Subway Employee Reviews

Found 1,564 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy and interesting
MANAGEMENT/ SERVICE REP (Former Employee) –  Cobden, ON22 February 2017
A typical day at work would be doing inventory and delivery paperwork.
Making sure all product is made fresh per day and product is stocked in sandwich unit and back up is done.
The most enjoyable part is knowing the customer is happy with their experience.
The management part of my job consisted of making sure all employees were scheduled as requested and all employees followed the proper procedures when prepping food and assisting customers.
Hardest part of the job was having to write a employee up for discipline reasons as this was a small town location.
Pros
free meal
Cons
long hours when people called in sick.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad atmosphere
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Brockville, ON21 February 2017
The workers and management were very unwelcoming and made you feel like you were just a number in a group of many. If someone in the store didn't like you then no one liked you. I would not recommend working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good start
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON21 February 2017
I believe Subway like Mcdonalds is a establishment that targets its employment towards the youth, I believe that they are excellent in providing the basics of what a job is, it also teaches great lessons like money management and customer service, which is huge in most fields, Subway provides a good foundation for beginners starting in the work force or kids who are attending school, it is not a high stressed job and it allows for employees to develop skills for the future.
Pros
Learning Experience while earning a wage
Cons
Depending on locations Management can be terrible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exhausting
Front Line Crew/Cashier (Former Employee) –  North York, ON20 February 2017
The place lacks staff which leads to shortage, especially when one employee call in sick. The place is very toxic as the management lack empathy and encouragement, especially towards trainees.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Long hours and short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very chill.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON20 February 2017
Environment is friendly. Staff is good. Customers are easy to deal with. Workplace is clean.The only issue is that the store is kind of cramped, so it can get quite hectic during rush hour. But other than that it is a great work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work
Sandwich Maker (Former Employee) –  Wiarton, ON19 February 2017
Management isn't the nicest. They're very strict, and will yell at you if you've done something wrong. Not a very comfortable place to work. Always under high stress.
Pros
Nice coworkers
Cons
Hardly any shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work load for night shift, especially when understaffed
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC19 February 2017
Learned to prioritize and manage tasks
Work load for night shift is difficult when understaffed
Experience talking and serving people of all ages and backgrounds
Pros
Free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Food Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Dawson Creek, BC18 February 2017
Nice place to work in,good co workers.
good customer service developed during the period of my work.
Healthy place to eat.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and relatively fast paced workplace
Sandwich Artist and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie18 February 2017
good starter job to gain confidence and work on communication skills. friendly employees. a chore list is given to look at to make sure you remember the things that need to be done that day..
Pros
discounts for lunch while working
Cons
very precise portions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice work environment
Sandwich Artist/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON18 February 2017
At subway i would start at 3pm and finish at about 8-9. I learned how to have more patience. Management was very strict about work but nice personalities. Used to get one free lunch each work day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very welcoming company
Sandwich Artist/Keyholder (Former Employee) –  Grand Falls, NL17 February 2017
Subway was my first job and they immediately made me feel welcome, each store i have worked at makes me feel at home. Working at subway has improved my communication skills, helped me gain confidence, independence as well as leadership skills that are irreplaceable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was away
Subway Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NS17 February 2017
the hours are good and there is always lots to do and you make a lot of sub and saleats in one and and u do some baking and filling the pop and chips up for the day
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understaffed and high expectations
Sandwich Maker (Former Employee) –  Brockville, ON17 February 2017
worked there for three years, had a terrible relationship with the boss at my location. Company as a whole is pretty good to deal with, bad experience from an inappropriate person though.
Pros
Free food, small location
Cons
bad management, heavy work load, sky high expectations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working in subway.
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 February 2017
Working in subway is like a great experience for me. I meet different kinds of people everyday, talking to different ages and cultures and I learned a lot from them. I enjoy working with my workmates and customers but the hardest part of the job is dealing with the inconsiderate, unmannered, homeless and drunk people within the worksite.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy learning at subway
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON16 February 2017
My experience with Subway was a breeze. I learned how to deal with everything in the back within a day and got along very well with management. I wouldn't call the job a walk in the park but it was for me.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Low hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to stay busy, good environment
Dallas Kamloops - Food Prep/Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC16 February 2017
* Had a chore list to follow everyday - must finish every task given
* Daily goals to reach - follow up with manager
* Learned how to keep things organized (chores, food prep, receipts, tips, cash, etc.)
* Learning cash was very important (Lots of responsibility)
* Hardest part of the job was to make sure everything was counted precisely, and organized to the managers standards. (Money)
* ( Dallas subway has a cafe ) Enjoyed making drinks, iced and hot.
Pros
Discount, and reasonably easy tasks
Cons
Not very flexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great !
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Valleyview16 February 2017
It was a great place to work, I've learned a lot of skills and gained a lot of experience that I'm able to transfer to another job.

I recommend anyone to work here.
Pros
Customers
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace is good, great people to work with
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Strathmore, AB15 February 2017
I have been there for almost 2 years and have been getting paid the same. The boss is a pig who doesn't care about his employees. I have learned to work with people of different cultures. The hours are long with little break time.
Pros
working with great people
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Subway Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Powell River, BC15 February 2017
Subway is an amazing place to work at! I enjoy building sandwich, it is its own form of art! Plus who doesn't love a sandwich being made infront of your very own eyes!
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I never really found true enjoyment
Sandwich artist, Dishwasher, and Janitor (Former Employee) –  London, ON15 February 2017
During the beginning of my time at Subway, it went pretty well, mainly because I had good colleagues to work with, but as time went on, many of those people left the establishment, leaving it with an empty feeling and a lot of boring, unenthusiastic people. I have also had other friends who have worked at Subway, and they expressed they same feelings that I have.
Pros
Free sub every shift
Cons
Bad hours, pay is low, no benifits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 17,768 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5