Stokes Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 28 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what management?
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth Crossing, NSAugust 10, 2015
this was the most drama filled work place i have ever been part of, the main reason i stayed was the great amount of hours they gave me. however i do not recommend this job if you are looking for a relaxing fun work place. the management is super disorganized and often not properly trained leading to frustration on all sides. conpinsation is also pretty bad for full and part time workers
Pros
lots of hours
Cons
very stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day into the holidays rush
Clerk - Stock (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QCSeptember 17, 2015
Helping customers get items if from a high shelf or if they need help finding an item they need, clean the back room when needed and at the end of the day. Management is great, glad to offer more or less hours at the request of the employee and when possible.
Pros
Friendly colleagues
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Bad place to work
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Timmins, ONJanuary 22, 2015
a typical day at work would be standing behind the cash( serving customers and counting cash when the time came) intake of stock( includes un packaging, and sorting)
the coworkers were very nice , very understandable management
the hardest part of the job would be waiting fdor people to come into the store to buy if all other jobs were complete ( not a very challenging job)
the most enjoyable part of the job would deffinitly be the easiness of the job, and doing cashier work
Pros
good hours
Cons
the location of the job
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace With Friendly Staff
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Sherwood Park, ABApril 17, 2015
One of the friendliest place to work, the staff always get along! If it wasn't for the small amount of hours that I receive, I would be sticking to this company by itself.
Pros
Always a joy to go to work
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Part-time sale associate (Former Employee) –  Dieppe, NBMay 13, 2015
it is great place to work..the variety of product is great..busy all the time.wonderful place to work fun fun fun, enjoyed it.it was a great part time job
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small and crowded
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ONJune 22, 2013
typical day consisted of stocking the back room which was very overstocked.

i learned time management skills

management was poor had 2 people quit while i was employed

co-workers were very nice

hardest part of the job was remembering where all items were placed

don't have a most enjoyable part
Pros
friendly co-workers, discounts
Cons
terrribly crowded stockroom, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical corporate retail chain.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ONMay 31, 2013
The Stokes company has an excellent focus on customer service and store presentation. When you're working with the right co-workers the day passes easily and tasks such as restocking and cleaning seem less monotonous.
In Management there seems to be a considerable amount of turnover and confusion. In five years my location went through 5 managers and almost as many District Managers. Also a number of store policies would change (particularly regarding merchandising and store plan) with little notice to the actual managers and staff that had to enact these new policies.
The hardest part of the job was managing the stock. Since there is no control at store level, and head office has little regard for store size and available space, shipments were often frustrating and stressful
Pros
employee 20% discount
Cons
much of the merchandise is cheaply made in prc.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment
Third Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Timmins, ONNovember 6, 2012
Working as a third key here was enjoyable for the first couple months. Management has improved since I left. It was easy to organize everything, and fun to improve the display features. However, the shelves in the back are very sharp around the edges, which often causes injury among the workers.
Pros
relaxed
Cons
sharp shelves
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant people to work with, advancement was possible if you had the experience.
Cashier, Assistant Manager, Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABApril 25, 2013
There was always something new to learn everyday. Being able to explain the different products and uses to customers was fun and a learning experience eveyday
Pros
pleasant associates and customers
Cons
climbing 16' ladders was tricky.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working here
Keyholder (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NBMay 29, 2013
Only worked here for a few months until I found full time but I enjyoed my time here - The manager and District manager were friendly and full of advice. I had great co-workers, and my hours were great while I was there. I learned alot about the product I was selling and still use it to this day.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work at Stokes
STORE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONDecember 18, 2014
Most of the day is spent managing stock levels, Merchandising and organizing stock areas, Lots of product knowledge to learn. Great staff and great customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT SALES
Vendeuse (Former Employee) –  Laval, QCAugust 20, 2013
It was a short time experience working here , they employed for the holidays and they seemed to know their stuff and products but less their employees it was rather a cold establishment.
Pros
busy place so you don't see the time past slow
Cons
split shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Sales Consultant/ Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  sherwood parkMarch 7, 2014
Had a great time working at stokes learned a lot and had great opportunities thrown at me!
Pros
great people to work with and awesome management
Cons
short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Regina, SKSeptember 10, 2013
Great place to work. Great training and management. Fun environment made by management.
Pros
fun environment
Cons
long mall hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales driven workplace
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, New BrunswickAugust 13, 2013
Learned more about customer service and how to approach customers while being sales driven.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Gérante de magasin (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCMarch 22, 2016
 10 ans d’expérience en gestion et plus de 15 ans en vente et service à la clientèle dans le
domaine du commerce de détail
 Assurer le bon déroulement des opérations
 Capacité d’encadrer, motiver et former le personnel
 Habileté en présentation visuelle
 Résolution de problèmes, sens de l’organisation
 Axé sur les objectifs et l’atteinte des résultats
 Capacité de travailler sous pression
 Habile communicateur, facilité à établir des contacts d’affaire
 Informatique : Word, Excel, Outlook, AS400, médias sociaux
 Langues : français et anglais
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement général très agréable
Associée aux ventes (Former Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QCMarch 15, 2016
Les collègues de travail sont très souriant, aimable, toujours présent lorsque l'ont a une question qui a attrait a notre travail. L'ambiance et chaude et énergique. J'ai appris beaucoup de choses en travaillant chez Stokes et j'ai connu des personnes formidable !
Pros
Généralement positif
Cons
Emploi temporaire
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail dynamique
Vendeuse, troisième clé (Former Employee) –  Riviere-du-loup, QCMarch 18, 2016
Travail dynamique puisque nous avons plusieurs tâches variées à accomplir. Atmosphère de travail agréable car l'équipe est amicale.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bien
Assistante-Gérante (Former Employee) –  repentignyJanuary 21, 2016
Une emprise qui est rendu très grande et qui traite ces employés comme des numéraux . Question salaire se n'est pas bien . j'ai seulement eux une hausse de 0.10 cents . Aucun avantage sociaux .
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tres bonne equipe
Preparateur de Commande Internet (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCFebruary 1, 2016
Équipe professionnelle
Locaux très propre
Café Gratuit
Management Courtois
Possibilité de temps supplémentaire
Pros
Equipe
Cons
Salaire
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 37 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture