Find companies:
State Street
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
404 reviews

State Street Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Lead Senior Shareholder Servicing Administrator (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 8, 2012
State Street is an amazing company. The management team is very productive and open to change.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fgtr
Pricing Analyst (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 12, 2012
Long hours
Bad payee
No qualifications required
high turn over ratio
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Assistant Vice President (Current Employee), BostonDecember 17, 2014
State Street is a world class company with many bonuses for working here. The benefits are good. Work and life balance is difficult due to the nature of working in a market driven environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with, but managers is afraid to take the lead.
IT Administrator (Former Employee), Quincy, MADecember 16, 2014
Pros: well diversify people
Cons: during my tenure, i have seen cheating the system, kissing up and giving ultimatums to managers.
Some hired a new manager and knows nothing about what our jobs and how we do things to get it done. Instead, they rely on others who knows the answers before they go into a management meeting. Most meetings do not accomplish much, just talk in our group.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Corporate Actions Representative I and II (Former Employee), QuincyDecember 15, 2014
Pros: secure employment
Cons: limited advancement opportunities, below market rate pay
usually busy
learned a lot
management is good
coworkers are good
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, very satisfying.
Food Preparation/Assembler (Former Employee), Lemont, ILDecember 15, 2014
Pros: learned a great deal about food preparation, was certified in food sanitation by the state of illinois.
Cons: had to be on your feet six to seven hours every shift.
Dinner by Design was a food preparation kitchen. Customers would set up appointments in order for them to come in and be at a "food station" that they basically put together, took home and cooked it at home.
My position was to prepare these stations for the customers. I streamlined the process for the stations and for making pre-mades (meals that we – more... prepared that people could just pick up out of our front freezer and take home to cook).

By streamlining the stations set up process, it was possible to set up easier and faster and save money and time.

Helped control inventory of all food products. Since every month the menus (12 - stations) changed, the end of the month was break down time and every aspect of the kitchen was thoroughly cleaned. I brought in some of my own equipment and techniques to make that process go more smoothly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job
Income Specialist (Former Employee), Quincy, MADecember 11, 2014
I was there for a couple of years and the job wasn't anything special. It is like any other job in financial services. Sit in a cubical all day and do data entry. Deadlines are hourly but the work isn't too difficult. There may be a learning curb to learn to use the software. There is a lot of down time so you have to find your own ways of staying busy – more... some times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management indifferent to your growth or retention of good employees
Custody Specialist, Associate - Level 1 (Current Employee), Boston, MADecember 5, 2014
Pros: you can get paid ot
Cons: poor management, extra work is not recognized, constant changes to the operational model
A typical day is 90% daily, repetitive tasks. These are done for the same time every day, and becomes mind numbing after a few months. whenever you have a free second, you can look into inquiries sent by other teams or external clients to keep yourself busy. You will get a basic idea of trade settlements, reconciliation of funds, some basic accounting – more... entries. Do not expect a formal classroom environment as everything is learned on the job. In other words, the amount of things you learn are dependent on your initiative, and there is no emphasis on learning how your work relates to the other departments, or "centers of excellence". Management is extremely nonchalant about employee retention. You can do the bare minimum, or work 10-12 hours a day, there is no guarantee you will earn a promotion. Furthermore, the turnover rate in the department is extremely high, most people leave as soon as they get to a year, and management does not hire anyone to replace the exiting associates, leaving fewer people with more work. I'm honestly surprised the department is still functioning with the skeleton staff left. Also, there is an unhealthy reliance on interns to avoid hiring FT staff. The staff tends to be fresh college grads and a mix for the interns. The most difficult part of the job is trying to resolve exceptions that you have not caused, but somehow is your responsiblity to fix. The most enjoyable part of the job is once you know how your processing is done, the days go by smoothly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place with if looking to advance
Associate 1 (Current Employee), Boston, MADecember 1, 2014
Pros: name on resume, decent benefits
Cons: monotonous work, min wages, long hours
Aside from the name of the company State Street employees have a narrow workspace and the options for advancement and improvement in ones own career are nil
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work !
VP, Businesess Continuity Planner (Former Employee), Boston, MADecember 1, 2014
Pros: compensation
Cons: business units didn't take ownership of their bc plans.
I very much enjoyed my tenure at State Street. SSC provided invaluable training opportunities which allowed me to enhance my career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Princeton, NJNovember 19, 2014
This is one of the company where we can learn many productive things. Environment was very friendly and supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team workers
Portfolio Accountant (Former Employee), Alameda, CANovember 17, 2014
Pros: great people, flexible work hours
Cons: laid off and moved to sacramento
Loved my work as a Fund Accountant and Auditor. Great company with some great people who were families to me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is fine.
Application Developer (Former Employee), Boston, MANovember 17, 2014
It is a great company. I have learned a lot from my experience of state street. the co-workers are nice and working culture are up-lift.
the hardest part of the job is out source which makes hour long and job security gone. most of people can't put soul and heard in job because of out source.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company - a place to gain some great work experience.
Officer (Former Employee), Boston, MANovember 12, 2014
Pros: flex work arrangement
Cons: as of 2014, there were several rounds of layoffs.
Typically a fun place to work. Great work/life balance with the Flex Work Program (work remotely, condensed schedules, etc.).
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Enviroment
Senior Fund Administrator Supervisor (Former Employee), Fair Lawn, NJNovember 12, 2014
A little behind the times with technology, but overall a decent place to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global Financial Services Company
Director of Accounting/Vice President (Current Employee), Boston, MANovember 9, 2014
StateStreet is a global financial services company and a leader in asset management and custody services. It offers great career opportunity and has a diverse workforce.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Investment Accountant (Current Employee), KansasOctober 30, 2014
This is a good company to work for. You gain a lot of knowledge in the financial accounting industry.The employees strive to work as a team, rather than compete.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits
Fund Accountant, Associate 1 (Current Employee), kansas city missouriOctober 30, 2014
benefits are excellent at state street. Job is not hard but pay is not that great and the layoffs are getting bad
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
AVP OPERATIONAL RISK MANAGER (Former Employee), londonOctober 30, 2014
Cons: long hours, no flexibility given to me to work from home
I enjoyed my time at State Street, I was given an opportunity to travel to different locations to set up office and train staff. I was not happy with the management, there was no interaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work work and then some more work
Global Client Service Representative (Former Employee), Quincy, MAOctober 29, 2014
Pros: met some wonderful people; learned to management and multitask a fast pace, high risk; deadline driven workload while providing a high level customer service
Cons: no work and life balance; pay rate and bonuses; undervalued employees
If you looking for a work and life balance this is not the place for you. This is a cut throat company which corporate model is "Do more with less". The only way for career advancement is if you willing to live and breath the your position. When you think given it all you got than you must give that much more. Looking to be challenged in a way you have – more... never imagined this maybe a place to start. The words " sink or swim" take on its meaning after working for this company. I am grateful to have work for this company because I feel I could do the US president's job with minimal to no training --maybe exaggerating just a bit--but comes close to it. – less

About State Street

Through its flagship State Street Bank and other subsidiaries, the company provides investment management and servicing, trading, – Read more