Find companies:
Sun Life Financial
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
144 reviews

Sun Life Financial Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Account Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 5, 2012
Pros: periodically has employee appreciation events.
Cons: higher work volumes, due to staff cuts.
The co-workers were great to work with, and management is approachable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean and respectfull environment
Qc (Former Employee), Montreal,QcJune 26, 2012
it was a great experience, great team and supersivor i had the chance to work with, the most difficult part i the pressure thats put on representative throughout the day given stats about 5 times a day and supervisor comes to desk many times tduring the day.
Ive learned to handle difficult customers and not take complaints in a personal way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Actuarial Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 1, 2012
Very flexible and has unlimited opportunity to grow. Management is good and very organized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Advisor/Sales (Current Employee), MississaugaApril 18, 2012
• Good understanding of how the provincial health care system works
• Developing financial plans, managing client portfolio, advising clients on their insurance and investment needs based on each situation by discussing their current and future goals and taking appropriate action by investing their money into appropriate funds
• Employee of the month – more... for meeting targeted sales each month; if target sales were not met, contacted existing clients by updating “know your client” and offer further products/services; several cold calling until 20 appointments were booked for the month
• Discussed retirement planning to ensure a plan was made for existing clientele in inventory
• Client communications and administration duties, primary content manager of Client Management Software
• Resolving complaints when head office or health care practitioners and organizations refuse to grant requests for access or correction; Investigate complaints with respect to personal information by clients applying appropriate judgement and knowledge according to the circumstances of individual files – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very good place to work for.
Financial Administrator (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 13, 2012
The only reason I am not working there any longer is that they move the office to Waterloo, ON. But nothing at all to say about this company. They paid well treated their employees with respect and they had room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Waterloo, ONMarch 28, 2012
Good place to work with decent benefits. Employer is always encouraging to grow in your career and job path. Yearly incentive with annual raise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Process Driven Organisation
Senior Director - Investment Consulting (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 17, 2014
Learnt:
Management, best team players. amazing support of the peer group.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
group admin
Group Accountant (Former Employee), makati cityApril 8, 2014
no benefits because I was under agency. That's why I'm not satisfied. But overall they are good company, lots of benefits. Mostly my work is more on paper works, editing, updating, encoding documents and records.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company!
Help multiple leadership positions (Former Employee), CanadaApril 7, 2014
Employer invests in their employees providing ongoing training/courses. Really enjoyed working with them!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace with good and fun people
On-site Support/ Win 7 upgrade specialist (Current Employee), Wellesley, MAApril 3, 2014
I come into work and check the ticket Que, and emails.
I will make phone calls and emails while, arranging times to troubles shoot and problem solve users computer issues. I also check and maintain inventory. I also build and configure laptops and desktops for users, and also for refresh user old equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company for develpoment opportunities but inadequate and substandard management
Service Desk (Former Employee), WDFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: career development, quick advancement within various roles, opportunity of overtime
Cons: bad pay, inadequate management
I worked in the Helpdesk in Waterford for 3 years and have mixed opinions. They do offer great opportunities for career advancement and development, but working conditions are not great. Tiny canteen and only 1 toilet for over 40 people, no areas to 'clear the head' as it can be a high tension work environment.Also management are there too long and – more... are not great to be honest. They have no idea how to deal with any working complaints and are too quick to bury issues and tell you that changes are on the way.. Overall, if you are happy to settle for bad pay and a lot of false promises from management then this is the place for you..otherwise keep looking – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SEV Issues
Senior Software Developer (Current Employee), Gurgaon, HRFebruary 15, 2014
Severity Issues due to Production abends.

Learning is to handle the abends and Met SLA's.

Hardest part is to make sure the abends are handled properly without impacting production data.

Enjoyable part is to successfully start the batch .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with workers willing to collaborate and assist each other with daily work assignments
Implementation Consultant (Current Employee), Windsor, CTFebruary 14, 2014
I work out of a work basket and I am assigned work daily. I will review documents for compliance and quality assurance for each case, each demanding its own required attention. I have learned about our business, how it differs from my previous underwriting at the Hartford. My co-workers and more experience employees are willing to assist me with jobs – more... activities and policies that are still new due to the learning process. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is lacking in knowledge and experience
LTD Claim Administrator (Former Employee), Windsor, CTFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: good insurance for employees, employees willing to each other when manangement falls short
Cons: low pay, lack of training for positions hired for
management disrespectful, lacking in knowledge of job function and training of employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company but very stressful
Front End Claims Generalist (Former Employee), Wellesley, MAFebruary 3, 2014
This company has amazing opportunities for even entry level positions within the insurance industry. However, you'll need to be ready for a very very fast paced environment and a high volume of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here!
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Wellesley, MAJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: great pay and benefits
Cons: psychotic managers
I loved my job but my manager was not good at managing others. I went to HR for guidance and was promptly fired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Sr Specialist (Current Employee), GurgaonJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Excellent Company. The great work life balance and good work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was first company i have worked in US, and great experience working for Sunlife
QA Analyst (Former Employee), Wellesley, MAJanuary 17, 2014
Sunlife was the first company I have worked for in US. I was new to US but I got great support from my colleagues and was awesome atmosphere to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Insurance Carrier
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS REPRESENATIVE (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 8, 2014
This is a good opportunity if you are aligned with a significant amount of brokers that have a constant stream of good RFP activity. If not this position is not a good one and you will not succeed. This position is 80% based on your distribution partnership and 20% underwriting and organizational growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and grow
Senior Marketing and Communications Specialist (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 3, 2014
Great place to work and grow. I say this since there are many SLF locations around the world. They offer various programs to advance your career.

Sunlife.com
Sunlife.ca

About Sun Life Financial

Sun Life is a leading international provider of protection and wealth accumulation products and services to individual and corporate – Read more

Sun Life Financial Photos