Find companies:
Startek
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
256 reviews

Startek Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the enviroment was stressfull without any support
Call Centre Representative (Former Employee), Kingston, ONMarch 4, 2014
Pros: benifits
Cons: the stress
my job was to take calls for cell phone customers, I was verbally abused on a daily bases.as well as answering question and giving customer support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You learn something ever day
CSR (Current Employee), Kingston, ONFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: good working environment
Cons: less appreciation of your hardwork. lac with management skills
It's a kind of good job where you come across with different personality every day. Good part of the job is you have to keep your brain running all the time so that you can resolve customers' queries and problems and satisfy them at the end of every call and in turn they become loyal to the company because of exceptional customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harder than it looks.
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee), Cornwall, ONFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: excellent co workers and bosses
Cons: very angry customers
The people I worked with were wonderful and very helpful. The supervisors and managers were great people who would help anyone who needed it.

I unfortunately could not handle how many angry people called in each day. I am usually a very happy and cheerful person but it wore me down very quickly.

I have learned that I greatly prefer to speak with people – more... face to face. It is much easier to diffuse tense situations when body language and facial expressions are able to be read by both people.

The highlight of the job is the caller who recognized my voice and ended up being a friend of my late grandfather. Not only was I able to help them with their inquiry, but I was also able to save them money by updating their services. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good staff but not a job i would go back too
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Sarnia, ONAugust 3, 2013
on a typical day i would start out by logging onto the system open all programs i would need and reviewing the news section to see what types of things were going on on the system that day. working there i learned different ways to transfer calls as well as how to process credit card payments phone orders and how to use there customer database. the – more... management was good and very friendly as were the co-workers but there was not as much interaction as in other jobs i have had. the haredest part of the job for me was dealing with irate customers on almost a daily basis as well as trying to engage the customer on the phone while trying to find an answer to questions i didn't know right away. i really enjoyed when i could help a customer right away and know that there problem was solved – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Startek
Customer Service Specialist/Coach (Former Employee), Cornwall, ONJuly 29, 2013
I spent a good portion of my life working here. We were an inbound call center for a third party company dealing with cell phones. We had extensive training and were always receiving up training to make sure we were educated on what was available to the clients/customers. Towards the end of the job, I was promoted to a coach and had three agents working – more... under me who I was coaching from new hires. The job ended due to the fact that the site closed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
50 / 50
Customer Sales Representative (Former Employee), Kingston, ONJuly 6, 2013
Pros: good pay, good training
Cons: no consideration for your situation
this job had many benefits, lots of new interesting people to meet, and some great trainers. they didn't however have the greatest way of giving people hours and didnt take into consideration your situation. i was working until midnight or later even though i was only able to take the bus home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work there if your have no other choice
Cusomter Care Rep (Former Employee), Kingston, ONJune 14, 2013
Pros: awards to staff in order for them them to hate their jobs less
Cons: everything, except for the few decent people you meet while working there
getting yelled at by up to 60 to 80 strangers a day depending on the day... I learned never to work at all call center again... the management admits themselves startek is like a high school so that's saying a lot... the co-workers are the only reason people keep their job there (and i'm not enough try to rude or hate, thats just how terrible the kingston, – more... ontario company is).... most enjoyable time of the day smoke break – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have to be able to handle negativity
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Kingston, ONApril 17, 2013
Pros: great co-workers and company culture
Cons: negative atmosphere
This job was okay, not too challenging if you are good with computers and if you can separate yourself from all the negativity of the calls. The job itself is pretty easy, it's the customers that you work with that are very negative and don't care.
It's a call center, so if you can't handle lots of noise in the background NOT the job for you. It's doing – more... customer service, and no one calls in to customer service when everything is good. Most calls are just frustrated people, but it's not rare to get mad people that will tell you where to go. On the positive side, there are very strict rules to keep you safe from abusive callers and the managers are good about diffusing any bad situations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job
Customer Services Representative (Former Employee), Kingston, ONApril 2, 2013
It's a job. Pay is okay, work area is okay, people are okay. Nothing bad to be said about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Customer Service
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Sarnia, ONApril 1, 2013
Typical day was answer phones and activating cell phones. I learned the inner workings of cell phones and how it works on the other side corporate. Fun and happy environment. Loved it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided me with vital experience that I continue to draw from
Intra-Day Specialist Local Resource Planning Group (Former Employee), Cornwall, ONMarch 16, 2013
Pros: excellent opportunity for networking and advancement
Cons: very long hours, hard to balance family life with work life
This was a busy challenging position. However I thoroughly enjoyed working as a team. The skills I gained in call centre management, scheduling and business analysis have prepared me to further my career path.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
didn't like it
Customer Service (Former Employee), hawkesburyJanuary 8, 2013
didn't like working for a call center
love my co workers
wasn't the job for me
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressful
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee), Cornwall, ONJanuary 4, 2013
Pros: close to home
Cons: all the negativity
It was a very difficult environment.
Felt like a child and a prisoner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Makati PhilippinesDecember 3, 2012
Its a great experience working on a Call Center Industry.
I've learned how to master the English language.
My co workers are all very helpful as well as the trainers.
Hardest part was my first week in the field because its my first time handling calls.
The most enjoyable part was every time I help a customer activate an account.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Sarnia, ONDecember 2, 2012
Cons: weekend and evening work
answering calls
data input
always changing
great co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
telephone business care
Call Center Agent (Former Employee), Sarnia, ONNovember 14, 2012
Poeple were nice. customers thought you should give them the world. Management treated u like a number.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced dynamic environment requiring ongoing learning
Customer Service Representative/troubleshooter (Former Employee), Kingston, ONSeptember 20, 2012
Pros: team building atmosphere, constant learning opportunities
Cons: fluctuating schedule every 2-3 months, lack of flexibility for employees needs
My typical workday at Startek entailed a significant amount of data entry in addition to functioning as a liaison between the company and its customers. My job was to assist customers with technical issues affecting their cellular service. While I was an employee there I performed telephone customer service, escalation resolution, technical support – more... and account maintenance, wireline carrier management, peer support and new hire orientation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and team oriented
Customer Service Representative / Manager (Former Employee), Cornwall OntarioAugust 27, 2012
Startek is a family oriented company. While working there for 10 years I made a new work family. You are always welcomed and someone is there to help you. My co-workers and my immediate boss particiapted in fun days (dressing up, playing games) to build team motivation within our teams that we managed daily. We always enjoyed theme days, potlucks, bake – more... sales, even karoke.
When I started at Startek in 2003 I was a customer service agent, from there I built my skills becoming first a team lead assisting my supervisor with some daily tasks in inputing data for cusotmers or in leading weekly team meetings. From there I mentored on my own time to become first a temp supervisor assisting with watching several teams while supervisors took vacations, from there I became full time supervisor on the evening shift for the last 3 years at Startek.
I enjoyed the opportunities given to me to travel to Jonesboro AK and Decatur IL to assist and train new supervisors and agents at our growing call centers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great advancement opportunity
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Cornwall, ONAugust 24, 2012
Pros: good pay
Cons: repeative
Call after call, good management team, hardest part of the job is deescalating a customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dealing with billing issues
Billing Specialist (Former Employee), Enid, OKAugust 21, 2012
Pros: learning the interworkings of a major company
Cons: no chance to advance
A typical work day consist of answering phone calls and dealing with customers billing issues

1 2 3 4 5

About Startek

This company wants to be your proverbial star when it comes to optimizing your business process. StarTek provides process management – Read more