Find companies:
Suncor
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
112 reviews

Suncor Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not always practicing what they preach
Lead Rotating Equipment Specialist (Former Employee), Fort McMurrayJuly 21, 2014
Pros: good benifits
Cons: always expected to be on call
Managed the Rotating equipment specialist group in predictive maintenance.
Management not always supporting new ideas and suggestions
Good co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place fill with challenges
UPH - Shift Supervisor and then Day Supervisor (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJuly 9, 2014
Pros: a good company to work with.
Cons: some bosses are hard to get along. especially the younger generation.
After 26 years with Suncor, seen all kind of changes. Require some changes towards the end of my career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Labourer (Former Employee), Corunna, ONJuly 4, 2014
as long as you work smart and safe it can be a nice place to work great people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and prosperous work place
Rotating Equipment Specialist (Current Employee), Fort mcmurrayJune 19, 2014
Commissioning and startup Specialist for all new equipment’s and plants. It is an interesting job with lots of challenges supported by wonderful team.

Decision making is the enjoyable part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hauling Dirt
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Fort McMurrayJune 19, 2014
Pros: satellite radio, great rotation
Hauling dirt from various shovels in the mine to various dumps in the mine site.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team building within Facilities Construction. Training and safety is always number one.
Project Execution Coordinator (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJune 12, 2014
Unfortunately the feeling of "Contractor" ( when working in a Suncor position) is very prevalent within the on site business units.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible Company
Project Coordinator (Contract) (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJune 11, 2014
Pros: professional development, mentoring, relationships, learning opportunities and much more (i am a contractor)
Cons: current restructuring in the last month (june 2014) has resulted in some uncertainty, as change always does.
I have had the fortunate opportunity to have been employed with Suncor through a contractor position with one of their vendors.

Although I was a "contractor to a contractor", Suncor's "people first" culture always included me and made me feel welcome.

I have developed amazing relationships, learned from the best mentors and truly felt like family.

As – more... my contract comes to an end with their vendor, I am in tears everyday knowing I am leaving.

If you have the opportunity to become a member of this amazing family, I urge you to take it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good work expierence
Process Engineer Intern (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJune 10, 2014
Lots of day-to-day operational experiences, field work and lots of opportunity to work on interdisciplinary teams.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, required management of staff and inventory
Supply Chain Analyst (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 9, 2014
Pros: enjoyable staff
Cons: long hours
- Opening process of cash and debit machines, reviewing the sales goals and store operations to the employees

- Learned how to hire and train employees

- Hardest part of job is multitasking between closing process of cash and debit machines and handling incoming traffic

- Most enjoyable, is being able to communicate effectively between the employees – more... and upper management – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative and Empowering
Regulatory Compliance Coordinator (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 6, 2014
Fantastic Company

Respectful work environment and tons of opportunity for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Mining Engineering Student (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABMay 23, 2014
Good Coop Experience
Helpful Colleagues
Good Pay
Free bus ride to work
Amazing temporary accommodation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Windows 7 Tier 3 Technical Analyst (Former Employee), calgaryMay 7, 2014
good place to work good people,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Successful company with new initiatives
GENERAL MANAGER (Former Employee), Sarnia, ONApril 30, 2014
Pros: company always had something fun and challenging for everyone
Cons: company merger between suncor energy and petro canada ended alot of peoples careers
-team member interaction on a daily basis with reports and targets
-store competitions between districts were always fun and exciting
-sent for training and development regarding new products
-enjoyed meeting new people everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked on contract
HR (Former Employee), HRApril 28, 2014
Pros: $$$$$$$
Cons: overtime work that is not paid out. you are just 'lucky' to work for this company.
Welcome to Oil and Gas '80s style!

Rules for working at Suncor:

1.) Never dispute your manager
2.) Never suggest new ideas
3.) Remember you are expendable and you will be reminded of this fact on a daily basis (see rule # 1)
4.) It's all about who you know baby! Don't expect to be considered for promotion based on hard work. Kissing up is where it's – more... at.
5.) You will be expected to work overtime and not get paid for it. Even when you manager tell you she "thought" she told you overtime had to be approved. Try not meeting your deadline once and you will understand the consequences of not working overtime.

Through this job, I learned that culture is so so so very important. There is not enough money in the world to make me work under these circumstances ever again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is the company will work again for if given chance
Deskside support tier 2 field technician (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABApril 27, 2014
done six months contract job at Suncor energy successfully completed will done again if find chance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company that provided me with great experience.
Process Engineering Co-op Student (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABApril 24, 2014
Reviewed daily monitoring sheets, completed field surveys on various pieces of equipment, took part in the largest turnaround in Suncor history. Management and co-workers were all extremely helpful and approachable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Business Analyst (Current Employee), Calgary, ABApril 23, 2014
Good people with lots of room for growth in a relaxed enviroment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did comment on this earlier
Solution Architect/Team Lead-SAP (Current Employee), Calgary, ABApril 22, 2014
Pros: i did comment on this earlier mostly positive.
Cons: i did comment on this earlier mostly positive.
I did comment on this earlier mostly positive.. I am not sure why this is being asked for a second time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contractor
Coordinator (Former Employee), Fort McMurray ABApril 15, 2014
Organised a solid team to execute and complete our task over two years. Management was inspirational, very good at position. Not a lot of room for advancement, was hostile environment in that respect. Contractor position lacked any benefits and were not involved in overall company culture activities. Altogether had a strong team who worked hard and – more... did our best to succeed at the task. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for.
Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABApril 4, 2014
Pros: very good wage and excellent working conditions
Cons: long commute to work everyday.
I worked for Suncor for 28 years and will always be grateful for that opportunity. Excellent working conditions and a very structured safety program.

1 2 3 4 5

About Suncor

Proudly combining two venerable oil industry names, ConocoPhillips is the world's largest independent exploration and production – Read more