Starbucks Employee Reviews

Found 1,097 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Starbucks Barista (Former Employee) –  London, ON6 April 2017
Great environment, great customers and crew! Low staff lead to poor scheduling and issues within store though and management was very poorly done. Overall it was fairly fun though
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this place.
Barista (Current Employee) –  Saint John, NB6 April 2017
Great company to work for, the staff always gets along and you become a family, lots of benefits, raises every 6 months, customers become really close with you.
Pros
Benefits, the atmosphere, customer relations.
Cons
Drama sometimes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company with Ethical Morals
Barista (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC5 April 2017
Starbucks is a great company to work for if you are a student looking to pick up part time work. schedules are flexible and pay is okay. Management is great depending on who you get but overall would recommend as a good choice for a first job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing culture
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 April 2017
The culture of Starbucks is one of the best I have seen in retail. Lots of room for advancement and lots of resources for development. They really empower their managers to think outside of the box and run their business.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
Non fixed schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
Barista (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB4 April 2017
This was my first job I learned a lot here about customer service and coffee. we learned the different flavour profiles and how to pair them. the days weren't long and hours are flexible. busy coffee shop always people coming and going, great place for a first job.
Pros
free drinks, discounts
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall pleasant company to work for
Barista (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 April 2017
Free coffee and making amazing friends along the way makes for a very enjoyable working environment. There are various labour issues and in my store some scheduling issues but despite these things its a wonderful job!
Pros
FREE COFFEE
Cons
difficult customers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good Experience
BARISTA (Former Employee) –  Streetsville, ON3 April 2017
The job was very fun but it is a commitment. Working at Starbucks you basically live there even as a part time employee. I was grateful to pick up customer service skills through my time there. Management could have been a little better, although at times it was understandable because my store was understaffed. Coworkers and customers were very friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Barista (Current Employee) –  Kelowna, BC3 April 2017
Great place, great people, awesome staff. management was awesome and super supportive. The people I worked with made the job fun and easy to learn. Over all just loved my job.
Pros
free drinks
Cons
little hours durring week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, corporate doesn't protect employees very well.
Barista (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 April 2017
I loved working with my team and making customers feel special. Corporate didn't protect the retail employees very well. They were more concerned with keeping customers happy that they would throw retail employees under the bus to save face. However, working in the stores with my team was lots of fun and the experience taught me a lot about sales and teamwork.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Barista (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 April 2017
-Great work place when your team and manager are friendly
-good place to learn how to connect with people
-everyday there is new things to learn at starbucks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting job
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC1 April 2017
People are very outgoing and friendly in Starbucks.They manage to hire people with good interpersonal skills and the ability to smile.most folks that I have waited with are quite patient with the staff- seeming to realize that they are working as quickly as possible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to grow as a person.
Barista (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ON31 March 2017
Starbucks provides a comfortable and accepting environment for partners to grow. In my time working there, I have made many friends and experiences that I can apply to future employment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent to build customer service skill
Manager/Barista (Former Employee) –  various31 March 2017
awesome to learn to be legendary service to customers. just crazy hours that just interrupt your sleep cycle. high volume require multitasking which can drain you out.
Pros
knowledge of coffee, and improve your skill on your customer service
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for student but not long term solutions
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON30 March 2017
Over the years the Starbucks culture have changed for the worse. It was all about the coffee and customer culture. They have recently started to push more sales and labour, which puts stress onto the entire team, especially management. The wage is not competitive and there solutions to the low wages is added "benefits" which is a bonus but not necessarily used by all. The hours are flexible, but are all very short (4-5hour shifts) mid day.
Pros
Free drinks and coffee
Cons
Short hours and low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace Culture
Barista/QASA Lead/Barista Trainer (Current Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON29 March 2017
Starbucks has been the best experience out of all my jobs so far. The culture, the workplace, the management and the benefits all make it into an amazing job. I love my partners, I also have been given the opportunity to grow in the company at a exponential rate. It is a great environment with competitive salary and great benefits.
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Moved work
Starbucks Barista (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC29 March 2017
A typical day at work, to do the cash, make the drinks and clean.
What I learned, to make drinks and dealing with difficult customers.
The hardest part, the cleaning at the and of the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
BARISTA (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON29 March 2017
Very enthusiastic co-workers and fair manager. Job was enjoyable because of customers. Learned about espresso beverages and crafting them. Work was fun and easy.
Pros
Fun
Cons
Late hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
True owership
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 March 2017
Result driven and hand-on manager.
Holding accountable of team members and follow up.
Developing team members to the next level.
Highly motivated manager.
Lead team by example.
Flexible and Puntuality
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you have the support
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 March 2017
Current Manager for Starbucks.

Amazing company. Really it is. Great perks and benefits! Leaders constantly challenging you to do better. The opportunities are endless.

My only set back is the amount of work you are asked to do om a short period of time. As a manager it can be extremely overwhelming at times but when you factor in our benefits discounts and perks it is totally worth it!
Pros
Free drinks decent pay awesome benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally a fun work place
Barista (Current Employee) –  Greenwich, CT28 March 2017
Its a fun place to work at, you get to know everybody in the area pretty well since a lot of customers become regulars. The pay isn't the best but the company offers a lot of benefits so its worth it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Starbucks. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 12,505 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.6
Culture
4.2