State Street Employee Reviews

Found 48 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
non-stimulating workplace
global cash (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC12 November 2016
The job itself is really boring and repetitive, no real vision of what you're doing as contributing to the entire company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense Environment
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 October 2016
Intense environment with a lot of opportunity for overtime and learning new things. Flexible work arrangements may make work/life balance possible.
Amazing co-workers but clique management style limits opportunities if not overtly holding back progressive staff wanting to contribute more and/or challenge stagnant ideas. There is lack of communication potentially due to structure of organization.
Most challenging part of job is rapidly changing demands and reactive culture.
Most enjoyable part of the job is the network of colleagues and opportunities to learn.
Pros
Flexible work arrangements
Cons
Muddy culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beats the competition
Senior Fund Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 October 2016
I've worked in this industry a long time and I must admit, I have enjoyed my time at State Street the most. The work is the same everywhere, but the environment makes me come to work everyday!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Fund Accounting Associate (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC11 September 2016
Good workplace to work and support is provided. And dynamic teams to work with makes the job fun. Overall is a good environment to work in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
staple job
Settlement Administrator Associate I (Current Employee) –  Toronto canada20 July 2016
a typical day at my jobs start with running reports, processing trades, meeting multiple deadlines thru out day. and its basically a repeat process after that.
Pros
none
Cons
pay /bonus/raises all major factor for the time i have been there
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Senior Investment Accountant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 July 2016
Pros

- Good company to work for with strong corporate culture
- Great coworkers
- Good management
- Great atmosphere
- Good benefits

Cons
- career opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Fund Accountant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 June 2016
Good co-workers. No career path. Some times overtime. Good location to work. Interesting orientation. Learned Bloomberg. Ran Macro software
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Place to Start
Senior Investment Accountant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 June 2016
Excellent place to start within the financial industry as State Street is globally recognized, operates in many markets and is constantly seeking to innovate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Equity/Fixed Income Operations Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 May 2016
Overall the department I'm in is a good first job stepping out of school to build your 1 or 2 years of work experience. However, if you are ambitious and want more I feel you can quickly grow out of your role.
Therefore, since I want to grow more I need to look for other opportunities.
Pros
Good work experience
Cons
management and culture
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Website
None (Former Employee) –  Toronto18 May 2016
This is an American company and when I apply to their firm I can't seem to get their pages to translate to English. Everything is in French, never seen anything like it and I have been applying for months. I was so frustrated trying to simply submit an application that I had to come leave a review, it's absolutely crazy. How terrible is this company if simply submitting an application through their god awful website is this difficult.
Pros
None
Cons
Website
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, lots of OT
Senior Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 April 2016
+ good benefits you won't have time to use anyways
+ 15 vacation days
+ great atmosphere

- no work-life balance
- lots of OT
- crazy turnaround with no backfills
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunity for advancement both laterally and vertically. Great employee benefits and perks.
Data Analyst, International Fund Services (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 April 2016
- Great coworkers
- Strong organizational culture
- Many learning opportunities (including classes not related to your job)
- Good management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok..work environment
Performance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 April 2016
It was ok working environment, but it seems to be very disorganized. If you have high passion and potential, I don't recommend to work here.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Fund Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 February 2016
Was a friendly environment and my management was excellent in people skills.

They ensure proper guidelines were provided to complete everyone's job role.

Flexible and understanding Individuals
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Client Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 January 2016
good training options but long hours and high turnover..client base is very elite.. sometime hard to deal with share service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good startup company
Investment Accountant (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC21 October 2015
The people there is amazing and fun. Employees are young and smart. Mostly all of them are pursuing a CPA or CFA while working.

There are not much opportunity for advancement and learning, once you understand how the systems work and being able to get help from diverse department when needed, there are not much more to learn.

The job requires accounting and finance knowledge so graduating from one of these two bachelor you should be fine.

Work from 8-10 to 5-7pm it depends on the clients assigned to you
Pros
People, working hours
Cons
salary, benefits, career opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance
Fund Accountant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 September 2015
State Street preaches work life balance however that is not the case. They work you like a dog with no added compensation. There is no true management structure as such the teams are left to fend for themselves.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no concept of work life balance
Senior Analyst (Former Employee) –  toronto20 August 2015
management is not understanding at all..very high turn over. no body cares if you leave or join...very selfish attitude. Just keep working. management runs on favoritism.
Pros
can get in without much experience
Cons
no concept of work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for first job
Investment Accountant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 August 2015
generally speaking this is a good place to start as first job, but need to consider better opportunities, promotion room is not good, high rotation rate
Pros
no over time
Cons
management inefficient
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AML Analyst / State street
Senior Investment Compliance Reporting Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, on17 July 2015
I was hired as an AML analyst to work on a remediation project within State Street. The job was very interesting and was motivated to pursue CAMS.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 877 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3

State Street Reviews by Location