Starwood Hotels Employee Reviews

Found 56 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON26 March 2015
This job was an experience I will always remember. They take the time to teach you everything you need to know about sales and customer satisfaction. Bonus structure is great and the customers are wonderful.
This place is fun to work at and they always had something fun going on.
Pros
Free lunches, games, contests, draws
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Corporate Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  London, ON20 January 2015
great opportunities, learning skills opportunities, great peopl
Was this review helpful?Yes15No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical call center
Inbound Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON22 December 2014
7 minutes of phone plus breaks
on average 70 calls in 8 hour shift
min wage
stressful
Pros
found my girlfriend there
Cons
have to talk for 8 hours a day 5 days a week over the phone sharing at a pc
Was this review helpful?Yes22No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starwood Hotels Contact Center
Customer Reservations Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas21 November 2014
My day started at 8am until 5pm, we had a sales goal to reach every day and if we didn't reach it we received coaching. The hardest part of the job for me personally was sitting down for eight hours a day, but even that isn't difficult, I was over all very happy with the work I did. The most enjoyable part of the job was the people I worked with, everyone always had stories to tell and I made friends quickly.
Pros
Good benefits, Massages, Dental, Life insurance
Cons
Repetitive
Was this review helpful?Yes22No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced working environment
CORPORATE CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON23 October 2014
Working for Starwood taught me a lot with programs and computers, and to exceed with Customers. The working environment was laid back and had multiple opportunity to succeed. They taught me to work in a high level working environment.
Pros
Employee recognition, ability to progress
Cons
Not enough training
Was this review helpful?Yes19No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call centre position: good to develop communication skills
General Reservations Agent (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON10 September 2014
A General Reservations Agent is to answer inbound calls and assist customers looking to make or change a reservation. The job was target oriented, and as a part of the job a GRA must try to get every booking possible. I found the most difficult part of the job to be trying to sell a booking to a customer who was clearly uninterested in one.
Monthly bonuses are given to workers who meet or exceed their targets.
Pros
Further develops workers verbal communication skills
Cons
Target oriented: workers would be rewarded for doing their job incorrectly, even if the client was unhappy
Was this review helpful?Yes26No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC17 August 2014
many people who work for starwoods will end up becoming lifers, as in they'll never leave because of the great pay and union so many early new recruits will quit and find another job. Starwoods pays well regardless of position, hours are flexible even for a student but demand weekends and 1 week day.
Management is nice but there communication system sucks.
Co-Workers are all old or over 35 so no young crowd
Pros
free food at buffet, benefits, union
Cons
unflexible schedule, management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  St. Thomas28 July 2014
I loved working for Starwood. It is a great company who cares for their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes22No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy high paced enviornment
Security Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 June 2014
busy high paced environment. answering house calls, prompt response time is crucial.
Was this review helpful?Yes34No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
RESERVATIONS AGENT (Former Employee) –  st.thomas on27 May 2014
typical day includes sitting at a station and answering many calls worldwide and reserving hotels for the customer. i learned how to be more patient with myself. management were a great help throughout the whole training time frame and there were always more than one there to help . hardest part of the job is being able to sit there and talk on phones for 8.5 hours long. most enjoyable was being able to help out the customer to their satisfaction.
Pros
cheap hotel stays for employee
Cons
meeting quota
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Fun workplace
Sales Coordinator - Sales and Marketing (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON20 May 2014
Excellent Service culture. focus on development and internal growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes25No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cheat and lie, be a cars salesmen
Reservation Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  St.Thomas Ontario17 May 2014
Worst job ever! I hated my life! Customer service was not the key! The key was to lie to the guest on the phone about availabily, almost being sold out, that they were talking to the hotel even though they were not. And also on top of that you had to transfer people a lot because you couldn't help them with a simple issue. Transferring makes the customer even more upset.
Pros
free things, cheep hotels
Cons
hours sucked, supervisor didnt care about you, all about sales, based on luck to get sales.
Was this review helpful?Yes22No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeping the customers happy
Customer Service/Data Entry (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON28 April 2014
I learned how to keep the customers coming back to the store.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best call center, easy money,
Platinum Dedicated Associate (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON25 April 2014
stressfull calls, lots of things to win, good company, good benefits, not bad.
Pros
contest and free lunches alot
Cons
it can be very stressfull
Was this review helpful?Yes19No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to Work
Reservations and Member Services (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON26 February 2014
I liked working there it was my very first call center and to be honest everyone i worked with was great
Was this review helpful?Yes22No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing worth doing
Associate (Former Employee) –  St Thomas, ON16 January 2014
I have noting nice to sy about this company. Thus i will not be adding any information.
Pros
Discount on hotel costs
Cons
They treat you extremely poorly
Was this review helpful?Yes31No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities to advance.
Customer Service, Team Lead (Current Employee) –  St Thomas9 January 2014
Work with your team to help make your customs stay a memorable one.
Pros
The people
Cons
Awful work hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes27No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sheraton was home
Chef de Partie (Former Employee) –  Kuwait22 November 2013
I always felt am at home with Sheraton hotel .
Sheraton Kuwait is so organized and it is so convenient to be a part of their family as you are someone precious.
many things I have learnt with Sheraton training courses as:
ASES and SGSS.
My Co-workers were like brothers and sisters, we were all one hand , fully team work
last moment order was the most challenge part for me at Sheraton Kuwait as I understand the management had to fulfill the guest expectations.
Employee recognitions system is one the best thing at Sheraton, you feel that your work is not ignored.
Pros
Free breakfast lunch and dinner even on day off and free transportation and accomodation.
Cons
long working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes31No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sitting job for 8 hrs
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON23 October 2013
they don't give people enough time to prove themselves,
Benefits can be good if you last there
Was this review helpful?Yes27No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team of Working Enviroment
Banquet House Person and Server (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC22 October 2013
It depends on the department, this work place be a great place to work, nice people, friendly co-workers, but not so good management teams
Was this review helpful?Yes32No8Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Starwood Hotels. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 936 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8

CEO Approval

85%
235 ratings
Add your rating