Subway Employee Reviews

Found 1,803 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained valuable work experience
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC23 May 2017
This company is okay to work for. It is a very fast paced environment. They have great employees but management is over worked and under appreciated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co workers are amazing, the job not so much
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Aylmer, ON23 May 2017
Loved the people, not the job or management
Customers were always nice to see, and the job was laid back and wasn't hard. Just wish there was a change with management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
subway
Hair Stylist (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON23 May 2017
subway was an amazing place to work the only reason i left there was because of the way management made me work by myself from 8-12 when it was super super busy and line were out the doors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great First Job
MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Manitoba22 May 2017
This is a great place to start your career. They will help develop you which you're in school and teach you management skills. Although I've long outgrown my role there, I often think back on my Subway days - happy memories.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some issues with management.
Subway Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 May 2017
Management sometimes has issues creating a proper schedule and has little knowledge on how to return checks that have been bounced or deal with stolen checks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a first job
Associate (Former Employee) –  Pointe-Claire, QC22 May 2017
It was a good first job. I learned a lot in the time that I was there. I learned how to use the cash register, how to prepare food, how to deal with customers first-hand and how to do things under pressure. The best thing I got out of it was experience in customer service.
Pros
Free meal, customer service skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC21 May 2017
it was fun loving workplace and friendly coworker .I have learnt importance of team and time management over there.Our first preference was to make customer happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
comfortable job environment with cooperative staff
Team Member (Current Employee) –  simcoe place, toronto19 May 2017
comfortable job environment with cooperative and understanding staff. free meals provided with every shift with flexible work hours that suit your own schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workmates
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Banff, AB18 May 2017
I learned a lot from working here for just one year. The management is so nice and your work mates will make your life better. The most enjoyable part of the job is talking to the customers.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Busy hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great first job
Customer service (Current Employee) –  Airdrie, AB18 May 2017
i learned how to handle different types of customers, work the register and get a feel of how to run and work at subway. Coworkers are very friendly as well
Pros
free lunches
Cons
customers can show up a minute before closing and it would set me back on work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  Fredericton, NB17 May 2017
This is a good place to work as far as the people and job duties go. It is an easy but rewarding job. The restaurants are usually kept clean, the staff is friendly.
Pros
50% off while working
Cons
No benefits.. minimum wage unless placed in a higher position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is terrible and pay is terrible
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS17 May 2017
Absolutely loved working here until I was told I was an idiot for not changing dates on product so we could serve them longer . Management has no idea what they're doing
Pros
Discount lunches
Cons
Terrible management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 May 2017
Good Company, but stressful at times. Head office needs to communicate better with franchisees and staff. Overall good experience and good people. Hard working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS17 May 2017
good place to work on my customer service skills, good food , good team work , worked with me and my schedule and provided me good hours and time off .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Subway Experience
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 May 2017
- Learned complete tasks like serving customers, making sandwiches, food preparation and cleaning at an efficient rate
- Good culture because the team of coworkers would help each other out when needed
Pros
Flexible work hours and friendly coworkers
Cons
Gets a little busy at the downtown location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere.
Counter attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 May 2017
Worked in a great environment with great co-workers and flexible hours. Good experience with customer service and good with handling pressure. Builds great oral and comprehension skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked the job, bad management at the location
Jr. Sandwich artist (Former Employee) –  Nepean, ON16 May 2017
I really enjoyed the work and the pacing when i worked at subway, The only problem I had was the disorganized management. Scheduling not making sense/being done right, being consistently paid late, and allowing the asst manager to sit back and delegate without ever raising a finger.
Pros
Free Sandwich per day
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team equals great envirronment
commis comtoir subway (Former Employee) –  Saint-Hyacinthe, QC15 May 2017
Subway always keeps up with their protocol. They stay clean have great routines and rarely miss anything. We feel included with the franchise no matter how small. Of corse a great team equals a great time.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short vacations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, wrong hours
Nightshift Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Elmira, ON15 May 2017
I was working the nightshift at Subway, and I quite enjoyed it, the job is a good pace, easily managed, but the weekends were terrible at night, and after 6 months of working the nightshift my sleep, concentration and life starting waning. I loved the job, it was just the wrong hours. Great business overall though.
Pros
Good job, great pace
Cons
Nightshift hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 May 2017
I enjoyed the work and i treat customers very well.
taking care of customers and serving them in a good way.
sometimes we have to work really fast and take care of all the customers lining up for their orders when the store is so busy.
Pros
free foods
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Subway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 20,592 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5

CEO Approval

74%
6,352 ratings
Add your rating