Starbucks Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 791 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to be
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBJuly 26, 2016
Starbucks allows you to be yourself and meet great people. Everyday was busy and a lot of fun. Rarely did I have a bad day. I highly recommend anyone to apply.
Pros
free drinks
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good co workers and fun customers
Barista and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, ABJuly 23, 2016
The management was bitter and rude at my location and just a few others where i worked a shift or two occasionally. The most common problem was a language barrier or just trying to understand my management team.
Pros
Free drinks of any size before, and after and on the break of your shift
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice dealing with coffee drinkers.
Barrista (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 23, 2016
My supervisor was great and taught me a lot especially in dealing with customer orders. Making coffee was fun.
Pros
Great management.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture
Barista (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ONJuly 21, 2016
Love my job as a barista. Worked there to put myself through school. My co workers and supervisors are supportive of me and very flexible with my schedule. Great atmosphere to be in.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really depends on your manager or location
Certified Barista (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BCJuly 16, 2016
I've worked at Starbucks Drive-Thru location for about 2 1/2 year

went thru 5 managers in one location for that time.

Need I say more?
Pros
Free Coffee
Cons
Bad Management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company
Barista (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 14, 2016
High paced, fun great coworkers and awesome benefits . Good opportunity for advancement if you pursue that path. Overall great company.
Pros
Free drinks, 30% discount great benefits
Cons
Younger sometimes immature folk/coworkers.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, interactive, good work-life balence
Barista (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONJuly 14, 2016
I was a barista through college and the hours I worked made me able to balance work and College life. My supervisor was very reasonable, personable and made the workplace an enjoyable place.
Pros
Hours, balence
Cons
Early morning
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun and easy job
Barista/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 13, 2016
A typical day at work is a fun day.
The co-workers are nice and easy to get along with, learning to make drinks is the funnest part of the job.
the hardest part of the job is when we are short-staffed, and there are a lot of people in line, in both the cafe and drive-thru.
Pros
Free coffee weekly
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Managers
Barista and shift supervisor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 13, 2016
I have had nothing but a good time at this job. They have always been so professional but at the same time are like family. We were always so busy with a faced paced volume of customers due to the building we work in and all the people who have enjoyed the service that they keep coming back. The store I was at is award winning in service.
Pros
Free drinks while you work
Cons
Sometimes you have difficult customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a lot of hard work for nothing
Barista (Current Employee) –  Waterdown, ONJuly 12, 2016
unfortunitly at my location the manager is horrible, she picks favouites, scheduels you out side of availiblity and makes it your problem to get it fixed and doesnt care about her workers
Pros
30% discount and free beverages
Cons
horrible manager
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
having fun making drinks for friendly people
Assistant Manager Sales (Former Employee) –  hinton,albJuly 11, 2016
I liked working for Starbucks, there was lots of friendly outgoing people. At the beginning it was great. My co-workers were on time and actually showed up for their shifts. The management was very friendly to me when I was showing I was hard working. The hardest part of the job was when I was sick, no one would cover me.That rose up to me missing a day,and almost being terminated.The manger was not very nice to me.I was treated different by co-workers.I eventually quit after 2 months of torture.
Pros
discount on items
Cons
long hours, being alone too long, terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worthwhile experience, improved organization and social skills.
Barista (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BCJuly 10, 2016
I've worked at Starbucks in both Vancouver and Whitby (Ontario). A typical day of work involved serving customers, making drinks, and cleaning and organizing the store. I've become better at small talk, and being meticulous and focused when it is required. The hardest part of my job was multitasking, the most enjoyable aspect was being able to work and interact with others simultaneously.
Pros
Free drinks, positive interactions
Cons
Low salary, monotonous
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace, great place to grow
Barista (Former Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BCJuly 9, 2016
Fun and productive workplace. Management wasn't very inviting. Co-workers were great. Days would get busy. Most enjoyable part about working at sbux was getting to work with great individuals and creating friendships with customers and co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but ain't pay enough
shift supervisor (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BCJuly 9, 2016
It's a fun place to work and it was perfect for people who's moved form place to place. Great place to meet people but unfortunately you have to work hard but they ain't pay enough.
Pros
free drinks during shift, great benefits.
Cons
ain't pay enough
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Barista and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BCJuly 8, 2016
Helps get professional training
- Understand cooperate structure
- learn company goals
- Learn customer service
- Learn good leadership skills
- Learn how to deal with troublesome customers
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Exciting Job
Food and Beverage Server (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, ABJuly 8, 2016
I really loved working there. I enjoy working with my co partners, everything was fun. You get to have fun while working and interacting with customers. I learned having to multitask anything you can think of. It is a really fun job.
Pros
Free Drinks
Cons
Boring during non busy hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good starter job
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 7, 2016
i worked for Starbucks for almost two years, and grew a lot in terms of customer service. it is a good job if you are looking for something to give you experience. I quickly made my way up to a Supervisor position. the only thing that turned me off about this job was the company itself. Starbucks ( as much as they preach partnership and such) is not good to their employees. they make changes without notifying us and make us deal with the back lash. They make horrendous rules that are not necessary for the survival of the company yet make their employees do them just for the sake of credibility
Pros
good coworkers
Cons
bad company
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, you really have to enjoy it.
Barista (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLJuly 6, 2016
Very tiring job, you have to give ample availability to get hours of work. Lots of standing on your feet, moving around and fast-paced environment. Great customer service experience but very physical and demanding job.
Pros
Fulltime - Health Benefits
Cons
No hours, minimum wage & no consistent schedules.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love working in starbucks because of people and nature of work
Barista/Server (Former Employee) –  philippinesJuly 3, 2016
Working in Starbucks is a priviliged. Dealing with different kind of people is fun. Preparing drinks for them is self fulfillment knowing that they are happy and satisfied with the drink that I made. Management helps me alot to motivate myself and to be a good leader also.
Pros
free employee beverages
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Barista (Former Employee) –  Niagara-on-the-Lake, ONJune 28, 2016
I learned to work effectively as a part of a team in a high-stress, results-oriented environment. My co-workers essentially became my second family away from home. The hardest part of the job was dealing with unsatisfied customers and the most enjoyable part of the job was making those unsatisfied customers happy by giving them the starbucks experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 9,112 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.6
Culture
4.1