Stelco Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor experience
N/A (Former Employee) –  Hamilton13 December 2017
-generous base pay.
-6% short term incentive plan annual bonus (based on individual and company performance - note: this is a company that has gone into bankruptcy protection twice in the last 10 years).
-poor benefits and pension (flex healthcare spending account and RRSP).
-horrible workplace culture - many people are very negative and damaged by the company's troubled history. Gossipy, unwelcoming, team meetings always cancelled, very protective about basic information, very demanding management.
-not open to change - will say they are, but then you will hear a lot of "this is how we have always done it" (again, a company that has gone into bankruptcy protection twice...).
-poor orientation and on-boarding - did not have basics like email, computer, phone, etc. for weeks to a month after starting. Orientation was boring and not useful. No colleagues to assist with learning the ropes as most are all new and drowning in work.
-too much work, not enough resources.
-lack basic systems, processes, policies, and information.
-was not conducive to work-life balance.
-retention issues - revolving door of employees who probably experienced the same things.

I absolutely would not recommend this employer to anyone based on my experience.
Pros
base pay was generous, that is about all...
Cons
long hours, supporting two locations 1 hour distance from each other, poor onboarding and orientation, very negative, unwelcoming and unsupportive workplace culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away
Systems Administrator (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON4 September 2017
This by far the worst place I have ever worked. Management is clueless and there is rampant nepotism. They do not pay for business travel and you expected to drive 50 km to their alternate site on a regular basis. Terrible benefit plan and pay is below average and they only pay employees once a month.
Pros
None that I can see.
Cons
Nepotism, terrible pay, terrible benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Journeyman (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 June 2017
Perform PM's
Troubleshoot and repair equipment when break downs occur
Hand out PM's to other workers
Alter PLC and HMI's as requested by management
Update time sheets, schedules, CMMS, log required data
Pros
Steady employment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people - struggling company
Process Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON2 May 2017
I enjoyed working at Stelco for the many years I did. Made many friends and colleagues that I still keep in touch with today.

The unstable financial situation made it a difficult place to work and ultimately led to my resignation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintenance is a joke
Industrial Electrician (Current Employee) –  Nanticoke, ON29 April 2017
If you want a job were you don't need to do anything or care about the future of the company than you should work in maintenance here. If you like to work and care about contributing to the stability of the company than you will be frustrated by the lack of effort from those around you and the obstacles management puts in front of you to do your job.
Pros
Sociable enviroment
Cons
So much
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok to work there
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON26 March 2014
pay was very good considering it was 1979 summer student. I did various jobs which I really can't remember what they were called
Pros
good pay, benefits
Cons
I was young and working weekends, terrible hours at that age
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An intersting safe work environment
Power System Operator (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON3 September 2013
An interesting career where you had different tasks every day. A positive department with a strong focus on safety.
Pros
Variety of tasks
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
full time employment
Industrial Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON3 May 2013
worked 12 hour shifts ,doing mech.work and prevenative maintance
on a rolling mill
all co workers were enjoyable to work with..
the heat sometimes gets to you
but the benefits are well worth it
Pros
pension
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job good people to work for and with.
switchman railroad (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON6 March 2013
great environment, great people to work for very busy sorting empty and loads for the mills and shipments to go out
Pros
paid lunches and great people
Cons
changed to 12 hr. shifts and new management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company until the US Steel team bought it out
Invoice and Billing Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON12 November 2012
Stelco was an excellent company and really stood behind their employees and cared for them as people and not just employees, this changed when the US bought the company and had a different mind set, more of a money making mind set then the heart of a city.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked as a summer student for releif
Mould Tundish Operator (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON14 April 2012
push mold flux into cast mold. i was in control of mold levels
Pros
great first experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report

See more Stelco reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Stelco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.5
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.3
Culture
2.4

Stelco Reviews by Location