Subway Employee Reviews

Found 1,730 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sandwich Maker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 March 2017
My typical day at work is fun even if it is busy everyday because they love their jobs.The management is so supportive.And learn how to value your job and co-worker.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive environment
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC15 March 2017
The job itself was great, I just felt it was time to move on and create a better career for myself. I enjoyed the customer service atmosphere and the welcome I got from the staff every shift I had.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Part-Time Job Experience
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Tweed, ON14 March 2017
Nice employees, fast paced job at peek times during the day. Management should be improved. Good job overall with the work that is done. Lots to learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work conditions have changed over the years.
Employee (Former Employee) –  Canada14 March 2017
Most enjoyable part of job was dealing with the different people associated with the company. Many of which would be customers. Many people care about the brand.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good starting job, pay was a bit low to start, lots of hours
Sandwhich Artist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 March 2017
I worked lots, about 6 days a week full-time, so it was a bit much, especially being that i was pregnant at the time. Pay was a bit low but thats typically expected with a job like this and if you have no experience with that position.
Pros
free 6inch sub each worked day
Cons
working lots
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work experience
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 March 2017
I learned so much from working at Subway. I was able to learn lots of customer service skill and how to work under pressure. I learned what the responsibilities of a supervisor were and how to handle tough situations under pressure.
Pros
Got lots of customer service experience
Cons
Can be very stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Subway Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON11 March 2017
Very easy job with very nice people and also they kept the store very clean , very respectful brand to work for . I learned many new things such as food handing safety , how to deal with difficult people.
Pros
Free food, very nice, very understanding
Cons
Very far away from my house
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun first job with fun staff
Cashier/Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON11 March 2017
prepping food for the next few days, use oven to make bread, and make subs for people. the staff i had was great at training and i was only 16 and starting to close on my own. i worked near the university so it was vry fast paced and never a slow night.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for first job
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Dorchester, ON10 March 2017
I learned so much from working at Subway. I was able to learn lots of customer service skill and how to work under pressure. I learned what the responsibilities of a supervisor were and how to handle tough situations under pressure.
Pros
Got lots of customer service experience
Cons
Can be very stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the smell of fresh cookies and bread and meeting customers
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON10 March 2017
Teamwork with other employees to successfully complete the day. Communicate and satisfy regard and new customers. Maintain a clean and safe environment. The employees and the manager are wonderful. I improved my multitasking, communication and food preparation skills. I also learnt how to close the restaurant; cash handling, product counting, cleaning and data entry.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not well compensated
Sandwich artist (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC9 March 2017
Very strenuous work and effort for very little pay, might be different in any other locations but in the Carrefour Laval Mall it was always extremely busy.
Pros
free sandwiches
Cons
stressful & no time to relax
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
didn't agree with
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Devon, AB9 March 2017
Love the people I work with its a fun environment. Whenever I was up for a raise they always gave my manager and I the same answer "you make to much". Worked there for 6yrs with 2 yrs of maternaty leave and only recieved 2 raises. The second raise we only because of minimum wage going up.
Pros
the manager is amazing to work for
Cons
they dont give raises
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive sandwich artist
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Carlyle, SK9 March 2017
made sandwiches, prepped ingredients needed for the day
operated cash register
catered to some local businesses
made sure the store looks orderly and clean
Pros
discounts
Cons
unpaid breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work experience
Shift manager (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON8 March 2017
Always busy helped with kitchen prep in mornings, then served customers their orders. Mixed drinks. I learned how to multi task more efficiently and quickly. My supervisor was quite accomadating and willing to train me when required. My co-workers were more like family. The hardest part of the job was helping my guests who had had to many drinks find safe ways home. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the different clientele that would come in depending on the season
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Weston, ON8 March 2017
I learned a lot like how to deal with customers in all the conditions. starting was little difficult bit now i manage the store alone. all the employees are very helpful and our supervisor is very understanding person.
Pros
free lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice working atmosphere
Subway Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK8 March 2017
working in subway is really a challenging job and exciting because you're artistry in making sandwiches evolves in it. Equal work distribution is present.
Pros
safe working place
Cons
sometimes insufficient number of working staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Subway Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 March 2017
Subway is fun to work at, I found it helpful and worthwhile, free lunches were a huge plus. The hours were reasonable and time went by fairly fast even considering the repetitive routine that was required.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first job ever
SUB ARTIST (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 March 2017
Prepare sandwiches for customers
interact with customers
eat lots of food
best first job ever
learned lots of interpersonal skills
worked their for 6 years
Pros
free food
Cons
evening shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON7 March 2017
If you want to be treated like trash by the general public. This is the place for you. I think subway attracts the worst of human society. People always showcase greed and lack of respect
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Subway
Produce Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 March 2017
I've learned a lot in my time at Subway. Management was well organized and the community around me was incredible. Unfortunately I had to leave due to my moving. I had a great time.
Pros
Good working community
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Subway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 19,621 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5