Starbucks Employee Reviews

Found 914 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment and Friendly Staff
Barista/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Georgetown, ON29 December 2016
Typical day at work involves cleaning counter tops and machines, making espresso based hot and cold drinks, coffee, tea, iced cold drinks and blended beverages. The coworkers and working environment are awesome and the work itself is fun too. The hardest part of the job is closing since it takes a while but the more practice you get doing it the faster it goes. By far the most enjoyable part is making connections with the customers and learning their stories and names.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun, fast paced working environment.
Barista (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 December 2016
Starbucks is a great fun, fast paced working environment. I greatly enjoyed my time there and I would definitely recommend it as a place of work to anyone looking for a job in customer service.
Pros
free drinks, lots of breaks, health insurance
Cons
open on holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe work environment
Barista/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 December 2016
Typical day at work would be, starting the day at 5:30. Setting up food case and brewing coffee.
Extra cleaning that wasn't finished the night before.
Getting cash ready before 6am opening, managing time for everything before opening the doors.
Pros
Usually get the time off thats requested
Cons
low wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very work friendly environment
Barista (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC24 December 2016
Working at Starbucks made me realize that even a small gesture can go a long way. On a typical day, the partners and customers are both very easy going, and the managers are very organized as well. The hardest part about working at Starbucks at my location specifically, is when it becomes very busy and we are low on staff. But over all because everyone is very easy going, it was very enjoyable working for Starbucks.
Pros
discounts on food and beverages, and merchandise
Cons
can be understaffed at times
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Surrounded by a Competitive Team
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 December 2016
- My day at work was busy and challenging
- I learnt how to intermingle with customers
- Managers were tough to make friends with
- Co-workers were very friendly
- Hardest part was to make friends
- The core values was the best part of the job and celebrating birthdays.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work with people and coffee!
Barista (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 December 2016
Management is great and understanding of what you need.
Very helpful and nice co-workers. Most enjoyable part of my job is being able to have my favorite specialty coffee made for me.
Pros
Free drinks, learn how to make drinks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Barista (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC15 December 2016
Management had switched towards the end of my career with Starbucks, creating a few bumps along the road; but was overall a pleasant, great learning experience and opportunity. Respect is a huge element of the company, as well as having pride and care in what you're doing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great working environment
Barista (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC15 December 2016
Multi tasking was required in order to achieve daily goals that were achieved through team efforts and constant encouragement of our supervisors. there was also product knowledge required to enhance the customer experience and most importantly - ensuring that the customer achieved a valuable experience each time they were served.
Pros
great team effort
Cons
can be difficult to multitask
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Team Oriented Environment for All
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 December 2016
Working for Starbucks Canada was a wildly rewarding experience. On more occasions than not I was given the ability to experiment with contrived, traditional methods of workplace. I was encouraged to find new methods to make things work smoother for myself and my partners. I really enjoyed working for this company. I enjoyed moreso my own store and family I made there as well.
Pros
Flexible hours, free coffee, freedom, Corporate communication
Cons
Aprons, a lot of the colour green
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC13 December 2016
Fun place to work, with a great company culture and benefits. Best part of the job is the people you work with, and the amazing connections you make with customers everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC13 December 2016
Loved working for this company when the focus was connecting with the customers. Their shift away from this made it a more cold and sterile place to work.
Pros
Social interaction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging team dynamic
Partner (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON13 December 2016
Every day was a whirlwind of new products, fun people, and great drinks. This was an incredible atmosphere to be a part of.
Pros
Rad people, samples, flexible work schedule
Cons
low wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Starbucks Barista (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS11 December 2016
Had alot of fun working with my coworkers, joyed our times together.
Had to be fast past and to make sure our customers left with a smile.
Met alot of great people and made a bunch of friends.
Pros
terrible hours
Cons
good peopl
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enjoyable wok enviornment
Barista (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC6 December 2016
i loved all of my preivious jobs. they all had exciting and very memorable times. ive learn to grow and exceed my knowledge with customer service. i do wish to grow and look over my horizon
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Barista (Former Employee) –  Yorkville,Toronto, Ontario6 December 2016
Working at star bucks' was a lot of fun and free coffee with many opportunities and flexible schedules. Wet coffee grains are a bit heavy duty but I guess that's why theirs always men on the floor (lol)
Pros
free drinks, 30% discount of food and shelved items, one free items week, good team setting, flexible
Cons
Very busy, wet coffee grains are very heavy, kind of stinky, early opening hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, friendly place to work at
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC4 December 2016
As long as the store is set up for success, this can be a great place to work and a place to challenge your team and your self to be the best. It takes some great effort, and time to set up the store for success so you need to be willing to be available during all operating hours (as a store manager) because if something goes wrong and the store needs you, you need to be available.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allows creativity, diversity and passion
Omega - Barista (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 December 2016
Starbucks always strives to allow it's customers and partners to feel welcome, included and cared for. I've never seen a company so attentive to all the needs around them.
Pros
discounts, markouts weekly, great coverage healthwise
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Crew Lead (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 December 2016
-meet a lot of interesting co-workers as well as customers
-culture is great
-a lot of knowledge you can carry with you for the rest of your life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing workplace!
Barista Trainer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 December 2016
This job is simply put amazing. The staff and management are all very helpful. You will find this to be a family type of group where we all look out for each other.

A typical day for me was opening the cafe and making sure everything was stocked and ready to go. Having freshly brewed coffee the minute we would open and have out pasty case full.

I learned a lot about coffee and tea! There is a great deal of work that goes into it. I also got to explore my pallet more wit doing coffee tastings.

The hardest part would be knowing all of those drinks off the top of your head and being able to keep up making them in the middle of a rush.

The most enjoyable part? The rush and coffee tastings, other Starbucks partners and knowing the regulars that come in.
Pros
Free Drinks, 30% Discount
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
had a good time but its time to move on
Shift supervisor (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC1 December 2016
wish there was less rotation of staff, which could be achieved with more respect and better salary. the advantages, like insurance, markouts and free drinks were good perks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 10,757 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.6
Culture
4.1