Find companies:
Sun Life Financial
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
168 reviews

Sun Life Financial Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Place
Senior Project Manager - Investment and Corp. Apps (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 10, 2013
A place to learn and grow. Very professional and learning environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Pricing Analyst (Current Employee), Waterloo, ONJune 9, 2013
Pros: work environment
Cons: long hours
This is a great place to work, friendly people, but the salary/benefits are not competitive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managing the daily details for the financial advisor
Advisor's Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Powell River, BCMay 28, 2013
answering phones, booking appts, recruiting clients, marketing, office inventory, 30 hours a week
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Assistant Financial Advisor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 26, 2013
Pros: staff
Cons: n/a
• Assembled data and prepared periodic and special reports, manuals and correspondence
• Organized, directed, controlled and evaluated the operations of an establishment of life insurance and investments services
• Prepared financial scenarios and documents and wrote reports and recommendations for clients
• Developed, implemented and used tools for – more... managing and analyzing financial portfolios – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work schedule, fast paced work environment.
Financial Advisor (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMay 13, 2013
Pros: flexibility
Cons: stressful environment, commission based salary
Working for Sun Life Financial has its ups and downs. In terms of flexibility, Sun Life Financial provided a good balance between work life and social life. The staff was great, provided excellent support. The downs, however, is what has forced me to look for other opportunities. As an advisor, there is only so much you can do for the client but at – more... the end of the day it is up to the client if he/she will take the policy or not. I am a very driven individual and I spend hours building presentations and preparing documents for my clients. At the end of the day, I like to be in control of my productivity but with a commission based salary, if a client makes you do all this work and then decides not to go through with it, it can be very frustrating. I am intrigued by the insurance industry because of what it is capable of doing. In terms of leveraging your risk, insurance is a great asset. I enjoy meeting with clients and being out on the field. One of my biggest strengths is the ability to have a conversation with an individual and really get a sense of what they are thinking and if their is any possibility of a business transaction. Working with Sun Life Financial has definitely thought me how to run my own business, be organized as a professional and how to balance my work and social life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are a self-starter, it's great
Financial Advisor (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONMay 7, 2013
Pros: perks: gifts, trips, dinners, etc
Cons: same amount of work can result in various pay scales
- Activity focused environment
- Learned about having a balanced financial plan and how to educate people on money management
- Management team was very helpful- great leadership
- Friendly environment
- Clawbacks are the hardest part of the job
- Mostly enjoyed helping people and their families
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place with lots of help
Insurance advisor (Former Employee), Brampton, ONApril 3, 2013
Pros: u have freedom, u can work as u want
Cons: too much pressure in the beginning
training , making calls , talking with co-workers , lots of encouragement from management, hardest part to get appointments and to stay focused.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management and very transparent.
Medical Claims Analyst (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 22, 2013
Pros: get to eat in your work station.
Cons: the whole day of seating in front of your computer, with the required speed and accuracy, usually results to injuries of the arms and eyes.
Accuracy requirement is 99.4%, almost 100%, quite unrealistic because error is humanely present which is why the turn over of manpower is also quite frequent. Trust and confidence is very important as each individual is set to monitor his/her own daily activity and production. Very intense 7.5 hour day in front of the computer analyzing and processing – more... federal insurance claims. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive customer-centred workplace with great employees
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 19, 2013
Pros: work from home, great team environment
Cons: tight call time constraints
-answered incoming inquiries about customer benefit packages, assisted with online services and clarified how their benefits work
-multi-tasking in a fast-paced environment
-time management
-problem solving
-pleasant and up-beat co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working this fast paced environment.
Senior Claims Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 5, 2013
Pros: we would have free lunches quarterly.
Cons: management changed to often never able to get comfortable with one manager.
Loved working at Sun Life, I have been worked at Sun Life in a claims admin environment for 12 years in a team environment. Inputting data into excel. Running and updating reports. We would Create files maintain classified records and documents. When I send files to off-site storage, I would have to ensure that I input all the info into the data base – more... daily so I would be able to retrieve files that are in storage. We had to dispose of records as required. Daily claims needed to be scanned and e-mailed to our claims examiners. Open, sort, date stamp, all mail verify and obtain pertinent missing information for all incoming mail and determine what department it should go to. The department opened between 4000 - 7000 pieces of mail daily. I was responsible for return mail & cheques; I received cheques back from the post office because the address was incomplete. I would check the system to see if the client sent us some new information. Prepare all mail and correspondence being forwarded to clients. This includes ensuring that the address is clearly indicated and the appropriate postage is affixed. I had to transfer all personal calls for my group to the appropriate person. I had between 11 - 14 staff to Coordinate and distribute work daily. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sunlife Financial - Financial Advisor
Financial Advisor (Former Employee), Toronto, OntarioFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: unlimited profit
Cons: commission based only
Working for sunlife financial gave me the opportunity to work independently as a Financial Advisor. My work schedule was very flexible in that it gave me the opportunity to receive Designations such as the LLQP. My working environment as well as my clients was one of the best start to my day as I aways look forward to seeing and speaking to my clients/collegues – more... regularly. The hardest part of my job was when I had to say goodbye and move to Edmonton, as I will always miss my Sunlife Financial family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The position was data entry but coworkers were fun
Plan Administrator (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONFebruary 7, 2013
They gave me enough freedom to choose how I wanted to go about my work. The staff was really friendly and really supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company to work for
Abilities Case Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 30, 2013
Employees are treated poorly and poor environment to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment, great people to work with.
Manager, Advisor Technology Services Help Desk (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJanuary 10, 2013
Pros: the position i held gave me the opportunity to utilize so many different skills, such as people management skills, recruiting, conducting interviews, staffing, negotiation skills, technical skills, performance management just to name a few
Cons: limited career opportunities in ottawa.
- New challenges everyday.
- Opportunity to learn and develop your skills.
- Great people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 9, 2013
I never really had a routine at Sun Life that I really enjoyed. I was working in a lot of ad-hoc projects. Though my tittle was 'Financial Analyst' my work was more actuarial.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 9, 2013
I never really had a routine at Sun Life that I really enjoyed. I was working in a lot of ad-hoc projects. Though my tittle was 'Financial Analyst' my work was more actuarial.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insincere about Ministry of Labour requirements.
Sales (Former Employee), OntarioDecember 31, 2012
Pros: income potential high
Cons: autocratic management style
Company doesn't take seriously violations of the Labour Laws. Controls through intimidation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great location downtown, spacious office with a family environment
Sales & Client Relationships Coordinator (Current Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 22, 2012
Good company to work for as they make you feel like you are part of a family. Growth within the company is possible, but most likely in Ontario where the majority of the jobs are. The office I work at in Alberta has little room for growth.

I learned a great deal about the pension industry. Mastered excel with the use of macro programming, V Look-Ups, – more... and Pivot Tables. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Client Relations Executive (Former Employee), Toronto, CanadaDecember 20, 2012
The company today seems to be returning to its fundamentals, its inner core of employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Client Service Specialist (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONDecember 4, 2012
Pros: change
Cons: non
I really liked working for Manulife!! the company is always growing.

About Sun Life Financial

Sun Life is a leading international provider of protection and wealth accumulation products and services to individual and corporate – Read more

Sun Life Financial Photos