State Street Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Lead Senior Shareholder Servicing Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 January 2017
Long hours
Fast-paced
The management team is fair
People are friendly and willing to assist you
The pay is average and there is room for growth
Overall it is a good place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Risk Monitoring Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 January 2017
It was a awsome place to work where I learned a lot. It was a good place to start your career and build your knowledge base about the financial industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of activities for those who would like to get involved outside of work, great benefits
Senior Corporate Actions Specialist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 December 2016
Obviously work experience depends on your department - some work flexible shifts, and others do not not. But as overall company provides a lot of opportunities to get involved with fun activities during work and outside of work. Lots of groups you ca join, great networking possibilities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starter job
Senior, Investment Valuations Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 November 2016
This was a great place to gain lots of experience in the investment industry. I learned lots and the environment is relatively young workers. I had lots of fun working here.
Pros
Lots of experience
Cons
too much turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
non-stimulating workplace
global cash (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC12 November 2016
The job itself is really boring and repetitive, no real vision of what you're doing as contributing to the entire company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense Environment
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 October 2016
Intense environment with a lot of opportunity for overtime and learning new things. Flexible work arrangements may make work/life balance possible.
Amazing co-workers but clique management style limits opportunities if not overtly holding back progressive staff wanting to contribute more and/or challenge stagnant ideas. There is lack of communication potentially due to structure of organization.
Most challenging part of job is rapidly changing demands and reactive culture.
Most enjoyable part of the job is the network of colleagues and opportunities to learn.
Pros
Flexible work arrangements
Cons
Muddy culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beats the competition
Senior Fund Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 October 2016
I've worked in this industry a long time and I must admit, I have enjoyed my time at State Street the most. The work is the same everywhere, but the environment makes me come to work everyday!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Fund Accounting Associate (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC11 September 2016
Good workplace to work and support is provided. And dynamic teams to work with makes the job fun. Overall is a good environment to work in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
staple job
Settlement Administrator Associate I (Current Employee) –  Toronto canada20 July 2016
a typical day at my jobs start with running reports, processing trades, meeting multiple deadlines thru out day. and its basically a repeat process after that.
Pros
none
Cons
pay /bonus/raises all major factor for the time i have been there
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work
Senior Financial Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 July 2016
The fund management company with global presence, badly management when it come to staff, unjust culture and managers are force to get unpaid overtime from staff. Long hours with out recognition and reward.
Pros
Big name
Cons
Long un paid hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Senior Investment Accountant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 July 2016
Pros

- Good company to work for with strong corporate culture
- Great coworkers
- Good management
- Great atmosphere
- Good benefits

Cons
- career opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Fund Accountant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 June 2016
Good co-workers. No career path. Some times overtime. Good location to work. Interesting orientation. Learned Bloomberg. Ran Macro software
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Place to Start
Senior Investment Accountant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 June 2016
Excellent place to start within the financial industry as State Street is globally recognized, operates in many markets and is constantly seeking to innovate.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Equity/Fixed Income Operations Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 May 2016
Overall the department I'm in is a good first job stepping out of school to build your 1 or 2 years of work experience. However, if you are ambitious and want more I feel you can quickly grow out of your role.
Therefore, since I want to grow more I need to look for other opportunities.
Pros
Good work experience
Cons
management and culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Website
None (Former Employee) –  Toronto18 May 2016
This is an American company and when I apply to their firm I can't seem to get their pages to translate to English. Everything is in French, never seen anything like it and I have been applying for months. I was so frustrated trying to simply submit an application that I had to come leave a review, it's absolutely crazy. How terrible is this company if simply submitting an application through their god awful website is this difficult.
Pros
None
Cons
Website
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, lots of OT
Senior Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 April 2016
+ good benefits you won't have time to use anyways
+ 15 vacation days
+ great atmosphere

- no work-life balance
- lots of OT
- crazy turnaround with no backfills
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunity for advancement both laterally and vertically. Great employee benefits and perks.
Data Analyst, International Fund Services (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 April 2016
- Great coworkers
- Strong organizational culture
- Many learning opportunities (including classes not related to your job)
- Good management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok..work environment
Performance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 April 2016
It was ok working environment, but it seems to be very disorganized. If you have high passion and potential, I don't recommend to work here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Fund Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 February 2016
Was a friendly environment and my management was excellent in people skills.

They ensure proper guidelines were provided to complete everyone's job role.

Flexible and understanding Individuals
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Client Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 January 2016
good training options but long hours and high turnover..client base is very elite.. sometime hard to deal with share service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at State Street. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,423 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3

State Street Reviews by Location