Subway Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Quispamsis, NB25 January 2018
Fast-paced workday
Comfortable Uniforms
Flexible Hours
Respectful Management
Sociable atmosphere with customers and co-workers
Strict food regulations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst first job.
Sandwich Maker (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC25 January 2018
I was in high school at the time and the manager I worked with gave me long hours. It interrupted my school work and I could not stand all the grumpy customers that came into our location. I prefer to work general labor and not for the customers at fast food places because of traumatizing experience.
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB24 January 2018
While working at Subway I Learned lot's of new things, i enjoyed working there. The management at subway head office are great and they will make you feel right at home. Definitely recommend this company.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Assistant manager and CSR (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON24 January 2018
At subway I took care of scheduling, payroll, banking, and maintaining the store alone most days.
Prepping, cleaning, and keeping the store clean and organized was what I did.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Job, Making subs
Asst. Manager (Former Employee) –  London, ON24 January 2018
Just a run of the mill student job. Make subs and produced prep work. Management was stubborn and not open to obvious change that was desperately needed
Pros
Free subs
Cons
Boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relax and easy to work at
Service au comptoir / Counter service (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC24 January 2018
The main work to do is to serve clients form taking their order, making the sandwich or whatever they want to make the payment. Multi-task might be needed to handle many orders at the same time, but mostly clients takes longer to decide than the time to prepare.
Pros
Break anytime when there is no clients
Cons
Stand up for long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Sandwich Artist/Manager (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON24 January 2018
I thoroughly enjoyed working for Subway.
A typical day at work included opening store, solving any daily issues which arose such as call ins, scheduling, and other management duties.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and good people to work with
Sandwich Artist and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Falher, AB22 January 2018
good laughs always good time just all around
good place to work at the time . the people are very nice and helpful at first and throughout the the time of employment to the end of the time i worked
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work here
Sandwich maker/ Cashier (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON22 January 2018
-learned a lot about customer service ,
-customer is god for any kind of business
-learned fluent English.
-nothing hard.
-learned how to become a nice sandwich artist
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON21 January 2018
I really enjoy working there ,I love to work there I now want to know more about the subway so I would to love have another job there , I love to talk with customer and loved to work there.
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Garson, ON21 January 2018
Petty management. Not flexible with those who have disabilities. High turnover rate due to inappropriate management. Toxic work environment, but some of the workers were nice. The nice ones all left very quickly, however. Graveyard shifts had to be done even by students, which messed with many of our sleep schedules. Owner and managers used to listen to the audio on the cameras while live streaming them at home so they could call and yell at us. Also, most Subways give a 6inch meal per 5+ hour shift, right? One dude took home too many and ruined it for every one. Now we don't get the 6inch or a discount on anything, even over half a decade later.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and funny work place. Long hours I don't mind them
Assistante (Former Employee) –  Durban20 January 2018
I'm a very understanding person with good communication skills.hard working...positive minded.i like to keep company's protocol private.im also open minded.
Pros
No free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace job
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON20 January 2018
it was a good place to work but wasnt always the greatest hours were cut alot you took blame for something you didnt do, it was fun when i started but then it got too stressful
Pros
nothing
Cons
alot of drama
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok work place but with terrible managment
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Waubaushene, ON19 January 2018
I worked here for over a year and was very happy working with the assistant manager and all the employees. It is a good place to work and I enjoyed it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced workplace
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Swan River, MB18 January 2018
I loced working at Subway in Swan River, i got along great with my co-workers and customers. It was a very great experience for me; learning customer service, learning to think quickly and accurately, and always being respectful no matter what.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working there... Most of the time
Sandwich Artist and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Beamsville, ON17 January 2018
My boss was amazing to work for and most of my coworkers were as well. Like any job there were bad days with bad customers, but overall it is a pretty easy job.
Pros
50% off everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
student job
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 January 2018
for student jobs or first jobs is ok but never consider as a career wise is hard and lots of favouritism not good for permanent jobs.
you learn lots of their sandwich procedures.
Pros
ideal for students
Cons
not for a long term
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with amazing employees
Subway Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Sicamous, BC16 January 2018
This was my favourite job as the boss was the best I had ever worked for. A typical day went by so fast because it was an enjoyable environment and I worked with great people. Opening in the mornings went by perfectly as I did my own thing in the back for getting the store ready for the day, all while serving the customers as they came in. I learned great customer service while working here. The management was amazing, and very accommodating. The hardest part of the job would have been learning everything in the beginning as there is a lot of things to know. I enjoyed every part of this job.
Pros
Free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly coworkers!
Subway Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB16 January 2018
i enjoyed my time working at subway although most customers were really rude. you end up doing a lot of extra work and not getting paid the amount you should. great first job, but definitely not worth a "career".
Pros
free lunches
Cons
rude customers, not getting paid enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good environment
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 January 2018
it generally depends on the location of the work my location of the work was not at all professional, the manager thought she was the queen and treated its employees as garbage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Subway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 28,183 reviews
58.5K
48.4K
37.2K
22.4K
11.7K

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture