Find companies:
Starbucks
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4,083 reviews

Starbucks Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Barista (Former Employee), Nanaimo, BCSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: the regulars and my coworkers. the free drinks were also an upside
Cons: grumpy snappy customers
I learned so much from working there, i loved my manager and the people i was working with. they became my second family. If i didnt move out of B.C. I would have probably had many more years there, it was definately my favourite job i have ever had, sometimes customers got a little grouchy but once you get past that it was great. The regulars were – more... also part of the little family we had, i became friends with most of them and i loved it, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the top employers in Canada
Store Manager (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 13, 2014
One of the top employers in Canada

Great Employee Benefits

Amazing people who love doing what they do
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun meeting new people
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Oakville, ONSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: learning the coffee culture.
Cons: limited holidays (could not book a day off in november or december)
Serving customers and keeping the store up to standards. I learned a lot about customer service and management of the store. With a high turnover, learning to adjust to different co-workers knowledge and managers different styles. As a supervisor I learned how to mediate upset customers and coworkers on a regular basis. I met so many wonderful customers – more... and workers over my years there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow moving, boring job with terrible hours
Barista (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: free drinks during breaks on your shift and discount
Cons: unsociable, long hours
I find that every day drags as I work in a quiet store. I find that in order to be satisfied with a job, I like to be kept busy.
I became a certified Barista within only a couple of weeks after I started.
My co-workers in general are very serious and don't take anything lightheartedly. It's nice to be able to pass the time with people you enjoy working – more... with who clearly enjoy their job too, but I don't feel that this is quite there.
The most enjoyable part of my job is when the store is busy and I am constantly making drinks and interacting with customers. I love to see customers that are satisfied with the product I give to them and I find that to be really enjoyable!
The hours that we work are really terrible. For example, a day next week I am beginning work at 5:30am and finish at 12:30pm then must travel an hour home and then return for a meeting at 6:30pm - 9:30pm in the same day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Barista (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: free coffee, fun people
Cons: bad customers
Wouldn't have wanted to work else where, lots of hard work (not an easy job!)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very flexible but fast paced work environment with a fantastic group of benefits.
Shift Supervisory (Former Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: free drinks, free pound of coffee or box of tea per week, discount on all merchandise.
Cons: stressful busy periods, mind numbing slow periods
I worked at Starbucks as a shift supervisor for about 3 years. The day to day work was the same, but the environment you did it in changed hourly. As it turns out customers in a high end community get really aggressive when they are without coffee for an extended period of time. My biggest complaint boils down to the upper management just not caring – more... about the little guys. The district managers were constantly harassing the employees during peak hours about pointless issues that compltely destroyed all forms of productivity. The hue of someones shirt was slightly off white, well we better send them home during the nine o'clock rush. That being said, as a full time employee, I enjoyed a wide variety of benefits. Including gratuity stocks, dental and health, eduction reimbursement, and others. Most managers I encountered were also incredibly understanding of school schedules making the company great for part time employees attending high school and post secondary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace but not for the wage
Barista (Former Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 28, 2014
Early mornings and low wage made paying bills difficult. High turnover.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team environment
Barista (Current Employee), Metrotown, BurnabyAugust 27, 2014
Very strong team environment, and high standards for cleanliness and customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun part-time experience for working in Starbucks (on Campus)
Barista & Cashier (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 16, 2014
Pros: free drinks
Open the store in the morning...prepare all the coffee. snack..beverage ...i learned how to cook different coffee. like how long it will take for blond coffee. etc...My supervisor and co-workers are very nice and helpful.. i love to communicate with customers and i remembered what are their favorites and offered their drinks to them ...enjoy their smiles – more... every morning ... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Barista (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 15, 2014
Pros: free drinks on your breaks and lunch
Cons: cons is open to late.
Customer service and talk to many new people
how to make drinks and cashing out.
management is good.
co-workers rock
Not having enough people to pass the time
most enjoyable is meeting new people an tourists
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working environment
Barista (Former Employee), Red DeerAugust 14, 2014
Pros: close to school
Cons: too many shifts
This is a great experience, and not only a very fun job, close to school, also very lovable co-workers. I learned a lot, from how to make/serve coffee, to how to interact with different kind of customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun. social and friendlt
barista (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 13, 2014
Pros: employee benefits, staff discount
i have learned a lot about time management, the value of knowing your product and how to handle difficult customers. threw my experiences i have gained a high level of respect for my managers as well as other coworkers. being able to rely on them when need be to gain knowledge and become a better employee. the hardest part of my job is also the most – more... enjoyable part of my job, maintaining a high level of customer satisfaction. making sure everything i do is appeasing them can be difficult but when the customer walks away happy i am happy – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was very nice to work in starbucks but i wanted try something new
Barista (Former Employee), Calgary,AlbertaAugust 12, 2014
Pros: 50% discount
Cons: non
At starbucks i never face a typical day, what i learned to be positive attitude and my co-worker are really great. there wasn't hard part and i always enjoyed there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am good with customer relations, in 20 years working i never had complaint about my service.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Chilliwack, BCAugust 7, 2014
Pros: enjoy coffee and so i think i can help people decide what they may like
Cons: want part time work
On all occasions that I have been a customer at Starbucks I was treated well.
I think I could be an asset to your company.
I have been in a management position before so I could be relief to management.
I am able to keep spirits up while working.
I enjoy working with the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
strict, unproductive.
Shift supervisor (Current Employee), richmond hill, onAugust 5, 2014
Pros: customers, coffee.
Cons: strict rules, no tattoos, pircings, gossip
The store I'm at, its like high school, gossip and such. The customers are amazing and pleasing them is the best part of my day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My job was an excellent learning opportunity and I developed my skills and experience in numerous different ways.I was then able to put this training
BARISTA (Current Employee), Trinoma Mall, Quezon City BranchAugust 4, 2014
My job was an excellent learning opportunity and I developed my skills and experience in numerous different ways.I was then able to put this training into practice on a day-to-day basis.

In my team. I don't expect my team to go it alone; I am very much the type of person who pitches in to ensure the work gets done when needed. At the same time, however, – more... I make sure that people are doing their role to their best ability and to find out why they might not be if things are going wrong for them. I consider myself to be very open-minded and approachable - I love hearing new ideas from my team and will try to implement them if they benefit the firm and the team as a whole. I'm a good listener and I am always ready to listen to staff when they experience problems and need help. I am highly ethical and will always ensure that my team is well briefed on accountability needs.

You have to take care of so many people at a time that everything is rushed. You end up cutting a lot of corners just to get it all done. You're constantly racing against the clock, especially if you actually try to do your job right.

I met a lot of people and i was able to experience many new things that I had ever experienced before. I made a lot of new friends from surrounding communities there are many interesting things that happen late at night and it really opens your eyes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have to be a very outgoing person and customer service is a high priority!!!
Store Supervisor (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 3, 2014
Pros: upbeat fun fast paced enviroment
The hardest part of the job was being up early to open up at 5am Other than that I never considered working at Starbucks hard it was a job I very much enjoyed going to everyday. The people I worked with were wonderful and the customers were even better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work. Free pound of coffee every week, and benefits for employees who work 20 or more hours a week
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), vancouverAugust 1, 2014
Pros: upbeat and friendly work enviornment
Cons: fairly low pay for assistant manager
Starbucks is a great environment to work in. The training is great and advancement opportunities are there for the motivated individual.

Great company for community envolvement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management of service personel
service tech (Former Employee), Vancouver B.C. Calgary ABJuly 31, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: long hours
Would perform preventive maintenance on all equipment in store
install new equipment,train staff in preventative maintenance
Traveled to often sometimes gone for up to 14 days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile Environment
Barista (Current Employee), Markham, ONJuly 31, 2014
Depending on which location you work at, each management team is different. While some managers may be very understanding, some are not.

The location that I was placed is a very well off community - customers are self righteous, expect to be treated like Kings and Queens for paying more than 4$ for a cup of coffee.

1 2 3 4 5

About Starbucks

Our employees, who we call partners, are at the heart of the Starbucks Experience. We believe in treating our partners with respect – Read more