Find companies:
Starbucks
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,736 reviews

Starbucks Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjyable and creative place to work at
Barista (Current Employee), Rideau Center, OntarioApril 15, 2014
Pros: discounts on lunches, insurance
Cons: long hours
It is very important to insure that the clients get satisfied with their orders because of the price they pay for their drinks. One of the responsibilities as a barista is to ensure that the client does not have any allergies so the company is not responsible for any food poisoning.
My co-workers are productive and great at stress management.
The most – more... enjoyable part is being creative with the clients and propose a new way for them to take their coffee and educate them about the coffee industry.
The hardest part is managing to work long hours with never ending lines of clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer focused driven business
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee), Queensborough, New WestminsterApril 11, 2014
Pros: workers, hour, raises based on performance.
Cons: customers.
High volume with drive through, however a fun environment with the staff at most locations.
I learned a lot of very important customer service skills, which rely heavily on, not saying no. Instead, changing it to, "However we can do this for you,"
Workers at every location i've worked at were all very lively individuals.
Hardest part of the job is learning – more... all the recipes and different combinations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Barista (Current Employee), Whitby, ONApril 10, 2014
Pros: fun
Cons: shift work, early hours
It is a cool place to work. Fun and trendy vibe. Always nice meeting new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work as a team
Barista (Former Employee), Victoria, BCApril 7, 2014
Pros: got free drinks
Cons: wearing the wrong shoes on concrete can hurt.
Learned how to keep a fast pace and work in a small space with a great team spirited people.
The best part of the job was making every costumer happy.
The hardest part was getting along with all of the co-workers. some people just don't like others for no reason.
All in all I enjoyed trying something new. Was a good new experience for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company that cares about its employees
Barista / Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABApril 6, 2014
Pros: excellent benefit plan, with equally excellent partner perks.
Cons: can be a little political, and managment is sometimes shakey.
Fast paced, with lots to learn when you fist start out. Management is typically well organized, and adaptable to almost any kind of schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, fast-paced environment
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 6, 2014
Pros: employee benefits
Cons: low calary
As a shift supervisor I was responsible for opening or closing a store, manage and lead my team during my shifts, provide high quality customer service, cooperate with my manager, coach and train new employees, handle cash, be a good example for my co-workers, manage and solve unpredictable or unpleasant situations both with customers and employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing, professional and fun work place
Barista/Cashier (Current Employee), Cambridge, ONApril 1, 2014
This has been the most amazing work experience that I have ever had and I would recommend this job to anybody.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
starbucks
Assistant Store Manager & Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), woodrbidgeMarch 30, 2014
• Planning and Execution – Developed strategic and operational plans for the work group, managing execution, and measuring results
• Performing, delegating, follow-up on merchandising and new setups
• Actively manage store employees by regularly conducting performance assessments, providing performance feedback, and setting challenging goals to improve – more... partner performance
• Display a customer comes first attitude by training and holding partners accountable for delivering legendary customer service
• Provide coaching/direction to the store team/district to exceed operational goals
• Acquisition to achieve and exceed store operational requirements
• Develop Solid Action Plans/PDPs for developing partners
• Analyzing financial reports (budgets, PNLs, operating reports)
Coordinating all aspects of new store openings & renovations
• Ensuring that monthly Plans followed to corporate expectations
• Ability to manage the overall operations of stores independently
Extensive Knowledge of retail and restaurant industry operations
• Highly Organized and planning skills
• Strong Operational, Supervisory, Team Building and Coaching skills
• Ability to communicate clearly and concisely, both orally and in writing
• Ability to handle confidential and sensitive information – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment
Barista (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 30, 2014
Very friendly environment & fast paced. A good place to get connections and socialize with others. Must be able to multi task well in order to keep on with the work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and outgoing atmosphere
Barista (Current Employee), North Vancouver, BCMarch 28, 2014
Pros: free 1lb. of coffee per week
Cons: standing all day
we are busy most of the time and i learned to enhance my capability to handle transactions efficiently and still maintain the highest level of customer service.
i am surrounded by a supportive and talented individual and each day with them at work has been a positive experience.
the most enjoyable part of my job is i get to interact with different types – more... of people and take part in making their visit personable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN WORK ENVIRONMENT
Store Manager (Current Employee), TORONTO, ONMarch 26, 2014
FUN ENVIRONMENT AND VERY INTERACTIVE WITH CUSTOMERS. THERE IS NEVER A DULL MOMENT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Shift supervisor (Current Employee), Windsor OntarioMarch 26, 2014
Pros: free drinks and coffee
Cons: no consistent schedule
The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with customers and getting to know them.
Managing young people is challenging at times though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, great benefits
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 26, 2014
work was fun
great benefits and ok pay
flexible hours
gives lots of knowledge about coffees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starbucks at Safeway
Certified starbucks barista (Former Employee), Port Coquitlam, BCMarch 25, 2014
Pros: half price drinks
Cons: short shifts
I enjoyed working with people and making drinks for regular employees. Enjoyed working alone in the kiosk and also when I had an employee with me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Barista (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCMarch 22, 2014
Pros: free drinks and discounts
Cons: low hourly salary
The job is fast paced but is fun due to the work environment. Salary isn't the best but the benefits make up for the low salary. Job advancement is plentiful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and dedicated to a goal
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCMarch 20, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: limited growth potential
Excellent customer service training
Never say no mentality
Great benefits for entry level job
Good structure
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with, Amazing atmosphere
Barista (Former Employee), Stoney CreekMarch 20, 2014
Great place for outgoing individuals looking for their first job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly
Bartista (Former Employee), Cambridge, ONMarch 20, 2014
Pros: great working enviornment
Cons: training
The hardest part of this job was being alone and having a line up of 30 people waiting for you to take their orders and I had very little training. My most enjoyable part was the people that I worked with and the drinks we got to make. Everyday I would clock in a prepare what was needed for the day and brew coffee every half hour so that it was fresh – more... and ready. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment with lots of benefits
Supervisor (Current Employee), torontoMarch 18, 2014
Pros: benefits
Amazing corporation to work for.
Lots of benefits amazing customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with many stuff bonuses and privileges
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONMarch 14, 2014
Pros: free drinks during working hours
Cons: long hours to work, as it's mostly physical job
The day at work runs so fast, as this job required a lots of physical activities and emotional efforts. I learned a how to make a lots of different cold and hot drinks, improved my customer service experience. In my position as a shift supervisor I've learned about cash management system, inventory system, bank deposit process, etc...I enjoyed my work, – more... as it's professional place with international experienced co-workers with a good work ethics. The hardest part of the job is physical activity all day long since we started our shift. The most enjoyable part of the job was when the clients were living the store very satisfied with our service and when they used to come over and over again,appreciate our hard work and enjoy themselves at Starbucks. – less

About Starbucks

Our employees, who we call partners, are at the heart of the Starbucks Experience. We believe in treating our partners with respect – Read more