Stantec Consulting Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The department's could have over 150 employees
Community Development Technologist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 September 2017
Got along with other employee, friendly working environment and had board games during lunch hour and worked from 8:00 am to 4:30 pm.
Usually accumulate 2 weeks of vacation by the end of the year and you could bank your additional hours.
On Fridays there were doughnuts and casual wear.
Working outside depends on the weather and usually starts up in May and ends in November. Working in the office is usually 7.5 hours, working area is very open and software's are always up to date.
Pros
Free doughnuts and friendly environment
Cons
Economy and working long hours outside.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional workplace
Instrumentation & Controls (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 September 2017
Stantec consulting Is a good place to start a professional career and, also learn from various projects. Diversify clients also allow you to increase your expertise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
60 hrs/wk, no overtime, bonuses are very low
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK28 August 2017
Too many meetings, extremly difficult to accomplish everything your position requires of you. Not enough compensation, benefits are standard, but coverage amounts keep being lowered.
Cons
Long hours. There is no work-life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A draining place to work
confidential (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON1 August 2017
I worked for this company for 5 years and can honestly say that the only positive outcome of the experience was the exposure to many different types of projects and clients. Unless you are in management, you can expect to be underpaid and to not receive wage increases to account for cost of living expenses, as this money is instead given to management in the form of annual bonuses. As with many consulting firms, a good work-life balance is not support or encouraged and quite often you are expected to work a great deal of overtime. There is very little appreciate or gratitude expressed by management for a job well done, and they are likely to take the credit from the client. There is also little to no job security if you aren't in management. I left on my own terms, however I saw countless people get laid off as soon as things got slow, which was almost every year.

Unfortunately, all of these things, combined with a lack of internal promotion creates a very poor workplace culture. The office environment at the Guelph, Waterloo and Stoney Creek offices is very quiet, and you can expect to not have a lot of positive interaction with others.

My advice for you is that if you are early on in your career, use this as a stepping stone to something better. Take what you can from the experience, but don't get caught up with the empty promises of advancing your career with this company.
Pros
great exposure to different types of work and clients
Cons
poor work-life balance, top heavy management, egotistical managers, poor job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Main Reception for the Head Office
Head Receptionist and Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 July 2017
I enjoyed working at Stantec immensely. I enjoyed all the people I interacted with. I loved the staff that worked there. I learned how to cross train in other Administration departments. I enjoyed watching how fast a successful company grows and being a small but valued part of that. I learned to multitask in a high stress environment, I learned time management, was able to progress in my abilities and take on my responsibilities, learned to better adapt to change.
Pros
Staff and Clients, the job itself, learning multi-abilities to support administration better
Cons
challenges with parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
GIS Specialist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 July 2017
good work environment, job and home life balance was really supported.
co-workers were all amazing people great to work with, professional and friendly.
great safety culture
Pros
Great co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK employer. Large company.
Engineer-in-Training (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 July 2017
Attempts to create fun atmosphere were half baked and not inspiring. Many layoffs during oil and gas slowdown. Not enough company events. Decent pay structure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company and the people were good.
Environmental Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 June 2017
The work at Stantec was fairly routine compared to other places I have worked. The jobs were also smaller and less challenging. The work life balanced was great. Management was very good at accommodating your schedule when they could.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stantec Consulting Ltd has access to varied projects and clients.
Intermediate Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK27 June 2017
Stantec Consulting Ltd had access to varied projects and clients in environmental management and remediation.
Benefits allowed and salary were acceptable with cost of living in 2016.
Pros
Diverse projects and clients.
Cons
Seasonal work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture of Fear
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON, CA25 June 2017
The Markham office is like nothing I've ever seen. There is a complete culture of fear. It's extremely quiet and no one talks to anyone. New hires are left on their own to fend for themselves. Existing employees fear being fired just for association and in a lot of cases do their best to throw new comers under the bus. This is because Management here is some of the weakest I've seen and are unable to bring in any work, despite the development boon of the past few years. They are very low on resources so when it does get a bit busier they will go on poach good people only to fire them months later for absolutely no reason when things die down. This happens constantly. This is a horrible place to work at. It's like you have entered the twilight zone. The project are basic to intermediate level, resources are short and not very knowledgeable and management is terrible. There is absolutely no job security. Still working here but looking to get out as soon as possible. Don't come here, especially if you have a family.
Pros
Benefits are decent.
Cons
No job security, terrible environment, terrible people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent set up poor management
Construction Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 June 2017
Management was unable to manage for the Canadian downturn in Oil & Gas. Did not retain quality staff for the upturn. Manager jobs were saved which caused a top heavy environment.
Pros
Freedom at my level to mentor
Cons
Management heavy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Consulting Firm
Aboriginal Relations Specialist / Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON20 June 2017
A good and reputable consulting firm with a high focus on quality work for clients.

Workplace culture is traditional consulting firm atmosphere.
Staff are collaborative and professional.
Pros
Technical support and multi-disciplinary team
Cons
Consulting
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bel environnement de travail
Ingénieur, Chargé de projet (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC18 June 2017
j'ai apprécié mon séjour dans cette compagnie. j'ai rencontré des personnes de valeurs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well managed and growing company with a long history of profitability.
Senior Principal, Business Centre Discipline Lead (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 June 2017
Stantec is a well-respected global design firm with offices across Canada, the USA and a growing international presence.

Nestled with the company's design focused structure is a small management-consulting team where my group resides. Our focus is improved project planning and delivery for our clients but with a parallel emphasis on improved design execution by other Stantec disciplines.

Stantec's multi-disciplinary structure allows it to bring a diverse and scalable set of services to meet specific client needs. Different disciplines and offices within Stantec have a proven history of effective collaboration to bring the best minds and skills to each client challenge.

This opportunity to collaborate with highly skilled and passionate people is one of the most enjoyable aspects of working at Stantec.
Pros
Collaboration and opportuity sharing.
Cons
Work-life balance can be a challenge.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing experience
Archaeologists Technician (Former Employee) –  Goose Bay, NL15 June 2017
Company was enjoyable to work for and treated all employees fairly and just. Work environment was fun to be in and made task easy to complete. Management were great and have great experience in their field.
Pros
Plenty of time to rest
Cons
Weather prohibits work being completed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and bad
Mechanical Designer (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC9 June 2017
Upper Management is not honest with the employees and there are a lot of politics going on behind the doors. Technical people are really friendly and easy to work with.
Pros
Free lunches, events
Cons
Pressure, Politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low morale, management is top heavy, very disorganized, talk about work/life balance, but don't really support it
Project Administrator (Former Employee) –  BC3 June 2017
Low morale, management is top heavy, very disorganized, talk about work/life balance, but don't really support it; cut back benefits to all employees; hire people so they can use their names on RFPs to get work and then don't use the people; poor training of PM's; have procedures, but don't seem to follow them very well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start a career
Mechanical Draftsman (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC4 May 2017
Decent place to start your career at. Wage is the minimum and if you stay in good terms with upper management then you can get small raises each year. As in most places there are good people and then there are the others that you will rub the wrong way. But as long as you are in the correct clic then you will have a good chance of sticking around when lay-offs are needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a good place to work with nice people
SURVEY ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 May 2017
Being a survey assistant consists of working outside all year round. You will be asked to assist the survey party chief in a variety of geotechnical surveys. This will involve standing walking bending digging and some heavy lifting. Overall the people I have worked with have all created a pleasant place to work.
Pros
the people
Cons
dealing with the weather, digging
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HR has fix rules
Mechanical Technologist (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB21 April 2017
After 7 years of work there, local firm was bought by Stantec. Expected to receive the 5 year bonus. Did not get it. So employees that started working after me got their 5 year bonus when they reached it.
Pros
Projects are interesting
Cons
Atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Stantec Consulting. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 299 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4

CEO Approval

80%
97 ratings
Add your rating