Find companies:
Sun Life Financial
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
164 reviews

Sun Life Financial Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you just want to come in, do your work and go home.
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: very structured environment so is a good place to learn.
Cons: top-down management and low pay.
Sun Life has great mature IT processes but the management is strictly top down to employees.

There is little opportunity for advancement unless you know someone already higher and the pay is low.

You are at the bottom of the ladder and the business and developers are allowed to run all over you and be outright abusive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace where learning and growth is supported
Portfolio Manager (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONFebruary 11, 2014
In ES Finance I learned that we need to constantly improve and learn and grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
FACILITY MANAGER (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: flexible resumption hours
Cons: heavy relaince on contract employments
Very good workplace. Some old work traditions here and there, but overall, a very good place to work. Very accommodating people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenge work place.
Financial Adviser Assistant (Current Employee), North YorkFebruary 4, 2014
As a financial assistant, you need to be very careful in all aspect. It is a tough job, but learn a lot and it helps people to have a strong financial.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Dynamic and lots of learning opportunities
System Analyst UNIX (Former Employee), Waterloo, OntarioFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: good company, excellent team to work with
Cons: long commuting and too many afterhours and week end activities
Typical day at work:
Taking care of day to day client requests, preparation and arranging for on hand projects which included patching OS, P2V and looking after hard ware and software maintenance cases.

What I learned:
I gained a great amount of knowledge about Different Solaris hardware and software products. All models of Oracle and AIX devices.

Management;
Needed – more... more time to get used to the new management style

My co-workers:
Got along really well with all members of my team, had no issues working with any of them.

Hardest part of the job:
Commuting to Waterloo every day from Mississauga

Most enjoyable part:
Dealing with my co-workers and handling new challenges every day – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company. Great Risk & Reward. So Do Your Homework!
Financial Advisor (Former Employee), CanadaJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: flexibility, great office environment
Cons: straight commission, build your own block (no leads)
Initially you'll be asked for a list of 100 names you can prospect and sell to. Make sure you have a game plan after your warm market runs dry besides cold calling or going door to door. For most people that's when you'll promptly exit the business.

For those seeking Sun Life Financial as their first financial planning gig here's my advice:

Don't – more... do it. Start with 4-5 years in a bank where you will get leads and appointments booked for you while earning a CFP designation. If you want to go independent or 'captive' at an insurance company for $$$ and autonomy only make the switch when you have a reliable network of 500 people you know will do business with you. Don't take the career if you just want to help people, become an exceptional Financial Planner and own your own business. Take the job only if you can sacrifice your evenings and weekends for the next 5 years and you enjoy sales and prospecting 24/7 'cause that's all you'll be doing!

Bottom line: Being an advisor at Sun Life Financial is a great opportunity for the right person. It's a disaster for anyone else. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atmosphere and management was great
Financial Advisor (Current Employee), Windsor, ONJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: self employed
Cons: too many expenses
Overall working with Sun Life has been a great success and helped me with my time management, sales and communication skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible working hours with nice working environment
Testing Specialist (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONJanuary 20, 2014
I was taking in charge of all different kinds of administrative works during my co-op term. It was a good place to learn new things and salary was good too.

A small kitchen provided on each level for employees to reheat their meals and they can have their lunch at desk.

Flexible working hours, and you can working from home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Information Technology (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 8, 2014
Sun Life is a good organization. It is large, profitable, and well managed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Abilities Case Manager/Disability Specialist
Disability Claims Specialist (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABDecember 19, 2013
Responsible for the active case management of short and long-term disability claims.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but Exciteful Projects with Knowledgeable Managers
Financial Analyst Intern (Former Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 3, 2013
Pros: responsible and well-behaved colleagues, highly developed culture, knowledgable managers
Cons: long hours
In Sun Life Financial every day there are exposures to new and challenging problems which demands brand-new ideas and state of the art models to implement them. This provides opportunity to develop new approaches to resolve the problem, while having access to knowledgeable managers which leads to maturing those ideas.

With the comprehensive knowledge – more... in mathematical finance and financial markets we gained in the Financial Mathematics program in McMaster University, having exposure to the real life applications and the associated challenges due to lack of enough useful data, non normalized data, etc. learning how to overcome these challenges was exciting and instructive.

Responsible and well-behaved colleagues provide a progressive atmosphere which leads to meeting goals based on the pre-determined schedule.

Probably for me as an intern, who needed to accomplish both jobs assigned by Sun Life Financial and Mitacs Accelerated Program, satisfying both duties simultaneously based on the tight time schedule was the hardest part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Business / Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 27, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: no free coffee
Monday,
learned a lot
good management
late hours
lunchtime
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Work Life Balance
Trade Show Coordinator (Former Employee), Durham Region, ONNovember 12, 2013
Pros: team spirit, involved with various charities
I have had various roles with the company working underneath several financial advisors.

I have thoroughly enjoyed all the challenges that were thrown my way.
All of my colleagues were a pleasurable delight to converse with in and out of the office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxx
Customer Service (Current Employee), montreal qcNovember 12, 2013
helping member's by explaining their medical, dental plan also as explaining the website andexplaining claims or do correction on claims ect
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced environment with constant learning and a high performance culture.
Customer Care Representative (Current Employee), Waterloo OntarioNovember 1, 2013
A typical day involves taking calls, resolving customer inquiries and providing a high degree of customer satisfaction. I use several databases each day and on each call. I review claims provide coverage details, maintain files, and promote products and services. I review my call statistics throughout the day and strive for efficiency. I have learned – more... a great deal about medical benefits and the structure of group contracts. I have also learned valuable and transferable computer skills. Management is supportive and always finding ways to collaborate in order to improve workplace satisfaction and business needs. My coworkers are a lot of fun and always willing to discuss the knowledge and material that we all deal with on a daily basis. The hardest part of the job is that the customer is on the line while you complete all of the work, this can be challenging but the pressure helps get the job done and it keeps the day interesting. The most enjoyable part of the job is when customers are truly appreciative of and happy with the service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive company
Financial Advisor (Current Employee), MontrealOctober 31, 2013
Nice environment
Continue training
Very profesional offices
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very easy but not enough hours
Receptionist/Lead Generator (Former Employee), Brampton, ONOctober 29, 2013
Working in the office was great for me. I am able to complete tasks in a timely manner and learned a lot about how important life insurance is and how important the reputation of a company is. I enjoyed meeting different kinds of people and working with my co-workers as a team to get various jobs completed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
organized and productive working atmosphere
Telemarketer (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 9, 2013
Greatly helped with improving my marketing skills. The managers were professional but lacked a well-organized schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, Valued Company
Financial Advisor (Current Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 8, 2013
A typical day at work would involve cold calling, warm calling and referral calling. This allows to keep a flow of meetings going on a weekly basis, resulting in a flow of sales. I learned how to act in a professional, unbiased and ethical manner. My management has been extremely supportive and supported all my decisions. I have never worked with such – more... an easy going group of people in my life. Never has there been one issue. The hardest part of the job is the off chance of not receiving an income (as it is commission based only). The most enjoyable part of this job has been the education I've learned, the people I have met and at the atmosphere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sun Life was a part time position, but they made sure to give what hours they could and paid well.
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee), Cranbrook, BCOctober 7, 2013
Pros: they would try to work with my other schedule
Cons: it was not a full permanent position
This job was also a great job. The staff all made sure that everyone was on the same level. Even the manger talked to you like a person and communicated well with all of us.

About Sun Life Financial

Sun Life is a leading international provider of protection and wealth accumulation products and services to individual and corporate – Read more

Sun Life Financial Photos