in Human Resources as I love the interaction with the – more... team members and especially enjoy working where the residents lived. They have alot to teach all of us! – less

About Sunrise Senior Living

Sunrise Senior Living’s unique resident-centered services are delivered by a team trained to encourage independence, preserve – Read more

Sunrise Senior Living Photos