Statistics Canada Employee Reviews

Found 279 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent and Interactive learning environment
Questionnaire Support Unit & Field Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON8 August 2017
I had a great time at Statistics Canada. Friendly staff and co-workers. I had a great time with everyone and I enjoyed my job to the fullest without a single complaint.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Long-hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treats Temporary staff like cattle
Payroll Clerk (Temporary) (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 August 2017
Statistics Canada was a very unprofessional, gossip plagued work environment. The temporary staff was given old and outdated computers, broken chairs, and non-ergonomic workstations. We were constantly told by permanent government management not to talk, make noise, etc. in the office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant atmosphere enhanced by trust extended by management
Enumerator (Former Employee) –  London, ON21 July 2017
Independent workday plan;
Quality Assurance maintained as part of the ops
Leeway to use one's own management style to accomplish the desired outcomes
Built-in accuracy checking system
Excellent management
Pros
Free hand to schedule one's workday
Cons
Dealing with some hostile members of the public
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed worked for Statistics Canada.
Enumerator (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC19 July 2017
I enjoyed being part of the important job of enumerating collectives, individuals and families for the 2016 Census. I was able to select my own hours and organize my own work. There was support when needed and the processes were efficient.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horaire flexible,
Agent Recenseur (Former Employee) –  Boucherville, QC18 July 2017
Excellent employeur chez qui faire carrière serait envisageable et plaisant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting casual employment
Enumerator (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON17 July 2017
Census Enumerator was casual position. Loved meeting people, chatting with all who answered the door.
Worked on my own and enjoyed the support if i required it!
Pros
Working on your own
Cons
A lot of walking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really good pay
Enumerator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 July 2017
The pay is really good and you can work on your own time when participating during the census collection. Job security is not great because if you are unable to put in at least 20 hours a week you cannot continue working with them.
Pros
Great Pay
Cons
Difficult to get people to fill out forms.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great energy with fellow employees
Call Center Operator/Enumerator (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC5 July 2017
The training was good; the fellow workers, wonderful. Nice environment. The job was interesting in taking surveys from a multitude of different people. I loved it!
Pros
Breaks were always given.
Cons
Job finished shorter than expected.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing/easy
Census Enumerator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 July 2017
Conduct interviews and complete census forms and questionnaires
Assist people in filling out survey forms and explaining items on survey forms
Conduct an extensive visual survey of areas that need to be covered during the census taking procedure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enumeration
Census Enumerator (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK28 June 2017
Informative training sessions. Terrific team leaders that always made sure we had all the tools we needed to finish our tasks. Great opportunity to travel and meet people.
Pros
Travel
Cons
Reading the grid maps
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work Low Pay
Distribution and NRFU (Former Employee) –  Didsbury, AB27 June 2017
I had the opportunity to get to know my neighbours and community better, enjoy the sunshine and get some exercise. This also involved extensive driving to outlying areas with little to no cell phone coverage and in places where personal security was a risk, while attempting to collect information that some were unwilling to give - or became angry when asked.
Pros
Set my own hours
Cons
Personal security risk and high wear and tear on vehicle with very little compensation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail productif et convivial
Adjoint à l'analyse (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 June 2017
Mon travail consiste à évaluer les estimations démographique infraprovinciale. Je suis chargé de produire des rapports à la fin de chaque projet.
Les collaborateurs sont très sympathique avec un bon esprit d'équipe. L'environnement de travail est très convivial.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Census 2016 Ambassador (Former Employee) –  toronto26 June 2017
It was a good paying job for the summer however, going door to door was not something I wanted to do but as I had no other job, I stuck through with it.
Pros
work around your own schedule
Cons
door to door
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible schedule
Enumerator (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON25 June 2017
This job was very flexible in your schedule since you work whenever you want between a specific time period. The pay rate was $16.31/hr plus other small bonuses you get such as gas, paperwork, etc. However you work at most maybe 3-4 hours a day so this is mostly a part time job. You also learn a lot about how the census works in Canada which can be very interesting.
Pros
Flexible time table
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer
Enumerator (Former Employee) –  Corner19 June 2017
It was very interesting to work for them and very well organized. Would recommend them as an employer any day.It was challenging some days as an enumerator, as some people can be very difficult to deal with, but with patience, it always works!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic place to work in
Adjointe administrative à la directrice (Former Employee) –  Ottawa-Gatineau, ON9 June 2017
Dynamic place to work in with good opportunities for networking. I was responsible for my director's agenda and meetings, along with data entry and forwarding documents such as mail, memos, contracts, etc.
Good workplace dynamic with other employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Recruitment Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ohsweken, ON8 June 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed my work here. This was specific to the 2016 Census, so it was contract work, but I really enjoyed working for this branch of our Fed. Gov't and look forward to being of service again.
Cons
Contract work, no guarantees you'll be rehired or your contract job will be turned into a full time position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail très productif
Préposé au traitement du recensement (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC2 June 2017
belle expérience et bonne ambiance de travail; travail d'équipe
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved travelling and greet new people for this job.
Enumerator (Former Employee) –  Cochrane, AB2 June 2017
It was a fun and exciting job with a highly confidential aspect attached. Needed to make sure Respondents filled in the questionnaires properly and also needed to ensure their privacy was in tacked and respected.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday is different
Census Enumerator/ Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Canada1 June 2017
A typical day at work is to go out and meet people that have been selected for a specific survey. I move from community to community depending on the assignment.
I learned and met new people everyday on the job
Pros
Travels
Cons
Long hours sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Statistics Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 281 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.9
Culture
3.9