Find companies:
Starwood Hotels
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
329 reviews

Starwood Hotels Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High performance work place with good work/life balance
Director Global E-Customer Care (Former Employee), St. Thomas, ONDecember 21, 2012
Performance-oriented, constant improvement, metrics-based organization that values relationships and work/life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Downhill spiral continues, sad to see
mid management (Former Employee), CanadaDecember 9, 2012
Pros: travel benefits/discounts
Cons: everything but the above
Starwood has always taught their employees to " Do the right thing" Unfortunately they do not practice this themselves. They can treat employees unfairly, especially those that are long term. They either fire them or the employees ends up quitting. The hotel reviews on Trip Advisor is a tell all as to how the hotel suufers when they have some incompetent – more... management at the helm. Too bad their bosses don't see this and investigate or maybe they do and just don't care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FEELS AT HOME
MAINTENANCE ENGINEER (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLDecember 5, 2012
I REALLY ENJOYED WORKING AT SHERATON,MOE FRIENDS AND LAUGHTER
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Work place
Concierge, Valet Driver (Current Employee), Dubai,October 19, 2012
Typical day whenever it gets busy,
I learned a lot about Guest services and about hospitality industry.
My co workers are special part of my life they are great we have lots of fun while working.
When there is nothing to do is the hardest part of my job,
When there is lot more to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress, obesity, harassment, major parts of the job
reservation specalist (Former Employee), californiaOctober 6, 2012
I worked at Starwood for 5 years. It started out good for a couple of years, then it went totally downhill and has not come back, according to some I know still there. Why is anyone still there? They all say you live day by day, as to whether you will be walked out that day or not, but until then it is a job in an economy where there is not much. All – more... say if there was anything else out there steady they would be gone, and everyone I know still there is constantly applying for any other job they see.

It is now like working in a sweat shop. It used to be good in the beginning and if you got over and above a quota you got a bonus. Nowdays if you do not get over and above and make a boonus, you get capped till you get fired. If you make a lot in bonuses, you are immediately put on the list to try to terminate, because you are costing the Company money in hard times.

You are totally replacable with new people that can be hired for less and therefore you are a liability.

If you squeel on other people you are a favorite, , but bottom line is everyone is despensable, including Supervisors etc.

I was one of the few that did not get fired, I quit. You have no life but Starwood, you do not see your family, you are constantly being harassed to do overtime, ( and usually it starts 1 up to 3 hours after you shift is done.) You are constantly threatened, and they try to make you sign letters that can let them fire you, by sneeking them into a bunch of others and when you are on a call, try to get you to sign them without reading them.

It's nothing new to have people around you crying, because of of harrassment by Supervisors, and sometimes callers. If you get a bonus or are supposed to get one, they will try to take it away, or not pay it to you. (If you do decide to work there, really watch your stubs) And yes, as many have pointed out I have read every review in here so far, and every negative one is true, and I have seen 90 per cent of it.

If you are going to the call centers beware, of what you are getting into. I don't know about other jobs at Starwood, but there you are just a machine that can and eventually will be replaced, and they will work you to death till you get illl. Stress, obesity, diabetis and heart trouble are major, major things that if you do not already have you will be very lucky to escape, by the time you are done one way or another.

Is it worth the money, everyone I know who has left (and that is a lot) have never been so relieved when they have left, it is like a 200 pound weight being lifted off your shoulders. The only thing good is it is a job while you are trying to find something else. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management, no compassion for employees
Supervisor (Former Employee), St.thomas, OntarioOctober 3, 2012
Pros: can't think if any
Cons: working there.... just don't do it!
Calls all day long, no break between....if you don't hit your quota in three months your are fired.... They don't help you. The quota is very high. Certain percentage of your calls have to be turned into sales DAILY!!! Very difficult, a lot of little games and no one listens to the employees. Yearly survey for the entire centre... St.thomas never does – more... well but the people stay because its a job and they feel intimidated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, just not for me
Reservations and Member Services (Former Employee), St. Thomas, ONSeptember 13, 2012
Pros: free food, benefits at part time hours, lots of company contests and incentives.
Cons: high pressure, mandatory overtime, inflexible scheduling.
I enjoyed working here, although it is a high pressure job. Great if you are strong in sales. Not great if you want a flexible schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Place to Learn
Head Hostess (Former Employee), Dubai, DUAugust 9, 2012
Pros: free accommodation, food, transportation, city shuttle
Cons: long hours without pay
It was a roller coaster ride working in Grosvenor House, specifically in Buddha Bar Dubai. There was fun, excitement and of course challenges which made me become a better and strong person I am now. Coming to work was appealing especially on weekdays when there was less pressure from phone calls and walk in guests. However, on weekends, most especially – more... Thursday and Friday, we all need a strong prayer to end the night without a single complain. Well, I guess, through these difficult times I was able to develop myself in handling complains and giving service recovery to make the guests happy. In this place, there is really a feel of team spirit. Management were supportive and knowledgeable. The most enjoyable part of the job is recognizing loyal guests and they recognize me also because of the best service I, together with the team provides. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun place to work
Call Center Agent (Current Employee), St. Thomas, ONJuly 8, 2012
Pros: benifits, advancment
get to work with multipul people daily, and show my leadership skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that value their employees and consultants.
Consultant (Current Employee), Orlando, FLJuly 30, 2014
Pros: great environment with fair systems and procedures.
Cons: no vacation time as consultant
A typical day at work involves heavy interaction with several stakeholders in the organization and conducting several brainstorming sessions and nailing requirements for proposed changes to the core systems that run the business.
While working here I learned how the contribution of every team member matters in the overall success of a project.

The – more... hardest part of the job is dealing with individuals who do not see the value of team effort and dealing with skeptics in the work place who do not understand how their work affects the balance sheet of the enterprise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job
Supervisor (Current Employee), St. ThomasJuly 28, 2014
I loved working for Starwood. It is a great company who cares for their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nothing
Demi Chef De Partie (Current Employee), bahrainJuly 21, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: yes
per day 9 hours working.
i learn some arabic food and arabic language, and food presentations.
management very supporting and friendly.
my work partners all nce carector and hard workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT PLACE TO WORK, CALM ENVIROMENT
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Dania, FLJuly 21, 2014
Pros: meeting people, stability and fun
Cons: low income
If you are looking for a job that concerns service and love for people this is it
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay
Vacation Planning Counselor (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJuly 18, 2014
Better compensation for bilingual employees. Benefits are good except compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understaffed
Bartender (Current Employee), Kansas City, MOJuly 8, 2014
Pros: benifits good pay
Cons: management
When a restaurant is understaffed and you have to do 3 jobs everyday you get burnt out
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
starwood review 2
F&B Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 7, 2014
great place to work. I learned alot and I continue to learn each day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best jobs i've ever had
Restaurant and Banquet Server (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 3, 2014
Pros: fun work atmosphere
Cons: working long days in the sun
- opening side work, walk the pool & spa respective areas to ensure everything was in place.
- high-end customer service
- some of the best managers I've worked with
- Team atmosphere
- Working in the sun
- Being outside
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lively, culturaly diverse environment.
Whenever Manager (Current Employee), W MinneapolisJuly 2, 2014
Pros: opportunity to advance
Cons: cant think of any
Working for Starwood hotels and resorts has afford me plenty of opportunities for growth and development. As a global brand it is very diverse and very modern.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-pace call center
Hotel Reservationist (Former Employee), Lancaster, CAJuly 1, 2014
Pros: bonus points to use for myself and my family
Cons: the loss of the bonus points once the recession hit
I was responsible for making hotel reservations and providing efficient customer service. I learned many aspects of the hotel business in different locations across the world which were covered under the Starwood company. Management was fair and impartial to many of their employees. Many of my fellow co-workers were willing to help one another. The – more... most difficult part came when the job recession started making the business for Starwood slower than usual. The most enjoyable part of my job was supplying customers with great deals for their future vacation and job related travels. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Customer service representative (Current Employee), Wichita, KSJune 24, 2014
Answering phones and assisting guest with hotel reservations.

About Starwood Hotels

Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide knows how to shine a light on hospitality. One of the world's largest hotel companies, – Read more

Starwood Hotels Photos