Sturgeon County Employee Reviews

Showing all 12 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place with a crooked owner
Stock Manager (Former Employee) –  Sturgeon County, AB28 February 2017
Great guys working here but owner is into shady business and has no respect or care for his employees. However life is well respected here and the people make you feel welcome
Pros
Good work-life balance, Always something to do
Cons
Boss does not care about employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team
Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Morinville, AB26 January 2017
The people I work with in the Transportation Department are very much a family and everyone feels very connected.

The atmosphere is very collaberative and I enjoy working with this team.
Pros
Lots of group lunches
Cons
It's a temporary position
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work day
Utilities technition (Former Employee) –  Morinville, AB23 November 2016
You are treated nice till you get hurt, they turn there back on you and treat you like an outsider. Not a life time commitment job, you get hurt and they move on.
Pros
Good benifits
Cons
They don't care about others
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Predictive work place
Seasonal Laborer (Former Employee) –  Morinville, AB12 August 2016
I've have been giving many opportunities to grow as a worker and as a person, which benefited me from this company. Most enjoyable part of the job was working with great co-workers.
Pros
Great supervisour
Cons
Slow work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB18 April 2016
I was Labour, on call in truck
Worked at sherritt as contractor for McSween in the scaffolding yard.
Helped scaffolders erect and dismantle scaffolding
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of Business Planning leads to zero organization for project based work
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Morinville, AB26 June 2015
Don't join the Business side of Sturgeon County.

They've grown too fast and have not implemented the practices they expect management to follow.

I was hired as a BA, and brought into a mess of a situation where I was supposed to be a PM, a procurement officer (where no processes were in place), tester, trainer, quality assurance, change management, etc. Which would be better if the SMEs and project sponsors understood PMI practices.
Pros
none
Cons
theft, and use of profanity
Was this review helpful?Yes12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Food Prep (Current Employee) –  Sturgeon County21 June 2015
The management is great here, my manager is very flexible and will always try to accommodate your schedule. My coworkers are all very friendly.
Pros
If there is extra food after tournaments, you can eat it
Cons
Kitchen gets hot
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and Enjoyable Atmosphere Conducive to Learning
Seasonal Labourer (Current Employee) –  Morinville, AB23 September 2014
I quite enjoy working for Sturgeon County. The hours are great, and the work isn't overly difficult. The work comes in waves, as it is mostly reported by civilians. It is nice to have a surprise every day you go to work, never knowing what awaits you. Some days you work very hard, some not so much. They are understanding, but you are not babied. You must be able to take care of yourself and follow safety policy without someone nagging you along all the time. The atmosphere is great, I have gotten along well with almost everyone, and have made several good friends outside work. The work demographic is young, and is suited for mature, independent individuals. There is plenty of opportunity to learn and move up the job ladder. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a fantastic job that pays very well, seasonal or permanent. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting up at a restaurant or bar after work. The hardest part was repairing bridges, as it uses a fair amount of muscle, and it's normally really hot out at that time of the year.
Pros
Relaxed atmosphere
Cons
Farmer's tan
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company
TRANSPORTATION (Former Employee) –  Morinville, AB3 February 2014
It was a very good company to work for but was only seasonal.It was fun driving the paker.I still would be working there if I wasnt involved in a motor vehicle accident on the way to the job site.
Pros
FREE LUNCH ON SPECIALL OCCASIONS
Cons
BOSSES USED TO YELLAND SCREAM TO MUCH.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Morinville, AB17 August 2012
work independently running grader Monday to Friday
I have some great co-workers
The hardest part of my job is being able to complete an area at the end of the day because they don't want you to work over your hours.
Pros
close to home
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was enjoyable working with the clients but the coordinator was not qualified.
Program Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Morinville, AB12 April 2012
We worked independently with clients. I enjoyed the clients but there was definitely a lack of them. You only got paid once all of the sessions with the clients were completed so that could mean every two months or possibly more.

There was good training but not enough money coming in on a regular basis.
Pros
good training
Cons
not enough work.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sturgeon County. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.9
Culture
3.5

Sturgeon County Reviews by Location