Find companies:
Suncor
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
67 reviews

Suncor Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for.
Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABApril 4, 2014
Pros: very good wage and excellent working conditions
Cons: long commute to work everyday.
I worked for Suncor for 28 years and will always be grateful for that opportunity. Excellent working conditions and a very structured safety program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
QA Lead Administrator - QA/QC Department (Former Employee), fort mcmurray, abMarch 26, 2014
Great company, friendly environment, easy to get along with, great learning experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team efforts get the job done
Process Panel Operator (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABMarch 20, 2014
A typical day at work will include:

-Co-ordinating and permitting maintenance/operations in maintenance work in the work cycle.

-Adjusting/monitoring process conditions for a 340 kbpd upgrader

-Mentoring of new/learning operators

-Entering work notifications into the SAP system

Great place to work with lots of hands on experience.

Hardest part – more... of the job is long hours, commuting back and forth to work.

Most enjoyable part of the job is being part of a team and accomplishing goals that I couldnt do alone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Personable environment
MSS Shop Clerk (Current Employee), Fort McMurrayMarch 14, 2014
Pros: busing to the door
Cons: no position actually alotted.
Friendly and helpful environment. Time management is an asset as well as prioritizing. Co-workers are knowledgable and interesting. The hardest part of my job is the count down to the end of my contract. The most enjoyable part of my job is making the shop more functionable and organized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supply Chain Culture Dangerous!
SCM Sourcing Lead, Strategic Sourcing (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 3, 2014
The philosophy is to 'play the game' . It doesn't much matter your skill set or ability to do your job. Rather, you have to be 'liked' by Managemnet or you will go nowhere! Not a healthy environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Politics
Business Services (Current Employee), ABFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: money and benefits
Cons: management
A manager just said openly the other day to his staff:" Words of wisdom that you should take to heart: what interests my manager; fascinates me". Enough said...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Training Supervisor (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABFebruary 19, 2014
Suncor Energy November 2008 – February 2011 (2 years 4 months) Fort McMurray Alberta
Training Supervisor (Mine Operations)
Direct reports: 6 trainers & 300 employees
• Designed, developed and delivered classroom and field training for Mine Operations.
• Provided Mine Operations personnel, trainers and supervisors with the necessary training, tools
 – more... Managed the strategic training and employee development for operators and supervisors in the mine and information to ensure the safe, effective and cost effective operation of all equipment in the mine.
• Provided training materials and information maintained accurate and up to date records.
• Evaluated trainer and operator performances.
• Provided productivity feedback to trainers and supervisors.
• Conducted task inventory reviews and training needs analysis for all positions within the Mine Operations area.
• Conducted field evaluations of employee’s training.
• Developed annual training plans with the needs of the shift.
• Maintained training progress and shift training files.
• Evaluated employee training performances.
• Accident and incident investigation.
• New employee and mine entry orientations
• Developed and maintained training curriculum for the stewardship of Journey to Zero Incidents.
• Developed and updated policies and procedures used in the mine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face paced and great people to work with.
Process Operator (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABFebruary 11, 2014
Always something to do and learn. Treat their employees really good and the progression structure was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean well run Camp facilities
Construction Coordinator (Former Employee), McKay River Fort mcmurrayFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: excelent construction team
Cons: job durration was to short
Constructed above ground pipelines to new Sag D site. Field engineering very reasonable with quick turnaround on RFI's etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance
Electrical Engineering Intern (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 3, 2014
Suncor offers great work life balance, salary, and great respect from the managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Skilled Labourer (Former Employee), fort mcmurrayJanuary 21, 2014
all good I met a lot of people and earned some good money, id love to work there again
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very work friendly and Productive enviroment
IS Deskside Support Analyst (Current Employee), Sarnia, ONJanuary 19, 2014
The work environment at succor is very conducive and the people are pleasant, Going to work in the morning is fun and i really enjoy my time at work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Turnover Coordinator (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJanuary 11, 2014
Founded on the belief that all incidents are preventable and personal safety is owned by everyone on and off the job. If we can’t do something safely, we don’t do it. We will continue our Journey to Zero safety mindset while significantly improving the integrity and performance of our assets
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor culture, poor leadership, decent perks
Human Resources (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: perks, physical environment
Cons: culture, leadership, job security
Too bad this was my first foray into "the industry". I am glad I tried it out, but I would not return to Suncor.

Culture = very cliquey, people are promoted before they are ready, cutthroat environment, lack of trust and common decency, lack of training and openness, leaders of functional areas seem more concerned with their status and advancement – more... than with achieving a high-functioning team...

Job Security = most vacancies are filled with limited term positions, I would assume to protect the firm from risk, but this is so overused. I witnessed a real lack of commitment by leadership to their direct reports in my area. My term was cut short with no explanation... People resources are treated as expendable and as if there is no end to their supply rather than as valuable resources...

Perks = the gym/weight room in Calgary is completely awesome including the personal trainers. If Anthony is still there, he rocks! Also, there are a number of events and internal contests which can be fun if you are into those types of things. There were a number of individuals I really enjoyed working with, but I feel they would fare better elsewhere.

Physical space = quite comfy and modern even with use of cubicals. It is also quite easy to access the resources, software, etc needed to be productive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Major Projects Safety is a Joke.
Major Projects Safety Coordinator (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABDecember 12, 2013
Pros: close to town
Cons: everything else...
Management of Suncor Major Projects HSE department is absolutely incompetent and bullies their people. Anyone who complains or stands up for themselves is terminated. They have no decent safety program and anybody with an ounce of talent or self-respect leaves as soon as they find something better. Their safety record is one of the worst in the oil – more... sands. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service issue challenge.
Power/Process Engineer (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABNovember 21, 2013
Turned aroud Service.
Recieved award from Albian Sands for service excellence.
Providing Quality homes at reasonable prices.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to build strong relationship with
SENIOR RELIABILITY ENGINEER (Current Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 15, 2013
Pros: adequate management
Cons: burocracy
Good company to work for. Very friendly environment. Lots of welcoming trainings and freebies
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast-paced environment, helpful mentors
Engineering coop student (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABNovember 12, 2013
Pros: free accomodations in the city, provided transportation
Excellent work experience in fort mcmurray, helpful coworkers, perfect environment to learn and grow as an aspiring mechanical engineer
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Suncor provides an environemnt where capable employees can excel.
Business Process Analyst (Current Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 28, 2013
Suncor is so far the best organization I have worked for. Here we work with a safety mindset, whether on site or in corporate HQs. We respect each other regardless of any background. For me, the hardest part of my job is interpreting Suncor concepts to non-Suncor colleagues. This is especially so due to the sheer number and the vast experience they – more... bring from outside of our industry. My most enjoyable part is finding a better way to operate a business process, in other words, process improvement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Suncor is a 'skies the limit' work envirment.
Extraction Plant Operator (Former Employee), Fort McMurrayOctober 12, 2013
Pros: exciting work enviroment
Cons: being away from my family
There was not a typical day at work in the Extraction area. Anything could happen at any time, both good and bad. That's what made it such a great place to work...the excitement, the opportunity to utilize learned skills. At Suncor I learned an entirely new career, Plant Operator. I was able to challenge myself through many diverse training courses – more... some mandatory and some just to have, they all benefited my job. Over all a great environment, my peers, everyone was always ready and willing to help out and work as a team. I cant think of the best part of an operator's job, I enjoyed everything from routine inspections to panic mode emergency shut down. It was a great experience. – less

1 2 3 4

About Suncor

Proudly combining two venerable oil industry names, ConocoPhillips is the world's largest independent exploration and production – Read more