Starbucks Employee Reviews

Found 1,211 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Busy location
Barista/gaurd (Former Employee) –  Dundas, ON28 June 2017
The job had the potential to be a good experience but the downtown city location cause a lot of problems and we were constantly having to call the police
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Barista/Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 June 2017
A typical day at work was quite organized. I learned to be able to interact with customers in a genuine and honest manner. Management was not the greatest but we learned to work together efficiently. I would say the hardest part of the job was communicating with my former manager. The most enjoyable part of the job were my coworkers and employees. I looked forward to going to work each day because of them.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fast-paced
Barista (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC27 June 2017
I loved working at starbucks, this job is where i grew the most as a person and i dont regret ever working here. i would definitely recommend this job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Barista (Former Employee) –  Canmore, AB26 June 2017
Got to learn a lot about the coffee industry and meet a lot of new people. Starbucks was very accommodating with my busy schedule outside of the workplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Barista (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 June 2017
Having a conversation with customers is the best part, for me anyway. You get to learn some pretty cool things about them. Especially regulars, seeing them come in every day or is like having a friend always coming to say "Hi".
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun rewarding work, great management
Barista (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 June 2017
Fun and rewarding work, great management, perks, great training process and very team oriented work with fair pay and benefits. Good work life balance as schedules are flexible.
Pros
Great training process, great management
Cons
Whole shift spent standing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Transition Job
Barista (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 June 2017
This is a great transition job when in school. flexible hours make it a breeze to make money on the side while going through school. If you like coffee its a bonus.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
repetitive work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a very nice environment
Barista (Former Employee) –  BC21 June 2017
very stressful customers, very rude, hard to tolerate for a long time. not good for mental health. people higher up go on power trips, they like to be in control and get angry for stupid reasons
Pros
free drinks
Cons
rude people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teavana Sales Goals
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 June 2017
Goals were high and sometimes unattainable
Job culture was great
Must be passionate about the product
i worked for teavana
free tea was a plus during shift
lots of training and knowledgable staff
Pros
great staff, free tea, training
Cons
unattainable goals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I use to like the job
Barista (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON20 June 2017
I don't like it there anymore. Management is terrible and so are the hours. Why give everyone lots of hours just to hire 4 new people and then take every ones hours away again and then some. Can't afford to live off the hours they give. Seems when you work your butt off you get treated terribly, but when you do nothing and you're terrible at your job you get promoted and appreciated. Seems i need to work less and not as hard.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best working experience so far
(Barista) [Reference available] (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC20 June 2017
Very organised company.
Everything is very clear, your roles and benefits.
You can work with many people in Victoria.
It has shift exchange facebook page, so perfect for college students who want flexible day offs for exams or etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Barista (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB20 June 2017
The workplace is very cheerful. Every shifts does not feel like a job but rather a day of bonding with people. Other baristas will help you and they are cery accommodating!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail productif et agréable
Barista (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC19 June 2017
Travail répétitif mais agréable. Cette expérience a été très enrichissante et enjouée. Il m'a permis d'améliorer mon service à la clientèle.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overstaffed, not enough hours.
Barista/Barista Trainer (Current Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON19 June 2017
I work at a high volume Starbucks and although the environment is stressful, I still wish I had more hours.

I have spoken to my manager and still feel this issue is not being addressed. Other than that I have no complaints.
Pros
Free drinks/markouts.
Cons
Not enough hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management sucks
Barista (Former Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ON19 June 2017
made me hate the company i once loved

would only recommend as an easy way to get sales experience
loved the people i worked with but manager was hard to work for VERY stressful job not worth minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Barista (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 June 2017
Working at Starbucks, is like working at home. My co workers were like family. My love for coffee was shared and I got to talk to coffee lovers all day.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
When dead. Hard to find things to do
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Shift Manager, Barista (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 June 2017
Benefits and pay are great! Management is different depending on the store but generally they are great! Workplace culture is great, flexible scheduling, and a great work atmosphere!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work with a fun enviroment
Starbucks Barista (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON15 June 2017
I love working as a barista and enjoy meeting people on a daily basis. Starbucks has been a great opportunity. I really feel like a partner and not just an emplyee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I have had so far
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Kanata, ON15 June 2017
Working at Starbucks has made me a more understanding, more outgoing person. I am able to problem-solve and manage people now and I learned it in an environment that supports its employees. I had a great team because at Starbucks, they train people not jut baristas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Barista/Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC14 June 2017
The most enjoyable part of the job is that you connect with people. Good way/place to start networking.
Management depends on the store.
The hardest part of the job maybe remembering peoples names, but eventually it will happen.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Starbucks. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 14,061 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.6
Culture
4.1