State Street Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 43 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Senior Investment Accountant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 18, 2016
Pros

- Good company to work for with strong corporate culture
- Great coworkers
- Good management
- Great atmosphere
- Good benefits

Cons
- career opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Fund Accountant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 29, 2016
Good co-workers. No career path. Some times overtime. Good location to work. Interesting orientation. Learned Bloomberg. Ran Macro software
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Place to Start
Senior Investment Accountant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 19, 2016
Excellent place to start within the financial industry as State Street is globally recognized, operates in many markets and is constantly seeking to innovate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Equity/Fixed Income Operations Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 26, 2016
Overall the department I'm in is a good first job stepping out of school to build your 1 or 2 years of work experience. However, if you are ambitious and want more I feel you can quickly grow out of your role.
Therefore, since I want to grow more I need to look for other opportunities.
Pros
Good work experience
Cons
management and culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Website
None (Former Employee) –  TorontoMay 18, 2016
This is an American company and when I apply to their firm I can't seem to get their pages to translate to English. Everything is in French, never seen anything like it and I have been applying for months. I was so frustrated trying to simply submit an application that I had to come leave a review, it's absolutely crazy. How terrible is this company if simply submitting an application through their god awful website is this difficult.
Pros
None
Cons
Website
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, lots of OT
Senior Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 26, 2016
+ good benefits you won't have time to use anyways
+ 15 vacation days
+ great atmosphere

- no work-life balance
- lots of OT
- crazy turnaround with no backfills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunity for advancement both laterally and vertically. Great employee benefits and perks.
Data Analyst, International Fund Services (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 14, 2016
- Great coworkers
- Strong organizational culture
- Many learning opportunities (including classes not related to your job)
- Good management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok..work environment
Performance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 6, 2016
It was ok working environment, but it seems to be very disorganized. If you have high passion and potential, I don't recommend to work here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Fund Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 18, 2016
Was a friendly environment and my management was excellent in people skills.

They ensure proper guidelines were provided to complete everyone's job role.

Flexible and understanding Individuals
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Client Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJanuary 17, 2016
good training options but long hours and high turnover..client base is very elite.. sometime hard to deal with share service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good startup company
Investment Accountant (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QCOctober 21, 2015
The people there is amazing and fun. Employees are young and smart. Mostly all of them are pursuing a CPA or CFA while working.

There are not much opportunity for advancement and learning, once you understand how the systems work and being able to get help from diverse department when needed, there are not much more to learn.

The job requires accounting and finance knowledge so graduating from one of these two bachelor you should be fine.

Work from 8-10 to 5-7pm it depends on the clients assigned to you
Pros
People, working hours
Cons
salary, benefits, career opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance
Fund Accountant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONSeptember 10, 2015
State Street preaches work life balance however that is not the case. They work you like a dog with no added compensation. There is no true management structure as such the teams are left to fend for themselves.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no concept of work life balance
Senior Analyst (Former Employee) –  torontoAugust 20, 2015
management is not understanding at all..very high turn over. no body cares if you leave or join...very selfish attitude. Just keep working. management runs on favoritism.
Pros
can get in without much experience
Cons
no concept of work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for first job
Investment Accountant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 19, 2015
generally speaking this is a good place to start as first job, but need to consider better opportunities, promotion room is not good, high rotation rate
Pros
no over time
Cons
management inefficient
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AML Analyst / State street
Senior Investment Compliance Reporting Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, onJuly 17, 2015
I was hired as an AML analyst to work on a remediation project within State Street. The job was very interesting and was motivated to pursue CAMS.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work in
Summer Intern student at financial company (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 28, 2015
Working at State Street has allowed me to grow my knowledge in the working field. I spent my day infront of a computer inputting company data. The co-workers were very helpful and very friendly with me. The hardest part of the job was finishing all duties within the certain time limit. The most enjoyable part of the job was the fact I was given my own freedom to come and go whenever.
Pros
flexible times, nice and kind people
Cons
long hours, long hours of sitting on a chair
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place to work
Financial Reporting Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 21, 2015
State street is progressive company that strives for faciliating both staff and clients. I was a great place to work with excellent mangers and co-workers. The hardest part of my job was the concentrated work hours around reporting periods. My co- workers and the learning opportunities I was afforded were the most enjoyable part of my jon
Pros
great benefits and progressive carrer
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot in this position.
Derivatives Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJanuary 19, 2015
Very fast paced, well structured work environment. Everything had a specific procedure, and everything was thoroughly cross checked to make sure there was no human errors.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace to start
Senior Investment Accountant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONDecember 9, 2014
-support and education is offered when you first start in the role
-enjoyable atmosphere and coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going work environment
Senior Pricing Specialist (Former Employee) –  30 Adelaide Street EastAugust 28, 2014
A thirst for knowledge and proactive attitude will be greatly rewarded within the company. Work is at times stressful, but manageable.
Pros
happy go lucky work environment
Cons
management lacks skills to properly handle certain situations
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 819 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3

State Street Reviews by Location