Find companies:
Statistics Canada
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
70 reviews

Statistics Canada Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Comment
Interviewer (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: six hour shifts in great location downtown vancouver
Cons: everything else
Sorry, I signed a confidentiality agreement and can say no more than what is in my CV.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy.
Enumerator (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 14, 2014
I enjoyed my job, regardless of who opened the door and how unexcited they were to see me standing there knowing why i was there...I always had some good conversation and left with smiles on their faces. I really enjoy working with people so this job to me was lovely.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed work enviroment that is still challenging
Deployment Technician (Current Employee), Nepean, ONFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: goverment, flexible hours, good work enviroment
Excellent place to work, I was hired as an FSWEP student to help with the windows 7 Migration and had an excellent experience, both acquiring some skills and I would love to work there again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, loved this position
Crew Leader District (Former Employee), Brookfield, NSJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: interaction with the public and staff
Cons: only a term position
Recruitment of Census staff, testing, interviewing etc., training staff, distribution and delivery of Census questionnaries to enumerators. Supervisiing during enumerator duties during delivery and non response follow up. Assisting other districts in completing non response follow up, assisting residents in completing questionnaire. Daily input of reports, – more... updating files, checking recruitment updates, accessing procedures, checking enumerators reports for recommendation or edit via different computer programs and applications. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and fulfilling work
Administrative Assistant (AS-02) (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: the absolute kindness of the people i worked with
Cons: limited career advancement
- Help clients entering or calling the Employee Assistance Program
- Assisting counselors in setting up meetings with clients
- Assisting in the coordination of various Directorate events
- I learned the importance of client confidentiality and various specialty related functions working for an employee assistance program
- The hardest part of this – more... job was to keep the local specialists' lists updated, due to quick and sometimes unexpected changes in rates, and specialty information
- The most enjoyable part was, by far, seeing our clients leave the Wellness Centre happy, and confident that things would improve for them, either personally or at the workplace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and demanding because of time restraints
Field Office Assistant (Former Employee), Burnaby, BCJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: self enrichment
Cons: time restraints
Everyday lead to new challenges and required a logical approach to resolving the requirements that were necessary to make sure that the Yukon Territory was sufficiently receiving all data so that I concise Census was being conducted. My Field Office Supervisor was in the Yukon most of the time, so I was his eyes and ears in our Burnaby office. I really – more... enjoyed helping all the Census people in the Yukon and making sure that all their data was received and presented to various divisions in order for them to receive payments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Governament desk job
Junior Statistical Clerk (Former Employee), ottawa, onDecember 11, 2013
Not to much stress.

Federal pension and benefits were great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Data Analyst
Data Analyst (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONNovember 6, 2013
I worked for this employer during the 2011 Census. I learned a great deal in terms of Census Operations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interviewer
Telephone Interviewer (Former Employee), Sturgeon Falls, ONSeptember 5, 2013
Pros: short shifts
Cons: the whole job
Hard to convince someone to take part in a hour long (sometimes longer) survey. They are told it is voluntary, but we have to hound them 30 times before the computer system boots them out. There are many supervisors, which is hard cause they all tell you different things. It's not a hard job, but getting yelled at and talking to people who do not want – more... to talk to you makes it hard. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very task orented office with quota system
Census Clerk (contract) (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 13, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: contract job that ran out.
I enjoyed the people i worked with, The community that was fostered helped make the work possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Processing Agent (Former Employee), Gatineau, QCJuly 13, 2013
Working on the Census of Population and National Household Survey conducted by Statistics Canada in both clerical and (metric) inbound call centre roles. Access the company's internal systems to obtain information and secure data for verification. Collect and enter data and distribute results as required. Compile, sort and verify the accuracy of data – more... before it is entered. Upkeep customer records by updating account information. Maintain logs of activities and completed work. Help in the pre-process of data to locate missing information and make corrections as needed. Accurate keying of numerical and alphabetical. Tailor communication style to suit individual needs such as differing language, culture, survey terminology jargon, etc... Provide a high level of customer service and telephone etiquette, while documenting responses Work on various activities as assigned and operate different types of equipment for manual or automated operations (e.g., Call Centre Telephone System, cutters, computer terminals, imaging systems, etc.,) Follow privacy practices for the security of census paper and electronic forms and information collected in confidence over the Census Help Line – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned lots
Field Interviewer (Former Employee), Winnipeg, Manitoba and Vancouver, BCJuly 11, 2013
Pros: set your own schedule and pace.
Cons: individuals are sometimes difficult to meet.
Very important position. Continuous interaction with the general population and the business community in this country. Management is very supportive. Co-workers are a diverse mix. The hours, typically, are not your standard 9-5 Monday thru Friday work week. Very rewarding and educational. I enjoyed my employment with this organization very much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive high energy work place
Field Interviewer (Former Employee), Prince Albert, SKJune 27, 2013
Pros: some flexibility
Cons: very long days with unpaid hours between paid for work
Overall a great job, however, flexibility and adaptability is more a requirement of the employee then the employer. While you set your own hours officially, most of the time, it is clear that you need to be available from early morning to mid evening six days a week in order to meet interview targets. The one mandatory survey, held over 8-9 days each – more... month was in fact my favorite time, as it was fast paced and fun,easy to put in 9- 10 hour days. If I could have I would have accepted ongoing employment just working that survey. Company supervisor refused to consider or discuss. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
did not feel like work
Student Co-operative Program (Co-op) (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMay 31, 2013
it was a great experience working for FMOSD at Statistics Canada although it was in Ottawa away from home (Toronto) I looked forward to going to work every Monday. The staff were wonderful and the management was exceptional!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace promoting learning and interaction among staff
Computer Assisted Telephone Interviewer (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 13, 2013
A typical day at work involved collecting data and entering it into the data software. Training days involved a step-by-step demonstration of what to do with date, how to input it, collect it, and how to add comments and corrections to existing files as well as how to create new files.

Management was actively involved in its interaction with employees. – more... They promoted an environment where questions were frequently asked and help was sought when it was needed. This was evident among the staff who were very cooperative.

The hardest part of the job would be having to deal with the few uncooperative clients we receive our data from. The most enjoyable part of the job was the interaction with friendly clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Getting to know people and helping others
Enumerator (Former Employee), Ladner, bcMay 13, 2013
Fun getting to know new people as well as knowing you made a difference by helping people that can't do things for themselces
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face paced/Solitary environment
Telephone Interviewer (Former Employee), Sturgeon Falls, ONMay 3, 2013
A typical day at work consisted of sitting in a cubicle for six hours conducting telephone surveys.
I learned that repetition isn't for everyone.
The management team was O.K. depending on which department you were working in.
My co-workers varied by age. There were many older folks who were very easy to get along with and others not so easy.
The hardest – more... part of the job in my opinion, was sitting in one spot for more than 3 hours.
The most enjoyable part was getting to know many different people over the course of the survey. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple Job
Enumerator (Former Employee), May, ONApril 26, 2013
Pros: log own hours
Involved conducting personal interviews with citizens of Brampton. Job was repetitive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Two Contract jobs. One as Supervisor and the other as a Manager
Census Area Manager, Urban Strategy (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 15, 2013
Pros: loved the energy
Cons: contract was not extented.
Very busy short term contracts with projects from start to finish.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to work with the public
Census eneumerator (Former Employee), Havelock and surrounding area, OntarioApril 1, 2013
Pros: great opportunity to work with the public
Cons: temporary position
Intensive training, assisting public with individual Census forms. Report preparation.

1 2 3 4