Sun Life Financial Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 183 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working at Sun Life Financial.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 25, 2014
I start off the day with entering new clients and updating accounts for existing clients onto the system (CDS).
I am required to communicated with head office for extend information that isn't available to me on the CDS. For example, if a clients plan has lapsed, I would have to find out what the costs are to re-activate account and how many payments were missed. And I had to all the photocopying and filing.

With all the data entry that I was required to do for this job, my wpm and kph have increased substantially. I've learnt how to manage my time properly given the tasks that I have to complete for the day.
Pros
boss is very nice, flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes9No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work, excellent compensation
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ONJuly 24, 2014
This job can be demanding at times, as one is running their own business.

The most enjoyable aspect of the job is working with clients face to face, and having the satisfaction of knowing one can provide peace of mind to their clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No20
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My job Summary
Financial security advisor (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCJuly 23, 2014
. Prospect and qualify potential clients using various methods as referral and public advertisement.

. Satisfy clients’ financial needs by designing a custom made plan from the array of products

. Plans contain wealth management solutions, insurance products, banking solutions and debt products

. Meet regularly with clients for review and service.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Summary
Marketing and Sales Trainee (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill - Ontario, CanadaJuly 20, 2014
This opportunity was a Trainee job for me, the idea was work for 2 weeks in the company supporting Marketing Sales Strategies for Sun Life Finacial products. This was an intership for my Marketing, Sales and Account Management Diploma
Was this review helpful?YesNo11
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy day at all times from start to end
Assistant to a Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBJuly 8, 2014
-booked appointments and re booked
-made calls, cold and referrals
Pros
friendly staff
Was this review helpful?Yes3No14
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 8, 2014
Great company with a good corporate culture and work life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring environment with socially awkward colleagues.
Process Analyst (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, OntarioJuly 8, 2014
Management is false and shallow.
Good benefits.
Not much in the way of work support.
HR services incredibly lacklustre.
Pros
benefits
Cons
parking is four kilometres from the office.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SLF is a great Company to work for
Data Centre Technician (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONJuly 1, 2014
Great company to work for. Use top grade equipment and procedures. Day is varied with physical servers and equipment to install. Troubleshoot connectivity issues. Document all procedures and methodology. Great culture of sharing knowledge, some very fine colleagues.
Pros
great people to work with.
Cons
working in the middle of the night
Was this review helpful?Yes1No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work, excellent environment at the time I worked there
CSR & Team Trainer (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, onJune 18, 2014
When I worked there in the early 2000's, it was a great place to work. Excellent pay and work/life balance and met some great people.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ONJune 10, 2014
Sunlife has a great sales force with an excellent management team.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No17
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Variety, Full, Fun and busy
IT BUSINESS COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 3, 2014
There was always so much I was expose to in SLF no matter what my role. We were free to learn more, move forward and contribute to the growth or changing ways of SLF and it's direction.

Felt alive and excited working for SLF never a dry moment and the people were fantastic!
Pros
work/life balance
Cons
benefits could have been at full coverage
Was this review helpful?Yes4No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Issue & Service Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMay 12, 2014
During the 7 years that I was with them, I held various positions and always felts supported by management. I learned several different aspects of the insurance world....from writing business requirements for changes, testing those requirements, to managing a project for a system change to leading a team of administration staff. All fellow employees were very easy to work with. The hardest part of the job was 'playing catch up' if a deadline came and went! I enjoyed the variety of the work.
Pros
great co-workers; support from management when needed
Cons
production problems could be stressful and time consuming
Was this review helpful?Yes4No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I value the relationships I built and the growth I achieved with this company
Financial Centre Resource Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ONMay 12, 2014
I value the relationships I built and the growth I achieved with this company
Was this review helpful?YesNo10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wow great place
Partner & Manager (Former Employee) –  ontarioMay 2, 2014
If you like food and services this is a great place to be. The best fast food healthy chain
Was this review helpful?Yes1No18
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Process Driven Organisation
Senior Director - Investment Consulting (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 17, 2014
Learnt:
Management, best team players. amazing support of the peer group.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning environment
Testing Specialist (Former Employee) –  waterloo, onApril 10, 2014
sunlife financial was a good place to work, team members were very helpful , got chance to work on so many different softwares and learnt many things there
Was this review helpful?Yes4No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Great culture, never boring and lots of challenges.
Compliance Coordinator - Fraud, Compliance (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONApril 7, 2014
Started work at 8 am and lunch at 12 to 12.30 ended day at 4 pm.

Very satisfying work.

Very interesting work.

Great people to work with and enjoyed working with them.

Hardest part was having to leave at the end of the contract.
Pros
the gym in the basement.
Cons
contract position only.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Professional Environment
Facilities Management Co-op Student (Former Employee) –  150 King Toronto OntarioMarch 2, 2014
Typical day would range from meeting with management teams, Vp's and directors, answering emails and phone calls. report making and assessment
Pros
unsupervised
Cons
politics
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial Security Advisor
Financial Security Advisor (Current Employee) –  Pointe CLaireFebruary 25, 2014
I will gladly tell you more in english or in french depending on your preference!
Pros
make my own hours
Cons
hard work for little payout
Was this review helpful?Yes26No14
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work,
Claims Administrator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONFebruary 24, 2014
I learned how to time manage myself, People that I worked with were always willing to help.
Pros
flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 285 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture