Find companies:
Starbucks
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4,543 reviews

Starbucks Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work. Free pound of coffee every week, and benefits for employees who work 20 or more hours a week
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), vancouverAugust 1, 2014
Pros: upbeat and friendly work enviornment
Cons: fairly low pay for assistant manager
Starbucks is a great environment to work in. The training is great and advancement opportunities are there for the motivated individual.

Great company for community envolvement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management of service personel
service tech (Former Employee), Vancouver B.C. Calgary ABJuly 31, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: long hours
Would perform preventive maintenance on all equipment in store
install new equipment,train staff in preventative maintenance
Traveled to often sometimes gone for up to 14 days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile Environment
Barista (Current Employee), Markham, ONJuly 31, 2014
Depending on which location you work at, each management team is different. While some managers may be very understanding, some are not.

The location that I was placed is a very well off community - customers are self righteous, expect to be treated like Kings and Queens for paying more than 4$ for a cup of coffee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job atmosphere
Barista (Current Employee), The Ramada Hotel, Downtown Prince GeorgeJuly 29, 2014
Pros: nice and friendly people, discounts
Cons: can be occasionally understaffed, a lot of cleaning tasks, a lot of memorize
Surrounded by positive and friendly Coworkers and customers, Drink recipes can be a little overwhelming to learn at first but eventually it will all come together. Communicating with both Customers and coworkers make this job really fun and one of the best places I have ever worked at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a fun place to work, great staff, good benefits, and flexible hours.
Barista (Former Employee), Burnaby, B.C.July 28, 2014
Pros: happy work environment
Cons: lack of full-time hours, and minimal compensation.
Starbucks is a great place to develop customer service skills as well as social skills. It has very flexible hours, and a lively atmosphere. A typical day at work involves cash and customer handling, making a variety of beverages, some dish washing and store cleanliness is involved throughout the day. I learned how to be in several places at once, as – more... I worked in one of the busier locations at Metrotown. It was an exciting and energetic atmosphere. They have a very thorough training procedure and the staff are helpful and kind. Our manager was very laid back and considerate of employees personal lives. He trusts the staff with the well being of the store and was very understanding. The coworkers I had a Starbucks were some of the best I've ever had the pleasure of working with. They are very supportive, and offer coaching when needed. It has a very strong family vibe to it. The hardest part of working at the Metrotown location was the size of the facility, as it was very small and very busy. There were often not enough places to fit customers during our rushes. The raises could be better. They offer competitive wages, but start you at minimum wage, and you get a 10-16 cent raise once every six months. The most enjoyable part of Starbucks was definitely the working environment, very friendly, very social, very happy place to work. I also loved the flexibility with scheduling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work environment with great work atmosphere
SHIFT SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), Barrie, ONJuly 25, 2014
Pros: free drinks, part-time medical and dental benefits, free mark out each week, and stock options.
Cons: communication can break down easily when calling orders, and 5 am opens.
I really enjoyed my time at Starbucks and worked with some of best coworkers around. We built long lasting relationships with each other and our regular customers. We challenged each other professionally and always kept the work environment light and friendly. I was able to advance quickly with hard work and dedication to learning multiple duties. I – more... was given the title of Shift Supervisor within 8 months of being hired as a Barista. The only downside to my experience was the store manager and assistant. I felt like as soon as Partners and myself got used to a new management style there would be another person coming in with different preferences and ideas. With this said, I would work for Starbucks again because of the great experience they try to give to each Partner, but I would be more selective with my manager and get a feel if there was stability within the particular store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the Perfect Cup of Coffee
Brand Manager (Associate) (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 23, 2014
Pros: free coffee, team building events, decent benefits, great brand name on your resume
Cons: no work-life balance, little opportunity for advancement, un-competitive salary, self-involved management
While I certainly learned a lot during my tenure at Starbucks Canada, the Canadian division is not a great place to work. Work-life balance is non-existent and anyone below Senior Manager level is treated like a cog in the machine. There is very little room for advancement as the older members of the Marketing team refuse to leave, to the detriment – more... of the organization. Don't be fooled by the title Brand Manager or Assistant Brand Manager - you aren't really managing anything from a marketing perspective and this is not your typical brand management role. The majority of the job is determining what US products to pick up and release in the Canadian market and lots of number crunching. If you're looking to stretch and extend your strategic and creative skills this is not the place for you. This is an operations driven organization so the majority of resources, effort and focus are on developing employees working in the stores. It doesn't really make the "behind the scenes" people feel appreciated or inspired.

Management at Starbucks, while incredibly polite and friendly, are neither overly creative nor inspiring. Looking to be a mover and shaker? Starbucks looks good on your resume and you'll gain a lot of transferable skills but you won't do anything earth shattering. And don't think about speaking your mind because they aren't overly receptive to individuals who challenge the status quo, provide opinions that go against the majority or raise concerns about issues. There have been some serious culture issues with the company, especially around recognition and appreciation of staff.

Net-net, I had a great time learning about the business and definitely picked up some great skills but I wouldn't recommend working in Marketing at the Canadian operation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Supervisor (Current Employee), Burnaby, BCJuly 19, 2014
It's a good place to work when you have a busy life trying to go to school or have other jobs. On top of the flexibility, the company provides benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A focused, yet fun enviornment to work in.
Barista, Cashier, Café Partner (Former Employee), Dublin, Westmoreland st.July 19, 2014
Pros: free coffee
Cons: low pay, long hours.
Situated in the heart of Dublin city, surrounded by office buildings and retail outlets this store was one of the busiest Starbucks in the country.

The work was quite demanding with opening times as early as 6:30am and a closing time of 10:00pm.(we stayed till 11:00pm cleaning.)

Luckily we had an optimistic and motivating manager who strived to get – more... the best performance out of each and every staff member. For example, we were allowed to pick our own audio playlists to listen to throughout the days shift.

This was one of my favorite things about working in that establishment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part Time Job in the Summer
Barista Partner / Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONJuly 18, 2014
Taking the residents of the condo and escorting them to different places on the main floor, such as , bowling alley, theatre etc

Worked one person a shift so I learned to work independently

Vaccuming the Pool was a challenge since I had to do it to the clock and people wanted to use the pool. I always got it done and got quicker each time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
can be fun at tmes
Store Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 17, 2014
Great as a part time job, good benefits
management is horrible and corporate people are snobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work days
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJuly 16, 2014
Developed a strong interpersonal skill set that includes problem-solving abilities, patience for others and conflict resolution through interactions with customers and colleagues
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Barista (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBJuly 10, 2014
Excellent experience, loved learning new things and meeting new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Beginner Job
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONJuly 7, 2014
Great way to meet people.
Positive fun work environment.
Very fast paced.
Must be willing to learn and remember a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Barista - Engaging (Former Employee), Fergus, ONJuly 7, 2014
Engaging customers and surpassing their needs, Taking orders and ringing up sales, Preparing and servings coffee and other drinks, Developing barista skills and helping train new hires, Maintaining the store environment and equipment, Re-stocking inventory and communicating store needs, Ensuring food safety standards are met and recommending product – more... and process improvements within work environment and to customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Opportunity to meet new people.
Shift Supervisor/ Key Holder (Current Employee), Mississauga, OntarioJuly 7, 2014
Pros: lot of space to grow, and improve upon problem solving and time management skills
Cons: under staffed
While working at Starbucks I learned how to effectively manage stress and time. I also learnt how to problem solve efficently as well think quickly in the moment on my feet. I enjoyed working with my co-workers I feel the mix of personalities helped to better improve my working and learning experience.The hardest part of the job would be constanlty – more... being understaffed at the most busiest times of the day, as well as constantly being sold out of popular items. The most enjoyable part of my job was a combination of interacting with new customers (asking a few questions to suggest a beverage or pastry they would enjoy) in a high traffic/volume location. I also enjoyed constantly re-merchandising our product walls and pastry case to entice customers to buy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun to work with
Volunteer food server for homeless (Current Employee), Victoria, BCJune 29, 2014
multitask and long work day but have fun with my co-workers because I am easy going and understanding that people I work with have different background. I respect everybody opinions and very open for feedback that it helps me to improve myself and my work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Educational Workplace
Barista & Shift Supervisor (Current Employee), Edmonton ABJune 26, 2014
Pros: free drinks
Cons: taxing customers
This job is a wonderful way to interact with new people daily as well as develop friendships with co-workers easily. The work is manageable and fun with little stress. The learning curve is very steep at first as there are lots of barista basics to cover but everyone is easy to approach and ask questions. The ability to be promoted is based on work – more... ethic and people skills and is approached very seriously. I was happy my manager saw the potential in me to no only be a Shift Supervisor but also a Assistant Manager. It is a great side job but I would like to pursue something more in line with my educational degree – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work, well organized
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Laval, QCJune 25, 2014
Pros: .
Cons: .
It is a very organized Company and a fun experience. Customers and staff are very nice and it is great to have the one on one connections.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all I thoroughly enjoyed my time spent working for Starbucks.
Barista (Former Employee), Dieppe, NBJune 24, 2014
Pros: decent hours, free lunches, friendly coworkers and constant socialization.
A typical day at work consisted of preparing beverages or pastries for customer purchase, while ensuring that they left the cash register with a smile. Sometimes I would sing while working and sometimes I would end up making a new acquaintance, but each day was guaranteed fun.
I learned how to prepare the basic coffees, teas and whipped creams. I also – more... learned the steps required to close the venue down at the end of the night.
My manager was a very friendly individual whom tried to give me as much flexibility as required at the time, though I admit that I could have been a lot more available.
The hardest part of the job was dealing with minor stresses or illnesses that I had at the time of employment, due to climate change (Florida to Canada) and occasional sickness or ailments that I was overcoming at the time. Sometimes I found it a little bit difficult to multi-task, but I believe that I would have got the hang of it had I worked there a bit longer.
The most enjoyable part of the job would definitely have to be the daily socialization and being able to make people smile, even if a simple smile or "hello" was enough to brighten their day. – less

About Starbucks

Our employees, who we call partners, are at the heart of the Starbucks Experience. We believe in treating our partners with respect – Read more