Find companies:
State Street
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
476 reviews

State Street Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place to work
Financial Reporting Supervisor (Current Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 21, 2015
Pros: great benefits and progressive carrer
Cons: long hours
State street is progressive company that strives for faciliating both staff and clients. I was a great place to work with excellent mangers and co-workers. The hardest part of my job was the concentrated work hours around reporting periods. My co- workers and the learning opportunities I was afforded were the most enjoyable part of my jon
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot in this position.
Derivatives Administrator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 19, 2015
Pros: free lunches
Cons: long hours
Very fast paced, well structured work environment. Everything had a specific procedure, and everything was thoroughly cross checked to make sure there was no human errors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace to start
Senior Investment Accountant (Current Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 9, 2014
-support and education is offered when you first start in the role
-enjoyable atmosphere and coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going work environment
Senior Pricing Specialist (Former Employee), 30 Adelaide Street EastAugust 28, 2014
Pros: happy go lucky work environment
Cons: management lacks skills to properly handle certain situations
A thirst for knowledge and proactive attitude will be greatly rewarded within the company. Work is at times stressful, but manageable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it's a good first job out of University!
Senior Pricing and Liquidity Analyst (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 16, 2014
Good benefit plan, great stepping stone to the industry, lots of hands-on experience due to shortage of staff and overtime pay,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture
Fund Accountant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 16, 2014
I loved working at State Street. The culture was great and the employees were friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment, extremely challenging but stressful
Vice President, Derivative Operations (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJune 2, 2014
Pros: fast paced, every day brings new challenges
Cons: no work life balance
Meet with management team on a daily/weekly basis to discuss key projects, and key risk factors.

Meet with clients to discuss our requirements to service their derivative products

Report to my senior management our key risk factors and our productivity metrics.

Work with vendors to ensure our service needs are being met

Hardest part of job is juggling multiple projects all with equal importance and starting at the same time.

No work life balance

Enjoy the people that I work with. Very dedicated and hard working
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience at entry level, but repetitive and not a place to stay long
Senior Operations Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 23, 2014
Accounting reconciliation. Learned some excel skills. Got exposure to back office finance operations. Work gets quite boring and repetitive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10
Vice President Fund administration (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 26, 2014
• Assisted with the start up and take on of new hedge funds
• Direct contact and good relations with various CFOs in different locations
• Conversations regarding AML (Anti Money Laundering) with investors
• Reviewing of NAV files prepared by team members, and assisting in solving issues
• Assist with system upgrades and implementations
• Client Due Diligence (CDD) and Know Your Client (KYC) management for potential new and existing clients

Achievements:
- Part of the team to do the take-on for administrating one of the biggest hedge funds in the USA, the York funds;
- Assisting in moving clients over to new Canadian operations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
NAV Manager (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 2, 2014
great place to start your career, but the software is outdated and not the most efficient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Trade Processor (Former Employee), 30 Adelaide StreetNovember 19, 2013
The job it self was challenging on a day to day basis due to system
enhancements. to meet the clients requirements. The group that I was in, was very cooperative and helpful; especially when targets are to be met on a timely fashion. Overall, the Management was very supportive, in providing the necessary tools to achieve our goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Senior Compliance Officer (Current Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 6, 2013
State Street has a great work/life balance that most Canadian financials do not. Worth investigating job opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
AIS Client Operations Officer, Senior Associate (Current Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 7, 2013
Good entry level position for finance and growth. Global company with many opportunities to grow and diversify.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hedged Fund - Fund of Fund
Fund Accountant (Former Employee), Toronto OntarioOctober 2, 2013
Main tasks
- Performed daily and monthly cash reconciliation
- Prepared monthly NAVs and generate backup calculations
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace with long hours
Investment Accountant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 24, 2013
Cons: long hours
loved the people here! good place to get your foot in the door
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Investment Operations
Senior Investment/Fund Accountant (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 4, 2013
Pros: great learning experience, specialised industry
Cons: long hours
I developped great Microsoft Excel Skills, I gained a lot of knowledge of Financial products and a very unique aspect of accounting
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
INVESTMENT MANAGER REPRESENTATIVE
Investment Manager Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: good experience
Cons: long hours
GOOD PLACE TO START CAREER, HARD WORK, LEARN LOTS OF VALUABLE SKILLS FOR PURSUING CAREER IN FINANCE
LACK ACKNOWLEDGEMENT FOR WORK LIFE BALANCE
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, Client Service
Senior Client Service Associate (Current Employee), TorontoJanuary 30, 2013
Pros: lunch break and celebration are fun
Cons: long hours sometimes are neccessary
At work servicing client is a challenge. Accuracy and productivity is most required.
Teamwork is mostly experienced to deliver the best to the clients.
Co-workers and different work related co-ordination has been very effective
Enjoy having many courses and availability of learning tools to excel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to gain experience.
Investment Accountant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 27, 2013
Pros: good place to gain experience
Cons: long hours, lack of work life balance, poor salary
I began my career at State Street, coming straight out of college, I had no idea of what to expect.

State Street was a great way to gain experience within the Mutual Fund industry. It was a stepping stone to me getting into my next place of employment.

There were some serious concerns, such as lack of work life balance, and the fact that we were required to work overnight on new years eve.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great long term company or stepping stone for recent grads
Senior Analyst (Team Lead), Securities Valuation (Current Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 19, 2012
Pros: great benefits, great work-life balance
Cons: extremely low salary
- valuation of all securities held in all hedge funds on a daily basis
- time management, multitasking are important
- the people at this company make it worthwhile
- stressful daily deadlines can make it tough at times

About State Street

Through its flagship State Street Bank and other subsidiaries, the company provides investment management and servicing, trading, – Read more