Star Security & Investigations Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON20 January 2018
They don’t follow through with any promises, you can mess up no show for shifts lose the company contracts and still be employed the “scheduale manager” as he calls himself is an idiot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON15 January 2018
you just got to do your job and you will do well and they will give you lots of shifts, and the other workers are nice to you if you are nice to them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and enjoyable
Event Staff (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON2 October 2017
overnights were hard at first, but everyone working there was very helpful and understanding...

good communication between guards and the supervisors
Pros
free food
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to be a sercurity gard I recommended this company 100%
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON27 September 2017
This is the best company to start your security guard career.
Pros
Lots of work in season
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security Office
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON21 September 2017
Very great company to work for. Gained an abundance of experience as well as education. Phenomenal management in the office, and always glad to work for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and productive
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON5 July 2017
Fun job as it lets you do a variety of different tasks from securing a concert to crowd control at sporting events, quite interesting experience you gain.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON18 June 2017
I have no complains with this company that I have worked with 7 years. The only thing is that the company star security is paying me 11.50 per hour. And I can't survive with 11.50
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most FUN and Accommodating JOB
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON1 June 2017
I can honestly say that this job has been the best job I have ever had. I can create my own schedules and I get paid to be at the BIGGEST concerts and sporting events. The Management are all amazing and super friendly. The pay is above what most make in the security industry so that is also a bonus.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Not knowing what event to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and Exciting Events
Guard (Current Employee) –  Toronto1 June 2017
Fun place to work with a chance to do exciting security work. Uniforms were affordable and don't over charge you unlike many others. Very flexible with my work schedule as. Great supervisors who make sure you are comfortable with the duties if your just starting out.
Pros
Very Organized
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here!
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 May 2017
Worst place to work at. Didn't even give me a washroom nor lunch break. Had to stand for 10 hours and you are not allowed to sit. Look for other security companies!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very boring
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON30 April 2017
was treated like a pilon the whole time. pay was too cheap, breaks basically weren't allowed because of shortage of staff. and not easily able to communicate when needed. no radio given to myself
Pros
none
Cons
no breaks sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning
Guard (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 April 2017
working with star is always great. I have learnt a lot from them. they provided me a wealthy experience needed to enhance my skills .talking to people , performing tasks within time and discipline is a part of working with star
Pros
good shifts
Cons
standing shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start for experience
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON27 March 2017
Could make more opportunities for advancement for their employees.
Higher pay rate would be appreciated, even individuals with years of experience in the security industry are getting paid minimum wage.
Good company to start with for that security experience in a variety of different settings.
Not a company that would be beneficial to maintain a career within.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Field Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON16 February 2017
Working with star security was probably the best experience ill ever have the opportunity to work. I was very fortunate working with a lot of A list talent being their Close Protection.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun,exciting,meet cool people,work with many diffrent agencies and events
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON26 November 2016
arrive
write in report log arrivale time
log hourly duties
log any issues on duty that night
call for back up if needed
write in report departure time
Pros
training opportunity, meet different people and work and watch cool events
Cons
on-call transportation
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Security Guard (Part Time) (Former Employee) –  GTA, ON23 November 2016
Great company to work for. Flexible hours, great staff and co-workers. Hardest part of the job is being on your feet for so long.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun latge scale events and concerts
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON11 October 2016
The company is good to work for with the large events. There is always something interesting to do for work weather it is working Football games or a concert outdoors. There is always something going on that makes for an Interesting shift.
Pros
Events, travelling to different cities to work events, good co workers, job experience
Cons
Long hours, no regular schedule, no benefits, sometimes unfavourable work conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Summer Jobs & Security Experience
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 September 2016
Learned lots and met a lot of people in my field of work. This was on the field work dealing with situations and people. Much better then boring Condos or construction sites. Back to school but plan to return next summer. For all those taken police foundation or law and security this is the company for you.
Pros
Lots of work, Variety type of security work
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace, long hours but overall went well
Boots & Hearts - Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Oro-Medonte, ON29 August 2016
Hardest part would definitely be the long hours, but i didn't really mind because i prefer night shifts. All of the guards were taken care of in terms of having a place to sleep, which was at a college dorm which was quite close to the workplace. Although free lunches were provided, there have been several mishaps where they were delivered really late, or weren't given at all
Pros
Free lunches, being able to stay at a dorm nearby, management was good for the most part
Cons
long hours, sometimes unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crazy events
large events (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 July 2016
I worked at multiple festivals where as i worked as a security in the middle of the event to maintain safety through out the whole event while other times i would have to be at the door where i would be frisking other people of the stop that they shouldnt be bringing into the event
Pros
Great enviornment
Cons
Less hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Star Security & Investigations. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 105 reviews
530
432
328
28
17

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Star Security & Investigations Reviews by Location