Starbucks Employee Reviews

Found 988 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 February 2017
Able to meet and interact with different people.
It is a great opportunity to improve customer service skills.
Flexible working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starbucks is a fast-paced work environment with many benefits
Barista (Current Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON23 February 2017
I've worked at Starbucks for 5 years and it is arguably one of the best jobs I've ever had. The hours are flexible and the benefits of the company itself outweigh any cons that can come with jobs in customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Barista (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON23 February 2017
Its a good place to work if you wish to work in a fast paced environment, and with lots interactions.

Depending on the management you may love it there or you may dislike it.
Pros
benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was good when I started.....
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 February 2017
Company preaches Job work/life balance but does't allow management to practice that, you are on call 24/7 even when you are on vacation. Salary was good if you were only working 40 hours/week. Benefits and partner perks were good. Lack on consistent support from DM's and RD's. Never challenge the status quo!! Company has changed and store managers are not as important or valued as shift supervisors and baristas in my opinion. There is a lack of consistency across cities, and provinces.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  philippines22 February 2017
very good, nice benefits

so busy depending on location

learned alot

culture is ok except from new management they are bully

free drinks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and really solid ethics company
Barista Trainer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 February 2017
200 welington st w starbucks is the best team!
Best experience ever
Teach me how to be punctual and not only punctual but all the positive traits essential in today's life
Pros
Good working experience
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON22 February 2017
Class A company to work for in retail. A bit dirtier than some mind you considering the milk and sugar bit about it but that's tolerable with a decent paycheck for entry level.
Pros
Paid breaks
Cons
On your feet
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starbucks
Barista (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 February 2017
I love the atmosphere always busy worked with nice amaxing people and the customers were usually always so kind.
i would work there again Great company
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Long hours not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, excellent benefits
Supervisor/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 February 2017
It is a fast-paced, fun workplace. If you're a people-person, this is the job for you. The most enjoyable part of the job is all of the friends you make, whether it is customers or your co-workers. The hardest part of the job is making sure all of the cleaning gets done. There is TONS of cleaning. I guess if you're not a morning person, it can be difficult to get up at 3:30-4:30 for a shift.
Pros
free drinks on every break, free pound of coffee every week, cheap extensive insurance
Cons
scheduling isn't steady
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Barista and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON21 February 2017
-Great co-workers
-Lots of free stuff
-Flexible hours, great for students
-Overall fun job
Cons
-Customers can be very rude
-Super busy
-Inconsistent hours
-Low pay
Pros
-Flexible hours, great for students -Overall fun job
Cons
-Inconsistent hours -Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
turning ordinary to extraordinary.
Barista (Former Employee) –  medical city18 February 2017
Starbucks has been one of those companies that completely fascinates me. From everything written about them, they are run a lot different than most companies one reads about. their commitment to their customers, employees, and communities in which they reside is really unparalleled in the business world and I am constantly wondering how they make it work.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  toronto canada17 February 2017
Working for Starbucks challenged me in ways I had never been challenged. I was able to develop others constantly in my role and that brings me much joy!
Pros
great benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Barista (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 February 2017
Workplace culture is great. Management is usually good. Learn great customer service skills.The hardest part of the job is the difficulty of some customers but for the most part people are great. The most enjoyable part of the job is the relationships you build with your partners and customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work and advance in the company
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 February 2017
Crazy busy days always just because of location!
had many managerial tasks to perform and guide my baristas and run my floor with breaks and deployment!
I enjoyed the very fast paced environment and the people were great to work with. Very diverse team!
Pros
benefits were great! the ability to move up within the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome coffee and fun professional people to work for and with
Starbucks Barista (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 February 2017
Amazing work environment and very friendly people. Managers are fun to work with and are always understanding with employees. Training program is awesome
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
Free coffee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible all around
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON14 February 2017
I worked for Starbucks in my 20s and the hours were awful and stressful, they paid me minimum wage with a master's degree, they never gave me the benefits they agreed to give, and there was no work life balance because all I was doing was working for Starbucks. Not to mention customers have high expectations of Starbucks products so they are rude, yell, scream on occasion and have such high expectations you'll injure yourself trying to please their clientele. If you make mistakes, your manager will fire you. Not to mention the bosses were stressful to handle because they also yell.
Pros
Free coffee.
Cons
Too many. All around bad.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to learn a grow customer relations
Barista (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC14 February 2017
I enjoy how people oriented this job is. I am usually given opportunities to exercise my social abilities and ensuring our customers are 100 % satisfied. The training is very thorough, and I enjoy training new baristas a lot. Flexible hours, and a family like environment among my coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and sociable workplace for college student
Barista (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC14 February 2017
great job to meet new friends and people but the do low pay and less shift. the benefit packs are great so yeah
sometimes it is kinda tired because you have to go home late and kinda boring if there r no customers
Pros
free drink, benefit
Cons
low paid, less shift, go home late
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect job for a university student
Department Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 February 2017
This job will give you the necessary people skills to succeed in life. It is also a fun place to work because it attracts other people in the 18-25 age group. Customers you interact with are also pretty awesome.
Pros
Coffee
Cons
Very early mornings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and free coffee
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  West Kelowna, BC12 February 2017
Love working for Starbucks. Good people, fun, benefits. Customers are mostly good. Baristas know alot about coffee I only wish more customers would ask questions before they order.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 11,430 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.6
Culture
4.1