Starwood Hotels Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 37 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced working environment
CORPORATE CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ONOctober 23, 2014
Working for Starwood taught me a lot with programs and computers, and to exceed with Customers. The working environment was laid back and had multiple opportunity to succeed. They taught me to work in a high level working environment.
Pros
employee recognition, ability to progress
Cons
not enough training
Was this review helpful?Yes15No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High performance work place with good work/life balance
Director Global E-Customer Care (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ONDecember 21, 2012
Performance-oriented, constant improvement, metrics-based organization that values relationships and work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical call center
Inbound Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ONDecember 22, 2014
7 minutes of phone plus breaks
on average 70 calls in 8 hour shift
min wage
stressful
Pros
found my girlfriend there
Cons
have to talk for 8 hours a day 5 days a week over the phone sharing at a pc
Was this review helpful?Yes17No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Fun workplace
Sales Coordinator - Sales and Marketing (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMay 20, 2014
Excellent Service culture. focus on development and internal growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes23No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the Responsibility and the people
Housekeeping Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 17, 2013
A typical day at work would be different from shift to shift.
When I am opening Shift I am responsible to assign all Rooms to be cleaned for that day to our Room attendant , print/run reports, hold pre-shift meeting, communicate important messages from front Desk to Room Attendant, answer the phone in the office.
My Day shift would start with running VIP reports, inspecting Rooms for cleanliness and defects and reporting those, follow up with Guests and if needed follow up with Room attendants , disciplinary conversations and paperwork, ensuring Rooms in my assigned area are cleaned. For the closing shift i will have to assign Rooms to Room attendants, Guest follow up, ensuring all rooms needed will be cleaned, ensuring Public Area is clean, run all reports from the day, answering the phone and holding pre - shift meeting.
The most important part I have learned during my job is to listen to other people so I be able to understand them and their situation better. I have gained more confidence speaking in front of people.
My Coworkers are from all over the world, which makes this job so special. People from all different cultures becoming one big team/family.
The hardest part of my job I would not know what its is, because I love what I do in any aspect.
Pros
getting my birthday off and paid for it.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun , Rewarding !
Customer Service Agent (Current Employee) –  St ThomasSeptember 14, 2013
Go to desk and take calls. Get lots of support from co workers and management. Your supervisor helps you ALL the time ! Its fun, upbeat and everyone is always so friendly.
There are tons of perks and rewards and incentives !
Was this review helpful?Yes36No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Corporate Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  London, ONJanuary 20, 2015
great opportunities, learning skills opportunities, great peopl
Was this review helpful?Yes15No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team of Working Enviroment
Banquet House Person and Server (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BCOctober 22, 2013
It depends on the department, this work place be a great place to work, nice people, friendly co-workers, but not so good management teams
Was this review helpful?Yes31No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have to love what you do
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  St. Thomas, ONFebruary 27, 2013
I work in a customer service field, so I have gain knowledge and different skills to get along and deal with customers. Being opened minded and understanding will definitely open doors for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing worth doing
Associate (Former Employee) –  St Thomas, ONJanuary 16, 2014
I have noting nice to sy about this company. Thus i will not be adding any information.
Pros
discount on hotel costs
Cons
they treat you extremely poorly
Was this review helpful?Yes30No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy high paced enviornment
Security Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 30, 2014
busy high paced environment. answering house calls, prompt response time is crucial.
Was this review helpful?Yes34No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  St. ThomasJuly 28, 2014
I loved working for Starwood. It is a great company who cares for their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes22No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to Work
Reservations and Member Services (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ONFebruary 26, 2014
I liked working there it was my very first call center and to be honest everyone i worked with was great
Was this review helpful?Yes22No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities to advance.
Customer Service, Team Lead (Current Employee) –  St ThomasJanuary 9, 2014
Work with your team to help make your customs stay a memorable one.
Pros
the people
Cons
awful work hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes26No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeping the customers happy
Customer Service/Data Entry (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ONApril 28, 2014
I learned how to keep the customers coming back to the store.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great to work for
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ONJune 28, 2013
As long as you walk in with a smile you will leave with one ....
Was this review helpful?Yes16No4

See more Starwood Hotels reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 656 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture