Sun Life Financial Employee Reviews

Found 312 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Technical Testing Lead - Automation (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 July 2017
going up the vertical ladder is tough. working is not too flexible. people are friendly but it has a quiet work culture. salary ranges for FT employees are on lower end.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bien
Adjointe administrative (Former Employee) –  Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC13 July 2017
belle compagnie, beaucoup de défi et d'objectifs à atteindre ce qui est motivant. il faut aimer etre travailleur autonome
Pros
flexibilité
Cons
petits bureaux
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cleaner
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON12 July 2017
it was amazing even job to work at and i thought it was really incredible and was extremely professional and everyone is nice and they have a great team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and Great branch workplace
Licensed Insurance Advisor (Former Employee) –  National Capital Region9 July 2017
The New Business Office and its Branch Manager and Unit Manager are supportive, caring, lots of knowledge to share to every agents.

The Sun Life Company too is very supportive and they make sure that every agents and managers are very well trained and equipped.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start a career
Teleunderwriting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC8 July 2017
Good corporate culture and benefits. Ability to meet new and interesting people and to develop yourself professionally. Requires much autonomy as in most corporate positions but this allows for you to develop at a much quicker pace. Keep motivated and determined and there is no limit to your success when well planned for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Lead Business Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 July 2017
good working environment. Staff was quite helpful.
Work from home policy for contractors needs to be improved.
BA Managers had devised a great road map for on boarding of new employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Moral in the office is a little low
Advisor (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON29 June 2017
Love what I am doing, but management isn't very supportive.
Management is big on telling you to call head office or go on website.
Advisors are very nice and helpful.
Pros
own hours
Cons
management not supportive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Treat You as Cattle Call Centre
Customer Contact Centre Representative (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC27 June 2017
Management is overbearing and stats driven, to extreme ends.
This generated massive turnover both voluntarily and otherwise.
Management has little to no idea how to communicate professionally with employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good.
Project Leader (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 June 2017
Good company. Lots of room to grow. Plenty of structure day to day. The leadership is great and they make sure the employees are happy with their roles.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outsourcing Company with little regard to employees
Senior Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON19 June 2017
This company outsources all their work and then advises it's employees not to mention this to their clients. Untrustworthy place to work and demoralizes it's employees. Management is a joke and knows nothing except how to talk the talk. Would not recommend this place to anyone.
Pros
Flexible work home life
Cons
Too many to list!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for advancement
Process Coordinator/Designer (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON14 June 2017
There are plenty of opportunities to try different roles at Sunlife. Seniority is not a prerequisite and if you are eager to learn, they will give you the chance. Cafeteria is great too!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours
Group Benefits Representative (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON11 June 2017
Great company but long hours and no down time . This is a really good company but working in GB is hard and non stop work . you take about 100 phone calls a day
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dog Eat Dog World
Business Analyst & Senior Client Representative (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON7 June 2017
Sun Life does not practice what they preach in terms of supporting a work-life balance. Support is not provided by management or HR when employees seek it. Employees are not recognized for their hard work and loyalty. Many great colleagues, but outnumbered by bully-type personalities; those of whom are women in management positions. Wonderful clients, but minimal help can be provided to them due to overload of work and internal politics.
Pros
Many great colleauges and clients
Cons
Lack of support for employees from management and HR
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Enough Experience
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON1 June 2017
I walked into this role right out of school, as it was a commission-only role and I had no idea about the investment world, I was left behind. I felt I needed to gain exposure to the investment world before considering a commission based role.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Environment; Beautiful Building - Bad Location
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 June 2017
I can only speak on behalf of the one department I worked in. The job itself is extremely stressful; handling client complaints and and dealing with serious illness' and seeing employees decisions that impact peoples lives is a lot to handle. There is a very arrogant attitude in general to my department, a 'that's not MY job' attitude. Everyone will pass off as much work to other people as they possibly can, and managers don't say anything about it. The department refuses to offer me a full time position and no matter how many contract extensions I get offered, there is no possibility of ANY benefits, sick days, personal days, vacation, or a raise. There is no room to rise within the department as far as I'm concerned. No respect.
Pros
Fixed work week. Weekends off. Decent wages.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to start a career
Analytics Analyst (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON31 May 2017
great company to start a career. Very friendly co workers. constantly changing. Great location and very easy to commute to. performance focused with fair compensation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Team Lead, Group Benefits Customer Care Centre (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON27 May 2017
The Group Benefits Customer Care Centre was a great place to work because every day you were helping Sun Life's members with their group benefit questions and also because the staff was very tight, it felt like a community. Leaders worked hard to come up with fun initiatives to keep morale up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment is very incentive driven
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB24 May 2017
Typical day consists of prospecting, Client reviews and client sales appts.

in-depth intensive training

Hardest part is Time management and balance with family time.

Most enjoyable part is that I am able to help clients grow in their financial security, also to help them protect there assets.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
life's brighter under the sun
Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC23 May 2017
Since leaving I have reflected on the various positions I had at Sun Life. We live in a fast paced world, like it or not. I learned some very useful skills while there, and worked with some amazing people. I would definitely work at Sun Life again if the right position was available.
Pros
well established company
Cons
workloads
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work environment
Advisor (Current Employee) –  Durham Region, ON22 May 2017
The job requires independent organization and exceptional people and sales skills. Many challenges exist foremost is developing a client base, maintaining policies and keeping early cancellations at a minimum.
Pros
Set your hours
Cons
Inconsistent pay schedule, client cancellations, policy cancellations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sun Life Financial. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 523 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8