Find companies:
Starwood Hotels
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
291 reviews

Starwood Hotels Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management, no compassion for employees
Supervisor (Former Employee), St.thomas, OntarioOctober 3, 2012
Pros: can't think if any
Cons: working there.... just don't do it!
Calls all day long, no break between....if you don't hit your quota in three months your are fired.... They don't help you. The quota is very high. Certain percentage of your calls have to be turned into sales DAILY!!! Very difficult, a lot of little games and no one listens to the employees. Yearly survey for the entire centre... St.thomas never does – more... well but the people stay because its a job and they feel intimidated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, just not for me
Reservations and Member Services (Former Employee), St. Thomas, ONSeptember 13, 2012
Pros: free food, benefits at part time hours, lots of company contests and incentives.
Cons: high pressure, mandatory overtime, inflexible scheduling.
I enjoyed working here, although it is a high pressure job. Great if you are strong in sales. Not great if you want a flexible schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Place to Learn
Head Hostess (Former Employee), Dubai, DUAugust 9, 2012
Pros: free accommodation, food, transportation, city shuttle
Cons: long hours without pay
It was a roller coaster ride working in Grosvenor House, specifically in Buddha Bar Dubai. There was fun, excitement and of course challenges which made me become a better and strong person I am now. Coming to work was appealing especially on weekdays when there was less pressure from phone calls and walk in guests. However, on weekends, most especially – more... Thursday and Friday, we all need a strong prayer to end the night without a single complain. Well, I guess, through these difficult times I was able to develop myself in handling complains and giving service recovery to make the guests happy. In this place, there is really a feel of team spirit. Management were supportive and knowledgeable. The most enjoyable part of the job is recognizing loyal guests and they recognize me also because of the best service I, together with the team provides. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun place to work
Call Center Agent (Current Employee), St. Thomas, ONJuly 8, 2012
Pros: benifits, advancment
get to work with multipul people daily, and show my leadership skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vacation planning
Sales Representative (Former Employee), San Bernardino, CAApril 18, 2014
Pros: sales bonus, prizes
Assisted customers in planning their dream vacation, scheduled vacation dates ,processed credit cards
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment and Benefits
Loan Servicing Collections Representative (Current Employee), Orlando, FLApril 17, 2014
Pros: pool tables, ping pong table, hotel discounts around the world.
Cons: health care
Overall a very good company to work for.
Friendly and diverse environment.
Opportunity for growth and career advancement.
Progressive company goals.
Constant Positive Branding.
Top Notch Products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun competitive place to work at times
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Current Employee), Austin, TXApril 16, 2014
Cons: short breaks and quartly shift bids
This job requires a lot of flexibility when it comes to their training. Too au different ways to get the same thing done. You jus doing things the right way even those others were getting much larger bonuses by padding their numbers and get away with it.
The job itself is easy and fun. You pretty much are on your own to work, No time for extra bathroom – more... breaks and very limited on your time at your assigned breaks. You have to bid for a new shift every quarter. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inbound calls for guest wanting to book room
Reservation Sales Agent (Former Employee), Lancaster, CAApril 14, 2014
I was on the phone all day taking reservations and booking vacations for guest all over the world. I love working there because they made the call center fun, we have competition and wins trips and get discounts for oil changes and rooms. We had a basketball team and they would and give all employees food and drinks. There was plenty of room to grow – more... and move up. I learned about al types of rooms in different parts of the world that I never knew exist. The hardest part of the job was getting them the prices they sometime find on orbit or hotels.com – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing property and team.
Director of Rooms, WESTIN SEATTLE (Former Employee), Seattle, WAApril 13, 2014
Positive team, willing and eager to exceed guest expectations. Extremely brand focused and goal oriented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive, exciting evironment. Fun Company to work for.
Platinum Concierge/Corporate Customer Service (Former Employee), Lancaster, CaApril 9, 2014
Pros: room for bonuses and advancement
Cons: center closed in california
Very busy, high paced and competitive environment. Friendly and outgoing associates. Lots of advancement opportunities and travel options. Great company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work!
Elite Member Sales & Corporate Customer Service (Former Employee), Lancaster, CAApril 9, 2014
Pros: cash bonuses
Cons: n/a
A typical day included answering and completing sales and customer service calls. I learned a tremendous amount at this company, as they are always working on continuing education. Opportunity for advancement was great, and I received three promotions in three years. I was greatly saddened to find out that they were closing the location I was employed – more... at. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Loved working at Starwood!
Ambassador Associate (Former Employee), Lancaster, CAApril 4, 2014
I enjoyed working at Starwood the perks are amazing and a very understanding company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work
Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Orlando, FLApril 4, 2014
Pros: hotel discounts
Cons: managers only care about other managers, little job growth, and below average compensation and benefits
This is a good company to start out with, but not a reasonable choice if you want to grow long-term. Management only cares about other management; if you want to be promoted, being friends with the CFO is a huge asset. Expect to work hard, and if anything is out of your control, expect your supervisors to blame you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High sales and call volume
Reservation Sales Agent (Former Employee), Austin, TXApril 3, 2014
Pros: multi-tasking while on calls always on the phone
Cons: selling large volumes of reservations excellent commission package
High volume of calls per day. Making reservations and modifying existing reservations for people all over the world. Sales of memberships to new customers. Scheduling meetings and training new sales associates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun workplace with great training and management
Customer Reservations Associate (Current Employee), Wichita, KSApril 1, 2014
Bright and positive place to work while on the phone booking customers in to hotel rooms around the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, advancement,busy
Administrative Assistant/Telemarketer (Former Employee), San Bernardino, CAMarch 31, 2014
Pros: free lunches, holiday parties
Cons: company closed down, sad
a typical day at work was calling out to customers to get them on a wonderful vacation, what i learned was how to pitch a sale to the customers to take a fun family vacation, management was always helpful and encouraging, co-workers was fun to be around lots of laughs, the hardest part of the job was getting some of the customers to stay on the phone – more... to hear the whole pitch, the most enjoyable part of the job was completing sales and getting commission on top of my hourly pay and moving up in the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great company to work for
Reservation Specialist (Former Employee), Fall River, MAMarch 30, 2014
It was a great company to work for && they had great benefits. the hardest part of the job was dealing with customer complaints being able to assist the guest in a resectful and helpful manner and being able to allow the guest staying at any of the hotels to have a great experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you might have work and life balance
Senior International Accountant (Former Employee), Orlando FlMarch 18, 2014
Pros: a lot of opportunity to learn
Cons: very good benefits
A company where you have the opportunity to learn a lot , in any area that you are in .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company and would recommend Starwood to any friend and family to work for.
Complex Group Sales Manager (Former Employee), Northern, NjMarch 16, 2014
Pros: benefits such as employee discount hotel stays, learning resources and trainings.
Cons: lack of support from direct leadership.
Overall Starwood Hotels & Resorts is a great company to work for. Lots of opportunities and growth within the company.
My coworkers are very liable, professional and fun to work with on a day to day.
Over the years, I have strengthened my negotiation skills and time management with the resources and training Starwood has provided.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult management
Cook II (Former Employee), Seattle, WAMarch 14, 2014
This was my first job out of culinary school and I came into a very chaotic environment and the reality of a large commercial kitchen, something that culinary school did not prepare me for. I was given many opportunities to do more than many people that were there much longer. Some of the managers were very challenging to work with. I was never treated – more... poorly, but many were. There were never enough people scheduled for the amount of work to be completed in the hours we had available. I learned a great deal about what I want and do not want in a job. – less

About Starwood Hotels

Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide knows how to shine a light on hospitality. One of the world's largest hotel companies, it – Read more

Starwood Hotels Photos