State Street Employee Reviews

Found 55 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok..work environment
Performance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 April 2016
It was ok working environment, but it seems to be very disorganized. If you have high passion and potential, I don't recommend to work here.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Fund Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 February 2016
Was a friendly environment and my management was excellent in people skills.

They ensure proper guidelines were provided to complete everyone's job role.

Flexible and understanding Individuals
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work in
Summer Intern student at financial company (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 February 2015
Working at State Street has allowed me to grow my knowledge in the working field. I spent my day infront of a computer inputting company data. The co-workers were very helpful and very friendly with me. The hardest part of the job was finishing all duties within the certain time limit. The most enjoyable part of the job was the fact I was given my own freedom to come and go whenever.
Pros
Flexible times, nice and kind people
Cons
long hours, long hours of sitting on a chair
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place to work
Financial Reporting Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 February 2015
State street is progressive company that strives for faciliating both staff and clients. I was a great place to work with excellent mangers and co-workers. The hardest part of my job was the concentrated work hours around reporting periods. My co- workers and the learning opportunities I was afforded were the most enjoyable part of my jon
Pros
Great benefits and progressive carrer
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment, extremely challenging but stressful
Vice President, Derivative Operations (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 June 2014
Meet with management team on a daily/weekly basis to discuss key projects, and key risk factors.

Meet with clients to discuss our requirements to service their derivative products

Report to my senior management our key risk factors and our productivity metrics.

Work with vendors to ensure our service needs are being met

Hardest part of job is juggling multiple projects all with equal importance and starting at the same time.

No work life balance

Enjoy the people that I work with. Very dedicated and hard working
Pros
Fast paced, every day brings new challenges
Cons
No work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10
Vice President Fund administration (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 March 2014
• Assisted with the start up and take on of new hedge funds
• Direct contact and good relations with various CFOs in different locations
• Conversations regarding AML (Anti Money Laundering) with investors
• Reviewing of NAV files prepared by team members, and assisting in solving issues
• Assist with system upgrades and implementations
• Client Due Diligence (CDD) and Know Your Client (KYC) management for potential new and existing clients

Achievements:
- Part of the team to do the take-on for administrating one of the biggest hedge funds in the USA, the York funds;
- Assisting in moving clients over to new Canadian operations.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to gain experience.
Investment Accountant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 January 2013
I began my career at State Street, coming straight out of college, I had no idea of what to expect.

State Street was a great way to gain experience within the Mutual Fund industry. It was a stepping stone to me getting into my next place of employment.

There were some serious concerns, such as lack of work life balance, and the fact that we were required to work overnight on new years eve.
Pros
good place to gain experience
Cons
long hours, lack of work life balance, poor salary
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you can go somewhere else, don't go to this company.
A2 (Former Employee) –  CANADA12 September 2012
very incompetent management, no recognition of hard working, full of office politics, bad work life balance, high turn over ratio, red tape all over, lower level employee treated as slave, poor pay,
Pros
benefit package
Cons
very incompetent management, no recognition of hard working, full of office politics, bad work life balance, high turn over ratio, red tape all over, lower level employee treated as slave, poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, Client Service
Senior Client Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto30 January 2013
At work servicing client is a challenge. Accuracy and productivity is most required.
Teamwork is mostly experienced to deliver the best to the clients.
Co-workers and different work related co-ordination has been very effective
Enjoy having many courses and availability of learning tools to excel.
Pros
lunch break and celebration are fun
Cons
long hours sometimes are neccessary
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Client Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 January 2016
good training options but long hours and high turnover..client base is very elite.. sometime hard to deal with share service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no concept of work life balance
Senior Analyst (Former Employee) –  toronto20 August 2015
management is not understanding at all..very high turn over. no body cares if you leave or join...very selfish attitude. Just keep working. management runs on favoritism.
Pros
can get in without much experience
Cons
no concept of work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great long term company or stepping stone for recent grads
Senior Analyst (Team Lead), Securities Valuation (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 December 2012
- valuation of all securities held in all hedge funds on a daily basis
- time management, multitasking are important
- the people at this company make it worthwhile
- stressful daily deadlines can make it tough at times
Pros
great benefits, great work-life balance
Cons
extremely low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Trade Processor (Former Employee) –  30 Adelaide Street19 November 2013
The job it self was challenging on a day to day basis due to system
enhancements. to meet the clients requirements. The group that I was in, was very cooperative and helpful; especially when targets are to be met on a timely fashion. Overall, the Management was very supportive, in providing the necessary tools to achieve our goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance
Fund Accountant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 September 2015
State Street preaches work life balance however that is not the case. They work you like a dog with no added compensation. There is no true management structure as such the teams are left to fend for themselves.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots to learn but hard to apply
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 November 2012
The company is an overall good company to start off at if an individual wants to enter the investment/ financial industry.
Pros
lots of fun individuals to work with who are all fairly young
Cons
must adapt quickly in their roles or else the job responsibilities can be easily overwhelming
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for first job
Investment Accountant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 August 2015
generally speaking this is a good place to start as first job, but need to consider better opportunities, promotion room is not good, high rotation rate
Pros
no over time
Cons
management inefficient
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great starting place
Senior Investment Accountant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 October 2012
State Street is a good place to start a career and an excellent opportunity to learn more about the financial service industry. The managers are helpful and great mentors. The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to meet and interact with great people.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going work environment
Senior Pricing Specialist (Former Employee) –  30 Adelaide Street East28 August 2014
A thirst for knowledge and proactive attitude will be greatly rewarded within the company. Work is at times stressful, but manageable.
Pros
Happy go lucky work environment
Cons
Management lacks skills to properly handle certain situations
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AML Analyst / State street
Senior Investment Compliance Reporting Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, on17 July 2015
I was hired as an AML analyst to work on a remediation project within State Street. The job was very interesting and was motivated to pursue CAMS.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot in this position.
Derivatives Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 January 2015
Very fast paced, well structured work environment. Everything had a specific procedure, and everything was thoroughly cross checked to make sure there was no human errors.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at State Street. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 983 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3
76%

CEO Approval

Based on 191 ratings
Add your rating

State Street Reviews by Location