Find companies:
Starwood Hotels
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
362 reviews

Starwood Hotels Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some pros, some cons
Sales (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOMay 12, 2014
Pros: work/life balance
Cons: management, compensation
Starwood is a great brand with exceptional individual hotel brands.
Unfortunately, my experience with the company was merely mediocre due to many issues I'd rather not discuss.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Austin, TXMay 5, 2014
The obligations of the job did not amount to the pay that was desired. In addition, the hours available to employees were not acceptable nor fair. However, the people at the job itself is what begins the enjoyment and the available incentives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global Lifestyle Hotel Brands
Learning & Organizational Development (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAMay 5, 2014
Fantastic global company with 9 amazing brands that focus on building internal culture as much as branded experiences for guests
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New chellenges
ASSISTANT OUTLET MANAGER (Current Employee), Dubai, DUMay 4, 2014
I would cherish a demanding position that makes effective use of my background and provides good career growth, personality development where performance is rewarded with new responsibilities, and where teamwork is the accepted norm, putting in the best to the maximum benefit of organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Sales/Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), AUSTIN,TXApril 29, 2014
It was cool.
Is not ran like fortune 500 company should be ran.
They do give you great discounts, but that is it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad working environment; great people to work with
Member Services Associate (SPG) (Call Center ) (Former Employee), Lancaster, CAApril 26, 2014
Pros: loved the job, .and loved working from home.
Cons: lunch breaks were to short.
You always had to scramble around for a desk to work from; the place was small, and you never sat in the same place everyday. The air conditioner was kept up so high that you always had to work in your coat, that was very uncomfortable. But I learned to cope, how to handle angry callers, manage my time, solve problems and get customer accounts in order. – more... some days were great some not so great.

Management was okay, a little disorganized but overall they were okay. I enjoyed some of the coworkers, especially the ones who were always willing to help if you ran into a problem during the course of the day. The hardest part of the job was making your quota for the day. The most enjoyable part were the people who worked there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful environment
Painter (Former Employee), San Diego, CAApril 24, 2014
Pros: beautiful environment
Cons: compensation
Co-workers are wonderful. The day depends of the scope of work to be performed. Management was okay sometimes. I learned the hotel industry from ground level. The customers and guests.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vacation planning
Sales Representative (Former Employee), San Bernardino, CAApril 18, 2014
Pros: sales bonus, prizes
Assisted customers in planning their dream vacation, scheduled vacation dates ,processed credit cards
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment and Benefits
Loan Servicing Collections Representative (Current Employee), Orlando, FLApril 17, 2014
Pros: pool tables, ping pong table, hotel discounts around the world.
Cons: health care
Overall a very good company to work for.
Friendly and diverse environment.
Opportunity for growth and career advancement.
Progressive company goals.
Constant Positive Branding.
Top Notch Products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun competitive place to work at times
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Current Employee), Austin, TXApril 16, 2014
Cons: short breaks and quartly shift bids
This job requires a lot of flexibility when it comes to their training. Too au different ways to get the same thing done. You jus doing things the right way even those others were getting much larger bonuses by padding their numbers and get away with it.
The job itself is easy and fun. You pretty much are on your own to work, No time for extra bathroom – more... breaks and very limited on your time at your assigned breaks. You have to bid for a new shift every quarter. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inbound calls for guest wanting to book room
Reservation Sales Agent (Former Employee), Lancaster, CAApril 14, 2014
I was on the phone all day taking reservations and booking vacations for guest all over the world. I love working there because they made the call center fun, we have competition and wins trips and get discounts for oil changes and rooms. We had a basketball team and they would and give all employees food and drinks. There was plenty of room to grow – more... and move up. I learned about al types of rooms in different parts of the world that I never knew exist. The hardest part of the job was getting them the prices they sometime find on orbit or hotels.com – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing property and team.
Director of Rooms, WESTIN SEATTLE (Former Employee), Seattle, WAApril 13, 2014
Positive team, willing and eager to exceed guest expectations. Extremely brand focused and goal oriented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive, exciting evironment. Fun Company to work for.
Platinum Concierge/Corporate Customer Service (Former Employee), Lancaster, CaApril 9, 2014
Pros: room for bonuses and advancement
Cons: center closed in california
Very busy, high paced and competitive environment. Friendly and outgoing associates. Lots of advancement opportunities and travel options. Great company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work!
Elite Member Sales & Corporate Customer Service (Former Employee), Lancaster, CAApril 9, 2014
Pros: cash bonuses
Cons: n/a
A typical day included answering and completing sales and customer service calls. I learned a tremendous amount at this company, as they are always working on continuing education. Opportunity for advancement was great, and I received three promotions in three years. I was greatly saddened to find out that they were closing the location I was employed – more... at. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Loved working at Starwood!
Ambassador Associate (Former Employee), Lancaster, CAApril 4, 2014
I enjoyed working at Starwood the perks are amazing and a very understanding company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work
Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Orlando, FLApril 4, 2014
Pros: hotel discounts
Cons: managers only care about other managers, little job growth, and below average compensation and benefits
This is a good company to start out with, but not a reasonable choice if you want to grow long-term. Management only cares about other management; if you want to be promoted, being friends with the CFO is a huge asset. Expect to work hard, and if anything is out of your control, expect your supervisors to blame you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High sales and call volume
Reservation Sales Agent (Former Employee), Austin, TXApril 3, 2014
Pros: multi-tasking while on calls always on the phone
Cons: selling large volumes of reservations excellent commission package
High volume of calls per day. Making reservations and modifying existing reservations for people all over the world. Sales of memberships to new customers. Scheduling meetings and training new sales associates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun workplace with great training and management
Customer Reservations Associate (Current Employee), Wichita, KSApril 1, 2014
Bright and positive place to work while on the phone booking customers in to hotel rooms around the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, advancement,busy
Administrative Assistant/Telemarketer (Former Employee), San Bernardino, CAMarch 31, 2014
Pros: free lunches, holiday parties
Cons: company closed down, sad
a typical day at work was calling out to customers to get them on a wonderful vacation, what i learned was how to pitch a sale to the customers to take a fun family vacation, management was always helpful and encouraging, co-workers was fun to be around lots of laughs, the hardest part of the job was getting some of the customers to stay on the phone – more... to hear the whole pitch, the most enjoyable part of the job was completing sales and getting commission on top of my hourly pay and moving up in the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great company to work for
Reservation Specialist (Former Employee), Fall River, MAMarch 30, 2014
It was a great company to work for && they had great benefits. the hardest part of the job was dealing with customer complaints being able to assist the guest in a resectful and helpful manner and being able to allow the guest staying at any of the hotels to have a great experience

About Starwood Hotels

Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide knows how to shine a light on hospitality. One of the world's largest hotel companies, – Read more

Starwood Hotels Photos