Find companies:
Starbucks
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4,142 reviews

Starbucks Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall excellent
Barista (Current Employee), Kamloops, BCSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: fast working environment
Cons: no appreciation
you feel happy when there are lots of customers visiting your store and u try your best to work quicklyy and give them quick and best service possible
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & fun work environment with excellent benefits and good salary.
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: salary & benefits
Cons: long hours, sometimes up to 10 days without a day off.
Overall, Starbucks is a wonderful place to work. The salary and benefits package is good. Most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with your regular customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Barista (Former Employee), Lloydminster, ABSeptember 28, 2014
good place to work if you like coffee as there is free coffee once a wee
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job
Barista (Former Employee), Fort McMurrary, AlbertaSeptember 27, 2014
I worked at one of the busiest Starbucks and it was great.

We had a blast and worked hard. I learnt a lot working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Job with Benifits
Store Manager (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: long hours
Starbucks is an OK place to work the benefits are good the compensation is reasonable but the work life balance is not for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really great and fun environment to work in
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee), calgary albertaSeptember 25, 2014
Very Very busy, high volume store
Alot of customer service
Pretty good
Co-workers are my second family
nothing is hard about the job i enjoy it
everything about this job is enjoyable , environment, the customers, and the co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced environment, excellent for part time employment
Store Manager (Current Employee), CalgarySeptember 23, 2014
Pros: benefits, stock options, free beverages while working, free pound of coffee each week
Cons: work/life ratio
A typical day at work involves arriving in the morning and having 30 minutes to get the store set up to open. The expectation is to be open 10 minutes before posted time and stay open 10 minutes after posted closing time. Mornings are busy with customers on their way into work. There is something to be learned every day, whether it's a new policy or – more... getting to know a new customer. Store managers are told to run their stores as if it's their own business, however, district managers visit on a weekly basis to coach and provide guidance. Store managers in each district work to help each other out with daily issues whenever possible. The most difficult part of the store managers position is staffing. It is difficult to find time off the floor to conduct interviews and do hiring/training. Work/life ratio for a store manager is also a stressful issue as managers are required to work as many hours as needed for their store's successful operation. If coverage cannot be found for a partner calling in sick, or not showing up, the store manager is required to come in to cover the shift. You are told not to log the extra hours in the computer and only get paid for 40 hours. No time off in lieu is given for extra time worked. The most enjoyable part of the position is the partners you get to work with, and the customers you get to know. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful
sales, made drinks (Former Employee), Balzac, ABSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: free drinks
Cons: disgraceful management
Im sure other starbucks are fine, the one i worked at was run by an ex drug addict, so it was ridiculous. was scheduled on days i had books off 3 weeks in advance more than 10 times, and when i didn't show up, i was written up, and when i took this issue to higher up people, nothing was done, do not get a job at starbucks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Journey, one of the best experience as a Manager.
Store Manager (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: health benefits, employee discounts
Cons: schedule hours, life balance
As part of this company i have been inspired in many ways, from Partners to customers, they make your every day an amazing and unique experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, high-energy workplace
Barista (Current Employee), Vancouver B.C.September 20, 2014
Pros: free drinks, free food (sometimes), pick and choose hours, benefits
Cons: lots of work with little support (starbucks under-staffs their stores to make more money), pay is terrible with little chance for substantial raises
As a barista working in the afternoon, other than dealing with customers, your primary job is to clean everything. Either (almost) everything behind the counter, or the rest of the store (sweeping, moping, bathrooms, restocking).

It's fun working with people all the time and becoming a part of the community. Starbucks has helped me come out of my shell – more... and has played a big part in me becoming the outgoing person that I am. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Barista (Former Employee), Nanaimo, BCSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: the regulars and my coworkers. the free drinks were also an upside
Cons: grumpy snappy customers
I learned so much from working there, i loved my manager and the people i was working with. they became my second family. If i didnt move out of B.C. I would have probably had many more years there, it was definately my favourite job i have ever had, sometimes customers got a little grouchy but once you get past that it was great. The regulars were – more... also part of the little family we had, i became friends with most of them and i loved it, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the top employers in Canada
Store Manager (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 13, 2014
One of the top employers in Canada

Great Employee Benefits

Amazing people who love doing what they do
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun meeting new people
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Oakville, ONSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: learning the coffee culture.
Cons: limited holidays (could not book a day off in november or december)
Serving customers and keeping the store up to standards. I learned a lot about customer service and management of the store. With a high turnover, learning to adjust to different co-workers knowledge and managers different styles. As a supervisor I learned how to mediate upset customers and coworkers on a regular basis. I met so many wonderful customers – more... and workers over my years there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow moving, boring job with terrible hours
Barista (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: free drinks during breaks on your shift and discount
Cons: unsociable, long hours
I find that every day drags as I work in a quiet store. I find that in order to be satisfied with a job, I like to be kept busy.
I became a certified Barista within only a couple of weeks after I started.
My co-workers in general are very serious and don't take anything lightheartedly. It's nice to be able to pass the time with people you enjoy working – more... with who clearly enjoy their job too, but I don't feel that this is quite there.
The most enjoyable part of my job is when the store is busy and I am constantly making drinks and interacting with customers. I love to see customers that are satisfied with the product I give to them and I find that to be really enjoyable!
The hours that we work are really terrible. For example, a day next week I am beginning work at 5:30am and finish at 12:30pm then must travel an hour home and then return for a meeting at 6:30pm - 9:30pm in the same day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Barista (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: free coffee, fun people
Cons: bad customers
Wouldn't have wanted to work else where, lots of hard work (not an easy job!)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very flexible but fast paced work environment with a fantastic group of benefits.
Shift Supervisory (Former Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: free drinks, free pound of coffee or box of tea per week, discount on all merchandise.
Cons: stressful busy periods, mind numbing slow periods
I worked at Starbucks as a shift supervisor for about 3 years. The day to day work was the same, but the environment you did it in changed hourly. As it turns out customers in a high end community get really aggressive when they are without coffee for an extended period of time. My biggest complaint boils down to the upper management just not caring – more... about the little guys. The district managers were constantly harassing the employees during peak hours about pointless issues that compltely destroyed all forms of productivity. The hue of someones shirt was slightly off white, well we better send them home during the nine o'clock rush. That being said, as a full time employee, I enjoyed a wide variety of benefits. Including gratuity stocks, dental and health, eduction reimbursement, and others. Most managers I encountered were also incredibly understanding of school schedules making the company great for part time employees attending high school and post secondary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace but not for the wage
Barista (Former Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 28, 2014
Early mornings and low wage made paying bills difficult. High turnover.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team environment
Barista (Current Employee), Metrotown, BurnabyAugust 27, 2014
Very strong team environment, and high standards for cleanliness and customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun part-time experience for working in Starbucks (on Campus)
Barista & Cashier (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 16, 2014
Pros: free drinks
Open the store in the morning...prepare all the coffee. snack..beverage ...i learned how to cook different coffee. like how long it will take for blond coffee. etc...My supervisor and co-workers are very nice and helpful.. i love to communicate with customers and i remembered what are their favorites and offered their drinks to them ...enjoy their smiles – more... every morning ... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Barista (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 15, 2014
Pros: free drinks on your breaks and lunch
Cons: cons is open to late.
Customer service and talk to many new people
how to make drinks and cashing out.
management is good.
co-workers rock
Not having enough people to pass the time
most enjoyable is meeting new people an tourists

1 2 3 4 5

About Starbucks

Our employees, who we call partners, are at the heart of the Starbucks Experience. We believe in treating our partners with respect – Read more