Starwood Hotels Employee Reviews

Found 40 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was enjoyable, hours were difficult
Customer Care Centre (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON5 June 2013
Booking hotels and planning vacations was great fun and I loved when people got excited about their upcoming trips. There were some people who were not as pleasant, but we learned how to deal with that.

I enjoyed the job, found it somewhat challenging, which I loved. But having to bid on hours every few months was not pleasant.

Also, if you are married and your husband works Monday to Friday, leaving at 6:30 am and getting home at 8 pm with Saturday and Sunday off and you work 3pm to 1 am with Wednesday and Thursday off, you only have about 6 hours a week to see your spouse.

I personally found this very difficult which is why I left after 6 months.



Pros
Getting discounts at amazing hotels and being able to earn Star points
Cons
The shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes19No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team of Working Enviroment
Banquet House Person and Server (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC22 October 2013
It depends on the department, this work place be a great place to work, nice people, friendly co-workers, but not so good management teams
Was this review helpful?Yes32No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call centre position: good to develop communication skills
General Reservations Agent (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON10 September 2014
A General Reservations Agent is to answer inbound calls and assist customers looking to make or change a reservation. The job was target oriented, and as a part of the job a GRA must try to get every booking possible. I found the most difficult part of the job to be trying to sell a booking to a customer who was clearly uninterested in one.
Monthly bonuses are given to workers who meet or exceed their targets.
Pros
Further develops workers verbal communication skills
Cons
Target oriented: workers would be rewarded for doing their job incorrectly, even if the client was unhappy
Was this review helpful?Yes25No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High performance work place with good work/life balance
Director Global E-Customer Care (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON21 December 2012
Performance-oriented, constant improvement, metrics-based organization that values relationships and work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best call center, easy money,
Platinum Dedicated Associate (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON25 April 2014
stressfull calls, lots of things to win, good company, good benefits, not bad.
Pros
contest and free lunches alot
Cons
it can be very stressfull
Was this review helpful?Yes19No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cheat and lie, be a cars salesmen
Reservation Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  St.Thomas Ontario17 May 2014
Worst job ever! I hated my life! Customer service was not the key! The key was to lie to the guest on the phone about availabily, almost being sold out, that they were talking to the hotel even though they were not. And also on top of that you had to transfer people a lot because you couldn't help them with a simple issue. Transferring makes the customer even more upset.
Pros
free things, cheep hotels
Cons
hours sucked, supervisor didnt care about you, all about sales, based on luck to get sales.
Was this review helpful?Yes21No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun place to work
Call Center Agent (Current Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON8 July 2012
get to work with multipul people daily, and show my leadership skills
Pros
benifits, advancment
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sitting job for 8 hrs
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON23 October 2013
they don't give people enough time to prove themselves,
Benefits can be good if you last there
Was this review helpful?Yes26No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced working environment
CORPORATE CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON23 October 2014
Working for Starwood taught me a lot with programs and computers, and to exceed with Customers. The working environment was laid back and had multiple opportunity to succeed. They taught me to work in a high level working environment.
Pros
Employee recognition, ability to progress
Cons
Not enough training
Was this review helpful?Yes17No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical call center
Inbound Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON22 December 2014
7 minutes of phone plus breaks
on average 70 calls in 8 hour shift
min wage
stressful
Pros
found my girlfriend there
Cons
have to talk for 8 hours a day 5 days a week over the phone sharing at a pc
Was this review helpful?Yes21No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Corporate Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  London, ON20 January 2015
great opportunities, learning skills opportunities, great peopl
Was this review helpful?Yes15No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have to love what you do
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON27 February 2013
I work in a customer service field, so I have gain knowledge and different skills to get along and deal with customers. Being opened minded and understanding will definitely open doors for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing worth doing
Associate (Former Employee) –  St Thomas, ON16 January 2014
I have noting nice to sy about this company. Thus i will not be adding any information.
Pros
Discount on hotel costs
Cons
They treat you extremely poorly
Was this review helpful?Yes31No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to Work
Reservations and Member Services (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON26 February 2014
I liked working there it was my very first call center and to be honest everyone i worked with was great
Was this review helpful?Yes22No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities to advance.
Customer Service, Team Lead (Current Employee) –  St Thomas9 January 2014
Work with your team to help make your customs stay a memorable one.
Pros
The people
Cons
Awful work hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes27No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy high paced enviornment
Security Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 June 2014
busy high paced environment. answering house calls, prompt response time is crucial.
Was this review helpful?Yes34No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great to work for
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON28 June 2013
As long as you walk in with a smile you will leave with one ....
Was this review helpful?Yes17No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeping the customers happy
Customer Service/Data Entry (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON28 April 2014
I learned how to keep the customers coming back to the store.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  St. Thomas28 July 2014
I loved working for Starwood. It is a great company who cares for their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes22No5Report

See more Starwood Hotels reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 729 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.4
Culture
3.8