Sun Life Financial Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 190 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and engaging company
Asia Desk, Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONSeptember 30, 2014
A great company culture that emphasizes on people development, and a customer-centered business model.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on Management
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONSeptember 28, 2014
Hiring managers mislead me about the position.
You are required to sell to friends and family, then cold call.

Also, you must rent an office for hundreds of dollars every month and must also pay for overpriced Group Benefit Plans.
Was this review helpful?Yes31No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A friendly family
Manager, Internal Control (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONSeptember 26, 2014
Good benefit,
Slow pace,
Low pressure,
comprehensive business
Was this review helpful?Yes2No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High earning potential, hard work required
Advisor (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONSeptember 23, 2014
Sun Life Financial offers an excellent opportunity for entry level business professionals. A motivating culture with high earning potential.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Medical Claims Consultant (Waterloo) (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, OntSeptember 16, 2014
H & D is a production environment. Check your queue assignment and begin working. Every minute has to be accounted. During breaks and lunches you mingle with your co-workers.
During peak periods there are some fun stuff that the management team put on to ease the stress.
The most difficult aspect of the job is when trying to convince management that a process doesn't work.
Sunlife is a great company to work. You have the flexibility to choose your hours of work, breaks and lunch in the H & D Department.
Refridgerators,microwaves and hot and cold water are provided in the lunch areas. Lunch can be eaten at your desk.
During my 18 years until organizaztional changes, I enjoyed as part of my role providing coaching and support to employees.
Pros
employees are recognized for a job well done.
Cons
sometimes. if required to work on the weekend, in addition to overtime pay lunch is provided.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very political and slow
IT Position (Former Employee) –  OntarioAugust 20, 2014
Typical Day at Work
- Everything needs to be approved and reviewed 10 times
- Expectation is that you document everything
- Aside conversations sometimes makes you feel as you are not valuable for the organization.
What you learned
- Very little. If you are a young professional, you have a lot to learn from the experimented people. If you are an experienced person working with big companies, don't expect a lot of innovation.
Management
- Very knowledgeable
- Very political and slow to make decisions
Co-Workers
- Nice environment
- High Turnover
Hardest part of the job
- Write a lot of documents and also work
- Participate on multiple meetings that are not productive
The most enjoyable part of the job
- Waterloo office has a Tim Hortons :-)
Pros
you can retire there. salary is average and benefits good
Cons
political environment
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DIGITAL MAIL SERVICES
DIGITAL MAIL SERVICES REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCAugust 4, 2014
DIGITAL MAIL SERVICES
REPRESENTATIVE
CONTRACT PART TIME
TEAMWORK
Was this review helpful?Yes5No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working at Sun Life Financial.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 25, 2014
I start off the day with entering new clients and updating accounts for existing clients onto the system (CDS).
I am required to communicated with head office for extend information that isn't available to me on the CDS. For example, if a clients plan has lapsed, I would have to find out what the costs are to re-activate account and how many payments were missed. And I had to all the photocopying and filing.

With all the data entry that I was required to do for this job, my wpm and kph have increased substantially. I've learnt how to manage my time properly given the tasks that I have to complete for the day.
Pros
boss is very nice, flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes10No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work, excellent compensation
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ONJuly 24, 2014
This job can be demanding at times, as one is running their own business.

The most enjoyable aspect of the job is working with clients face to face, and having the satisfaction of knowing one can provide peace of mind to their clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No20
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My job Summary
Financial security advisor (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCJuly 23, 2014
. Prospect and qualify potential clients using various methods as referral and public advertisement.

. Satisfy clients’ financial needs by designing a custom made plan from the array of products

. Plans contain wealth management solutions, insurance products, banking solutions and debt products

. Meet regularly with clients for review and service.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Summary
Marketing and Sales Trainee (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill - Ontario, CanadaJuly 20, 2014
This opportunity was a Trainee job for me, the idea was work for 2 weeks in the company supporting Marketing Sales Strategies for Sun Life Finacial products. This was an intership for my Marketing, Sales and Account Management Diploma
Was this review helpful?YesNo11
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy day at all times from start to end
Assistant to a Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBJuly 8, 2014
-booked appointments and re booked
-made calls, cold and referrals
Pros
friendly staff
Was this review helpful?Yes3No14
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 8, 2014
Great company with a good corporate culture and work life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring environment with socially awkward colleagues.
Process Analyst (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, OntarioJuly 8, 2014
Management is false and shallow.
Good benefits.
Not much in the way of work support.
HR services incredibly lacklustre.
Pros
benefits
Cons
parking is four kilometres from the office.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SLF is a great Company to work for
Data Centre Technician (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONJuly 1, 2014
Great company to work for. Use top grade equipment and procedures. Day is varied with physical servers and equipment to install. Troubleshoot connectivity issues. Document all procedures and methodology. Great culture of sharing knowledge, some very fine colleagues.
Pros
great people to work with.
Cons
working in the middle of the night
Was this review helpful?Yes1No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work, excellent environment at the time I worked there
CSR & Team Trainer (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, onJune 18, 2014
When I worked there in the early 2000's, it was a great place to work. Excellent pay and work/life balance and met some great people.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ONJune 10, 2014
Sunlife has a great sales force with an excellent management team.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No18
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Variety, Full, Fun and busy
IT BUSINESS COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 3, 2014
There was always so much I was expose to in SLF no matter what my role. We were free to learn more, move forward and contribute to the growth or changing ways of SLF and it's direction.

Felt alive and excited working for SLF never a dry moment and the people were fantastic!
Pros
work/life balance
Cons
benefits could have been at full coverage
Was this review helpful?Yes4No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Issue & Service Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMay 12, 2014
During the 7 years that I was with them, I held various positions and always felts supported by management. I learned several different aspects of the insurance world....from writing business requirements for changes, testing those requirements, to managing a project for a system change to leading a team of administration staff. All fellow employees were very easy to work with. The hardest part of the job was 'playing catch up' if a deadline came and went! I enjoyed the variety of the work.
Pros
great co-workers; support from management when needed
Cons
production problems could be stressful and time consuming
Was this review helpful?Yes4No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I value the relationships I built and the growth I achieved with this company
Financial Centre Resource Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ONMay 12, 2014
I value the relationships I built and the growth I achieved with this company
Was this review helpful?YesNo10

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 294 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture