Sun Life Financial Employee Reviews

Found 373 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
Member Support Representative (Former Employee) –  Work from Home15 August 2017
The job may have given you time to spend at home but the call center industry is not for everybody. It is a highly stressful job that deals on most days with escalation as the calls that you receive are mostly people who are disabled or sick needing their money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It challenges me and polishes my communication skill and organize.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 August 2017
Working in Sun Life will give you challenges to polish your communication skills and be organized. As well as, dealing with problems especially when dealing with clients. You will learn how to be compliant and it stretches your common senses.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thought it was my forever job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB6 August 2017
A typical day of making phone calls to companies. I enjoyed working with my teammates but had such a change over in managers while I was there. I thought this was my forever job till the market tanked in the US.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Junior Practice Manager (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON26 July 2017
Currently in a temporary role where advancement isn't available , the role I am in right now is a one year contract only. Department is amazing, company culture amazing, ,good benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
life insurance sales
Financial Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC25 July 2017
Although the workplace provided quite a lot of training for all, overall culture of quite aggressive sales was quite difficult to take. Furthermore, the Victoria branch was closed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful employer
Executive Administrative Assistant, VP HR (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON24 July 2017
I would recommend Sun Life Financial to anyone looking for employment.

My managers supported work life balance and were approachable. I worked alongside amazing individuals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Technical Testing Lead - Automation (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 July 2017
going up the vertical ladder is tough. working is not too flexible. people are friendly but it has a quiet work culture. salary ranges for FT employees are on lower end.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
belle compagnie
Conseillère en emploi junior (Former Employee) –  Richelieu (37)13 July 2017
belle compagnie, beaucoup de défi, motivation facile.
Pros
flexibilité
Cons
petits bureau
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bien
Adjointe administrative (Former Employee) –  Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC13 July 2017
belle compagnie, beaucoup de défi et d'objectifs à atteindre ce qui est motivant. il faut aimer etre travailleur autonome
Pros
flexibilité
Cons
petits bureaux
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cleaner
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON12 July 2017
it was amazing even job to work at and i thought it was really incredible and was extremely professional and everyone is nice and they have a great team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Kennedy, SK11 July 2017
Very cooperative, Wonderful growth opportunity. One of the best training. Always keep you encouraging. Good work always rewarded. Best place to start insurance career.
Pros
Cooperative staff
Cons
Long work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and Great branch workplace
Licensed Insurance Advisor (Former Employee) –  National Capital Region9 July 2017
The New Business Office and its Branch Manager and Unit Manager are supportive, caring, lots of knowledge to share to every agents.

The Sun Life Company too is very supportive and they make sure that every agents and managers are very well trained and equipped.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start a career
Teleunderwriting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC8 July 2017
Good corporate culture and benefits. Ability to meet new and interesting people and to develop yourself professionally. Requires much autonomy as in most corporate positions but this allows for you to develop at a much quicker pace. Keep motivated and determined and there is no limit to your success when well planned for.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very supportive team, excellent staff and management
Community Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Alberta4 July 2017
My employers are well founded Christians and very supportive to employees. Make sure that we think our Client first before ourselves. We must work with honesty and integrity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Lead Business Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 July 2017
good working environment. Staff was quite helpful.
Work from home policy for contractors needs to be improved.
BA Managers had devised a great road map for on boarding of new employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and hardworking
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON29 June 2017
The job allowed me to learn about data entry and doing administrative work.
I was able to work on my organizational and management skills .
I learned to be part of a team and coordinate my responsibilities with other people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Moral in the office is a little low
Advisor (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON29 June 2017
Love what I am doing, but management isn't very supportive.
Management is big on telling you to call head office or go on website.
Advisors are very nice and helpful.
Pros
own hours
Cons
management not supportive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you can be creative and hold out things might go well.
Life Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB28 June 2017
Business was conducted appropriately. Can be hard to get ahead if you don't have a lot of personal leads. A lot of people don't make it but for the ones that do it can be a good career. You do have to pay for your office monthly and no guaranteed salary, commission only.
Pros
professional
Cons
no guaranteed salary starting out
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
école du travailleur autonome très difficile
Conseiller en Sécurité Financière (Former Employee) –  Trois-Rivières, QC27 June 2017
Beaucoup trop de risques financiers, frais honéreux il faut avoir un cousin financier solide pour les deux premières années
Pros
belle expériencr de travail
Cons
aucune sécurité financière, dépenses trop coûteuses pour réussir
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Treat You as Cattle Call Centre
Customer Contact Centre Representative (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC27 June 2017
Management is overbearing and stats driven, to extreme ends.
This generated massive turnover both voluntarily and otherwise.
Management has little to no idea how to communicate professionally with employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sun Life Financial. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 669 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8