Find companies:
Suncor
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
141 reviews

Suncor Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean well run Camp facilities
Construction Coordinator (Former Employee), McKay River Fort mcmurrayFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: excelent construction team
Cons: job durration was to short
Constructed above ground pipelines to new Sag D site. Field engineering very reasonable with quick turnaround on RFI's etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance
Electrical Engineering Intern (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 3, 2014
Suncor offers great work life balance, salary, and great respect from the managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning and enjoyable placement
Maintenance & Reliability Engineer (EIT) (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJanuary 30, 2014
I have obtained extensive knowledge about the oil sands. Inspection of electrical tasks after completed by external contractors was one of my most enjoyable part at Suncor as it gave great opportunity to learn technical and people skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly and professional organization.
Business Analyst (Former Employee), CalgaryJanuary 24, 2014
Work/life balance is excellent. Very helpful and intelligent coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Skilled Labourer (Former Employee), fort mcmurrayJanuary 21, 2014
all good I met a lot of people and earned some good money, id love to work there again
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very work friendly and Productive enviroment
IS Deskside Support Analyst (Current Employee), Sarnia, ONJanuary 19, 2014
The work environment at succor is very conducive and the people are pleasant, Going to work in the morning is fun and i really enjoy my time at work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice working environment, people are really nice and helpful, learned lots of industrial experience during the work
Student- Process- Coop (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: nice working environment, gained lots of experience
Suncor has a very nice environment; People there are really nice and helpful; Gained lots of industrial experience during the working there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Turnover Coordinator (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJanuary 11, 2014
Founded on the belief that all incidents are preventable and personal safety is owned by everyone on and off the job. If we can’t do something safely, we don’t do it. We will continue our Journey to Zero safety mindset while significantly improving the integrity and performance of our assets
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor culture, poor leadership, decent perks
Human Resources (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: perks, physical environment
Cons: culture, leadership, job security
Too bad this was my first foray into "the industry". I am glad I tried it out, but I would not return to Suncor.

Culture = very cliquey, people are promoted before they are ready, cutthroat environment, lack of trust and common decency, lack of training and openness, leaders of functional areas seem more concerned with their status and advancement – more... than with achieving a high-functioning team...

Job Security = most vacancies are filled with limited term positions, I would assume to protect the firm from risk, but this is so overused. I witnessed a real lack of commitment by leadership to their direct reports in my area. My term was cut short with no explanation... People resources are treated as expendable and as if there is no end to their supply rather than as valuable resources...

Perks = the gym/weight room in Calgary is completely awesome including the personal trainers. If Anthony is still there, he rocks! Also, there are a number of events and internal contests which can be fun if you are into those types of things. There were a number of individuals I really enjoyed working with, but I feel they would fare better elsewhere.

Physical space = quite comfy and modern even with use of cubicals. It is also quite easy to access the resources, software, etc needed to be productive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place
Quality Management Plan Manager and RSO (Former Employee), Fort McMurrayJanuary 8, 2014
It was a great experience , salary is good and benefits are top notch
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Major Projects Safety is a Joke.
Major Projects Safety Coordinator (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABDecember 12, 2013
Pros: close to town
Cons: everything else...
Management of Suncor Major Projects HSE department is absolutely incompetent and bullies their people. Anyone who complains or stands up for themselves is terminated. They have no decent safety program and anybody with an ounce of talent or self-respect leaves as soon as they find something better. Their safety record is one of the worst in the oil – more... sands. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn.
Contracts Administrator (Current Employee), Calgary, Alberta, CanadaDecember 9, 2013
It has been a good place to learn about typical Supply Chain Management aspects and about projects.
The company needs to mature in many aspects, specially in acquiring better supervisory skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service issue challenge.
Power/Process Engineer (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABNovember 21, 2013
Turned aroud Service.
Recieved award from Albian Sands for service excellence.
Providing Quality homes at reasonable prices.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to build strong relationship with
SENIOR RELIABILITY ENGINEER (Current Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 15, 2013
Pros: adequate management
Cons: burocracy
Good company to work for. Very friendly environment. Lots of welcoming trainings and freebies
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast-paced environment, helpful mentors
Engineering coop student (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABNovember 12, 2013
Pros: free accomodations in the city, provided transportation
Excellent work experience in fort mcmurray, helpful coworkers, perfect environment to learn and grow as an aspiring mechanical engineer
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Suncor provides an environemnt where capable employees can excel.
Business Process Analyst (Current Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 28, 2013
Suncor is so far the best organization I have worked for. Here we work with a safety mindset, whether on site or in corporate HQs. We respect each other regardless of any background. For me, the hardest part of my job is interpreting Suncor concepts to non-Suncor colleagues. This is especially so due to the sheer number and the vast experience they – more... bring from outside of our industry. My most enjoyable part is finding a better way to operate a business process, in other words, process improvement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Suncor is a 'skies the limit' work envirment.
Extraction Plant Operator (Former Employee), Fort McMurrayOctober 12, 2013
Pros: exciting work enviroment
Cons: being away from my family
There was not a typical day at work in the Extraction area. Anything could happen at any time, both good and bad. That's what made it such a great place to work...the excitement, the opportunity to utilize learned skills. At Suncor I learned an entirely new career, Plant Operator. I was able to challenge myself through many diverse training courses – more... some mandatory and some just to have, they all benefited my job. Over all a great environment, my peers, everyone was always ready and willing to help out and work as a team. I cant think of the best part of an operator's job, I enjoyed everything from routine inspections to panic mode emergency shut down. It was a great experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Process Operator (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABOctober 11, 2013
Pros: they paid money
Cons: they didn't pay enough money
liked the job, good enviroment to work in and always full of new challenges
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very Safe Work place
Senior Plant Maintenance (Former Employee), Wilson Creek Gas Plant and Field locationsSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: being able to come home safe everyday
Cons: there were none
A typical day at work involved the maintenance and repair of equipment. Predictive and preventative maintenance disciplines were implemented. I learned oil and Gas process and new control systems. My co-workers were like family and a good team, making the site 45 plus years without a loss time accident.
The hardest part of the job was on rare occasion – more... insufficient parts were shipped to site to complete a task.
The most enjoyable part of the career was being out in the country where I could observe nature at its finest. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Applying My Knowledge and Skill Set
Short Range Planner (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: challenging and unique work projects, diverse workforce, safety focussed work culture
Cons: out of province
Working at Suncor Energy Inc gave me the opportunity to develop and apply my project and facility management skills. I worked as a Short Range Planner within the Facilities Planning & Projects division. I worked exclusively on planning and executing projects within the company’s Mining Business Unit.

A typical day at work would begin with arriving – more... at work on the company shuttle bus with my colleagues. After checking my email, and voice messages, our team would have a weekly meeting. This meeting would review current projects, safety concerns, and allow us to discuss challenges. Next, I would work on compiling project documents for new Request for Proposals (RFPs). This would involve writing the RFP, preparing drawings, developing the project schedule and budget, and communicating with the client as needed.

In the afternoon, I would take the bus shuttle to the main site outside of town to conduct project walkthroughs, discuss and resolve onsite project issues, and review projects with my Project Coordinator. Finally, I would end the day with arriving back at my workstation to reply to any emails and voicemails that arrived throughout the afternoon. – less

About Suncor

The skeptics said Canada's oil sands could never be developed commercially. In 1967, Suncor Energy proved them wrong; the perseverance, – Read more