Find companies:
Sun Life Financial
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
167 reviews

Sun Life Financial Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, very helpful - Client Solutions department
Contract Specialist (Former Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 1, 2012
Pros: great people
Cons: my job was pretty boring but was expected when i accepted
The culture is very laid-back and relaxed.
Absolutely loved the people but I don't think insurance is for me.
Meetings are very effective, things get done.
Huge video conference across Waterloo, Toronto and Montreal to make sure everything is on track.

Just got out of university so it was the first job I took. Sometimes, felt like I didn't have enough – more... to do but that's just probably related to my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you are good at self-managing.
Financial Advisor (Current Employee), Barrie, ONOctober 15, 2012
I really liked working here you got to take time off whenever you needed it and you were your own boss.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive innovative atmosphere to work in.
Financial Services Consultant (Former Employee), Toronto, OntarioOctober 14, 2012
Pros: ability to build and manage asset retention portfolio and work independently.
Cons: not as much face to face interactions with clients.
I acquired a great deal of knowledge and experience in this role. As well as relationship building and influencing skills. The exposure to a wide variety of wealth, income and insurance products adds to my experience within the financial industry. My co-workers definitely made this a great place to work. One of the challenges was to analyze and educate – more... clients not well versed with investment products and principles however, it was the most rewarding when i succeeded in breaking these barriers. I am happy to say that my success rate in such cases was quite high (95%). The most enjoyable part of the job was helping clients with their investments and the successful partnership created in these interactions resulted in ongoing consultative transactions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very good place to work for.
Member Service Specialist/Call Centre (Current Employee), Ottawa East, ONOctober 2, 2012
Pros: flex hours
Cons: limited growth opportunities
My main role was initially managing customer information, organizing files and conducting data entry. From here I branched into Client Services, explaining benefits to clients in detail in a professional manner. The management was excellent, with a very positive corporate culture that encouraged growth and positivity. My co-workers were a highlight – more... of the job, and I enjoyed the opportunity to expand my knowledge base about Compensation and Benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be!
Receptionist/Assistant (Current Employee), Kitchener,OntarioSeptember 23, 2012
This is a great place to work, and I am happy that i've had the opportunity to be able to see what ''office work'' is like.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was busy.
Change Management Coordinator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 10, 2012
Every day was doing the same work. The work was not too hard, but keep you busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for.
Financial Administrator (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 31, 2012
Pros: great work hours
Cons: non
Great employer to work for. This was a company that cared about their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As Financial Analyst, I loved this experience!
Junior Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONAugust 31, 2012
Pros: the people, the environment, the learning experience
Cons: very stressful and challenging, but also very rewarding upon success
Typical Day: Prepared financial statements, research summaries and analytical reports.
What I Learned: Identifying opportunities to enhance efficiency, growth and profitability for financial and accounting companies
Management: Never had a bad boss, great group of people very motivated, energetic and driven always ready to lend a hand and I have had – more... some of the greatest mentors in this job
Hardest Part of the Job: Learning the skill of maintaining several due dates simultaneously and managing priorities of multiple different projects
Most Enjoyable part of the Job: Working with a great and motivated multidisciplinary team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it!
Claims Examiner (Former Employee), Montréal, QCAugust 30, 2012
Pros: loved interacting with customers
Cons: work is repetitive
Enjoyed customer service, lots of work but rewarding, however at the end of the day I helped people with the products and services they needed!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Environment with Excellent Staff
Compensation & Benefits Representative (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 21, 2012
Cons: contract only.
My main role was initially managing customer information, organizing files and conducting data entry. From here I branched into Client Services, explaining benefits to clients in detail in a professional manner. The management was excellent, with a very positive corporate culture that encouraged growth and positivity. My co-workers were a highlight – more... of the job, and I enjoyed the opportunity to expand my knowledge base about Compensation and Benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace with a variety of work assignments
Manager, Customer Relations (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 21, 2012
Pros: convenient location
Cons: very large office
Managed some high profile projects for Sr. Management during my last few years
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sun Life Financial is a good company to work for.
Director- Finance & Accounting (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 14, 2012
It is a good place to work. You can make lots of friends here, learn a lot of new things.

February 27, 2013

After Read all your comments ,i am really interested to work in this compagny but i never got Any ansewrs for all m'y applications :(

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at.
Support Services clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 14, 2012
Pros: pizza party days or game days...
Cons: working late when others didn't
- a typical day at work is - Open and sort incoming correspondence.
File documents and retrieve information, & - Track medical and dental requests, Provide original receipts to policy members.

- I've learned there system on doing letters on Himster, & C-Cap.

- management very easy to talk to & approach,

- co-workers are very nice the ones that i – more... talked to everyday.

-hardest part of the day was when alot of mail came in & we didn't finish on time so we had to do overtime.

-hardest part of the day was when alot of mail came in the office & we didn't finish on time so we had to do overtime.

- the joyable part of the job is when we work together as a team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workplace that motivates productivity and professionalism
Customer Support Representative (Permanent) (Former Employee), Toronto, ON.August 3, 2012
Pros: great opportunity to develop reasoning and problem solving skills
A typical day of work would include resolving customer quires over the phone and by email, generating daliy reports and creating bridge between different departments within Sun life and the Clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team player, Excellent level of expectation, punctual, able to prioritize work, minimum supervision
DISABILITY PAYMENT SPECIALIST (Former Employee), TorontoJuly 29, 2012
A typical day at work is about starting my day to prioritize work such as responding to my Client's needs through email inquiries, telephone messages, telephone inquiries & urgents request. At Sun LIfe & Great West Life, I learn to work closely with my team & independently with less supervision of my Manager. I accomplish my work in order & meets Client's – more... needs & in order to be productive. I go beyond my work & recognized internally & Client's feedback at times, for example, when a Client request for their disability payment to be deposited directly to the account, I always make myself available to walk to the Bank to get this done. This is one of helping & responding to Client's needs. Work Management is also prioritizing day to day task, this involves turn around times & in order to assess claims within the standard procedure & process according to accountabilities. I am a team player, always make it a point to do my role helping with my team to be more productive, and this way, the team would always meet excellency in all aspects of the job. I have always been enjoying my job, used my knowledge and trained to do the best I could. The hardest part of the job is when waiting for information to complete a claim, the decission is being delayed beyond the turn around time and Client needs is not being met at this point. The most enjoyable part of the job is when you accomplish something special & beyond & working with the team and other employees, gaining knowlewdge & support. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too Strict
Senior Security Administrator Analyst (Former Employee), Waterloo, OntarioJuly 18, 2012
Pros: good it security governance
Cons: no open door
Open Door policy, but management are often unreachable. People are overwhelmed with repetitive work. They have strong security governance and effective policies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Account Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 5, 2012
Pros: periodically has employee appreciation events.
Cons: higher work volumes, due to staff cuts.
The co-workers were great to work with, and management is approachable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean and respectfull environment
Qc (Former Employee), Montreal,QcJune 26, 2012
it was a great experience, great team and supersivor i had the chance to work with, the most difficult part i the pressure thats put on representative throughout the day given stats about 5 times a day and supervisor comes to desk many times tduring the day.
Ive learned to handle difficult customers and not take complaints in a personal way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Actuarial Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 1, 2012
Very flexible and has unlimited opportunity to grow. Management is good and very organized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Advisor/Sales (Current Employee), MississaugaApril 18, 2012
• Good understanding of how the provincial health care system works
• Developing financial plans, managing client portfolio, advising clients on their insurance and investment needs based on each situation by discussing their current and future goals and taking appropriate action by investing their money into appropriate funds
• Employee of the month – more... for meeting targeted sales each month; if target sales were not met, contacted existing clients by updating “know your client” and offer further products/services; several cold calling until 20 appointments were booked for the month
• Discussed retirement planning to ensure a plan was made for existing clientele in inventory
• Client communications and administration duties, primary content manager of Client Management Software
• Resolving complaints when head office or health care practitioners and organizations refuse to grant requests for access or correction; Investigate complaints with respect to personal information by clients applying appropriate judgement and knowledge according to the circumstances of individual files – less

About Sun Life Financial

Sun Life is a leading international provider of protection and wealth accumulation products and services to individual and corporate – Read more

Sun Life Financial Photos