Starbucks Employee Reviews

Found 1,297 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to grow with
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON20 August 2017
A big international company with great values. I spent an overall of 6 years with Starbucks and had opportunity to grow. They offer good benefits, stock options, and tuition reimbursement.

Fun people and great customers!
Pros
Discount, Coffee Perks
Cons
Early and late working hours, tiring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and friendly place for work
Barista / Cashier (Former Employee) –  Newfoundland and Labrador19 August 2017
A typical day at work included sociable and friendly customers. I learned new ways on how to make the coffees and prepare some food. The workplace was fun to be around. The hardest part of the job was to please all customers when we're low on staff. While the most enjoyable part was the attendance of the customers that came in on a regular basis.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Barista (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 August 2017
Overall working at Starbucks was fun especially getting to know your coworkers. It can be stressful at times (frappie hour) but at the end of the day its still fun. The benefits for employees are good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and great place to work
Barista (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 August 2017
Training was excellent
All the workers supported each other
Shifts were flexible
Management was organized and supportive
perks were excellent
fast pace working environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
have fun working at strabucks
Store operation manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 August 2017
being a store operation manager. I enjoy working at Starbucks franchise. it develop more of my skills in leadership and managerial experience which gain me confident to run the store operation. it help me to booths my personality and more wide range of understanding not only to the people I work but also to handling the store operation. That why if given a change to work in the corporate it will be more appreciate to showcase my skills and contribute my ideas to run a business like this.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON16 August 2017
Absolutely great company to start off your career journey. Tons of growth potential. I don't see many other companies provide such growth opportunities from their entry level positions all the way to management and even head office!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starbucks Licsenced location
Barista/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS15 August 2017
I learnt a lot from this job, I gained customer service and people skills, and learnt a lot about coffee and coffee culture. My benefits were good and i had a good work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Working Experiance
Barista/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON15 August 2017
Working at Starbucks has been an amazing experience for me. To start, it has helped me to lessen my anxiety and make me more social. This company provides a fun working environment and positive staff.
Pros
Happy
Cons
Early mornings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great flexible job if you can keep up
Barista/Cashier (Current Employee) –  North York, ON15 August 2017
You're always expected to make a connection with every single customer even if your line is out the door. Always been extremely flexible with me for scheduling. I work at a busy location which almost always has a line, never a second to spare. Love my free drinks & coffee
Pros
Free drinks while working, Free 1lb of coffee every week
Cons
Always busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and fun work environment
Barista/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ottawa West, ON14 August 2017
Starbucks has a very structured schedule for every shift. For each shift, baristas and supervisors are each assigned a role. For example, order support, customer support, bar, on till. This makes the work environment less stressful, and more organized, and ensures positive feedback from customers. The workplace is a safe environment, and fun with the customer service aspect of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work at
Barista/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 August 2017
Customers of Starbucks are nicer, and my coworkers doesn't treat me as coworkers but as a teammate. And my manager is able to accommodate my availability.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work!!
Shift Supervisor/Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 August 2017
Very bad management
A lot of pressure at work, over scheduling you, they don't care if you're part-time, they'll still give you full time hours
Never get appreciated or rewarded for the hard work you put into for the day
Overall worst place to work!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over worked under paid
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 August 2017
Pretty great as a barista, Job loses appeal as you climb the ladder.Hours are pretty flexible and pay is half decent. Good benefits and perks of the job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work place
Barista/Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC11 August 2017
Busy, work environment, opportunities to move up with the company, flexible hours for students, good increase in salary and job allows an individual to learn multiple skills.
Pros
Good benefits, advancement and learn multiple useful skills.
Cons
Depending on the location, can be stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The poorest rich company in the world.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC11 August 2017
Everyone thinks Starbucks is a large rich powerful company but as a store manager I had little payroll to run my store. I was shocked by the culture behind the scenes vs public perception.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
Behind the scenes culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment, mixed type of customers to deal with
Coffee Master, Barista (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON9 August 2017
A good job if you enjoy fast paced environments and coffee. You pretty much have to love coffee to work there (or tea, at least).

The job advancement wasn't common other than positions opening up supervisor. Moving beyond that was rare, but not impossible.

Overall, a decent job to have.
Pros
Free coffee during shifts, discounts at any location at any time of employment
Cons
No flexible or consistent hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad company
Barista (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB9 August 2017
They fired me while I was pregnant instead of the girl stealing from the job because I was still on probation after they hired too many employees after another Starbucks closed down.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
No care for their employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing plae to work at
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 August 2017
team work
great advancements
amazing scholarships
great training
amazing staff and management
easy to gain the customer service and retail skills one need to start off with in a career
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work!
Barista (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 August 2017
Different position throughout the shifts, which means it never get boring. Generally fun place to work, have lots of things that needs to get done. Can be pretty stressful at times when it gets busy, but people are generally nice, nothing too extreme.
Pros
Free beverages and 30% of everything else
Cons
inconsistent hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starbucks Team
Barista (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC9 August 2017
A day a Starbucks is a very upbeat and exciting experience. I have enjoyed all my time at Starbucks I love it so much and i can't think of any other way to thank everyone of my partners at Starbucks everyday for being such fun and loving people to working with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Starbucks. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 15,175 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.6
Culture
4.1