Find companies:
Starwood Hotels
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
351 reviews

Starwood Hotels Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing property and team.
Director of Rooms, WESTIN SEATTLE (Former Employee), Seattle, WAApril 13, 2014
Positive team, willing and eager to exceed guest expectations. Extremely brand focused and goal oriented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive, exciting evironment. Fun Company to work for.
Platinum Concierge/Corporate Customer Service (Former Employee), Lancaster, CaApril 9, 2014
Pros: room for bonuses and advancement
Cons: center closed in california
Very busy, high paced and competitive environment. Friendly and outgoing associates. Lots of advancement opportunities and travel options. Great company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work!
Elite Member Sales & Corporate Customer Service (Former Employee), Lancaster, CAApril 9, 2014
Pros: cash bonuses
Cons: n/a
A typical day included answering and completing sales and customer service calls. I learned a tremendous amount at this company, as they are always working on continuing education. Opportunity for advancement was great, and I received three promotions in three years. I was greatly saddened to find out that they were closing the location I was employed – more... at. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Loved working at Starwood!
Ambassador Associate (Former Employee), Lancaster, CAApril 4, 2014
I enjoyed working at Starwood the perks are amazing and a very understanding company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work
Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Orlando, FLApril 4, 2014
Pros: hotel discounts
Cons: managers only care about other managers, little job growth, and below average compensation and benefits
This is a good company to start out with, but not a reasonable choice if you want to grow long-term. Management only cares about other management; if you want to be promoted, being friends with the CFO is a huge asset. Expect to work hard, and if anything is out of your control, expect your supervisors to blame you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High sales and call volume
Reservation Sales Agent (Former Employee), Austin, TXApril 3, 2014
Pros: multi-tasking while on calls always on the phone
Cons: selling large volumes of reservations excellent commission package
High volume of calls per day. Making reservations and modifying existing reservations for people all over the world. Sales of memberships to new customers. Scheduling meetings and training new sales associates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun workplace with great training and management
Customer Reservations Associate (Current Employee), Wichita, KSApril 1, 2014
Bright and positive place to work while on the phone booking customers in to hotel rooms around the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, advancement,busy
Administrative Assistant/Telemarketer (Former Employee), San Bernardino, CAMarch 31, 2014
Pros: free lunches, holiday parties
Cons: company closed down, sad
a typical day at work was calling out to customers to get them on a wonderful vacation, what i learned was how to pitch a sale to the customers to take a fun family vacation, management was always helpful and encouraging, co-workers was fun to be around lots of laughs, the hardest part of the job was getting some of the customers to stay on the phone – more... to hear the whole pitch, the most enjoyable part of the job was completing sales and getting commission on top of my hourly pay and moving up in the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great company to work for
Reservation Specialist (Former Employee), Fall River, MAMarch 30, 2014
It was a great company to work for && they had great benefits. the hardest part of the job was dealing with customer complaints being able to assist the guest in a resectful and helpful manner and being able to allow the guest staying at any of the hotels to have a great experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you might have work and life balance
Senior International Accountant (Former Employee), Orlando FlMarch 18, 2014
Pros: a lot of opportunity to learn
Cons: very good benefits
A company where you have the opportunity to learn a lot , in any area that you are in .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company and would recommend Starwood to any friend and family to work for.
Complex Group Sales Manager (Former Employee), Northern, NjMarch 16, 2014
Pros: benefits such as employee discount hotel stays, learning resources and trainings.
Cons: lack of support from direct leadership.
Overall Starwood Hotels & Resorts is a great company to work for. Lots of opportunities and growth within the company.
My coworkers are very liable, professional and fun to work with on a day to day.
Over the years, I have strengthened my negotiation skills and time management with the resources and training Starwood has provided.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult management
Cook II (Former Employee), Seattle, WAMarch 14, 2014
This was my first job out of culinary school and I came into a very chaotic environment and the reality of a large commercial kitchen, something that culinary school did not prepare me for. I was given many opportunities to do more than many people that were there much longer. Some of the managers were very challenging to work with. I was never treated – more... poorly, but many were. There were never enough people scheduled for the amount of work to be completed in the hours we had available. I learned a great deal about what I want and do not want in a job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FAST PACED WORK ENVIRONMENT
Reservation Sales Associate (Former Employee), Lancaster, CAMarch 12, 2014
PRIMO CAFE IS A SMALL BUSINESS, AND THAT MEANS THAT THERE ARE NOT AN ABUNDANCE OF EMPLOYEES. THINGS TEND TO GET VERY PERSONAL AND DRAMA FOLLOWS, I LEFT BECAUSE I APPRECIATE A DRAMA FREE LIFE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing work culture
ADMINISTRATIVE LEAD (Former Employee), Lancaster, CaliforniaMarch 5, 2014
Starwood was an amazing place, everyday i would love returning to my job. The management there were very helpful and fun to work with. Our culture "Service Culture" was based on that fact that we are there to make peoples experience better, whether it be our co-workers, supervisors, or customers. The best part of my journey at Starwood was my Administrative – more... Lead position where i got to work very closely with 3 Managers and a director. I was able to help them with everything from report pulling and analyzing data to creating new processes to help different aspects of the everyday operations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company.
Specialist, Total Rewards (Current Employee), Stamford, CTMarch 1, 2014
Starwood in general is a great Company to work for. I have learned a lot in my time there, but it's time for a change. The growth potential is very low and highly preferential (i.e. you have to know the right people to move forward.)

Management could also be better. The hardest part of the job is to keep motivated since there is very little appreciation – more... for putting in hard work.

The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to help people and the hotel discounts! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Moonlight Welcome Ambassador (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: they look out for the employee when it comes to days off and other in house things.
Cons: they believe guest over employee with no chance.
i learned how to better assist people in directions and what attracts them the most. management was great very understandable and helpful. my co workers were all very fun and outgoing and hardworking. the hardest part about my job was staying awake for the over night. the most enjoyable part was just being able to talk to people and help them in a relaxing – more... environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working from Home
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Austin, TXFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: paid holidays and vacation
Cons: shift bids(shift never stays the same), alternates weekends with the time
I work from home which i really enjoyed that i was saving alot of gas but i never minded driving to austin i love the area. The difficult part working from home was that you get really comfortable, I like to talk so it would get boring so it was hard to manage staying up and focused. I learned how to cross sell to other properties to make a sale which – more... was cool because we recieved incentives for that. I had to leave, the shift bids was the down fall after 3 months you had to change your shift which that would be hard because I always keep two jobs so that did not work out like i thougt it would but im happy i received my experience with working in the hotel enviroment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE AND FUN AT WORK PLACE
Front Office Associate (Current Employee), Chennai, TNFebruary 14, 2014
I am Hospitality professional with more than 5 years of experience in Guest service and relations, posses' exceptional ability in effective collaboration with other team members & managing the daily task and supporting them when the workload exceeds normal.

To describe in short I am an individual with front office experience & with the good Knowledge – more... of Software’s:- OPERA new version, Springer Miller System, Amadeus.
I am a Bachelor of Commerce from Fakir Mohan University, India and currently working at ITC GRAND CHOLA, a "LUXURY COLLECTION" HOTEL, Chennai as a Front Office Associate.
I posses excellent interpersonal and communication skill with tremendous ability of handling guests. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Reservation Sales Agent (Former Employee), Lancaster, CAFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: bonuses, free food
Cons: short lunches and no support from management
We would take 25-50 calls a day, making reservations and making adjustments to guests accounts. The management at Starwood were good but they were very contradictive to each other. My co-workers were more help than the management. The hardest part was when we would have inappropriate callers call in and management would tell us to push through on the – more... calls. Making peoples dream vacations happen. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun productive workplace, where work load is based on quality of customer service and inbound calls; call center.
Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee), Lancaster, CAFebruary 9, 2014
A place where if you carry the right attitude, and have gratitude day in/night out can succeed and promote.

About Starwood Hotels

Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide knows how to shine a light on hospitality. One of the world's largest hotel companies, – Read more

Starwood Hotels Photos