Find companies:
Suncor
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
169 reviews

Suncor Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team building within Facilities Construction. Training and safety is always number one.
Project Execution Coordinator (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJune 12, 2014
Unfortunately the feeling of "Contractor" ( when working in a Suncor position) is very prevalent within the on site business units.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible Company
Project Coordinator (Contract) (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJune 11, 2014
Pros: professional development, mentoring, relationships, learning opportunities and much more (i am a contractor)
Cons: current restructuring in the last month (june 2014) has resulted in some uncertainty, as change always does.
I have had the fortunate opportunity to have been employed with Suncor through a contractor position with one of their vendors.

Although I was a "contractor to a contractor", Suncor's "people first" culture always included me and made me feel welcome.

I have developed amazing relationships, learned from the best mentors and truly felt like family.

As my contract comes to an end with their vendor, I am in tears everyday knowing I am leaving.

If you have the opportunity to become a member of this amazing family, I urge you to take it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good work expierence
Process Engineer Intern (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJune 10, 2014
Lots of day-to-day operational experiences, field work and lots of opportunity to work on interdisciplinary teams.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, required management of staff and inventory
Supply Chain Analyst (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 9, 2014
Pros: enjoyable staff
Cons: long hours
- Opening process of cash and debit machines, reviewing the sales goals and store operations to the employees

- Learned how to hire and train employees

- Hardest part of job is multitasking between closing process of cash and debit machines and handling incoming traffic

- Most enjoyable, is being able to communicate effectively between the employees and upper management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative and Empowering
Regulatory Compliance Coordinator (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 6, 2014
Fantastic Company

Respectful work environment and tons of opportunity for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Mining Engineering Student (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABMay 23, 2014
Good Coop Experience
Helpful Colleagues
Good Pay
Free bus ride to work
Amazing temporary accommodation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive with all project management groups
QA Coordinator Firebag (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABMay 23, 2014
Pros: inspiration and rewards
Cons: long hours
Suncor taught us the fundamental importance of safety in all activities and how we could excel at our work while maintaining the pace that construction gave us. Interacting with all groups and at all levels of management gave us the insight we needed to act as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Windows 7 Tier 3 Technical Analyst (Former Employee), calgaryMay 7, 2014
good place to work good people,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Successful company with new initiatives
GENERAL MANAGER (Former Employee), Sarnia, ONApril 30, 2014
Pros: company always had something fun and challenging for everyone
Cons: company merger between suncor energy and petro canada ended alot of peoples careers
-team member interaction on a daily basis with reports and targets
-store competitions between districts were always fun and exciting
-sent for training and development regarding new products
-enjoyed meeting new people everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is the company will work again for if given chance
Deskside support tier 2 field technician (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABApril 27, 2014
done six months contract job at Suncor energy successfully completed will done again if find chance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, creative
Sr. Electrical Engineer (Former Employee), Calgary, ABApril 25, 2014
Good place to work in team, enjoying it much by being more productive, creative
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company that provided me with great experience.
Process Engineering Co-op Student (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABApril 24, 2014
Reviewed daily monitoring sheets, completed field surveys on various pieces of equipment, took part in the largest turnaround in Suncor history. Management and co-workers were all extremely helpful and approachable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Business Analyst (Current Employee), Calgary, ABApril 23, 2014
Good people with lots of room for growth in a relaxed enviroment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did comment on this earlier
Solution Architect/Team Lead-SAP (Current Employee), Calgary, ABApril 22, 2014
Pros: i did comment on this earlier mostly positive.
Cons: i did comment on this earlier mostly positive.
I did comment on this earlier mostly positive.. I am not sure why this is being asked for a second time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contractor
Coordinator (Former Employee), Fort McMurray ABApril 15, 2014
Organised a solid team to execute and complete our task over two years. Management was inspirational, very good at position. Not a lot of room for advancement, was hostile environment in that respect. Contractor position lacked any benefits and were not involved in overall company culture activities. Altogether had a strong team who worked hard and did our best to succeed at the task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for.
Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABApril 4, 2014
Pros: very good wage and excellent working conditions
Cons: long commute to work everyday.
I worked for Suncor for 28 years and will always be grateful for that opportunity. Excellent working conditions and a very structured safety program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic and Innovative
IT Generalist (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 26, 2014
During my tenure of 10 years, this was a unique organization that fully utilized my diverse skills. I worked with a title and without restrictions to simply get the job done.

The team was one of the most remarkable, always there to help without being asked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
QA Lead Administrator - QA/QC Department (Former Employee), fort mcmurray, abMarch 26, 2014
Great company, friendly environment, easy to get along with, great learning experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best O&G company to work
QM Coordinator (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 20, 2014
Pros: free coffee, hot drinks and gym
Cons: very political environment
Great place to work.
Good work environment.
People are friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team efforts get the job done
Process Panel Operator (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABMarch 20, 2014
A typical day at work will include:

-Co-ordinating and permitting maintenance/operations in maintenance work in the work cycle.

-Adjusting/monitoring process conditions for a 340 kbpd upgrader

-Mentoring of new/learning operators

-Entering work notifications into the SAP system

Great place to work with lots of hands on experience.

Hardest part of the job is long hours, commuting back and forth to work.

Most enjoyable part of the job is being part of a team and accomplishing goals that I couldnt do alone.

About Suncor

The skeptics said Canada's oil sands could never be developed commercially. In 1967, Suncor Energy proved them wrong; the perseverance, – Read more