Subway Employee Reviews

Found 1,488 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to make delicious food and become a great sandwhich artist.
Baker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 January 2017
Such a great atmoshpere. Always fun and very fast paced. when it comes to either baking or making subs or just doing prep work its never boring nor feels repedative in any way.
Pros
50% off your lunches is a bonus.
Cons
not free lunches anymore. Now how to pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great food
Sandwich Maker (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON8 January 2017
I love subway there is endless food possibly in there different combinations for different things, definitely a great place to go with famy friends for a sub
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Lack of shifts and hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For students
Subway Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Aurora, ON8 January 2017
Great part-time job as a student. You serve costumers and finish chores during your shift. I learned that you have to be really patient and understanding when interacting with rude customers. The management was simple just follow the rules and you won't get in trouble.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people
Sandwich Artist/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC7 January 2017
Enjoyed it at subway. Nice people . but always busy .
Always smelled like olives at the end of the day.
And all the veggies come in vaccume sealed bags
Pros
free sandwiches
Cons
very busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
subway
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS6 January 2017
It was not for me. I love to clean and i cant really make subs the way they do. Cleaning is what i do and what i am best at.Cleaning is something i have always done
Pros
no
Cons
no
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work at
Cashier/Food Server (Former Employee) –  Rothesay, NB5 January 2017
place was a great place to work staff was nice and management was awesome loved the hours there was nothing hard about the job
Pros
hours were good
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and friendly working enviornment
works ay subway (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON4 January 2017
great experience working here, learn and find ways to tackle with the problems.I had a great opportunity to improve my customer service. Growth opportunites are provided, work is appericated, get a chance to take the initative for improving the customer service
Pros
skilled staff
Cons
less working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
close to home, extremely unprofessional new owner
Cashier/Customer Service/Prep (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 January 2017
fired everyone who worked for the old owner
was very unprofessional towards old staff
cut all old staffs hours and gave to new staff he brought in
Pros
close to home
Cons
new owner fired all old staff, old staff stripped of hours to give to new staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Hagersville, ON3 January 2017
great place to work, easy going, laid back. unfortunately they were always hard on people when they called in. They were good to work for though. I was trained rather quickly and caught on fast.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good food
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Trenton, ON3 January 2017
I worked straight nights preparing all meat and veggies, cleaning equipment, floors and any other surfaces/dishes. I learned to make a good sandwich is to make it exactly to customer specifications. I didn't work with anyone but co-workers seemed friendly. Before company underwent new management it was great, after change went downhill as productivity slowed down. Hardest part was to make sure veggies were prepared, meats were properly weighed and stored, cleaning of all (floors, surfaces, dishes, equipment). I really enjoyed the connection you make with customers after you make them a perfect sandwich and get acknowledged for doing a great job.
Pros
free sub after work, building great relationship with customers.
Cons
only one there during nights.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work and learn, but hectic sometimes.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 January 2017
its a good place to work and learn, but had to work long shifts on weekends and public holidays. unsatisfied with the schedule. dealing with customers is not a problem but dealing with management is. sometimes they blame you for low sales.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
compulsory weekend shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Roblin, MB1 January 2017
I enjoyed coming into work everyday and making sandwiches for people. I learned how to be patient, careful, and quick at making sandwiches. I enjoyed working with my co-workers and working with the management team.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it fun
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Waubaushene, ON31 December 2016
the place i was at had a nice people working there so it was a fun time
got really busy in the summer like most places
it was well done the place
Pros
free food
Cons
busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer related and productive work place
Food Counter Attendant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 December 2016
prepping food, cleaning the store, putting away order 2 times a week, serve customers, food safety, washed and sanitized dishes, made food orders and smoothies for customers. the co-workers were very easy to get a long with and most worked as a team. the hardest part of the job was pleasing the customers. the most enjoyable part of the job was when you did please the customers.
Pros
free julius drinks
Cons
complaints
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Cook (Former Employee) –  South lethbridge30 December 2016
I loved working here the boss at the time was so nice to work with I loved being the only one working. Great place. If I could I would work there again
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What an average work place should be like
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Bathurst, NB28 December 2016
I have nothing bad to say.
While I worked for this company everything was relatively fair. The only reason I am not rating higher is because the stress level increases with the increase of customers. And some of the customers are unable to understand staff limitations with formulas.

Beyond the customer issues (which obviously varies)
I never had a problem.
Pros
Fair and can be fun
Cons
The occasional over demanding customer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place of employmaent.
Sandwich artist (Former Employee) –  Deseronto, ON28 December 2016
Was an easy place of employment. Got to see different people and friendly faces each day. Got to make some friends while I was employed there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Subway Sandwich Artist
Cashier/Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Portage la Prairie, MB27 December 2016
making all different types of sandwiches and cashier duties such as balancing floats and closing the store, cleaning and opening
baking the bread and cookies
prepping the vegatables
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly management and flexible hours!
Costumer Service (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON26 December 2016
Dealing with costumers, promoting sub specials and handling cash. Involves basic cleaning, and knowledge about safe food handling and preparation. Management is excellent, they are extremely flexible with hours, especially for students. Co-workers are friendly as well. Most enjoyable part of the job is the regular costumers who come in: always pleasant!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
subway
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 December 2016
Great place to work, very easy, but the pay isnt great. other than that i thought it was a very fun place to be and i liked my job, i wouldnt say it is a career at all but a good "right now" job
Pros
free food
Cons
pay isnt good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 17,056 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4