Sun Life Financial Employee Reviews

Found 382 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace, Great people
Advisor (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB21 September 2017
This job is great and a dream job for the right person. It is straight commission, so you will do well if you know enough people, aren't afraid to talk to new people, and can consistently motivate yourself to do what is required for you to succeed. The managers are wonderful and are there to guide you and point you in the right direction.
Pros
Time Freedom, you make your own schedule
Cons
It's straight commission, no stable pay cheque
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to start business
Advisor (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON21 September 2017
This career may be difficult if you do not have a strong network of connections. For myself, I was not able to find clients or make enough money to support myself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company Is Finacially Secure, BUT...Is Not interested in the work enviroment of its Agents
Life Insurance Agent /Investment Advisor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON20 September 2017
No Opinion

it used to be a Fun Place to work...I didnt feel that way at the end.

This company and job may be ideal for you, but it No Longer was Ideal for Me
Pros
None
Cons
Continuous downloading of Costs onto its agents
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Financial Centre Administrator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 September 2017
I truly enjoyed working for SunLife in Ottawa for almost 19 years. I would have continued to work until retirement at the company if I had not relocated to another city to follow my spouse and his career advancement.
Pros
great atmosphere and wonderful colleagues
Cons
completing the quarterly performance management reviews
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very flexible
Advisor (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC7 September 2017
no salary, 100% commission which is clawed back when someone is declined insurance. in the end you could leave owing Sunlife money! work is super flexible, and there is always learning to do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emploi stimulant
ADJOINTE AU CONSEILLER (Former Employee) –  Granby, QC6 September 2017
Lire les courriels , monter les dossiers , repondre aux appels des clients .
Travail du domicile
Grande autonomie
Remplacement de maladie
Pros
Autonomie, dynamique
Cons
Remplacement de maladie
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Advisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 September 2017
Excellent management teams, and training offered weekly. A helpful administrative team. Senior advisors are always available to help and provide guidance.
Pros
Training
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working Environment
Project Consultant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 August 2017
Excellent Company to work with great opportunities to Grow. Managment is very cooperative and always see towards the potential in the candidate and place you accordingly.
Pros
Trainings and Work shops
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great bunch to work for.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 August 2017
This is very similar to my job at Ernst and Young. Worked for upper management - they really appreciated my fast turn around of tasks. I tried always to make them look awesome and in turn make my job great.
Pros
9 to 5 job
Cons
Too far to travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sun Life, re: good company
IT Procurement Segment Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 August 2017
Sun Life is a good company to work at because there are several different departments in which you have an opportunity to interact and develop working relationships.

There is a lot of internal training and there are opportunities for external training/education.
Pros
good social gatherings.
Cons
feed-back is uneven and not clear
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
Member Support Representative (Former Employee) –  Work from Home15 August 2017
The job may have given you time to spend at home but the call center industry is not for everybody. It is a highly stressful job that deals on most days with escalation as the calls that you receive are mostly people who are disabled or sick needing their money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It challenges me and polishes my communication skill and organize.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 August 2017
Working in Sun Life will give you challenges to polish your communication skills and be organized. As well as, dealing with problems especially when dealing with clients. You will learn how to be compliant and it stretches your common senses.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thought it was my forever job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB6 August 2017
A typical day of making phone calls to companies. I enjoyed working with my teammates but had such a change over in managers while I was there. I thought this was my forever job till the market tanked in the US.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Junior Practice Manager (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON26 July 2017
Currently in a temporary role where advancement isn't available , the role I am in right now is a one year contract only. Department is amazing, company culture amazing, ,good benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
life insurance sales
Financial Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC25 July 2017
Although the workplace provided quite a lot of training for all, overall culture of quite aggressive sales was quite difficult to take. Furthermore, the Victoria branch was closed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful employer
Executive Administrative Assistant, VP HR (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON24 July 2017
I would recommend Sun Life Financial to anyone looking for employment.

My managers supported work life balance and were approachable. I worked alongside amazing individuals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Technical Testing Lead - Automation (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 July 2017
going up the vertical ladder is tough. working is not too flexible. people are friendly but it has a quiet work culture. salary ranges for FT employees are on lower end.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
belle compagnie
Conseillère en emploi junior (Former Employee) –  Richelieu (37)13 July 2017
belle compagnie, beaucoup de défi, motivation facile.
Pros
flexibilité
Cons
petits bureau
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bien
Adjointe administrative (Former Employee) –  Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC13 July 2017
belle compagnie, beaucoup de défi et d'objectifs à atteindre ce qui est motivant. il faut aimer etre travailleur autonome
Pros
flexibilité
Cons
petits bureaux
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cleaner
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON12 July 2017
it was amazing even job to work at and i thought it was really incredible and was extremely professional and everyone is nice and they have a great team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sun Life Financial. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 682 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8

CEO Approval

85%
228 ratings
Add your rating