Subway Employee Reviews

Found 1,564 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Subway
SANDWICH ARTIST (Former Employee) –  Cookstown, ON2 February 2017
A decent place to work, colleagues were great but no room for improvement or growth. I wish they would spend time on grooming their dedicated employees to become potential franchise owners or at least extend incentives to become a franchisee.
Pros
Discounts on meals
Cons
production line atmosphere without growth opportunity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need to be highly energenic as it is fast passed environment
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  South Porcupine, ON2 February 2017
good place to get basics of work ethics, but they need benefits and better salary for the work they ask to be done. They should offer discounts to employees as they are already a high profit organization and competitive wages . at least $14.00 an hour would be a good wage and make the staff reliable and consistent.
Pros
It was a job
Cons
did not receive discount and rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consistent working environment with great staff
Subway Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON2 February 2017
I enjoy working at Subway, though because I've worked here for quite a bit of time, I feel it is time to gain more working experience with other companies. The staff are great and very productive and we always complete our tasks together.
Pros
free lunches, is sometimes not busy
Cons
from time to time long hours, many tasks that need to be done
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Fenelon Falls, ON1 February 2017
boss was always looking over shoulder or stepping on toes cared too much about my personal life.
alwaysassuming using drugs if youre tired, would watch store cameras on his phone whenever he is not at store.
Pros
free subs
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good
Manager (Current Employee) –  quinte west1 February 2017
I open the store and count the inventory as well as cash. Baking of the bread and cookies are next as well as preperation of meat and vegetables for the daily anticapated sales. I tend to customers needs and all day preparing sandwiches to their liking. The closing at night I clean the entire store and close the days business while depositing the cash for the day. On Tuesday I do an inventory of the entire store, order inwentory for the next weeks business and also have to do the payroll for the week.
Pros
make my own schedule
Cons
very long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Bedford, NS31 January 2017
Loved working at Subway, loved who I worked with. Had regular customers. The customers are always my top priority when working. The tips were great as well.
Pros
Free subs for the hours you work
Cons
Having to tell customers when we are out of something
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment for family oriented learning!
artist at various locations (Former Employee) –  Several31 January 2017
I was honored to work with a family owned restaurant owner and manager. She taught me recipes and now I use them on the daily!
Pros
Typically managed.
Cons
I was to move during the working period.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was not a good experience
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Finch, ON30 January 2017
didnt give enouhg hours to begin with, worked 4-8 hours per week or sometimes even two. Told them I was sick and needed surgery and never called me back
Pros
free lunches
Cons
No enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Flexible with hours
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC30 January 2017
Very flexible work hours and fun staff but management was not the best. Very repetitive but overall an easy going job and great for students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Jr. Sandwhich Artist (Former Employee) –  Penetanguishene, ON30 January 2017
A typical day at work for me is to get up and get ready for work go to work and enjoy the day at work. You want a job you will look forward too everyday.
Pros
Long hours
Cons
Less breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good first job
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Trenton, ON30 January 2017
Great first job, meet great co-workers. Management is terrible and can be very rude with very little patience. Great if you want to pick up hours on the side and have the patience to deal with rude management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC30 January 2017
Although i didn't get the chance to work there a long time i enjoyed the time i worked there. The co-workers are the best part, once you're used to all the sorts of bread and meat the job is easy
Pros
free sandwiches
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a place to learn a lot
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  London, ON29 January 2017
Subway is a place where everyone does everything. There isn't any job specifications limited to an individual. So every individual learns everything and can replace in case of anyones absence.
Pros
Free subs
Cons
Long shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Food prep (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB29 January 2017
Enjoyed my time working there. I was able to gain experience in a fun environment. I enjoyed the people i worked with and the customers i served.
Pros
many hours
Cons
very early mornings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Sandwich Artist/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Campbellford, ON29 January 2017
Overall, Subway is a pretty good place to work, however it's not somewhere you are really able advance up the chain. It's also not in my desired field of employment.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
CASHIER, CLEANER (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB28 January 2017
It was a lot of hard work. i learned how to time manage and customer service. the most enjoyable part of the job was the music.
Pros
good environment
Cons
a lot of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace with Cool environment to employers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC28 January 2017
Day begins with smile at the desk and everyday learn some new customer service ways.
Very well managed by the manager and their seems to be no hard work in here as job is your food and mostly i enjoyed doing work and interacting with customers and satisfy them with service from the desk and staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working at subway is like a usual business
Sandwich Artist and Cashier (Former Employee) –  calgary28 January 2017
theres a lot of regular customers in every morning that will talk and will give you a tiny conversation to them and you will be comfortable to them not because there not only friendly they also understand you. the hardest part or day is just the friday because the management reducing/cutting hours so there is only 2 person specially in lunch time. but the thing you can still enjoy it the way how they treat there co-workers.
Pros
theres a free lunch and the owner pays our break.
Cons
every fridays is usually busy and the owner is cutting hours theres 2 person only
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Sandwich Artist/Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 January 2017
I don't wanna recommend this company, terrible rate at 10/hour, no benefits, terrible schedule for the staff like very short noticed.Sorry, but poor management indeed.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
Terrible schedule, the lowest rate among food industries.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are great
Team member (Current Employee) –  London, ON27 January 2017
I love working for Subway. My management is awesome I love customer service and my coworkers I have learned so much from Subway so far and am continuing to do so.
Pros
Enviorment
Cons
Food Service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 17,784 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5