State Street Employee Reviews

Found 50 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense Environment
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 October 2016
Intense environment with a lot of opportunity for overtime and learning new things. Flexible work arrangements may make work/life balance possible.
Amazing co-workers but clique management style limits opportunities if not overtly holding back progressive staff wanting to contribute more and/or challenge stagnant ideas. There is lack of communication potentially due to structure of organization.
Most challenging part of job is rapidly changing demands and reactive culture.
Most enjoyable part of the job is the network of colleagues and opportunities to learn.
Pros
Flexible work arrangements
Cons
Muddy culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Senior Investment Accountant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 July 2016
Pros

- Good company to work for with strong corporate culture
- Great coworkers
- Good management
- Great atmosphere
- Good benefits

Cons
- career opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Equity/Fixed Income Operations Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 May 2016
Overall the department I'm in is a good first job stepping out of school to build your 1 or 2 years of work experience. However, if you are ambitious and want more I feel you can quickly grow out of your role.
Therefore, since I want to grow more I need to look for other opportunities.
Pros
Good work experience
Cons
management and culture
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
staple job
Settlement Administrator Associate I (Current Employee) –  Toronto canada20 July 2016
a typical day at my jobs start with running reports, processing trades, meeting multiple deadlines thru out day. and its basically a repeat process after that.
Pros
none
Cons
pay /bonus/raises all major factor for the time i have been there
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Risk Monitoring Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 January 2017
It was a awsome place to work where I learned a lot. It was a good place to start your career and build your knowledge base about the financial industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunity for advancement both laterally and vertically. Great employee benefits and perks.
Data Analyst, International Fund Services (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 April 2016
- Great coworkers
- Strong organizational culture
- Many learning opportunities (including classes not related to your job)
- Good management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, lots of OT
Senior Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 April 2016
+ good benefits you won't have time to use anyways
+ 15 vacation days
+ great atmosphere

- no work-life balance
- lots of OT
- crazy turnaround with no backfills
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starter job
Senior, Investment Valuations Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 November 2016
This was a great place to gain lots of experience in the investment industry. I learned lots and the environment is relatively young workers. I had lots of fun working here.
Pros
Lots of experience
Cons
too much turnover
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
non-stimulating workplace
global cash (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC12 November 2016
The job itself is really boring and repetitive, no real vision of what you're doing as contributing to the entire company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Fund Accountant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 June 2016
Good co-workers. No career path. Some times overtime. Good location to work. Interesting orientation. Learned Bloomberg. Ran Macro software
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beats the competition
Senior Fund Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 October 2016
I've worked in this industry a long time and I must admit, I have enjoyed my time at State Street the most. The work is the same everywhere, but the environment makes me come to work everyday!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good startup company
Investment Accountant (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC21 October 2015
The people there is amazing and fun. Employees are young and smart. Mostly all of them are pursuing a CPA or CFA while working.

There are not much opportunity for advancement and learning, once you understand how the systems work and being able to get help from diverse department when needed, there are not much more to learn.

The job requires accounting and finance knowledge so graduating from one of these two bachelor you should be fine.

Work from 8-10 to 5-7pm it depends on the clients assigned to you
Pros
People, working hours
Cons
salary, benefits, career opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Fund Accounting Associate (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC11 September 2016
Good workplace to work and support is provided. And dynamic teams to work with makes the job fun. Overall is a good environment to work in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Website
None (Former Employee) –  Toronto18 May 2016
This is an American company and when I apply to their firm I can't seem to get their pages to translate to English. Everything is in French, never seen anything like it and I have been applying for months. I was so frustrated trying to simply submit an application that I had to come leave a review, it's absolutely crazy. How terrible is this company if simply submitting an application through their god awful website is this difficult.
Pros
None
Cons
Website
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance
Fund Accountant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 September 2015
State Street preaches work life balance however that is not the case. They work you like a dog with no added compensation. There is no true management structure as such the teams are left to fend for themselves.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to gain experience.
Investment Accountant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 January 2013
I began my career at State Street, coming straight out of college, I had no idea of what to expect.

State Street was a great way to gain experience within the Mutual Fund industry. It was a stepping stone to me getting into my next place of employment.

There were some serious concerns, such as lack of work life balance, and the fact that we were required to work overnight on new years eve.
Pros
good place to gain experience
Cons
long hours, lack of work life balance, poor salary
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Place to Start
Senior Investment Accountant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 June 2016
Excellent place to start within the financial industry as State Street is globally recognized, operates in many markets and is constantly seeking to innovate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Fund Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 February 2016
Was a friendly environment and my management was excellent in people skills.

They ensure proper guidelines were provided to complete everyone's job role.

Flexible and understanding Individuals
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you can go somewhere else, don't go to this company.
A2 (Former Employee) –  CANADA12 September 2012
very incompetent management, no recognition of hard working, full of office politics, bad work life balance, high turn over ratio, red tape all over, lower level employee treated as slave, poor pay,
Pros
benefit package
Cons
very incompetent management, no recognition of hard working, full of office politics, bad work life balance, high turn over ratio, red tape all over, lower level employee treated as slave, poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment, extremely challenging but stressful
Vice President, Derivative Operations (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 June 2014
Meet with management team on a daily/weekly basis to discuss key projects, and key risk factors.

Meet with clients to discuss our requirements to service their derivative products

Report to my senior management our key risk factors and our productivity metrics.

Work with vendors to ensure our service needs are being met

Hardest part of job is juggling multiple projects all with equal importance and starting at the same time.

No work life balance

Enjoy the people that I work with. Very dedicated and hard working
Pros
Fast paced, every day brings new challenges
Cons
No work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 910 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3

State Street Reviews by Location