Find companies:
Stantec Consulting
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
96 reviews

Stantec Consulting Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress for lower than industry pay.
Geologist (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 16, 2013
High stress for lower than industry pay. Management concerned with $ rather than treating employees legally right/fair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with FM radio.
Engineer Designer (Former Employee), Whitehorse, YTAugust 24, 2013
Prepare electrical design for residential buildings, load calculations,editing in as built drawings,review manuals.
I learned, how to find information from different sources like co-workers and Internet.
My Co-workers was very helpful.
Hardest part was to spent free time.
I enjoy if I have a job to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stantec Intern
Intern (Current Employee), Butler, PAAugust 21, 2013
Pros: some free lunches, friendly employees
I am required to fix errors on drawings using the programs provided such as AutoCADD, Microstation and REVIT. Also, I am required to calculate loads on panels and other power equipment such as generators. I use other programs such as excel in order to adjust panel schedules and other lists to make tasks easier. During my time at this company I have – more... worked with other areas of study such as mechanical, plumbing and architecture. Plotting, scanning and emailing drawings are also part of my job description. Everyone is very helpful when I have questions and are willing to help me understand and learn from them. I enjoy the feeling of designing and helping create buildings that will be used in all aspects of life. The most difficult part of this work is getting multiple tasks given to me at the same time but I also enjoy the pressures and the tasks make the days seem shorter. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling project work, beware of big company managment
Intern (Current Employee), Ottawa, OntarioAugust 14, 2013
Really nice office environment with large windows, natural light, large desks and monitors. Enjoy working with co-workers of various disciplines. Encounter many complex and interesting projects.

There seem to be power struggles between different discipline managers over shared work. Because it is a large company, steady pay and consistent raises can – more... be expected with decent performance. Being a in large company also means you are treated as a number. When work got low, there were many layoffs all at once rather than trying to retain the talented people already within the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Project Manager / Senior Project Architect (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 13, 2013
Nice work environment and good pay.
Management is a bit weak.
Difficult to win projects because company required multipliers are so high.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Field office with no support staff
Environmental Specialist (Current Employee), Canton, OhioAugust 4, 2013
utilization (billable hours) must remain high or you are asked to stay home
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managed by a bunch of Bozos
Engineer (Current Employee), Scarborough, MeJune 20, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: job stability rates way too high
Great people to work with before they bought us. Stantec management couldn't put on a one man parade. Felt like I was assimilated by the Borg of Star Trek. They spent more time worrying about advertising tag lines than selling services
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stable Company
Resident Consultant / Contract Administrator (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 18, 2013
Pros: job security and corporate events.
Cons: less than competative salary.
Stantec Consulting is a very stable company with a well established working protocol and chain of command. The company runs like a well oiled machine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy going to work
Executive Assistant (Current Employee), Laurel, MDJune 18, 2013
I really enjoy working for Stantec (previously Greenhorne & O'Mara). We have a great group of employees here. At the moment we are transitioning over to Stantec and the hardest part is not really knowing what position I will end up in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love this company
Piping Designer (Former Employee), Scarborough, MEJune 13, 2013
Pros: people
a great company to work for. great people, great work. fun and enjoyable place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oil and Gas division isn't where it's at!!!!
Senior Instrumentation and Controls Engineer (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 17, 2013
Pros: good coffee
Cons: management
Go here only as a last resort. Been there and it once was great but is no longer. Extremely poor management in my viewpoint.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse work environment with a strong safety culture
Environmental Scientist (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 11, 2013
Pros: flexible working hours, ability to work on a diverse array of projects
Cons: long hours, seasonal work.
Work at Stantec Consulting Ltd. involves a mixture of field and office work, often with both in the same day. Generation and manipulation of large and small data sets are common activities. Performance of field work requires development of logistical and troubleshooting skills in situations involving limited or remote supervision.

Work at Stantec is – more... often performed alone or in small groups of people coming from highly diverse educational and personal backgrounds. This diverse atmosphere gives employess the opportunity to work on a variety of projects, in many different fields.The office culture is relaxed and informal, with safety being an integral portion of both work and home life.

While field work at Stantec is sometimes the most frustrating part of the job, it can also be the most rewarding. When planned work encounters difficulties in the field, it can often mean long and intense hours spent trying to resolve the complication. The discovery of a solution to said complication is very educational, and satisfying. When a project goes according to plan, or even it doesn't, one of the most satisfying parts of combined office and field work is to see a project through from the very beginning (the performance of the field work) to the completed product (a report for Alberta Environment, or graphs or charts from the completed manipulation of a data set), – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place with traditional care for employee
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Irvine, CAApril 29, 2013
Pros: great benefits and beautiful and caring enviroment
Cons: the company progree depended on the housing market
Very exciting workplace in the Archeology Department. Seeing Artifact for the first time and learning and researching the History. Bidding for projects and setting up in the field Lunching and Safety Meeting outside by current digs. The hardest part was getting out of the office on time. You felt so excited about current projects. Most enjoyable was – more... how the company monthly took care and honored all employee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Electrical CAD/Revit Technologist (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 26, 2013
Pros: free lunch and learn
A typical day at work consisted of assisting with the design process and preparing electrical plans for institutional/ commercial buildings and generator replacements using CAD/Revit programs. I have increased my knowledge in fire alarm, lighting, power distribution plans, single line diagram and panel board schedule drawings following the Canadian – more... Electrical Code. Continuously communicated with architects and other engineering disciplines as required for design coordination for multiple projects. The most enjoyable part of the job was completing a project and seeing the final product. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managed By Chaos - Does NOT Pride Themselves on Ethics-Very TOXIC Place
Not Sure-Was there a title? (Former Employee), North Bay,April 10, 2013
Pros: co-workers
Cons: everything else
Management needs to be replaced-very self serving
HR can not be trusted.
Does not view employees as worth but merely as resources.
They manage through bullying, intimidation, demoralization,
scrutinization, and belittlement.
A finger pointing environment, and are not part of helping their employees succeed.
Confidentially is preached, but not practiced.
I – more... can not speak for all of Stantec Consulting but the North Bay office has a lot to learn.... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Company of Entrepreneurs
Sustainable Buildings Analyst (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCApril 9, 2013
A great place to work in Vancouver for self starters. Many of the perks of a big company yet often a personal struggle to keep work on ones desk. Great resources for a career where one can find / secure clients and deliver projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management need to be replaced
field (Former Employee), edmontonFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: bad backstabbing management
This company say they are all about safety but when i seen the boss's come out to the field for there safety meeting's and go to the strip bar after and drink and then drive back to there rooms after
what Is that telling you, Managment say that they do not what to set you up for failure and thats all that they do,
The guy who was to train me set me – more... up and the day that i took over was the day that the stuff hit the fan, When he was still running the show not me but he got a pat on the back and i looked bad
Upper managment need to get out and see what is really going on – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent company with excellent staff
Structural designer (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONFebruary 12, 2013
from 8 am to 5 pm
some different program related with my professinal skills
excellent
excellent
n/a
n/a
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and always changing work day
SENIOR ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: friendly co-workers
Cons: confusion with staff members
A typical work day would include meeting with managers, taking minutes, clerical duties, assisting project managers and the financial department with any issues and going between the database program oracle to submit various projects, or editing various reports and documents for engineers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my time with Stantec. Would recommend company to friend and have done in the past.
CADD Technician and Designer (Former Employee), Rochester, NYDecember 19, 2012
Stantec is an International firm with more than 10,000 employees and many interesting and challenging projects. The Rochester office has a family type atmosphere, but always works with a professional design firm.

About Stantec Consulting

Stantec knows you don't become one of the top global design firms by standing around. Through more than 150 locations in North – Read more