Suncor

243 reviews

Suncor Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Suncor is a great company.
Transportation Auditor (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: camp life with food included, flexible hours, great people.
Cons: none.
I was hired for a two month contract in Alberta in the summer of 2012. Suncor made it easy for me to travel from Ontario to Alberta, provided me a place to stay and food. The hours were great, and I have no complaints with this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work environment was supportive
E&I Reliability Engineering Co-Op (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJanuary 14, 2015
Excellent co-worker and supervisor
Hands-on learning experience
Great salary and benefits
Different types of projects and work
Supportive team members
Good management for projects
Well described work experience
Learnt how to communicate and finish work on time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Suncor is good employer
Database Analyst (Former Employee), Calgary, ABApril 28, 2015
Pros: good work envorinment
Cons: high layoff percentage
Suncor has a very large IT shop and is among the best companies to work for.
its IT operations are outsourced and current IT management is looking into to consolidate the IT environment at the same time is going towards complete outsourced model.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Field Engineering Manager - Fort Hills Project (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJanuary 22, 2015
Good place to work. Good management and staff. Good peers and co-workers. Exciting and interesting projects. Challenging yet enjoyable. Living in camp can be a challenge and due to this the balance between work and family can be difficult. Overall very good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome group of people to work for.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 12, 2015
Pros: Great teamwork
Cons: Downsizing of many administrative positions
Management supports you and works hard to ensure that the department is functioning to its optimum.
A person is fully trained and knowledgeable from various aspects of the position they are hired for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience at Suncor
Security Associate (Current Employee), Mississauga, OntarioSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: great company, great team
Cons: constant working in the night makes sleeping regime very difficult
I am a very hard working person. In my current I have a great team and it is fun to be at work.

I work in the night and things really get hard at around 4 - 5 am when it is very hard to fight off nature (Sleep).
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Turnover Coordinator (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJanuary 11, 2014
Founded on the belief that all incidents are preventable and personal safety is owned by everyone on and off the job. If we can’t do something safely, we don’t do it. We will continue our Journey to Zero safety mindset while significantly improving the integrity and performance of our assets
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
heavy equipment operator (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABDecember 6, 2015
Pros: transportation provided to and from work
Cons: buses usually didn't have heat or ac when needed
union so training was based on seniority rather then the need. there were shift leagues for sports so that provided a sense of normalcy in the life. there were many employee benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning and enjoyable placement
Maintenance & Reliability Engineer (EIT) (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJanuary 30, 2014
I have obtained extensive knowledge about the oil sands. Inspection of electrical tasks after completed by external contractors was one of my most enjoyable part at Suncor as it gave great opportunity to learn technical and people skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Secure environment
Senior Rotating Equipment Engineer (Reliability) (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABNovember 27, 2015
Pros: 15 flexible days off in a year, near to home, bus transport
Cons: Long hours sometimes;Old facility is scary to work
Good chance for upgrading our skills; challenging with sophisticated equipment.Huge company with varied equipment to work on
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an industry and company which will reflect the price of oil
Data Protection Administrator (Current Employee), Calgary, ABApril 7, 2015
Pros: forefront of technology
Cons: procedures and processes
good experience to learn about procedures and processes - the hiring and firing is done pretty fast. I am just wondering where all the money out of years of high oil price is gone
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
moderate ratings
Customer/Service/Cashier (Former Employee), HamiltonSeptember 26, 2015
The company is very well managed but when it comes to stations whose management is given to franchisee that I worked for is not satisfactory because it always tends to maximise their respective profit. I work for their distribution of their petro products or gas stations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
your need a sponser to advance
G&G (Former Employee), calgaryJanuary 11, 2013
Pros: like coworkers and personal time off
Cons: bad managment
managment need some decent degree most have high diploma. it all about your connections and friendship. you get some experience and fly. no respect for senior employee. people with long experience stuck going no where execpt way out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sweat shop
Accountant (Former Employee), MississaugaJuly 17, 2012
Pros: good pay
Cons: everything else
- Heavy work load
- no training
- mgmt whose been there too long (straight out of school) and no clue how the rest of the work world operates.

The company makes so much $ that they can treat people as they may.

Having said all that, some depts are happy while other depts are a disaster.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company that provided me with great experience.
Process Engineering Co-op Student (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABApril 24, 2014
Reviewed daily monitoring sheets, completed field surveys on various pieces of equipment, took part in the largest turnaround in Suncor history. Management and co-workers were all extremely helpful and approachable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance!
Quality Assurance (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 25, 2015
Pros: work culture
Cons: the performance management tool could be onerous
The safety culture within this company, I believe is one of the best. All meetings started with a safety topic. That is a part of Operational Excellence. I had a few opportunities to present safety topics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Suncor - Tailings Supervisor
Tailings Operation Shift Supervisor (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABSeptember 2, 2013
12 hr work days... Management meeting... Prep for Toolbox talk... Conduct Toolbox talk... enter pay and time... review the issued work permits... Supervise and ensure work is being conducted safely in the field. Look after all the pumps / Barges / and ponds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work if you are seeking slave like relationship
Network Analyst (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 26, 2012
Pros: good pay
Cons: job security
good place to work if you are seeking slave like relationship.
they can fire you at any time for any reasons.
and most important thing is no single penny of severance pay.
not recommended for normal people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice atmosphere
Drilling supervisor/Logistic Supervisor (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 13, 2015
Pros: on site supervisor (consultants) used experience to train new workers.
Cons: delays with dissensions making from calgary.
Oversee day to day drilling activity including construction and safety.
Review all permits prior to day to day activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to Work For
IS (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 16, 2013
I really enjoyed the flexitime schedule as did a lot of other people. There were several people starting their day by 7am and finishing by 4pm. As a contractor my hours were fixed with no overtime. This was tough with tight deadlines, but was nice to have the work/life balance.
Claimed Profile
Headquarters
150 - 6 Avenue S.W.
Calgary, Alberta T2P 3E3
Revenue
more than $10bn (CAD)
Employees
10,000+
Industry
Links
Suncor website
See what Yes can do

Twitter

Facebook