Find companies:
Suncor
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
112 reviews

Suncor Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
security and safety work is top most at suncor project
Instrument Technician (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABAugust 27, 2012
Work environment behaves good friendly with the worker .Salary and accommodation as compare to other project or other company is very good . Nice food and transportation available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day
CO-OP Program Keyano College (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABAugust 24, 2012
This job was pipe and more pipe for tailings lines 20 to 40 inch. I gained a lot of expierine stick welding here in all postitions as well as learned the protocals and procedures involved with welding and inspecting the welds visually. The management was great treated you very well the co workers were mostly good as usual.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work with lots of chances to move up
Heavy hauler operator (Current Employee), fort mcmurray abAugust 22, 2012
i enjoy working for suncor but im looking for a camp job...i have learned to work in the mine as a operator and how to work with other people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Maintenance Electrician/Instrument Tech (Current Employee), Fort McmurrayAugust 17, 2012
Good work with good pay but not too much going on in the small town.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for. Advancement is only hindered by your own abilities.
DCU Operator; Hydrogen reformer operator (Current Employee), U1 Fort MacAugust 9, 2012
Pros: good pay lots of room for advancement.
Cons: not many if you're from industries other than oil and gas.
Good pay, awesome workforce, lots of room for advancement. Some jobs are fairly labour intensive (hello cokers) but the pay is good and overtime is abundant. Great advancement in the power engineering field; got fourth class time in six months and immediately qualified and began third class.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Power Engineer (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABAugust 6, 2012
Pros: salary and shift
Cons: focus on production over safety
Good shift and good pay. More focus on production over safety, change in management affect worker morale
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable company with good balance between home and work
Quality Control/Quality Assurance Technologist (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJuly 18, 2012
Pros: prosperous
Cons: shiftwork
Stable company where one skill sets and talents can be excersized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sweat shop
Accountant (Former Employee), MississaugaJuly 17, 2012
Pros: good pay
Cons: everything else
- Heavy work load
- no training
- mgmt whose been there too long (straight out of school) and no clue how the rest of the work world operates.

The company makes so much $ that they can treat people as they may.

Having said all that, some depts are happy while other depts are a disaster.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Maintenance Shift Supervisor (Current Employee), Fort McMurrayJuly 17, 2012
here at Suncor i work a 6 on 6 off shift

my co-workers are vary easy to work with vary helping and have lots of knowledge
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great company to work for
Process Operator in Extraction Operations (Former Employee), Fort McMurray ABJune 26, 2012
Making oil and making sure the plant was running smoothly

Working long hours but knowing you had your long change ahead.

Getting good training for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and allows endless amounts of learning
Hydrotreater Operator (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJune 1, 2012
Pros: good work environment
Cons: not easy for a commuter
Typical days involved samples and checks. The program that was in place allowed for easy learning of the plants. Management was very good. Co-works were always happy to help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing but work
Electrician / Instrumentation Tech (Current Employee), Fort MacMurrayMay 25, 2012
Pros: guys are good.
Cons: managment sucks
12 hrs a day + 3 hrscommuting to and from town.

Dirty Dirty Dirty everywhere.

electrician – November 14, 2012

When did you expect to get paid for doing nothing because if you know an employer that will please tells us all

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good long term company to work for
Material Coordinator (Former Employee), Fort McMurray Suncor Energy SiteMay 15, 2012
Pros: prosperous industry
Cons: long hours
Good long term company to work for. Early start. Heavy traffic. Well managed, equal opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun environment with a lot to offer
Apprentice Instrument Tech (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABMay 14, 2012
Many days were filled with checking everything from gas detectors to venturi flow elements and everything in between. The management was well versed and helped keep the days going by smoothly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior operations specialist (Former Employee), MNU plant 64May 10, 2012
Pros: willing to overcome obsticals, think outside the box
Cons: dusty cold and did i say dusty
A lot of good talented people there some I have worked with before but met a lot of new talent on this contract position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low star rating company
Fixed Plant / Coker T / B - Operator B (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABMay 2, 2012
Pros: shift work with resonably days off.
Cons: inadequate and poor training.
Not an equal opportunity employer. Definitely not an employer of my choice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent work place
Senior Technical Writer (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 30, 2012
• Flexible work hours - some work could be done at home
• Interesting proprietary software - easy to use
• Management open to new ideas
• Co-workers great to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
electrician ticket.excellent understand of current canada electrician code
Installing MI, SR.&RTD (Former Employee), calgaryApril 22, 2012
Pros: camp
Cons: far away
i learned how to conect with team worker and get more experience with my electrical. for example, electrical heat trace, install penal. and terminating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized, mis managed.
Powerline Technician (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABApril 18, 2012
Pros: advancment opportunities.
Cons: long hors, shift
Dirty, smelly place to work. Low morale. Very transient workforce.

Yuckypoopoo – April 30, 2012

You shouldn't have worked in a place that was so icky, yucky and smelly!

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had some great work get togethers, BBQ's, Ball Games, Golf tournaments
Guest Service Attendant (Former Employee), Cambridge, ONApril 7, 2012
I worked from 7am -3pm, Monday - Friday. I was with that company for 21 years and was dedicated to my job. I enjoyed everyday going to work as i got to meet some great people over the time there. My job was pumping gas, washing windows, checking oil, and talking with some great people. I had worked with some good people and like every job there has – more... to be some not so good people. I worked very had in all eliments of the weather. The hardest part of my job was working with customers that were having a bad day of their own. My most enjoyable part of my day was seeing all my regular customers who I still see or talk to as of todays date. I have made some great friends over my years of working at that service centre in Cambridge Ontario. – less

About Suncor

Proudly combining two venerable oil industry names, ConocoPhillips is the world's largest independent exploration and production – Read more