Find companies:
Stokes
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

Stokes Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Manager (Former Employee), Regina, SKSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: fun environment
Cons: long mall hours
Great place to work. Great training and management. Fun environment made by management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT SALES
Vendeuse (Former Employee), Laval, QCAugust 20, 2013
Pros: busy place so you don't see the time past slow
Cons: split shifts
It was a short time experience working here , they employed for the holidays and they seemed to know their stuff and products but less their employees it was rather a cold establishment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales driven workplace
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), Fredericton, New BrunswickAugust 13, 2013
Learned more about customer service and how to approach customers while being sales driven.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small and crowded
Stocker (Former Employee), Cornwall, ONJune 22, 2013
Pros: friendly co-workers, discounts
Cons: terrribly crowded stockroom, poor management
typical day consisted of stocking the back room which was very overstocked.

i learned time management skills

management was poor had 2 people quit while i was employed

co-workers were very nice

hardest part of the job was remembering where all items were placed

don't have a most enjoyable part
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical corporate retail chain.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Peterborough, ONMay 31, 2013
Pros: employee 20% discount
Cons: much of the merchandise is cheaply made in prc.
The Stokes company has an excellent focus on customer service and store presentation. When you're working with the right co-workers the day passes easily and tasks such as restocking and cleaning seem less monotonous.
In Management there seems to be a considerable amount of turnover and confusion. In five years my location went through 5 managers and – more... almost as many District Managers. Also a number of store policies would change (particularly regarding merchandising and store plan) with little notice to the actual managers and staff that had to enact these new policies.
The hardest part of the job was managing the stock. Since there is no control at store level, and head office has little regard for store size and available space, shipments were often frustrating and stressful – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working here
Keyholder (Former Employee), Fredericton, NBMay 29, 2013
Only worked here for a few months until I found full time but I enjyoed my time here - The manager and District manager were friendly and full of advice. I had great co-workers, and my hours were great while I was there. I learned alot about the product I was selling and still use it to this day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant people to work with, advancement was possible if you had the experience.
Cashier, Assistant Manager, Manager (Former Employee), Calgary, ABApril 25, 2013
Pros: pleasant associates and customers
Cons: climbing 16' ladders was tricky.
There was always something new to learn everyday. Being able to explain the different products and uses to customers was fun and a learning experience eveyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment
Third Key Holder (Former Employee), Timmins, ONNovember 6, 2012
Pros: relaxed
Cons: sharp shelves
Working as a third key here was enjoyable for the first couple months. Management has improved since I left. It was easy to organize everything, and fun to improve the display features. However, the shelves in the back are very sharp around the edges, which often causes injury among the workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice company to work for
Property Repair Technician (Former Employee), ChicagoAugust 4, 2014
Pros: work hours
Good hard working job. Great company for growth and learning new things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Receptionist
Receptionist (Former Employee), Mobile, ALJuly 10, 2014
Pros: holiday parties.
Cons: low pay, no training.
Answered phones call via switchboard phone system.
Performed word processing and general clerical duties
i.e( data entry and report to collectors

Learned how to work in a business setting.
Management could have been better.
Co workers bullies..
Hardest part of job low pay.
l love working. Have a job to take care of my self and son.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I didnt like the hours but a job is a job
Cashier (Former Employee), burleyJune 11, 2014
I had to deal with grumpy coworkers. I loved the customer service part of the job. I didn't mind putting freight out or marking clearance. I loved the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not pleasant
Bartender/Server (Former Employee), Omaha, NEAugust 19, 2013
Pros: discounted meals
Cons: tension between foh and boh
most employees unhappy with management small kitchen for the menu difficult to produce orders in timely fashion
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Journée de travail
Stokes (Former Employee), Gatineau, QCMarch 25, 2014
Pros: stimulation sociale
Cons: emploi peu stable
- Accueillir et servir la clientèle avec courtoisie
- Tenir une caisse
- Percevoir les paiements
- Ranger et nettoyer l’entrepôt
- Remplir des tablettes
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lieu d'apprentisage, 3 ieme clé
Commis-vendeuse (Former Employee), Repentigny, QCOctober 28, 2012
Pros: travailler avec de beaux produits.
Cons: espace de travail restreint
Servir les clients sur le plancher.
Recevoir et placer la marchandise.
Entretenir la propreté du magasin.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail agreable
GÉRANTE (Current Employee), st-sauveurJuly 9, 2012
Pros: bonus
Cons: manque d écoute
on a une bonne ambiance de travail, s est agréable de servir les clients pour leurs décorations de leur maison et le choix de leur acquisition pour un ensemble de vaisselle ou autre.
on reçoit beaucoup de marchandise à toute les semaines, doit déballer et placer cette marchandise selon les plannogrammes de la compagnie, il y a beaucoup de création a – more... faire en visuel, ce qui est très motivant. comme gérante je doit m assurer à la formation des employés, du service à la clientèle, du visuel, des changements de prix, du déballage....ect...ce qui fait que les journées sont très remplis, s est ce qui est agréable, car nous n avons pas le temps de nous ennuyer. Les clients sont agréable, et apprécie d avoir des conseils pour leurs achats. – less