Stantec Consulting Employee Reviews

Found 140 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. They are strong in their corporate public trading policies
Logistics & HSE Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 October 2014
.Overall good place to work. Great flexibility in hours and work locations. Great people.

They have to adhere to strict policies and procedures because they are a publicly traded company. It is easy to get lost as just another number as they are such a big corporation
Was this review helpful?Yes11No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leading Company in industry
Mechanical Engineer in Training (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 August 2014
Leading Company in industry

Competitive Salary/benefit package

Company's generosity to support external training and career development

numerous company events (Stampede, new year, etc.)
Pros
Competitive Salary/benefit package, Company's generosity to support external training
Cons
Dry working ambiance
Was this review helpful?Yes10No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with FM radio.
Engineer Designer (Former Employee) –  Whitehorse, YT24 August 2013
Prepare electrical design for residential buildings, load calculations,editing in as built drawings,review manuals.
I learned, how to find information from different sources like co-workers and Internet.
My Co-workers was very helpful.
Hardest part was to spent free time.
I enjoy if I have a job to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Tell the Truth
Payroll Advisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 May 2012
You'll get fired during probation if you place any medical, physical or psycological issues on the form they give you for your insurances. But if you don't tell the truth and you need to make a claim on a pre-existing condition, you won't be covered. And I'm speaking from experience. So you're damned if you do and damned if you don't.
Was this review helpful?Yes82No27Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
HR Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 May 2014
Great company, poor management.

My typical day includes supporting the corporate learning team with compliance training for the company, acquisition training (communication, logistics, etc.), and reporting.

I also assist with the companies milestone program, and other duties for the Human Resources department.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stantec is overall a great place to work.
Co-op Student/Project Coorditator (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB3 September 2012
Stantec is a very fast phase working place. Structural Engineering team and managemant is very friendly and supportive to new engnieers. I learned peroject management , reviewing structural drawings, designing various strucutral members and document control.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You dont want to work for them
Civil Engineer (EIT) (Former Employee) –  Yellowknife, NT13 October 2015
They hire on the large volume and lay off on large volume.

Technically company just focus on its own project demand basis and do not consider to invest on its employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EPC awesome job
Safety Consultant - CMT/EPC (Former Employee) –  Interpipeline Sites1 July 2014
I was able to learn more on this job in regards to construction coordinating as my coordinator at times would leave me in charge of the site as he went to visit a few other sites we were the Construction Management Team on:)
Pros
was not micromanaged
Cons
too many work hours and work days in a row:(
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Mechanical Engineer-In-Training (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL17 November 2015
Great place to work. Well respected consulting engineering firm, with other fields under their umbrella. Many locations.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work.
Technical Writer (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 February 2015
A good place to work. There is always something new to learn because they provide such a large number of services. The people are all very educated and well versed in their roles. They take finding qualified people very seriously, even when it comes to student hires.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and professional work place
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary,AB15 June 2012
• Data entry for the vegetation and wildlife departments
• Re-organized the company library
• Editing and compiling reports
• Summarizing expenses for the accounting department
• Worked on projects as a part of a team
Pros
the people
Cons
lots of overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes9No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Job
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON27 September 2012
I was a Receptionist at Stantec Consulting. My duties included answering a multi-line phone system, receive Purolator packages, etc. This job was a week and a half temporary position through a temp agency.
Pros
learned how to answer a multi-line phone system
Cons
it was a temporary position
Was this review helpful?Yes1No23Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Mechanical Technologist (Current Employee) –  ST.John's NL12 August 2015
This is a great company to work with. Good benefits and good working conditions.

Work is consistent and learning opportunities are abundant.

Co-worker are very outgoing
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Project Accountant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 March 2015
Stantec has managed to provide a small company work environment while still providing large company benefits. I've had the privilege of working for an incredible manager and have an extremely flexible schedule. The culture here is amazing.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Company of Entrepreneurs
Sustainable Buildings Analyst (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC9 April 2013
A great place to work in Vancouver for self starters. Many of the perks of a big company yet often a personal struggle to keep work on ones desk. Great resources for a career where one can find / secure clients and deliver projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stantec is a good company
Structural Design Technologist (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC6 October 2015
It is good to work with Stantec. more work experience I got there. Fun work place with supportive professional management.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stable Company
Resident Consultant / Contract Administrator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 June 2013
Stantec Consulting is a very stable company with a well established working protocol and chain of command. The company runs like a well oiled machine.
Pros
Job security and corporate events.
Cons
Less than competative salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work for
Land Development Technologist (Transportation) (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 October 2013
Stantec is a really well organized with their cad standards, therefore making your job easier.
if you a drafter then you are drafter, it seems a little hard to advance as a designer.
Pros
great CAD standards
Cons
hard to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes9No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stantecq
Accounting Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 September 2015
I loved working for Stantec. The job however was limited in its requirements and I was loosing me skill sets working there. Great company to work for though.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast paced, dynamic workplace with wonderful people and amazing projects
Landscape Architectural Technologist (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 December 2013
Stantec Consulting has helped to shape my future by offering a tremendous amount of support which has enabled me to succeed.
Pros
Tremendous Team Building
Cons
Poor Wages
Was this review helpful?Yes5No8Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Stantec Consulting. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 258 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4