Find companies:
State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,744 reviews

State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what you learned
Office Assistant/Customer service (Internship) (Former Employee), Washington, DCNovember 7, 2014
Pros: i learned alot in a short period of time
Cons: not enough hours or days to work
the skills I have gained was how to answer all calls in a timely manner and make sure I still smile at all time for the guest coming in the office who needed help with policies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant Property Manager
Insurance Representative (Former Employee), Oak Brook, ILNovember 7, 2014
Worked directly under Property Manager, reviewed leases, produced tenant leases and acquired vendors to work on properties. Provided any administrative duties to Property as well as Senior Property Managers. This was a grooming position in becoming a Property Manager which isn't the most glamorous but was a great experience in seeing what it took to – more... become a Property Manager. The most challenging part of this job was doing all the daily duties of a Property Manager but not actually being one. What I enjoyed the most was being part of a different aspect of the Property Management industry and having a great responsibility within the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Imaging Opeerator
Medata Operator (Former Employee), Parsippany, NJNovember 7, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: no challenge
I learned a lot at State Farm. Its an excellent company to work for. My typical day was to image documents that were sent in from the agencies. The hardest part for me was there was no challenge to my position. The enjoyable part was the people who woriked there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work/Life Balance was the best part of the job.
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee), LouisianaNovember 6, 2014
State Farm does not offer benefits for employees. The company does have a great work/life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complete
Express Claims Associate (Former Employee), Phoenix, ArizonaNovember 6, 2014
Pros: awesome work environment and benefits
Cons: unpredictable customers and claims.
State Farm is a company that speaks the truth about itself. In other words, they do what they say. They start from day one encouraging you to go further and the put their support behind you to help you do that. The pay is not the best to begin with, but advancement is encouraged and supported to making more money is inevitable. The management staff – more... is highly trained and they too work with you to make you the best you can be for the company and for yourself. Your co-workers are helpful and friendly because they too have bought into the ideals of the company overall. They are excited and enthusiastic about doing their best work. The interaction with all of my co-workers from my peers to management on every level was the best part of the day. The hardest part of the job was probably dealing with a difficult customer or a difficult claim, but it was rare; few and far between. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, but interesting
Claims Processor (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALNovember 5, 2014
Pros: valuable experience
Cons: low advancement until someone retires
A good place to work, limited potential for advancement.

I learned many things about the investigation of a claim, settling a claim, and talking with attorneys, doctors and other adjusters.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insurance Sales and Service
Insurance Account Representative (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLNovember 5, 2014
Pros: working directly with the public
My position responsibilities included assisting clients with their insurance needs. Upon request I would work up a quote of premium for various insurance products. i.e. auto, homeowners, flood, life and health products as well as banking products such as Certificates of deposit, checking and savings accounts, auto loans and revolving credit accounts.

When – more... writing new business, ensuring that all of the documentation was gathered was key whether it be a vehicle inspection for an auto policy or a homeowners inspection when writing a policy for homeowners insurance.

I was also responsible for looking over current customers insurance portfolios to see if there were any gaps in coverage and quote such coverage. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE
Licensed 220 and 215 Agent (Former Employee), West Palm Beach, FLNovember 4, 2014
GREAT PLACE TO WORK. GREAT IF NEW TO BUSINESS. cOULD PAY MORE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people nice location
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Benicia, CANovember 3, 2014
Great to work with these people, however, wasn't able to work full time as they needed due to raising 3 childer at the time and they were not able to accomodate my need to pick up kids from school which was important to me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was just laid off without notice, but overall a good job
Service Agent-part-time (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OklahomaNovember 3, 2014
Pros: not a difficult job for the most part, pay was fair for job required
Cons: being laid off without notice
Part-time service agent, 8:30 to 12:30, check beginning of day activities on State Farm website, check in box for documents that need to be mailed for signatures, attached signed documents to computer files and sent to Corp. office, made necessary collections calls, notated all mailings in computer for each individual and completed all daily activities – more... required.I learned some basics of State Farm insurance practices.
Management was flexible and worked with me if I had a doctor appt. My co-workers were cordial and were helpful in my training and answered questions readily. The hardest part of the job was putting all the functions of the company together since it was a part-time position and I was not required to have my insurance license for this job. My position was eliminated and restructuring took place for more efficiency in that workplace. The most enjoyable part of the job was that it was not a stiff work environment and they could laugh and have fun to relieve the stress when customers were not in the office. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
salary
Claims Adjuster (Current Employee), Atlanta, GANovember 3, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: pay
The work is great. I love what I do. I get to interact with customers on a daily basis. The work load is not unbearable. However the pay is very low.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn the importance of customer service
Retention Specialist (Current Employee), Duluth, MnNovember 2, 2014
Assisting clients to insure that they are properly insured
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary
Customer Service (Former Employee), Decatur, ALOctober 30, 2014
Pros: i was helping my mom
Cons: the boss was horrible
I helped my mom and her boss file paperwork enter things onto the computer and take payments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best thing I did was leave this company
PROPERTY ADJUSTER (Former Employee), californiaOctober 30, 2014
If you like to be micro managed this is the place to work! You do get to select a Christmas present.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flex Schedule
Sales, Service, Notary Republic (Current Employee), Philadelphia PAOctober 29, 2014
Pros: travel and rewards, commissions
Cons: no healthcare
My typical work day would include but not limited to policy servicing, sales and notary.I act as a part office manager and team lead giving direction to fellow co-workers and mentoring. I learned how to piovt or cross sale additional products and servicesto clients. My co-worker are friendly and helpful. The most enjoyable and the greatest part of my – more... job is helping the client understand the benefits of coverage and how to protect there legacy, dream and risk. the hardest part is when some cleitns can't see the vision. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What they tell you at the start is not true
Office Representative (Former Employee), Carrington, NDOctober 29, 2014
Was offered a job with a set of goals. 3 months in they change all the goals. Of course much higher
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Insurance Specialist (Current Employee), Mesa, AZOctober 29, 2014
I enjoyed working at Guardian Building Products. It felt like family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very nice clean business atmosphere.
Collections (Former Employee), Pleasanton, CAOctober 28, 2014
Pros: people thinking negative.
Cons: people thinking possitive.
Well for me a typical day at work consist of maintaining a well organize and clean area work station for customers,, guest or clients as well as listening to them and putting them first,while working the things Iv'e learned from was to always be honest and never over state the value of a product but most of all Iv'e learned from successes and mistakes,when – more... I was managing Iv'e handle a wide variety of routine task,such as writing reports, supervising employees;managing cash;ordering stock; handling schedules,payrolls and marketing, promotional roll-outs and securing the store upon closing. My coworkers were very friendly and helpful when they could. the hardest part of the job I would say is limiting my responsibilities and the most enjoyable part of my job is to be ready to take on with doing my best with helping others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK job
Sales manager (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZOctober 28, 2014
OK job not much room for advancement. Would include selling and servicing insurance policies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career
Licensed Office Rep (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAOctober 28, 2014
Sale and service of Insurance and Financial products
Picked up many skills needed in the insurance professional field

About State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company

State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company® is the largest auto insurer in the U.S. since 1942. About one of every five – Read more

State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company Photos