Starbucks Employee Reviews

Found 1,088 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved inspiring my partners (employees) to be the best they could be. Teach the the drive for success from within. Exceed all sales goals and customer
Store manager (Former Employee) –  British Columbia8 March 2017
The best part of my job was the customer and partners connections. Loving what you do is vital to success of work and life balance. investing all that I am into my career is of the utmost importance to me as a person
Pros
Partners and customers
Cons
Slow
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this company!
Shift Manager and Barista Trainer (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON7 March 2017
Starbucks is a great place to work part-time especially as a student with the flexibility of their scheduling alongside their benefit plan. What makes me excited to go to work every shift is the amazing culture that is fostered within the company. You feel like family to those you work with and because of that you are very committed to the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits to partners
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC7 March 2017
The required work on delivering legendary customer service is tough to achieve because you need to consider accuracy in making giving quality product but at the same time you speed up because speed becomes a factor to achieving a store goal.
Pros
good perks
Cons
too many jobs within a given time/shift
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Barista (Former Employee) –  Lasalle, QC7 March 2017
People were fun just sucks that you wernt alowed to have color in your hair or tattoos showing or earing on but what ever it was fun and would go back making the drinks were fun
Pros
Lunches
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced but friendly
Barista (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC6 March 2017
Starbucks was able to provide me the support I needed during that time in life. I met a lot of friends, and every step of the way you are supported. The best part about Starbucks was that it paved a way to learn customer service, and the free tea and coffees every two weeks!
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start off
Barista/Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC5 March 2017
Good working atmosphere
Positive co workers
Flexible schedule
Pay not so great
Understanding management
Able to transfer locations
Stocks and tuition options
Free drinks and more free drinks
Free coffee and tea each week to take home
Tips were ok deleting on the location
Customer usually really nice and talkative
Excellent training
Easy advancement
Pros
Flexible schedule and tons of free stuff
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast pace environment
Barista (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 March 2017
Starbucks is the truth! They have great merchandise, customer service and your boss is usually the best boss you have ever had in your life. Not only do you get enough breaks that are paid for but you get to sample and have fun with everything on the menu.
Pros
a pound of coffee or tea every week for FREE! drinks for FREE on every break
Cons
Morning rush, lunch rush and summer rush are intense, sometimes no breaks until the customers get what they want
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Barista Life
Barista (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 March 2017
I start my day at 5:30 in the morning, I will set up pastry display and stock everything that will require my addition. Complete daily tasks such as cleaning, stocking, making beverages and connecting with customers.
Pros
Great team
Cons
Unqualified managers and supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Barista Trainer (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON3 March 2017
Needs to review management and compensation for staff. Staff only work at minimum wage and it is had to recieve even 25 hours. Overall great place to work to make long lasting friends.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work Place
Barista (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC2 March 2017
Brewing and serving coffee to customers.
Provide customers with information on coffee blends.
Taking customers’ orders through point of sale machines, take payments and tender changes.
Cash handling and end of shift processing.
Pros
Full Insurance, Flexible working Hours
Cons
Less Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time job for students
Barista (Current Employee) –  Airdrie, AB2 March 2017
Starbucks is a fun place to work when you are going to school or just working part time. However after awhile it can become mundane and the pay and benefits are not enough to sustain oneself on.
Pros
free coffee, flexible hours
Cons
cranky customers, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place for Students
Barista (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC1 March 2017
Starbucks helped to create a balance between work and school, allowing for a job that helped foster friendships, as well as the work ethic and customer service skills to aid in future endeavours.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is nice to at this company
barrista (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 March 2017
it is a good company
they have good customer service
good management
good health benefits
there always polite and honest
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment, Hard Workers
Starbucks Barista (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC1 March 2017
Busy, with many customer interactions. Great results are very achievable with the lead of our hard working shift supervisors.
I learned that if everybody chips in and does work, we all go home happy. Management is well organized and they create a relatable and comfortable environment. We support one another and have fun, while keeping the stores line smoothly flowing. The hardest part of the job is the odd rude or unexpectedly out of line customer. The most enjoyable part is the people we work with, I work with an amazing team :)
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 February 2017
The best part of working at starbucks was interacting with each customer. It was not only about serving but engaging in a conversation as well. That not only changed the customers mood but the atmosphere as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome environment to work in
Barista (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON27 February 2017
Great place to work thorough school. Very flexible on hours. You learn a lot about coffee and you make a few friends while doing it! Being a Barista also helps with our memory. After a while you recognize your regular customers and have their drinks ready and waiting.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Some days you need to stay later than scheduled hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun place to work
Barista (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 February 2017
ideal and good for students - flexible
diverse culture which is good
customer focused - but sometimes disregarding quality beverages
can shape up your social skills
management is not in good shape
Pros
freebies
Cons
cutting hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company, poor morale
Barista (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB26 February 2017
the company itself is amazing, but my coworkers often did not care to show up to work. we were overworked because no one showed up/would call in sick last minute.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON24 February 2017
great company to work for! The training is excellent and chance for advancement is great. Ability to work selected shifts or fit into your schedule is dependant on the manager of the store.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 February 2017
Able to meet and interact with different people.
It is a great opportunity to improve customer service skills.
Flexible working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Starbucks. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 12,454 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.6
Culture
4.2

CEO Approval

86%
3,985 ratings
Add your rating