Statistics Canada Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 108 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great view but expensive parking
Recruitment Clerk (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABApril 9, 2016
If an employee is not full time and you express grievances against a full-time employee, it gets you no-where. Other than that, apart from this bad apple, the rest of the team is an amazing group, unfortunately as a contract worker, it appears that our concerns are at the bottom of the totem pole.
Pros
Continuous challenge to meet goals hence never bored
Cons
No room for advancement as a contract casual worker
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, yet rewarding job
Recruitment Clerk for the Aboriginal Sector (Current Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ONMarch 23, 2016
Was great experience, but a lot of miscommunication among management, as well a unorganized and a lot of last minute pressure because of last minute decision making.

Gained a lot of experience in the aboriginal sector and has given me a lot of knowledge.
Pros
got to travel to northern communities
Cons
language barriers, cultural barriers and miscommunication
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace,professional, friendly co-workers.
Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Sturgeon Falls, ONJanuary 7, 2016
Very well managed in all departments, from work load to employees, expectations , cases touched and complete. secure and confidential work environment. Statistics Canada is reviewed as a top employer to work for. good benefit plan. Also accommodate family life.An enjoyable part of the job is you are put in training for each project you work on.
Pros
accumulate days off & holidays without loss
Cons
some projects are lengthy
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Went to people's homes to give the cost of living survey.
Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Stephenville, NLDecember 2, 2015
I enjoyed working my own hours. My supervisor was living/working approximately 3 hours away. I felt uncomfortable doing this survey as I did not think that the government needed to know a lot of these personal information.
Pros
Worked my own hours.
Cons
Did not like asking such personal questions to people.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced, team and individual work
Interviewer (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NSFebruary 29, 2016
At Statistics Canada I am able to work with the Canadian public, helping to make changes to the Canadian government. I enjoy working with a team to meet service goals.
Pros
working with the public
Cons
no room for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great volunteer experience
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONMay 12, 2016
enjoyable co workers and management

no salary because it was volunteer work

tight work areas

helpful co workers

flexible with my life schedule
Pros
helpful and friendly co workers
Cons
small rooms
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable job
Statistician (Former Employee) –  Port Hawkesbury, NSOctober 13, 2015
We had an very extensive training session. Throughout our session we were able to meet new team members who then became friends. We shared lots of laughs during our training, and this helped to ease the stress of the amount of paperwork that was involved in our jobs.

This job helped me to zone in on my organizational skills as I had 3 small children at home waiting to greet me when I walked through the door at night. It made me realize the demographics of the people in our area that I was never exposed to before.

It was great to get out in the public and meet new people of our area.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work with
Software Developer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONApril 2, 2016
Basically, it is a good place to work with. However´╝îthere is less room for the personal development.

A typical day at work is 9-5.
Pros
job security
Cons
less room for personal growth
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning curve
Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  East Parry SoundSeptember 21, 2015
In my position I was able to encourage enumerators to do a good job and how to accomplish that task. I was able to get them to work together and cover for others when problems arose. I met a lot of really nice people in the organization. But the hardest part was having to talk to one individual regarding his mode of dress that was unacceptable for someone meeting the public and eventually was required to remove him from the position.
The best part is the friends that were made and continue to this day.
Pros
Opportunity to develop individual skills in time management
Cons
Job didn't last long enough
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing, Fast Paced & Fun
Testing & Selection Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BCSeptember 17, 2015
I enjoyed working for Statistics Canada. We were a busy team of five people doing testing and selection of canvassers for the Kelowna, BC area. It was interesting work and challenging as there were always tight deadlines.
The best part about the position was the team was very well matched and we enjoyed our time working together.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible culture- great pay
Junior Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONNovember 8, 2015
Work culture is sad at times- many people are so lazy. However, pay is very good and benefits are top of the line. Hours are great and demands are relatively low for the average employee.
Pros
Pay, Benefits, hours
Cons
Culture
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Census Representative and Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BCSeptember 3, 2015
It has a good preparation setup and good well educated people in leadership. the job is good for one who likes to work and to meet new people. Overall the work is good, the pay is good, and there is some stress involved near the end of the work.
Pros
Good pay for living out allowances
Cons
Long hours, travel, and some stress
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good fellow employees, interesting job
Interviewer, Survey of Household Spending (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLSeptember 3, 2015
Meeting people and completing a survey of their income and spending, assisting people in working on a budget and identifying where the spent their money over the past 12 months.
Pros
Meeting and helping people
Cons
Term or contract position
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid by all means
Operational Staff (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJuly 2, 2015
Let's start with the good:
- Good job security
- Typically good government benefits
- Rarely have to work overtime

The bad:
- Poor management and leadership
- Toxic work environment
- Non-professional demeanour and attire (white socks on sandals, cargo pants, and baggy wrinkled t-shirts).
- Employees will escalate trivial issue to senior management on a regular basis

Conclusion: Avoid like the plague.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stats Canada
Poll Clerk (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBNovember 21, 2015
My supervisors were very knowledgeable and provided me with the proper tools and training to help me excel above and beyond in my position.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working environment and staff
Quality Control Assistant (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ONJuly 8, 2015
Hours spent reviewing census forms for completeness and accuracy.

Learned to communicate effectively with people who were unsure of the census and it's laws.

Management were amazing. Allowing us to grow and learn.

Co-workers were a group of the most diverse and wonderful people. All ages, all nationalities. We learned alot from each other about our diverse cultures.

The hardest part of the job were the hours. We worked 10-12 hour days but it was worth it in the end.

The most enjoyable part of the job were my co-workers. We had fun, laughed, worked hard, helped each other and had amazing potluck lunches every other Friday.

I believe that because we knew this was only a 15 week contract job, we all made the best of it and got along and helped each other.

Glad I had the experience.
Pros
environment, staff, location
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
census clerk (Former Employee) –  toronto onSeptember 29, 2015
I learned a lot about the whole census process and the information gathering to make it successful.I was working for a great team and enjoyed the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different job
Phone interviewer (Former Employee) –  Sturgeon FallsMay 26, 2015
I didnt like this position nor task. All phone interviewers are put in the front line, by doing so we recived many confrontations and abusives interviews. The governement should annonce the survey, it will help cooperation between those who are being called and the interviewers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
Interviewer (Former Employee) –  sherbrooke, QuebecJuly 14, 2015
Call people and interview them about various subjects such as farming ect ...

Time went by very slowly, very repetitive job and tasks.

Never had to work overtime always finished on time.
Pros
boring
Cons
good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valued my work experience, and a very productive and pleasant work team
Assistant Statistical Clerk (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, PQMay 15, 2015
Management was fair, co-workers were brilliant, job was not hard, liked being busy, learned a tremendous amount about the department.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 109 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture