Find companies:
Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
13 reviews

Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Practium (Former Employee), TorontoMarch 26, 2014
Pros: free lunches
I was very humbled to be allowed to volunteer at the Sunnybrook.
Management and staff was very helpful and supportive.
A typical day was very busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical Office Administrator
Medical Office Administrator (Former Employee), 2075 Bayview Ave, Toronto, OntJanuary 20, 2014
Very heavy workload. Outpatient clinics daily. Numerous medical transcription notes to GP. Poor management. Co-workers, pleasant and helpful at times. Getting notes out to GP was the hardest part, just one person to conduct a five doctor's clinic was hard. I enjoyed having to deal with the patients and always telling myself and the Dr's what a great – more... job I am doing....that is very inspiring. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Nursing (Former Employee), NursingJuly 10, 2013
Pros: independent
Cons: very bad and poor management.
I do not recommend. Bad management, poor working environment and no appreciation. Co-worker backstabbing and trying for climbing the latter do anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting work, but poor management
Post-Doctoral Research Fellow (Former Employee), Toronto, OnJune 6, 2013
Pros: interesting projects
Cons: poor management of resources
- Very interesting work
- Poor management of resources
- Poor quality control
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Billing Clerk (Former Employee), north york onMay 16, 2013
Great place to work, lovely people, enjoyed my time there. Would recommend it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaboration in working with team members and across departments
4-month internship (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 2, 2013
Pros: work environment
Cons: location
The position I currently hold at Sunnybrook is self-directed, which allows me to utilize my independence and self-motivation strategies with confidence. My professional skills include administrative work, performing research, attending meetings and conferences as a member of the Smoking Cessation Team, organizing events, and introducing lung cancer – more... patients with a history of smoking to partake in a study on their use of tobacco. Managing these projects requires proficiency with Microsoft Office programs, using Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and Outlook on a regular basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, bad management
Registered Nurse, Full Time/Casual (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 20, 2013
Pros: worked with good people
Cons: no one listened to the nurses
I truly enjoyed my time at Sunnybrook. There were many opportunities to take advantage of. For the most part, I had no problems with my co-workers. I did have an issue with my manager and felt I had no option but to leave my position as this person made my work life miserable. My biggest complaint is this particular person forced many other staff members – more... to leave. There were numerous complaints against her but she remains and many below her had felt the need to leave. She has ruined more than a handful of good nurses professional life including mine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Much experience with the verterans,all very good.
Registered Practical Nurse (Former Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 14, 2012
Pros: lots of work +++ overtime 16hrs. shifts
Cons: had to work all the hollidays, short of staff, always..
Really liked Sunnybrook,miss it still today.Very diverse gave me a full scope exprience.I thrived at it.Started mds. and a few other things also.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful team environment
Clinical Research Documentation Coordinator (Former Employee), Toronto, OntarioDecember 3, 2012
Inovative, productive and exciting environment. Dedicated, motivated staff, wonderful place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best empoyer I've worked for. Felt that they were too internally focoused and not as sensitive to outside issues as they could have been.
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, OnSeptember 6, 2012
Pros: contract position, fairly flexible hours.
Cons: no one was interseted in changing the system even when it was broken.
Meet with pm's and internal clients to discuss planning and corporate space requirements. Attend meetigns with consultants, contractors etc. Reviw rports, and contractural document with regards to comliance with schedules and costs.
What I learned: woring within this type of organization does not provide you with the autonomy or freedom to use the skills – more... and abilities that you have to offer. It is very structure oriented and not subject to too much change from within.
Hardest part of the job was the inability to make a difference.
Most enjoyable part was the people I worked with and acted as mentor too. It was great to see them grow in ability and to move on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project Management
Project Management Coordinator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 6, 2013
This was an interesting experience. Quite the opposite of what I expected. In many regards, I think an experience at this company makes one stronger.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Medical Office Clerk ( My Placement) (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 16, 2013
Everyone works very hard.
Always concentrate on your job to avoid making mistakes and put patients at risk and inconvenience.

About Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, abbreviated SHSC and known simply as Sunnybrook, is an academic health sciences centre located – Read more