Subway Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 1,211 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sandwitch artist
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBMarch 24, 2016
Sandwich Artist
Food Preparation
Key holder
Operate cash register
Process money, and credit/debit card payment
Customer service oriented
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
non.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good information about Subway Sandwiches
Sales Clerk / Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 23, 2016
I experience very good time working every day, during time that I was working in Subway sandwich's, in lunch line up always 6 people was at front , with lot's of pressure and stress to serve the people in a best way, we should smile and be kind, gradually it got our habit, then job goes faster and easier and we had a more fun. with that attempt , our customer had been raised, and our store manager gave us wadge raise.
Pros
very good friendship
Cons
lot's of food smell in store
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
compassionate company
sandwich artist (Current Employee) –  Duncan, BCMarch 23, 2016
cares and accommodate's their employees as well has a good relationship with their customers. management is wonderful and understanding open mined. easy fast paced work environment
Pros
free lunches
Cons
is none.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast placed environment, enhanced the ability to take decisions.
Marketing Manager (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ONMarch 22, 2016
Subway sandwiches helped me to understand the tastes, preferences and needs of customers. I am able to multi- task because of handling various positions at the same time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
food counter attendant (Current Employee) –  Regina, SKMarch 21, 2016
it is a good place to work.but less salary.have been there for more than 2 years and growth opportunities are minimal.though we get free meals and extra time also.
Pros
free meals
Cons
less pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for subway until there was a change in management at my location
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBMarch 21, 2016
My experience as a employee for subway was amazing I loved my job and all the people I worked with were amazing until our location had a change in manager..and I left do to not being allowed to tend to a family emergency without a threat of my pay being held and loss of job I would without a second thought take another position as a closed for subway any day
Pros
Amazing hours great staff decent pay
Cons
Besides my one run in with my manager that forced me to quit i found no cons with working for subway
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor managment
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMarch 20, 2016
Unfortunately the subway that I worked at had poor management. Little to none hours
Managers did not know how to handle situations of any kind
Pros
free food
Cons
No hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 20, 2016
- Friendly staff always seeking to help each other go the extra mile in customer service.
- Learned countless amount of knowledge and experience. Gained a ton of Customer Service skills.
- Great management, very understanding and co-operative staff.
- The co-workers were great, everyone is very understanding and accepting.
- The hardest part of the job is that it gets really busy and also it is difficult to gain hours.
- The most enjoyable part of the job is that everyone works together and helps one another.
Pros
12" Sandwich per shift, Friendly staff
Cons
Very Busy, Short Hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working environment
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BCMarch 20, 2016
it is a wonderful experience but shifts are very long so i want to change my job. i am looking for a good job with good salary for an hour.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice co-workers.
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ONMarch 20, 2016
A typical day at Subway consisted of creating sandwiches for many customers. I learned how to make a variety of sandwiches as well as work the register. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with great co-workers.
Pros
Nice co-workers.
Cons
Few hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Brooks, ABMarch 18, 2016
management gives shifts to people who waste their money on drinking and partying when they should be giving them to people who need the shifts and are using their money for productive things like rent and bills.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced environment with great team players
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ONMarch 16, 2016
Working at Subway really gave me the opportunity to grow in the customer service field as well as gain experience working in a fast paced environment. Almost like working on an assembly line, able to stand in one spot for long hours. Most of my shifts at Subway included me working 10 hour days, so it prepared me for jobs with long hours.
Pros
50% discount
Cons
not a long term career choice for me
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable, fast paced job
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMarch 14, 2016
I loved working at subway and was sad that I had to leave the job after a short time, it was a friendly fast paced environment that I enjoyed. I liked that there was always something to do, whether it was preparing bread, cleaning, or prepping vegetables
Pros
A sub and fountain drink access every shift
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
monotonus work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 14, 2016
Great work.
Good food.
co operative staff.
less hours
more work
punctual time
great environment
awkward times
not proper schedule
Pros
free lunches
Cons
less hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Food services Company
Subway Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BCMarch 13, 2016
Good teamwork, Great food and fresh things. great management and salary offering. Good time assignment, helpful training, Good course in University of Subway
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enhance my communications skills
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMarch 11, 2016
-Expand my networking
- able to improve my communication skills because English is not my first language
opportunity to work with diverse employees
able to handle time management
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
long hours and sometimes working on holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sandwich Artist/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ONMarch 10, 2016
It is good working at subway. I have been working with Subway since long, having good experience working so far. But now have to look for field job so hopefully quieting it soon.
Pros
Free lunches and comfortable timings.
Cons
No future
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned valuable on the job skills
Service Trainee (Former Employee) –  London, ONMarch 9, 2016
While at Subway I was responsible for the prep part of the process. I cleaned the store, prepared veggies for sandwiches. Greeted customers in a warm friendly manner.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy, but stressful place to work.
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Lindsay, ONMarch 8, 2016
It is an easy job that I believe anyone can do. However, there is no real training provided, only videos and quizzes that you complete on your own time. This job is very much a learn as you go kind of job. They are fatherly considerate when booking time off, but will not notify you when you are not going to get specific time off, nor are you notified always when you are to take a shift. The management is not always considerate of your wellbeing or other things that could be going on in your personal life. Over all, I would not recommend anyone to apply to this Subway.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Selfish manager
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy fun job
Sandwich artist and cashier (Former Employee) –  Provost, ABMarch 8, 2016
Working at subway in high school showed me how to balance work and school while still having fun when I had time! sandwich making is a form of art!
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 13,899 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture