Subway

11.2K reviews

Subway Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great enviroment decent salery
Cashier/Sandwich Artist (Former Employee), Etobicoke, ONDecember 12, 2015
Pros: free lunches
Cons: diffrent shift times, was not able to plan ahead
always different due to different shift times.
learned how to make subs.
more helpful at certain times, less helpful at others.
fun co-workers.
great salary for a sandwich shop
hardest part was working different shift each week.
most enjoyable were the co-workers company and some regular customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Subway
SANDWICH ARTIST (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABDecember 10, 2015
Subway has great staff also a caring and understanding management. Working at subway thought me that I am very good when it comes to working in a fast pace joint. I also enjoy how it is always busy with customers because it make the day go by fast.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy Environment to Work With
Certified Sandwich Artist / Food Counter Attendant (Current Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 9, 2015
Pros: Free Food
Cons: Long Hours
Subway is a good place to work at. It gives me an opportunity to serve and meet new faces and talking to our customers gives me an idea about how their workplace as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun fast paced work environment
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Surrey, BCDecember 8, 2015
night shifts can be a drag. friendly co-workers work is easy min wage
free food is always a plus. good experience for fast paced work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Got cheated out on half my salary
Worker (Former Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 8, 2015
The coworkers were nice and the job itself was fun and enjoyable. My employers, particularly one manager, was less than nice and I was cheated out about $100 during my first week on the job. I learned a lot, particularly on how not to get cheated out on my hard earned cash.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, high stress environment
Manager (Current Employee), Saint-Laurent, QCDecember 7, 2015
Pros: free lunch, great coworkers
Cons: high stress, tiring
Great workplace, team oriented with co workers but you have to move all the time. Serving sometimes over 100 customers per hour with the responsibility of keeping the store clean and ready for a monthly inspection
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace!
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee), Barrie, ONDecember 6, 2015
Pros: Got to work with amazing people
Cons: Long hours and alot of busy days
I loved serving the costumers and making them happy. Making lunches for all the school kids was great as well, Catering with Subway is such a great idea and really keeps the kids and parents happy. I had wonderful managers with a great hard working team, i really loved this place and enjoyed the atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start working
Sandwich Maker (Former Employee), Stonewall, MBDecember 2, 2015
Pros: A great place to start working
Cons: Slow employees
Lots of prep work, and working with other people. I was very fact-paced. When I worked with others, I found their pace to be very difficult to work with at times. Otherwise a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good job.
Sandwich Maker (Former Employee), Windsor, ONDecember 1, 2015
Pros: Best Co-workers
Cons: non stable working hours
My day started with restocking shelves filling pop machines.Sometimes baking was required. As the customers came in I would make sandwiches and cash them out at the register. I would then go and prep food for next day.
My shift ended with sweeping and moping all floors.
The most enjoyable part of working there was my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy place
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee), St. Thomas, ONDecember 1, 2015
i learned a lot at subway. i learned how to open and close the store. the people i worked with were great, the managers and supervisors were great
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Customer Service (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBDecember 1, 2015
Pros: free food
Cons: more shifts
great working team who support and help each other.
stay after shift over to help other if needed.
free time clean the store and make it clean and neat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing workplace with fun and loving people.
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee), Kingston, ONNovember 24, 2015
Pros: Free 6 inch sub a day
Working at Subway I have experienced a lot within the year and a half that I have spent there. I learned the requirements of sanitation, baking bread and making food. I also learned that the work place is not only a place to have fun in what you do but to make others day by being cheerful and happy when serving customers. My typical day started off with coming into food prep, bread baking and serving customers. During our lunch rush we would serve anywhere between 100-300 people in the span of 2 hours. My co-workers and I managed to get this done quickly and without problems by working together as a team and all having assigned jobs. The most enjoyable part of my job is the customer service. Regulars are known quickly and the people you have just met all seem to share the same joy when being around friendly people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Team Member Sandwich Artist (Former Employee), Rockland, ONNovember 24, 2015
Pros: Free coffee and employee meals
Cons: not enough hours, and working alone for most of my shifht
The thing i liked most about the job, was the customers. i got to know a few by name. Knew what they wanted without having to be told. fellow employee were great to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i liked my co workers
Manager for 3 Locations for the same boss (Former Employee), Montréal, QCNovember 23, 2015
Pros: co workers free food
Cons: holiday pay not given
The most enjoyable part of the job was working alongside my co workers,learning from them and interacting with the customers. There was a variety of things to do so it wasn't repetitive and we were always on our feet...until we decided to take breaks of course.

No positive pay structure and break periods.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with!
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee), Kamloops, BCNovember 21, 2015
Pros: free lunch
Cons: bad hours
When I was working there I experienced a great work environment. There was a major downfall with the hours though. As a student the hours are not fair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Cookstown, ONNovember 21, 2015
A good place to work. very friendly, long hours and young staff.

Weekends are the most stressful due to its location in north Ontario.
management is weak and carless
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
independent work
Subway Sandwich Artist (Former Employee), Montréal, QCNovember 20, 2015
Opened subways ;would clean up 24/7, prepare all the condiments for the subs,open cash registered
Fun and interesting environment, everyday was something new, meet different types of people, even notice the same person coming every week and know there order.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managment
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee), Burlington, ONNovember 18, 2015
it is my pleasure to work here because management of this restaurant is so nice. all workers are co operative to each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, and dynamic work place
Manager/Key Holder (Current Employee), Grimsby, ONNovember 16, 2015
Pros: Great Co-workers
Cons: Working on-call
Tell us about :
A typical day at work
What you learned
Management
Your co-workers
The hardest part of your job
The most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Subway
Closer, Crew trainer, key holder (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBNovember 15, 2015
Pros: Family enviroment, Free Food
Cons: no advancement
After a year and a half at working at subway my coworkers have become a family. Together we form a great welcoming environment. I enjoy my job as i am able to do many different things. I can serve customers, handle cash, food prep, clean and much more. Although I enjoy my job there is no opportunity for advancement. Through out my time at Subway I have learnt and developed skills to provide fast and efficient service to not only my customers but myself and my coworkers.
Claimed Profile
Headquarters
Milford Connecticut, United States
Employees
10,000+
Industry
Links
Subway website