Find companies:
Suncor
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
129 reviews

Suncor Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Personable environment
MSS Shop Clerk (Current Employee), Fort McMurrayMarch 14, 2014
Pros: busing to the door
Cons: no position actually alotted.
Friendly and helpful environment. Time management is an asset as well as prioritizing. Co-workers are knowledgable and interesting. The hardest part of my job is the count down to the end of my contract. The most enjoyable part of my job is making the shop more functionable and organized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supply Chain Culture Dangerous!
SCM Sourcing Lead, Strategic Sourcing (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 3, 2014
The philosophy is to 'play the game' . It doesn't much matter your skill set or ability to do your job. Rather, you have to be 'liked' by Managemnet or you will go nowhere! Not a healthy environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Suncor
Operator (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: good pay, loads of training, good benefits
Cons: the drive in at the plant i work at can be a challenge
Suncor is great company to work for. The benefits are in line with all other oil companies and the work atmosphere at the plant i work at is good. Safety is differently at the top of everyone s list no matter if your the floor cleaner or the CEO
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Engineering Co-op (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABFebruary 26, 2014
Great place to work and really enjoyed my internship here. Management is great, the work environment is great, and there is a lot of room to grow and develop your skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Politics
Business Services (Current Employee), ABFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: money and benefits
Cons: management
A manager just said openly the other day to his staff:" Words of wisdom that you should take to heart: what interests my manager; fascinates me". Enough said...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Training Supervisor (Former Employee), Fort McMurray AlbertaFebruary 19, 2014
Suncor Energy Inc. 1979 - 1989
Heavy Equipment Operator (Mine Operations)
• Cable Shovels – Marion 301, Bucyrus 595,495F, P&H 4100TS, P&H 4100 Boss
• Hydraulic Shovel – Demag 495 & 595, O&K 120, Komatsu 5000 & 8000
• Excavators – Cat, Komatsu, John Deere, Hitachi
• Dozers – Cat & Komatsu
• Loaders – Cat, Komatsu and Pipe handling
• Skid-Steer – Cat – more... & Bobcat
• Graders – 16G & 24H, 16M & 24M
• Haul Trucks – Cat 777, 789, 793, 797 Haulpak 150, 170
• Komatsu HD1500, HD785, 830 930, 960

Suncor Energy Inc. 1989 – 1999
Training Instructor (Mine Operations & Mine Maintenance Personal)
Shift of 270 employees.
• Training Instructor for the equipment used by Mine Operations & Mine Maintenance Employees
• New hire orientation, Standards & Procedures review,
• Classroom instruction on Equipment Operation and Walk around inspections
• Reviewing with employees the mine standards and safety procedures annually.
• Simulator training and hands on field training.
• Writing reports on employee progress on each piece of equipment and job task.
Suncor Energy Inc. 1999 – 2008
Training Supervisor (Mine Operations)
Direct reports: 6 trainers & 300 employees
• Managed the strategic training and employee development for operators and supervisors in the mine.
• Designed, developed and delivered classroom and field training for Mine Operations.
• Provided Mine Operations personnel, trainers and supervisors with the necessary training, tools and information to ensure the safe, effective and cost effective operation of all equipment in the mine.
• Provided training materials and information maintained accurate and up to date records.
• Evaluated trainer and operator performances.
• Provided productivity feedback to trainers and supervisors.
• Conducted task inventory reviews and training needs analysis for all positions within the Mine Operations area.
• Conducted field evaluations of employee’s training.
• Developed annual training plans with the needs of the shift.
• Maintained training progress and shift training files.
• Evaluated employee training performances.
• Accident and incident investigation.
• New employee and mine entry orientations
• Developed and maintained training curriculum for the stewardship of Journey to Zero Incidents.
• Developed and updated policies and procedures used in the mine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Training Supervisor (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABFebruary 19, 2014
Suncor Energy November 2008 – February 2011 (2 years 4 months) Fort McMurray Alberta
Training Supervisor (Mine Operations)
Direct reports: 6 trainers & 300 employees
• Designed, developed and delivered classroom and field training for Mine Operations.
• Provided Mine Operations personnel, trainers and supervisors with the necessary training, tools
 – more... Managed the strategic training and employee development for operators and supervisors in the mine and information to ensure the safe, effective and cost effective operation of all equipment in the mine.
• Provided training materials and information maintained accurate and up to date records.
• Evaluated trainer and operator performances.
• Provided productivity feedback to trainers and supervisors.
• Conducted task inventory reviews and training needs analysis for all positions within the Mine Operations area.
• Conducted field evaluations of employee’s training.
• Developed annual training plans with the needs of the shift.
• Maintained training progress and shift training files.
• Evaluated employee training performances.
• Accident and incident investigation.
• New employee and mine entry orientations
• Developed and maintained training curriculum for the stewardship of Journey to Zero Incidents.
• Developed and updated policies and procedures used in the mine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face paced and great people to work with.
Process Operator (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABFebruary 11, 2014
Always something to do and learn. Treat their employees really good and the progression structure was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean well run Camp facilities
Construction Coordinator (Former Employee), McKay River Fort mcmurrayFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: excelent construction team
Cons: job durration was to short
Constructed above ground pipelines to new Sag D site. Field engineering very reasonable with quick turnaround on RFI's etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance
Electrical Engineering Intern (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 3, 2014
Suncor offers great work life balance, salary, and great respect from the managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning and enjoyable placement
Maintenance & Reliability Engineer (EIT) (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJanuary 30, 2014
I have obtained extensive knowledge about the oil sands. Inspection of electrical tasks after completed by external contractors was one of my most enjoyable part at Suncor as it gave great opportunity to learn technical and people skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly and professional organization.
Business Analyst (Former Employee), CalgaryJanuary 24, 2014
Work/life balance is excellent. Very helpful and intelligent coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Skilled Labourer (Former Employee), fort mcmurrayJanuary 21, 2014
all good I met a lot of people and earned some good money, id love to work there again
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very work friendly and Productive enviroment
IS Deskside Support Analyst (Current Employee), Sarnia, ONJanuary 19, 2014
The work environment at succor is very conducive and the people are pleasant, Going to work in the morning is fun and i really enjoy my time at work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice working environment, people are really nice and helpful, learned lots of industrial experience during the work
Student- Process- Coop (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: nice working environment, gained lots of experience
Suncor has a very nice environment; People there are really nice and helpful; Gained lots of industrial experience during the working there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Turnover Coordinator (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJanuary 11, 2014
Founded on the belief that all incidents are preventable and personal safety is owned by everyone on and off the job. If we can’t do something safely, we don’t do it. We will continue our Journey to Zero safety mindset while significantly improving the integrity and performance of our assets
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor culture, poor leadership, decent perks
Human Resources (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: perks, physical environment
Cons: culture, leadership, job security
Too bad this was my first foray into "the industry". I am glad I tried it out, but I would not return to Suncor.

Culture = very cliquey, people are promoted before they are ready, cutthroat environment, lack of trust and common decency, lack of training and openness, leaders of functional areas seem more concerned with their status and advancement – more... than with achieving a high-functioning team...

Job Security = most vacancies are filled with limited term positions, I would assume to protect the firm from risk, but this is so overused. I witnessed a real lack of commitment by leadership to their direct reports in my area. My term was cut short with no explanation... People resources are treated as expendable and as if there is no end to their supply rather than as valuable resources...

Perks = the gym/weight room in Calgary is completely awesome including the personal trainers. If Anthony is still there, he rocks! Also, there are a number of events and internal contests which can be fun if you are into those types of things. There were a number of individuals I really enjoyed working with, but I feel they would fare better elsewhere.

Physical space = quite comfy and modern even with use of cubicals. It is also quite easy to access the resources, software, etc needed to be productive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place
Quality Management Plan Manager and RSO (Former Employee), Fort McMurrayJanuary 8, 2014
It was a great experience , salary is good and benefits are top notch
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Major Projects Safety is a Joke.
Major Projects Safety Coordinator (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABDecember 12, 2013
Pros: close to town
Cons: everything else...
Management of Suncor Major Projects HSE department is absolutely incompetent and bullies their people. Anyone who complains or stands up for themselves is terminated. They have no decent safety program and anybody with an ounce of talent or self-respect leaves as soon as they find something better. Their safety record is one of the worst in the oil – more... sands. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn.
Contracts Administrator (Current Employee), Calgary, Alberta, CanadaDecember 9, 2013
It has been a good place to learn about typical Supply Chain Management aspects and about projects.
The company needs to mature in many aspects, specially in acquiring better supervisory skills.

About Suncor

The skeptics said Canada's oil sands could never be developed commercially. In 1967, Suncor Energy proved them wrong; the perseverance, – Read more