Find companies:
State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,519 reviews

State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to grow with
Agent and Customer Support Lead Worker (Current Employee), Tulsa, OKAugust 5, 2014
Pros: paid time off is very generous
Cons: overtime required in many areas
I worked as an underwriter and got to see how the company changed from older processes to newer ones. Definitely a company worth growing with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Financial Advisor (Former Employee), Sylvania, OHAugust 5, 2014
Provide customer service along with selling financial products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense, but productive insurance agency
Insurance Account Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 3, 2014
Pros: good hours, good coworkers, decent salary
Cons: terrible commission structure, limited room for advancement
My position at this certain insurance agency was an insurance account manager. My duty was to assist 700-plus clients with their insurance needs. I was also responsible for making sales across various insurance lines. Daily, I provided clients with insurance reviews, recommended better coverage selections, and referred financial products to the upper – more... sales team. I learned more and more about the insurance industry as time went on. Because there is so much to learn, I learned something new everyday. The most difficult part of the job was to be able to convince those clients to improve their coverage because the insurance industry is so discount-driven these days. I enjoy working in the insurance industry because it's an industry that's always going to be needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to learn
Agent Assistant / Customer Service (Former Employee), Conroe, TXAugust 3, 2014
Pros: learnesd a lot
Cons: no pay- volunteer work only.
I learn dedication, responsibilities, to care about others and how to become efficient to others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Experience it Great
Claims Associate - Express (Current Employee), Richardson, TXAugust 2, 2014
Pros: much opportunity to advance, friendly management, great and continuous training to help you succeed in your daily task/objectives
Cons: in comparison, industry wide, compensation starts off significantly low
Overall great company to work for. Expect regular meetings, one on ones with your management. Side by sides....continual overview of productivity and production. Continual learning, training and growth. There is always work to be done...not much down time, but work load is manageable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales on your time.
Insurance Sales Agent (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 2, 2014
My position took place in a "new, just starting office". There is a big push on life insurance and also your typical weekly one on one. 3/4 people in an office max.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
• Provided assistance to underwriting staff, agents and policyholder.
Underwriting Clerk, NJ Auto (Former Employee), Parsippany, NJJuly 31, 2014
Performed data entry, other clerical duties and administration processing with speed and accuracy.
Prepared application for underwriters while verifying the forms for content and accuracy.
Provided assistance to underwriting staff, agents and policy holder.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DIVERSITY
Customer Representative (Former Employee), NAPLES,FLJuly 31, 2014
CUSTOMER SERVICE, POLICIES REVIEWS, TRANSACTIONS,BINDING POLICIES
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on your agent
Insurance Office Manager (Current Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 31, 2014
Cons: no benefits, no upward mobility
Your agent can make or break you. If you have a good one, you may make money and be treated well. If you don't, good luck to you. Each agent is independent and there is no recourse against them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Laid back
CLAIMS ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), Richardson, TXJuly 31, 2014
A day at State Farm is laid back and productive. I've learned how to handle claims in other states. I've also learned laws that help handle auto claims. The most enjoyable part of my job is hearing the happiness in a customer's voice when I am able to help them get their life back together after an accident.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here
Lifeguard (Former Employee), Bloomington, ILJuly 31, 2014
What a fun environment to work in!

Great hours, good people, and friends for life.

The only hard part about this job is dealing with the hot temperatures on typical summer days.

There is not much to complain about! Great summer job!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FLEXIBLE, SMALL OFFICE ENVIRONEMENT
Office Manager (Current Employee), Walnut Creek, CAJuly 30, 2014
Pros: flexible and small office environment
Cons: limited advancement and salary cap
Working in a State Farm agency pgovides the opportunity to develop relationships with policyholders. Throughout the course of the day, the team interacts with clients regarding several different issues (i.e. claims, billing coverage, etc.) As a State Farm office manager, I wear several different hats. Sales is expected as well as the responsbility of – more... running an office to ensure efficiency and proactivity. Since it is a small office, it is imperative that all employees have positive attitudes as well as great communication skills. During the day, existing customer demands can be plentiful, which makes it challenging to spend time making outgoing sales calls in order to generate new business. The most enjoyable aspect of my position with State Farm is being able to manage my workday and prioritze specific daily goals. Some days we focus onc laim follow-up and others on prospecting and marketing. Although the work environment is flexible, challenging and fast paced, it does not provide opportunity for more growth and advancement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very postive reinforcment
Bank Teller/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Bloomington, ILJuly 30, 2014
Pros: positive coaching
Cons: hours
I was making and taking phone calls for customer who needed to make their auto loan payment. Helped customer who had question about their auto loan account. Weather that was about the payments and interest rates to why they received a credit mark on a certain month. I also helped then to submit a request for an extension on their loan for payments that – more... have been missed or for a voluntary repossession because they can no longer afford their loan. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, high phone volume
Claim Representative (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 29, 2014
State Farm is a great company to work for. Most management is supportive in advancement and will work with you to move up. Volume is high, job security is also high. Yearly raises is a plus which most companies cannot provide on a yearly basis
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Initial Lost Reporting Customer Rep (Current Employee), Tacoma, WAJuly 29, 2014
Pros: great atmosphere
Cons: better schedules
The training is great and everyone is willing to assist at all times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I gained gratification from helping others make wise decisions.
Staff Agent LSA6^/Office Manager (Former Employee), Dearborn Heights, MIJuly 29, 2014
Pros: proud to make each customer as satisfied with state farm as i have been
I gained tons of satisfaction during my years with State Farm not only as a loyal customer myself, but as a friend to all I was able to direct to helping making decisions based on my own experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great entry level.
Team Memeber (Current Employee), Wilmington, DEJuly 28, 2014
Great entry level but the pay is very low and the commission is a joke. It is a easy job!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Sales/Marketing Manager (Former Employee), Brownsville, TXJuly 28, 2014
look for the business, meet new people every day, negotiate prices
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
competative work place
Experienced Auto Claims Processor (Former Employee), Malta, NYJuly 27, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Good place to work. flexible hours. fast pace environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Assistant Customer Representative (Former Employee), Frederick, MDJuly 27, 2014
A typical work day for me was first I would check emails to see if I had to update customers information. Then I would call people to ask if there were able to make their payment for their car insurance or other insurance payments. I would also answer calls to transfer people to my representatives, and take their payments via over the phone or in person. – more... I learned how insurance works, and learned to apply people for credit cards. Management and co-workers were great they helped when dealing with customers and how to take notes when a customer give you car information. Hardest part of the job was being unable to write insurance policies when people wanted to insure a car. Most enjoyable part of the job was learning how insurance works and meeting new people. – less

About State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company

State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company® is the largest auto insurer in the U.S. since 1942. About one of every five – Read more

State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company Photos