Find companies:
Subway
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,733 reviews

Subway Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun easy job
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 10, 2014
learned how to work as a team, and how to managae money and customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fun place for me
Customer Service/Sandwich Maker (Former Employee), StoufffvilleSeptember 8, 2014
Cons: not enough poor teaching skills/ not enough training
I worked at Subway for a short time, due to their lack of training. This job was not one of my favourites.
If you are not properly trained then it cause trouble with customers and you fall behind. I brought it up to the manager but it never got past that conversation.. Poor Poor team building and this exhibited poor leadership skills. I rate this very – more... low – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work!
Subway Sandwich Artist (Former Employee), Windsor, ONSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: free 6-inch each shift.
Cons: rush hours
A typical day at Subway would be opening at 9 am, being there by 8:30 am. Getting prep done, taking everything out of the fridges and counting the till. Once all that's done (which it should be by the time 9 am comes around, you'll be taking customers. When they order, you need to get it done within 1 1/2 minutes. While you're dealing with customers, – more... you have to keep up with the prep, met the requirements for health and safety by rotating foods and checking the temperatures when needed to. When closing comes around, you need to make sure that all the cleaning, putting away, doing prep, counting the till and taking out the garbage is done by the time you have to close the store. There's a lot to it, but with the right time management, you can get everything thats suppose to be done and things that need to be done, done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers and location
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee), Winnipeg, ManitobaSeptember 6, 2014
Pros: free subs
Cons: work alone at night, can get too busy for one person alone to handle
An excellent place to work for part time as hours are very flexible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORST NIGHTMARE
cashier/ team member/ wrap maker (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: free fotlongs
Cons: 8hrs
worst experience i ever had made me work for almost 2 weeks with long shifts of 8hrs without paying me a single penny but taught me values like self dependence and self control
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a very happy atmosphere
Shift Supervisor/ Food Service Attendant (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: walking distance to where i lived
Cons: not a large enough salary
At my most recent job i was the opener of the store. I worked alone for 5 hours of my shift. I had a usual routine and my shift was made for mostly food preps and serving costumers. I also did some ordering, and i did the weekly inventory. I learned the importance of maintaining a store to the inspectors standards. I worked 3 hours of my shift with – more... the manager and it was quit enjoyable. we would keep each other up to date on how well new products are doing in the store, as well as new staff. my co-workers were always great to work as a team with. my hardest part of my job would have to be when the order comes in, because i would be in the freezer for very long periods of time. the most enjoyable part of my job would have to be making the costumers laugh and making peoples days better. That always made me feel good – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work hard fast and be patient
store manager (Current Employee), ottawaSeptember 2, 2014
good place to challenge yourself be fast nice and smart. have to be patient, nice to costumer , and also manage your food and staff for serving a good service
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking place
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee), Kamloops, BCSeptember 1, 2014
Making sandwiches, helping costumers and dealing with produce.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Current Job
Subway Sandwich Artist (Current Employee), Windsor, ONSeptember 1, 2014
Subway has its moments where it does get crazy busy but its a good experience. I do prefer to work alone there sometimes only because i dislike being bossed around by people. i love seeing usual customers come in and talking with my customers. i am a very friendly person so i love working with the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work invernment, great co-workers
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONAugust 29, 2014
I enjoyed working at subway. My day would start the same way every day, i would clock in,put my uniform on, wash up, then i would head out on the line. I mostly enjoyed the co-workers i met they where funny and great to be around. the management was good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical work day
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee), Olds, ABAugust 29, 2014
Evolved a lot of prep work and time management skills to make it so you closed on time every night. I was the main closer and because of my previous experience I was able to teach the staff about easier quicker ways to get things done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee), Ingersoll, ONAugust 28, 2014
Pros: always something to be done, lunch was available, good hours
A typical day at work would be serving customers in a fast paced speed, And cleaning and preparing food. My Co-Workers were nice for the most part. The most enjoyable part of subway was it was a hands on job that you were always doing something it was easy work. I loved it !
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, friendly, great management & staff
Sandwich Maker (Current Employee), Conception Bay South, NewfoundlandAugust 27, 2014
A typical 8 hour shift at Subway consists of baking fresh bread and other goods, preparing meats and vegetables, serving customers politely and in a timely manner, keeping all areas of the store clean and working together. Since starting there, I've learned a lot about time management and prioritizing tasks. Having to deal majorly with the public, it – more... has made me more confident and outgoing. As well, it has taught me how to deal with any disagreements that may arise between customers and staff. I really couldn't ask for better management and co-workers. You're able to laugh and have a good time with the management, but still knows when it's time to get your work done. If you have an issue with anything at all, you're comfortable to approach the management and discuss the issue. The issue gets resolved quickly and satisfactory. Although I don't always see eye-to-eye with all of my co-workers, we work through it and still will always work together. They will help you out as much as they can, and vice versa. The hardest part of the job, I find, is when you're working alone and different groups of customers come in at once. It can become stressful not being able to serve them as fast as you could with another worker there with you. I enjoy making a bond with the customers. making sure that they have an enjoyable experience and are nothing but satisfied with the service and product. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hardest part
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Barrie, ONAugust 27, 2014
The hardest part is always the learning part, but once you have learned everything it will all be easy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love making sandwich for customs
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 27, 2014
I love working with staff and I wish I was there longer. Every one was nice and very helpful show you how made all the sandwich.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
costomer services
3) Working as a Manager at subway sandwiches (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 27, 2014
Pros: lots of experience
Cons: bad costomer
hard working and challenging job

Operated cash transactions accurately


Taken responsibility for counting and balancing cash register

Trained new employees on franchise policies and procedure

Maintain co-ordination between co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sandwich Artist/Cashier
Sandwich Artist/Cashier (Former Employee), North York, ONAugust 17, 2014
Used to work in the lunch hours and had to make prep. as per requirement, take care of customers, take care of cash machine
Make prep. ready for next shift person
Staff and owners were good to all employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, challenging
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBAugust 16, 2014
Pros: free sub
Cons: long hours
i have worked with subway for more than 3 years. I've started as a sandwich artist and moved my way up as assistant manager. i learned to manage the store daily operations. i was responsible how to increased the store sales while controlling food and labor costs. i supervised 5-8 staff ensuring proper sandwich building and customer service. i performed – more... paperwork duties as well as trains newer or less experience sandwich artist in their tasks and responsibilities as needed. i am a good team player and leader. i support and encourage other team members for a more productive environment. i can say that i was very committed and dedicated to my work that i exert extra hours if necessary that to some it might be the hardest part of the job but for me i enjoyed every job i have as long as i have passion and love for it, i am determined to accomplished everything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cooperation with employees
Counter attendant (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 12, 2014
Pros: free food
To make the sandwich for the regular customer, who doesn't want to tell that what he needs everyday in his sandwich. So he always want to make his sandwich by me, because I remember what he wants. That thing makes me so happy, enjoyable at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee), Bridgewater, NSAugust 9, 2014
Pros: great customers
Cons: not enough hours
I found Subway for the most part was a good place to work. It was fun to learn new things on a regular bases. The co-workers we great to work with. I think the hardest part of the job was not the work it self but the fact that the hours just weren't there to make a reasonable living

1 2 3 4 5

About Subway

The SUBWAY restaurant chain is the world's largest submarine sandwich franchise, with more than 28,500 locations in 86 countries. – Read more